Customer Reviews


508 Reviews
5 star:
 (357)
4 star:
 (110)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


89 of 98 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heart-baringly honest
Pop, blues, soul, classic 1970s R&B - all these things are brought to bear in the music of Corinne Bailey Rae, not to mention forming an indie band called Helen when she was 16 and being a big Led Zeppelin fan in her formative years.

Rae, 26, has a rich variety of experience making music, including sanctifying Primal Scream songs for her church choir, and this...
Published on October 31, 2006 by Y. Dharnidharka

versus
33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic first album, BUT....
Corinne Bailey Rae captured me with a thick, smooth and alluring voice that is both unique and timeless. This album definately goes back to the heart of R&B as it used to be, back before it became vulgar. What you hear in her singing is fresh and vibrant.

HOWEVER...

After about the third track, I noticed a pattern. It's basically her voice + smooth...
Published on September 11, 2006 by J. Hughes


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

89 of 98 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heart-baringly honest, October 31, 2006
By 
This review is from: Corinne Bailey Rae (Audio CD)
Pop, blues, soul, classic 1970s R&B - all these things are brought to bear in the music of Corinne Bailey Rae, not to mention forming an indie band called Helen when she was 16 and being a big Led Zeppelin fan in her formative years.

Rae, 26, has a rich variety of experience making music, including sanctifying Primal Scream songs for her church choir, and this album sounds incredibly assured for a debut.

The key track is 'Enchantment', which is utterly bewitching with scratchy backbeat samples and sprinklings of lush keyboards the perfect setting for a voice which simply melts in the ears. It brings summer warmth to a dreich February day, oozing the same languid loving as the single 'Put Your Records On'.

Comparisons with Norah Jones are lazy and easily made, but this girl is much more about pop chutzpah than slick jazz sophistication.

'Choux Pastry Heart' is not as flaky an idea as you might suppose, gliding through love gone wrong territory with the tastiest coating on that bitter pill to be heard in a long time.

For now, it seems Bailey Rae is required - or has chosen - to stick firmly to the middle ground: songs like 'Breathless' and 'Enchantment' are so inoffensive you wonder quite how those comparisons to a hard-living icon such as Holiday could come about.

But one song, the truly enchanting 'Like a Star', left an impression that her true sound - the music she would love to make if not for the interference of producers or chart-worriers - is, if not gritty or grimy, then at least heart-baringly honest. Real soul, in other words.

A glowing introduction to a significant talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic first album, BUT...., September 11, 2006
This review is from: Corinne Bailey Rae (Audio CD)
Corinne Bailey Rae captured me with a thick, smooth and alluring voice that is both unique and timeless. This album definately goes back to the heart of R&B as it used to be, back before it became vulgar. What you hear in her singing is fresh and vibrant.

HOWEVER...

After about the third track, I noticed a pattern. It's basically her voice + smooth bass building up to a tinkling of little chimes, and trumpets in the background. Basically, it felt like all of the songs were remixes of the SAME song. There is a shocking lack of diversity.

I believe that her voice deserves to be laid over better music.

This is a very good first album, don't get me wrong. It serves well as a listen-to-before-bed album, or a driving-home-after-a-long-day-of-work album. I'm looking forward to her follow up, hoping to hear something more unique. I believe there is a TON of potential here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Born for a moment such as this......, March 8, 2006
By 
This review is from: Corinne Bailey Rae (Audio CD)
I ain't gonna front. I've been looking forward to this CD since I heard that beautiful slice of soul drenched honey-of-a-single' like a Star'. Yes there has been a lot of hype surrounding this young lady, based on this one toon. Well, I'm here to say that you need to believe the hype on this one. Listening to this CD conjures up images of lazy warm summer days, chillin with a loved one, or outside listening on your MP3 player.

Firstly, let's deal with the voice. She has been compared to Billie Holiday, which is high praise indeed. I'll leave the comparisons up to you. I'll stick to the music.

The aforementioned `Like a star' kicks off this CD, and is quickly followed by `Enchancement', which is dream-like lullaby of a love song, beautifully sang. The second single' Put your records on', is a feel-good uplifting summer song, with a great video (see on Corinnebaileyrae.net) `Till it happens to you' slows downs proceedings, with a blues rinsed song of heart break. Things perk up with' Trouble sleeping, a mid tempo offering, which is light and breezy. 'Call me when you get this' is one of my favourite tunes on the CD. With strings and an old school feel running all through it, I hope this is a single release. Beautiful. Things are laid bare, on the Piano led 'choux pastry heart' which highlights Corinne's vocal strength, and range. 'Breathless' is another highlight, a sweet song of the first fruits of love. 'Butterfly' is another gorgeous. mid-tempo, song relating to Corinne's relationship, with her mother. The album ends with,' Season change, another favourite, which deal with life's pain, hurts, and disappointments. All these songs are slow to mid tempo, so for those looking for the latest `club' banger, may be disappointed. This is the kind of CD that you can let play without skipping songs, and it's a grower. All these songs didn't hit me immediately, but the warmth quickly spread. On a side note, the single' Put your records on' has a bonus song' Since I've been loving you', an old Led Zepalin tune, which is available on Itunes. Piano driven slice of soul. HIGHLY RECCOMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album wasn't Grammy-nominated for nothing, April 1, 2007
This review is from: Corinne Bailey Rae (Audio CD)
I first found out about Corinne Bailey Rae last year when she was spotlighted as a VH1 You Oughta Know artist. While I jumped onto her bandwagon immediately afterwards, somehow I never got around to listening to her full-length self-titled album until just recently. But I'm sure glad I did.

By now, I'm sure everyone's familiar with the singles "Put Your Records On", "Like a Star" and "I'd Like to", but there are even more great songs to be found. "Call Me When You Get This" is a funky change from her usual fare, and "Butterfly" and "Breathless" are beautiful in their own right. And although I'm not sure what "Choux Pastry Heart" means, it's also a highlight.

In fact, every song on here is a highlight. I know it's been said a few time before, but when it comes to Corinne Bailey Rae, do what her debut single instructs and put her records on.

Anthony Rupert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I hate when Record companies do this, February 9, 2007
This review is from: Corinne Bailey Rae (Audio CD)
I hate when record companies re-release albums with bonus songs or dvd. It is just a sneaky way to get more money. Quit trying to make us buy the album twice. Corinne Bailey Rae's music alone deserves 5 stars but to try to get her fans to re-buy the cd is just wrong. If I didn't already own the original, then this would be the way to go. What the record labels should do is save the bonus content for the next album or release it by itself at a lower cost.

Onto other business, She did a great cover of Björk's Venus As A Boy and Led Zepplin's "Since I've been loving you".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The buzz continues with her Grammy nominations....., February 5, 2007
By 
L. Quido "quidrock" (Tampa, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Corinne Bailey Rae (Audio CD)
I never, ever, fall for the most commercial song on a CD. I generally go for one of the hidden gems, the one that doesn't shine in the public domain of TV appearances and videos. This is not the case with this CD. From the moment I first heard it, I couldn't get "Put Your Records On" out of my head. To this day, I don't know why; the lyrical strings in many of the other songs are far more to my liking, but somehow the funny lightness of this song sticks to me, and I often find myself humming it during the day....

"Girl, put your records on, tell me your favorite song

You go ahead, let your hair down

Sapphire and faded jeans, I hope you get your dreams,

Just go ahead, let your hair down.

You're gonna find yourself somewhere, somehow."

THE BEST OF THE REST

"Like a Star" -- Lyrical, languid, lovely

"Till It Happens To You" -- A quintessential breakup song

"Call Me When You Get This" -- playful and sexy, a message to a lover:

"Baby, if you're still awake,

Call me when you get this.

I've got all this poetry now, I didn't know then.

I kept inside. Guess I had never seen anything beautiful

Till I first saw you asleep at night."

"Trouble Sleeping" -- a bluesy classic; the horns on this song are memorable

A couple of songs carry out the theme, but I'm less fond of them: "Breathless" , "Enchantment" and "Choux Pastry Heart". The material at the end of the CD is less comprehensive and "listenable" than the first 2/3.

All in all, Bailey Rae demonstrates that everything old is new again - but she deserves to be compared only to herself and not some of the unique ladies that came before her. I hope that this early success is followed by continued success as an artist and songwriter.

If you haven't heard this CD, it is highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A VERY, VERY GOOD DEBUT...but not great, July 16, 2006
This review is from: Corinne Bailey Rae (Audio CD)
Corinne Bailey Rae's self-titled CD is certainly worth the price of admission for those seeking well crafted, contemporary soul and delivers on most of it's promises. Colorful, thoughtful lyrics that ache of love not quite there, rich textured musical arrangements and stylish vocals that balance youthful optimism with a hint of disappointment. The stand-outs on this project are "Trouble Sleeping", "Like A Star" and "Butterfly", with the last one not only being the best of the three, but the one that ultimately showcases Bailey Rae's lyrics. The single, "Put Your Records On", is a decent, mid-tempo ditty that's easy to sing along to, but certainly lacks some of the depth of the other material. The lyrics on this one trumpet free spirited innocence and self-discovery, but don't really say much more than you've heard before from similar artists. And it reeks of being added later so the record company could feel like they had a "single" with some groove and not an album of ballads. To her credit, she maintains a good consistency throughout the CD by using one main producer, Steve Chrisanthou, a perk many urban artists overlook. Too many producers bringing too many different "feels" to the album and no one thinking of the artist's sound as a whole. And unfortunately, like a lot of R&B/soul acts, she's weaker on up tempos and stronger on ballads. The knee jerk reaction to Bailey Rae by those who listen casually will be her Billie Holiday comparison, which isn't unfounded. Her voice, while stronger and more dynamic than Lady Day's, certainly does ape Billie's style, but is unable to capture mood and sadness and beauty the way Billie could. Lots of young singers have been influenced by Holiday and she'll probably grow past this at some point. Rae writes her own songs, plays and sings on her records, so being a triple threat will bode well for her development. However, as a singer, her voice can sometimes get lost in busier arrangements, if she's not careful. Her delivery, while dripping with personality, can lack an intensity that a vocalist needs to command the ear of the listener. On "Call Me When You Get This", one of few up tempos, the track almost runs her over and we find ourselves bored by whatever she's singing about. The one great failing of this British, singer-songwriter's debut, in my opinion, is the track sequencing on the CD. If you listen from start to finish, there's no journey in the song order. A great album always takes you on a trip and manipulates the listener to step into the artist's world. This CD, while having some really good moments, loses when it starts with a dark ballad, followed by a darker ballad, then to the upbeat single---and back to a dark ballad! By the fourth song, you'll wanna break up with her,too. Anyway, if you're so inclined to mix up the song order yourself (I've done it before), this is a very strong first outing by a bright, talented singer who really does seem to have the goods. Hopefully, her record company and those in her corner and will allow her to stay the path set before her and give her the time and space to continue to mature and blossom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Girl Go Ahead Let Your Hair Down, June 21, 2006
This review is from: Corinne Bailey Rae (Audio CD)
As we entered this new decade, one genre that has seemed to disappear from the musical landscape has been R&B. Don't talk to me about Usher or Ciara because that type of R&B has been taken over Hip-Hop influences. Yeah, it was novel when Mary J. Blige invented the sub-genre over ten years ago, but now that every R&B artist has Hip-Hop producers all over their albums, it's become tiresome. Even Alicia Keys, whose first two albums were great, sometimes lets Hip-Hop take over too much in her songs. When I talk about real R&B music, I'm talking about baby making music like Boyz II Men and Babyface.

Enter Corinne Bailey Rae and her self titled debut album. The English songbird has actually been able make an R&B record in 2006 that doesn't have any Hip-Hop beats on it. Rae has been touted as a cross between Macy Gray and India.Arie but her voice is much more assessable than Gray's (though it does take a little time to get used to) and goes far beyond Arie's acoustic soul leanings. The comparison must come from the acoustic guitar driven second single Put Your Records On.

In fact on the album Rae is able to catch the vibe of R&B throughout the decade starting with the opener, Like a Star, a soft and stripped down song that evoke Billie Holiday. She then moves into the sixties with Trouble Sleeping which could have fit in easily at a time when Motown ruled. Then Call Me When You Get This with its pseudo-disco beat could have been played during the hey day of Studio 54. Breathless would have a good edition to any Anita Baker album. With the closing track, Seasons Change, Rae is even able to evoke Alicia Keys without the Hip-Hop beats.

This album may not be enough to bring back real R&B nor will it produced more babies than a Barry White release, but it's definitely worth a listen to anyone who misses silky voices and are tired of aggravated drum beats. The diversity of the album, mixing a wide range of soul music as well as a wide variety of instruments from song to song, should keep Corinne Bailey Rae in music collections for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Corinne Bailey Rae, December 30, 2006
This review is from: Corinne Bailey Rae (Audio CD)
English Singer and Songwriter Corinne Bailey Rae's self titled debut album "Corinne Bailey Rae" (2006) is a memorable twelve track release full of feel good music. Corrine Bailey Rae is a gifted singer who's soulful singing, and beautiful personality shine through on this release. In addition to singing Bailey Rae plays the acoustic, electric and spanish guitar, percussion, bass, piano and keyboards. Not to be forgotten is group of background personnel who provide some exceptional and outstanding instrumentals and production. My personal favourites on this release are: "Call Me When You Get This", "Like A Star", "Enchantment" and "Butterfly". Bailey Rae takes her audience through an enjoyable journey on this album, covering many different aspects of life and love. "Corrine Bailey Rae" is an international release I recommend to anyone who enjoy's quality music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wishful Thinking, July 16, 2007
This review is from: Corinne Bailey Rae (Audio CD)
I heard a few cuts from Corinne on the online jazz station 102.2 Jazz FM (London). After some deep research I decided to try the album. I ordered it as an import and it BLEW my MIND. This Angelic creature has made a beautiful CD. I have the Bonus album with all her published songs and they ALL!!!! are good. Favorites-Butterfly and Breathless. Sit down pour a glass of something nice and hold on to the one you love. Open your ears and your heart and let this lady take you for a ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Corinne Bailey Rae
Corinne Bailey Rae by Corinne Bailey Rae (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.