Customer Reviews


532 Reviews
5 star:
 (434)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should know this lovely book!
Cordoroy is the perfect children's book. It is a gentle, sweet tale of a little bear in cordoroy overalls waiting to be purchased in a department store. A real little girl sees him and falls in love with him, but her mother says she doesn't have money to buy him and he's missing a button. After the store closes, all the toys with faces close their eyes except...
Published on August 7, 2000 by iloveprovence

versus
39 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars but corduroy is so small!
This is a fine product--except corduroy is so small. I guess maybe I didn't read the description too well. However, for 10.00 I guess I couldn't have received a a big plush stuffed animal and a nice hardcover book as well!! I would recommend it, but just beware that corduroy is like 4 inches tall and 3 inches wide approx, and for a real enthusiast, I would buy a cheaper...
Published on March 11, 2009 by S. Allen


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should know this lovely book!, August 7, 2000
This review is from: Corduroy (Paperback)
Cordoroy is the perfect children's book. It is a gentle, sweet tale of a little bear in cordoroy overalls waiting to be purchased in a department store. A real little girl sees him and falls in love with him, but her mother says she doesn't have money to buy him and he's missing a button. After the store closes, all the toys with faces close their eyes except Cordoroy. Instead, he travels the department store searching for a button because he didn't know he was not perfect. He does not solve his problem. Cordoroy is back on the toy shelf the next morning. The little girl, Lisa returns to buy him. She takes him home, sews on a button, and provides him with his own little bed right beside hers. "I've always wanted a friend!" he says. This beautifully illustrated book has a simple text and huge appeal to anyone with a heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Collector's item/memorabilia for adults, pages upside down, March 13, 2008
By 
William F. Cook "wfcook" (Stevensville, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I purchased this for my son, but I'm going to get another copy that ISN'T the anniversary addition. This version contains eight pages of information about the earlier version of the book, letters between the author and publisher, etc. This sort of stuff is more for those of us who remember the book from our childhoods than it is for the kids themselves.

Curiously, the first four pages of my copy of the book are bound in upside-down. Does anyone else have this in theirs? I might have a real collector's item indeed...

As for the story itself, it's a five-star kid's story. Wonderful. But if you are buying it for your kids, I'd get the other version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, sweet story., October 31, 2000
This review is from: Corduroy (Hardcover)
This sweet bear has been around for several generations. Living in a department store, Corduroy wanders off for the night. Up the escalator onto the floor with the beds and the lamps. Aha, he needs a new button to replace the lost button on his corduroy overalls. He pulls and pulls a button from a mattress, creating quite a racket in the process. The night watchman comes to investigate and finds the bear hiding under a blanket. The nightwatchman carries Corduroy down the escalator and places him back on the shelf. You see, the little girl's mother told Lisa that she did not want Corduroy because he had was missing a button. The following day Lisa returns with her saved piggy bank money, buys the bear and takes him home to his very own bedroom. This book is incredibly sweet and is appropriate for 2 years old and older. What's more, FAO Schwartz actually sells a Corduroy bear. What a treat. A wonderful gift for a birthday or holiday. Highly, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Warm Tale of Homecoming and Acceptance, June 14, 2009
Corduroy is a stuffed bear who lives on the shelf of a department store. One day a girl named Lisa spies him and exclaims over him, but her mother points out that he is missing a button from his overalls, and the two depart without buying him. That night, while the store is quiet, Corduroy explores the store in search of his button. He is unsuccessful and is returned to his shelf by a security guard; but in the morning the little girl returns, having ransacked her piggy bank, and carries him home in her arms. There she sews a new button on him and settles him into her home.

There are several elements of this charming story that have made it popular for decades. Corduroy has a flaw that he cannot repair by himself -- his missing button. This produces in him a helplessness and dependence on others that children, who understand their own dependence on adults, will respond to with empathy.

Additionally, Corduroy takes his circumstances for granted until the prospect of a change comes along; this provokes him to try to better himself. As he explores the store, his horizons are broadened: "I think I've always wanted to climb a mountain," he says as he goes up the escalator; "I guess I've always wanted to live in a palace," as he enters the furniture department. It is only on arriving at Lisa's home that he realizes what he really needs is a home and a friend -- two things young children intuitively know they need as well.

A final touch is that Lisa's family is not a wealthy one: Lisa's mother cannot buy the bear because she has "spent too much already," and Lisa and her parents live in a fourth-floor apartment rather than a large house. But the little home is a secure one, filled with warm touches and supplied with the tools needed to replace Corduroy's button. This is far better than the cold "palace" in which Lisa found him. Corduroy's homecoming is to a place of humble, nurturing love.

The story is told in an understated, sweet way, and endearingly illustrated. For those children who regard their favorite toys as friends, it may have a special appeal.

There are a number of sequels and other products that have grown out of the original book's popularity, but the quality of the sequels I have read is pretty mediocre. I recommend only the original story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars but corduroy is so small!, March 11, 2009
This is a fine product--except corduroy is so small. I guess maybe I didn't read the description too well. However, for 10.00 I guess I couldn't have received a a big plush stuffed animal and a nice hardcover book as well!! I would recommend it, but just beware that corduroy is like 4 inches tall and 3 inches wide approx, and for a real enthusiast, I would buy a cheaper book, and a larger bear!! Especially for a child who wants to actually play with their toys--I don't see this bear holding up too well, unless he's on a shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everybody loves Corduroy, December 4, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Corduroy (Paperback)
The little bear named Corduroy may not be as beautiful and perfect as the doll sitting next to him on the toy shelf, but he is more loveable. Corduroy is learning some of the struggles in life, just as we do in our lives. He is desperately searching for his lost botton because he wants a little girl to buy him. But the only thing the girl is searching for is not on the outside, it is on the inside. She loves Corduroy for Corduroy. This teaches children an excellent lesson. Love people for their personality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Winner, November 28, 2007
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Corduroy (Hardcover)
I loved this teddy bear who longed for his home and his mother. I like this story of not only receiving but also giving love. Corduroy was lucky enough to find Lisa but not all teddy bears are that lucky... Corduroy is exactly the kind of teddy bear that I love.
Other great books that I highly recommend are The Very Hungry Caterpillar board book and especially Why Some Cats are Rascals, Book 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I�ve Always Wanted A Good Toddler Story, May 25, 2001
This review is from: Corduroy (Paperback)
Did the screenwriters of the recently released "Bridget Jones' Diary" lift Colin Firth's line "I like you just the way you are" from this wonderful 1968 kids' book (see the penultimate page's "I like you the way you are")? Well, probably not...but in both instances it's a very effective and heartfelt line, capturing the essence of unconditional, lasting love.
Corduroy is a cute little stuffed bear who nobody wants to buy: There are bigger and newer toys, and besides, the button is missing from one strap of his overalls. Only Lisa shows interest that day, but her mother hesitates and they leave without him. While looking for the button after the store closes, Corduroy experiences the wonders of a big department store: The elevator and the new beds lined in rows: "This must be a palace...I guess I've always wanted to live in a palace."
Lisa returns the next day and buys him with her own money, and the sugarcoated ending strikes up just the right amount of sentiment without becoming overbearing (no pun intended). "This must be home," he [Corduroy] said. "I know I've always wanted a home!" And then: "You must be a friend," said Corduroy. "I've always wanted a friend." "Me too!" said Lisa, and gave him a big hug. Powerful, misty-eye making stuff! Beautiful simple color pictures, and 28 pages of adventure and sweet love. Awwww-inspiring (pun intended). Highly recommended for the toddler set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good story, good art, good messages, December 12, 2011
The story is engaging. Lisa wants the bear but her mom says not today. The bear wants a home, but he's shopworn and missing a button. The story is resolved realistically (as much as it can be with a talking teddy bear) though realistic effort. It's a little long for my 2 1/2 year old but he'll grow into it.

The art is wonderful, much better than the quick cartoonish style so popular today.

I like the morals the story teaches. The bear tries to improve himself (find a button). The mother tells her daughter she can't have everything she wants. The girl goes home and gets the money from her piggy bank to buy it on her own. I also like that there's a normal black girl in a book that isn't about Kwanzaa or multiculturalism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Corduroy by Don Freeman, September 19, 2004
This review is from: Corduroy (Hardcover)
Corduroy has been my lifelong favorite childhood book. The story is about a stuffed bear in a department store that is not in perfect condition. A little girl walks by him and falls in love with him immediately, but is denied the opportunity to take him home by her mother. Corduroy wants to be loved by someone so he searches and searches for a lost button on his overalls. This book is quite an adventure for young readers as they flip each page to read what Corduroy is getting himself into just to find a button. This picture book is wonderful for young readers because the pictures coordinate with the text itself. A young reader around the age of four that may not be able to read can easily tell what event is taking place because of the pictures. Corduroy also inspires imagination for the young reader because of the stuffed animal coming to life throughout the story. This is also a predictable story, which allows the reader to predict the story line and what may happen on the upcoming pages. The grammar in Corduroy is also very helpful for young readers because it is correct. This book is a model for young readers to learn proper grammar at a young age. Corduroy is a very good story for children also because it has a wonderful moral in the end. All children need to feel loved and this story's moral is just that that no matter how imperfect you are there is someone that loves you for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Corduroy
Corduroy by Don Freeman (Paperback - September 30, 1976)
$6.99 $6.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.