Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
53
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$15.02+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 28, 2000
The best of books written by the professionals for anybody. Any experienced keeper will value this, but even the newcomer should get this book. With every possible piece of info. you could know about a cornsnake, there isn't a topic that isn't covered. If you have a cornsake, then buy this book.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2000
This one of the best books on corn snakes I have read. It covers anything anyone interested would need from history to selection to breeding. The color pictures are great.
This book is a must for anyone interested in keeping, breeding or just learning about Corn Snakes.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2001
This is the best and most comprehensive care guide for corn snakes on the shelves, from a couple who breed them by the thousand each year. Each section covers its subject thoroughly and with authority: a lengthy treatise on brumation; a thoughtful couple of pages on stress; even a serious investigation of commercial snake sausages (ick!) under feeding. That thoroughness also carries over to the lavishly illustrated section covering color and pattern morphs: we not only get a picture and a brief description, but also the history of how that given morph came about (and by whom). So we discover, for example, that a pewter corn is a combination of bloodred and charcoal (anerythristic B), that butter is an amelanistic caramel, that a milk snake phase is a selectively bred Miami phase, and so on. With so much useful and interesting information in this book, every hobbyist with corn snakes simply has to have it.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2004
I recently bought my first pet Corn, and picked this guide up as a reference for my new baby snake. This book is considered the bible of corn snake ownership, and for good reason. It's massively thorough, covering every topic a new snake owner needs to know about, as well as some other interesting stuff. I particularly enjoyed the section on genetics and the history of the different morphs.
My only nitpick is that the authors state a lot of their personal opinions about the value of different colors and patterns as if they're universal--they actually call dark colors "ugly" at one point, whereas I find them the most appealing. It would be better if they could remain objective, and simply present the facts.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2002
Wow, I was really impressed with the way this book tells you how to care for your Corn snakes. It has everything covered, this is the book to get if your going to own a Corn snake. It tells you everything from what to put your snake in to what kind of parasites your snake could get.This book even tells you how to know when your snakes are getting ready to breed! There are a few really good books out there for Corn snakes but this one is my favorite.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2005
My family is in the market for a "Corn." We are actually looking to purchase one from the author of the book. It is very descriptive and detailed. The only reason why I gave it 4 stars is because we've never owned a snake and I think a check-list on what is recommended to buy before your snake arrives should've been included, along with how often to clean the aquarium and exactly how to clean it (just scoop out individual messes, or the whole she-bang). Anyway. It's excellent and informative and highly recommended!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2015
This offered quite a bit of information on corn snakes and their care and requirements. I found it highly useful to read before getting a corn snake - I was able to prepare a good, stable environment for the animal and knew what to expect/how to handle an animal in a brand new husbandry setting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2002
Well written book on the care of cornsnakes. Everything you wanted to know complete with a few great colored pictures. Although with a little searching you can find all the info they provided in the book on the internet it's still handy to have around.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2005
If you are planning on owning a corn snake, this one and The art of keeping snakes by Phillipe de Vosjoli should be the first books to buy. Read it before you purchase the animal!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2015
So very helpful for new corn snake owners- a must buy! I just recently purchased a corn snake, and with so much contrasting/differing information online that it is an enormous relief to have an authority who is well-respected in the field give definitive advice regarding corn snake care. There are also a couple of chapters on breeding and corn snake genetics, if you are interested. The only thing that I wish was elaborated on a bit more is the sizes and weights of snakes and their frozen mice food; the commonly accepted method of determining this is the Munson plan (Google it). Regardless, with this book in hand and an account on cornsnakes.com, I hope to care for my beautiful new lavender motley corn for years to come!

Author Kathy Love's website: http://www.cornutopia.com/
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse