Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See it in action!
Customer Video Review     Length:: 9:11 Mins
I've used Painter since version 9 and I find each new version just keeps getting better and better. I've included a video showing some of the features of the program.

The major advantage of Painter over other digital painting software programs is the great variety of "natural medium" brushes. These are brushes that mimic the look of...
Published 17 months ago by V. Hutson

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is sad, because both Photoshop and Manga Studio (a $50 ...
I have been an avid Painter user since version 6. I use it professionally as an illustrator. But I have to say, version 13 does nothing that 12 or 11 can't already do, and it's SLOWER!
Yes, the brushes behave much more quickly, however the pan/zoom/tilt response are so slow as to make it completely unusable once the layers start stacking up. This, even on a brand new...
Published 5 months ago by Jeremy Bernal


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Photographers, and Digital Artist, September 29, 2013
This review is from: Corel Painter X3 (CD-ROM)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Through my years of being a filmmaker, writer, photographer, and digital artist I love getting my hands on software to push my imagination to the next level. This package is part of that progression of creating. With photography project Pulp Life I have been attempting to recreate the art of all those great pulp novels and now with this amazing program and all it's feature you can pull off some impressive work.

I have tried many plug-ins with Photoshop and downloaded many apps from the Mac store but they all seem to come up a bit short like you can tell it's just a plug-in.

This program breaks that wall down, with a bit of time, talent, and desire you can create work you are proud to display and share. The learning curve might be a bit advanced but there is plenty of places to learn. Youtube has MANY videos to step you through and create something beautiful.

I really like how the DVD comes with both Mac and PC so I can either work on my laptop on the go or desktop.

The price tag is big but you get big results.

Have fun making ART that is what it's for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Corel Does it Again with X3..!, November 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Corel Painter X3 (CD-ROM)
Love it..! I've just updated from Painter 11 and I love the new applications. The new apps will certainly add a new dimension to my work I'll update my review as I journey through X3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Paint Program Available, October 14, 2013
This review is from: Corel Painter X3 (CD-ROM)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Over 20 years ago I purchased Painter, then by Fractal Designs, and it came in an a paint can. I have been in love with it ever since. I was concerned when Corel bought the product but time has shown that my concern was misplaced. I should have know that Corel, who has always been a leader in vector based graphics, would do justice to the Painter legacy. Although the paint can is gone Painter lives on and if X3 is any indication of what we can expect then the future is indeed bright. Corel has chosen not to dramatically change the product but to improve on it, which is exactly what I hoped. Anyone who loves to paint will love this program. I seriously suggest you get a Wacom digital tablet, it is much easier to use Painter with it. I can not express in words how much I love Painter, just trust me when I say that it is simply amazing and I strongly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars this product worked fine until the warranty ran out and now its causing ..., December 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Corel Painter X3 (CD-ROM)
this product worked fine until the warranty ran out and now its causing many problems and not responding. I would not buy it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous HD Photo layering, August 21, 2013
By 
Daniel Myers (Greenville, SC USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Corel Painter X3 (CD-ROM)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Length:: 4:39 Mins

I chose this software from Vine due to my interest in photo editing. Whether it's worth the extra dosh for professional graphic artists to update is, of course, a personal decision, and I'm not about to enter the fray. But, for my needs in multi-layered photographic creations, the tool is ideal.

The video I took some time to put together here with freeware is a simple illustration of the concept of layering: A seagull onto a desert landscape. - I could have chosen a camel, but how boring! - The seagull also illustrates sharply and with what a fine brush you must employ your fine motor skills in order to erase away the hue of his native sky whilst retaining those things necessary to a seagull, such as a beak and tail-feathers.

The Corel X3 Painter has been a godsend to this photoediting artist. Everything looks far more polished and beautiful once I've spent the several hours necessary to gain the required aesthetic effect.

Highly rewarding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what I wanted, January 28, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Corel Painter X3 (CD-ROM)
I'm very pleased with this software (I'm not a previous owner). It has a large learning curve, but, there is a large community that can assist, and does. I started with You Tube videos (these are a great help) that got me started, and I've been exploring (trial-n-error).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Review of Corel's Painter X3, September 20, 2013
By 
This review is from: Corel Painter X3 (CD-ROM)
A Review of Corel's Painter X3
The Premier Digital Art Software. $429.00 For PC and Mac

Painter X3 is for the artist what Photoshop is for the photographer. It emulates the traditional art studio on a computer just as Photoshop replaces the darkroom. With the help of a computer, a graphics tablet and stylus, an aspiring artist can use PainterX3 to create digital imitations of various art media such as watercolor, oil, chalk, pencil. It can also supply background textures, patterns and many effects.

But Painter X3 is much more than an imitation of traditional art media. It is a whole new universe of artistic possibilities. The heart of Painter X3 is the brush.. There are 35 categories of brushes in my version of Painter X3 and each category has many variants. These brushes can respond to pressure, tilt, rotation, velocity and even jitter. One category of brush I just noticed is Photo. It has variants to dodge and burn, blur and sharpen, saturate and diffuse, remove scratches, and add grain. Watch out Photoshop!

Another great thing about Painter X3 is that you can make your own brushes. A new button brings up all the Brush Adjustment panels in a flash and just as quickly disposes of them. This really helps make space for all the other panels and tools on a crowded desk top.

Click on "What's New" when you open the new Painter X3 and presto you are on the web with a whole table of contents and an index and a new search bar. Everything is immediately at your fingertips to browse and discover Painter X3.

New to this version is a search bar for brushes. Write in a brush name or characteristic and up it pops. New Perspective Guides allow you to accurately draw in one, two or three-point perspective by using preset guides. The Perspective-Guided Strokes constrain your strokes to direct them towards the vanishing points. Also new is the ability to open a Reference photo for inspiration or to sample colors to use in your image.

I just began playing with some of new Art Brushes: the new Sargent Super Jitter and Coarse Jitter and Tubism brushes. With a few uninhibited strokes I produced this. Wow!
Sorry you cannot see it on this review site.

There is plenty more to describe Painter X3. There are new specialized work spaces for working from photos or just painting. There is a workspace for photos developed by Jeremy Sutton, who is a Master Painter Teacher with a PaintboxTv.com Web site for teaching about Painter.

If the reader is interested, visit the Corel.com web site for many more tutorials and you can also download a copy of the program for 30 days free to try it out.
I just love this program and so give it Four Big Stars XXXX
[ASIN:B00DT04I9W Corel Painter X3]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good But Even Better With a Drawing Tablet, September 18, 2013
This review is from: Corel Painter X3 (CD-ROM)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I wanted to really take my time testing out Corel Painter X3. For the first week, my daughter (a graphic arts student) and I put it to the test without a drawing tablet. It works with the mouse, but I highly recommend making the extra purchase and getting a the drawing tablet.

We installed Painter on my son's desktop. He's a computer software engineering student and built his computer to meet the rigorous demands of college. Corel's software really isn't memory intensive, so we could have used it with any of our laptops, but the desktop seemed more centrally located and a better choice. The system's requirements are given in the manufacturer's description, so I won't go over them other than to say you have to have Windows 7 or 8 if you have a PC. If you're still running XP, this program isn't compatible.

Corel Painter is not cheap at $429. However, it is an amazing piece of software in the right hands. I'm not much of an artist, my daughter on the other hand, turned out an Impressionist-style painting that blew me away. The range of brushes make the program feel very real, like you have the oil paint, palette, and canvas in front of you. With the advanced brush view, you see the stroke you've made before it goes on the screen, and that's a handy feature to have.

We're still getting used to all of the features - there are tons of them - and seeing just how far Painter can go. At this point, it's a valuable program for anyone with a strong interest in digital art. I do think though that you really need to take your time, especially if, like us, you're new to Painter. There are many features that simply cannot be mastered overnight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of fun once I learned how to use it, October 17, 2013
By 
Mrs. Kilo Delta (Northwest, United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Corel Painter X3 (CD-ROM)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I'm not an artist and I've never used Photoshop, so the learning curve was fairly steep for me. But by watching tutorials and really paying attention, after several days of using it and playing around, I've gotten good results. So far I've been using it mostly to turn my photos into paintings (which is SO much fun), and I've scanned in a few hand drawings and used the program to color them in. There is so much more to Corel Painter X3 and I'm looking forward to getting more use out of it. Like others, I do recommend using the free 30-day trial available on Corel's website so you can get a feel for it before you buy. I think it's a top-notch program though, I'm very happy with the results.

Note: I'm using this on my 2012 Mac mini, 2.6 GHz Intel Core i7, with 16 GB memory. No problems at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Program, June 12, 2014
This review is from: Corel Painter X3 (CD-ROM)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I've only just started to learn about digital art and my photo editing skills are limited to looking up tutorials and following along. I also use Paint Sai Tool, which I find a lot simpler for just creating digital art, but that's because there are a lot more features on Corel Painter that I have yet learned about. Before you take the plunge, try out the 30 day trail on their official website. Also, if you are a student, Amazon sells an educator one for about 1/3 of the price, so look into that if you are a student.

I use this on a 12.5 inch laptop that is connected to an external monitor with a wacom drawing tablet. I find that there is no lag, even with larger drawings. I can also run photoshop on here perfectly fine too as long as I have a laptop fan or something to prop it up so my laptop doesn't overheat and slow down. But I always prop up my laptop anyways because it gets warm no matter what programs I run. Painting software doesn't make it burning hot though, like online gaming, such as league of legends or similar games.

I can't tell you much about all the functions because there is so much more for me to learn. I've used the drawing tools and played around with some color theory and to me, but there are so many more features and brushes to download. I would highly recommend trying out the trial to see if you would want to purchase this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Corel Painter X3
Corel Painter X3 by Corel (Mac OS X, Windows 7 / 8)
$429.00 $299.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.