Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uncorrupted Excellence
John Grant's CORRUPTED SCIENCE is very enlightening. Most of us are familiar with scientific frauds that have been exposed over the years, such as the Piltdown Man and Cold Fusion, but did you know that test results were faked by such scientific giants as Sir Isaac Newton, Galileo, and Ptolemy? I certainly didn't.

This is a companion volume to Grant's...
Published on November 14, 2007 by Timothy R. Sullivan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but has problems
Overall, an entertaining book. It covers many different science/pseudoscience topics that kept me hooked. Unfortunately, there were a few things that personally irked me. The first being the fact that since so many topics were covered, the book was a bit choppy. I am not sure if much could be done about this, but the book seems to jump from one thing to another...
Published 5 months ago by SpartinStuff


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uncorrupted Excellence, November 14, 2007
This review is from: Corrupted Science: Fraud, Ideology and Politics in Science (Hardcover)
John Grant's CORRUPTED SCIENCE is very enlightening. Most of us are familiar with scientific frauds that have been exposed over the years, such as the Piltdown Man and Cold Fusion, but did you know that test results were faked by such scientific giants as Sir Isaac Newton, Galileo, and Ptolemy? I certainly didn't.

This is a companion volume to Grant's DISCARDED SCIENCE, and if anything it's even more fascinating than the earlier volume. Grant's prodigious research is evident throughout, but it never gets in the way of his highly readable prose.

CORRUPTED SCIENCE is divided into six major chapters: "Fraudulent Scientists," touched on above, concerning scientific hoaxes; "Seeing What They Wanted to See," about innocent mistakes that cloud the scientific debate, sometimes for generations; "Military Madness," detailing the Pentagon's waste of almost unimaginable sums on cockamamie ideas; "The One True Book," exposing the activities of religious groups who deceitfully claim their ideas are valid scientific theories, e.g. Creationism's latest incarnation, Intelligent Design; "Ideology Trumps Science," examines racism and prejudice in the name of science; and finally "The Political Corruption of Science."

This last chapter highlights three major examples: Hitler's Germany, Stalin's Russia, and Bush's America. If you don't believe the latter belongs in the same category as the former two, the evidence cited in this book may make you change your mind.

CORRUPTED SCIENCE is indispensable for anyone interested in the history of science and what's happening in our society today. It will take quite some time to repair the damage caused by the ideologist extremists and political hacks of the Bush Administration, Grant argues, and he presents his argument most convincingly.

The book is a bargain at Amazon's price. It's a hardcover complete with dustjacket. Though small in size, it's packed with information presented in a very readable format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad book, but a little over the top in places, August 3, 2008
By 
Charles P. Hobbs (Los Angeles, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Corrupted Science: Fraud, Ideology and Politics in Science (Hardcover)
Grant's _Corrupted Science_ gives several examples of how the scientific process, and scientific research, has been interfered with.

Sometimes researchers fake results for various reasons ranging from flat out dishonesty, to pressure from co-workers or superiors. Scientists have also been so convinced that they are observing one thing, that they are resistant, even when proven wrong, to more accurate observations.

In other cases, however, researchers are not permitted to present their results, or even continue to work on various projects because of outside pressures. These influences can come from societal factions, government, business, religious groups or even the scientific peer-review process itself (p. 219). Their influence can be as subtle as a mass media interpretation of a research project, or as direct as denial of funding, or as bad as direct threats to scientists' careers (or lives!)

_Corrupted Science_ gives lots of examples. The usual classics are here (Cold Fusion, Intelligent Design, Piltdown Man, etc.) along with some that I had not heard of (N-rays anybody? How about Menstrual Rays?) But although some of the examples presented are downright comical, others are serious business (medical quackery, tobacco companies covering up the fact that smoking causes cancer, etc.)

Of course the worst thing that can happen is outside forces (usually a government) becoming so powerful in general, and having such an undue influence over science, that only certain ideas are allowed to be promulgated; anything out of line with the government-sanctioned ideology is ruthlessly stamped out. The obvious examples given in the book are Hitler's Germany and Stalin's Russia. The author puts George W. Bush's anti-science activities (such as suppressing global warming research and promoting "creation science") in this category. Personally, I think that's a bit much; as bad as Mr. Bush's actions in this area are, they are more in line with those examples found in the "Ideology Trumps Science" chapter. (No one gets sent to Guantanamo Bay for opposing Bush's stand on global warming...at least yet....). Grant's politics peep out in various other places, particularly in the "Military Madness" and "Ideology Trumps Science" chapters.

In general, there is a lot of material in this book's 336 pages. It may have flowed better in places if some of the examples were recategorized. (For example, was Pons and Fleischmann's "discovery" of cold fusion a matter of fraud, or was it more like the two scientists "seeing what they wanted to see"?)

Anyone interested in the history of science, and its battles with other societal forces, should take a look at this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating read, but the author's personal views got in the way, April 30, 2010
By 
S. Sinai (Pacifica, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Corrupted Science: Fraud, Ideology and Politics in Science (Hardcover)
I loved reading this little book, and it's a great value for the money. Each scientific scam has its own little section, so it's easy to read in 5 or 10 page chunks if that's your style of reading. The one problem I had was that the author kept inserting his own politically-inspired, holier-than-thou diatribes into the text. I'm no fan of George W. Bush, but as others have mentioned, equating the Bush administration's misuse of science to Hitler's and Stalin's is a bit over-the-top. There were also too many instances where the author accused scientists involved in "scams" of being corrupt, when it easily could have been the case that they honestly believed the science they were espousing, but were simply wrong.

Even with my little complaints about the author's injection of his own person viewpoints into the book, I'm looking forward to reading his previous book on Discarded Science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Realpolitik tries to hide the Scientific Truth+, June 28, 2008
By 
This review is from: Corrupted Science: Fraud, Ideology and Politics in Science (Hardcover)
This little book is packed with quite a bit of interesting informational topics, exposing political schemes to bend the truth about scientific logic.I agree with about ninty-five percent of his research findings.Yet,on a few topics he does not elaborate enough evidence to support his arguments.There are no foot-notes.There are many books listed to support his writing though.I would have given the book ,four and a half stars.I would still read it again for the vast wealth of information on scientific hoaxes,backed by shady business interests or political regimes of ill-repute.Sunlight is the best disinfectant and the truth will always shine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Corrupted Science Corrupts Absolutely, September 7, 2012
By 
Malcolm M. (Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Corrupted Science: Fraud, Ideology and Politics in Science (Hardcover)
I found this tiny book on a remainder table at B&N and snapped it up. Its divisions about fraudulent scientists, the military madness, religion's sham science, and society's general deformation of the scientific process are really a preamble to the book's last three chunks: Nazi Germany's fine parsing of Germanic science vs. Jewish science, the Soviet Union's assault on science and scientists, and (Grant's clear target of passion), the Bush Administration's deliberate, forced ignorance of science.

Admittedly, Grant has a wide field of play here due to the absurd lengths to which the Bush White House went to twist, destroy, or bury scientific thinking in its quest to ignore reality so as to support flawed ideology. But Grant writes with so much venom in his sharpened quills that he undermines his argument. I rooted for him, yes, because he caught me up in the seemingly endless stream of examples of stupidity trumping intellect during Dubya's years; but he inserted so many of his own barbs (when he could have let the evidence alone speak with greater authority) that it distracted from the message.

As a science teacher, I am constantly on alert for the shameful attacks science endures, and constantly delighted by the wondrous discoveries science offers society. I recommend this book for anyone needing a rallying cry to stay ever vigilant in defending science. I do not recommend it if you seek a scholarly examination of the methodical destruction of science by idiots and ideologues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting book, but it's going to get dated..., December 17, 2008
This review is from: Corrupted Science: Fraud, Ideology and Politics in Science (Hardcover)
First off, there is a lot of fun stuff in this book. You want some info on Piltdown man, or why Soviet science is so poorly thought of by science historians, or the peculiar stupidity of the Nazis WRT science, this book has it all. I think it's important to remember the memes that this book brings up because history in general is often misinterpreted as this long, steady march from primitive to advanced. The history of science is probably interpreted this way even more than regular "drum and trumpet" style history. But in fact, history has all kinds of turnarounds, false starts, and failed hopes. It's worth remembering this kind of thing when faced with things like, for example, the current Presidential administration's tenuous grasp of nature.

But yeah, that being said, Bush is kind of moronic when it comes to science but there's no way he was as bad as Hitler or Stalin in this regard. Forget about the purges or the Holocaust because that's not really what the author was speaking to either: Bush's policies, while bad, aren't anything close to Lysenkoism or the refusal to practice "Jewish physics". I can certainly understand a scientist's frustration with the last eight years. That being said, this book is going to look pretty dated in 5 years when Bush is little more than a disgraced former President.

I notice that a lot of the negative reviews for this book come from the global warming denial crowd. IT'S CONTROVERSIAL MICHAEL CRICHTON TOLD ME SO WHERE IS MY VELOCIRAPTOR
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good but has problems, September 28, 2014
Overall, an entertaining book. It covers many different science/pseudoscience topics that kept me hooked. Unfortunately, there were a few things that personally irked me. The first being the fact that since so many topics were covered, the book was a bit choppy. I am not sure if much could be done about this, but the book seems to jump from one thing to another without much transition. The second is that sometimes Grant can rub the wrong way as he is busily debunking pseudoscience in a slight sarcastic tone. Grant especially becomes prissy when trying to argue against religion to the point it felt like he was just trying to make as many potshots as possible. The third is that sometimes Grant comes off a bit hypocritical. For example, he likes to rail against scientists for doing research outside their fields of expertise and all I could think of was how John Grant is a science fiction writer writing about science. He also likes to argue that science should not be politicized but in the process Grant politicizes his own arguments. Lumping Stalin, Hitler, and Bush together? Seriously? Overall though, there are entertaining sections of this book if you can look past the many faults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid such a poorly though-out book and seek wisdom elsewhere from authors like John Carter, November 29, 2014
This book initially produces sound arguments for questioning many absurd ideas, such as creationism, eugenics and so on, but fails lamentably when it comes to current climatology. Ignoring all his own advice about healthy scepticism, the author accept blindly the central parts of the IPCC manifesto of global warming. He should produce a new and updated edition and mention that the temperature of the earth has been flatlining, rather than increasing for the last 20 years or more. This was not what the global warmers were saying 20 years ago (such as Hansen and Mann), when they were predicting imminent catastrophe. But where are they now? Unfortunately, still spouting nonsense about even more disasters, trying to explain away the lack of a temperature rise on ocean absorption. He also repeats many downright lies about funding, and about 99% of scientists supporting climate warming! Avoid such a poorly thought-out book and seek wisdom elsewhere from authors like John Carter, authors with experience of climate and the weather. This author, John Grant should stick with fantasy science, where he is an acknowledged expert (or is he?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, January 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This guy has an amazing grasp of history of science. Parts of the book are excellent reading.

But there is a down side. If you hate (passionately) George Bush and tend to ridicule anti-marxists then you will enjoy all of this book. But if you are a conservative or a theist then you will not like some chapters.

I have a habit of mentally constructing counter arguments when I read dogma in books; it's a game I enjoy. So extreme rhetoric does not bother me. However, skip the book if you do not enjoy reading some chapters that might remind you of scientism as it might be discussed at the local Progressives club.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, January 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
John Grant writes with humor and it shines thru in all his works. I first became aware of him from his brilliant 'Directory of Discarded Ideas' back in the late Seventies. Still have the hard bound book ant it is highly praised. This book has some of the same undertones and make it a must have for folks like me. In fact, I have also purchased all his available works that are available electronically. I frequently delve into them and enjoy the offbeat writing. If you like something a little offbeat this it it. This review applies to all John Grants works. The 'Directory of Discarded Ideas' is a rock solid 5 Star book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Corrupted Science: Fraud, Ideology and Politics in Science
Corrupted Science: Fraud, Ideology and Politics in Science by John Grant (Hardcover - November 1, 2007)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.