Customer Reviews


579 Reviews
5 star:
 (463)
4 star:
 (59)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


182 of 188 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful keyboard, buttery smooth key movement
From an aesthetics view, Corsair just gets it. Simple designs with high quality materials. In this case, I purchased the black aluminum version with the red backlight (unfortunately there's no blue backlight option for the black housing). Unlike its competitors, who often use overly aggressive or pseudo-futuristic designs, Corsair opts for sophistication. I prefer...
Published 20 months ago by erikiksaz

versus
24 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dim, Dull, Light Bleed, NOOB Design Errors - Truly Disappointed
I am a peripheral connoisseur of sorts. It takes me FOREVER to find peripherals I enjoy. I was INCREDIBLY excited for this keyboard. I have used many Cherry MX keyboards before, but was enticed by fully custom LEDs (as I have RGB LEDs in my computer case). So, here we go...

DIM!
-If you aren't using Green or Blue, the lighting is VERY dim. And YES I do...
Published 3 months ago by Rider85


‹ Previous | 1 258 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

182 of 188 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful keyboard, buttery smooth key movement, April 25, 2013
This review is from: Corsair Vengeance K70 Mechanical Gaming Keyboard - VENGEANCE MX Red, RED LED (Personal Computers)
From an aesthetics view, Corsair just gets it. Simple designs with high quality materials. In this case, I purchased the black aluminum version with the red backlight (unfortunately there's no blue backlight option for the black housing). Unlike its competitors, who often use overly aggressive or pseudo-futuristic designs, Corsair opts for sophistication. I prefer computer peripherals that are not marketed towards tweens.

And this aluminum keyboard is definitely not priced for tweens. I bought mine from corsair directly, so you're paying ~130 before any taxes or shipping. It's expensive for sure, but for being full mechanical and being of such high build quality, to me it's worth it.

Now, the PROS:

-Keys are buttery smooth. I'm currently using an older Razer Tarantula with membrane keys and the difference is HUGE. The K70 only requires slight, even pressure to actuate the keys. My old tarantula took a bit more force and the actuation was gummy instead of smooth and light like the K70.

-Wrist rest is MUCH better than the old K60. The K70 wrist wrest is like the old K90, it's as wide as the keyboard with a slight inclination. I've used the K60 in stores and the wrist wrest was too high relative to the keyboard and forced you to place to keyboard too far away from the edge of your desk due to it's front-back length.

-Individual key backlighting. You hit the backlight program button, then select the keys you want lit, and done. Simple.

UPDATE 4/27/13:

Reactive key lighting. Turning this feature on is not in the quick start guide (and mine didn't come with a manual). To turn it on, hold down the right control button and the backlight on-off button at the same time. Now every key you hit will light up temporarily. UPDATE 4/30/13. Reactive lighting is disabled every time you shut down the keyboard. Can't get it to stay on.

-Media controls and volume dial. The aluminum volume dial is GREAT, there's a perfect amount of resistance. I really wish my Logitech G500 had the same type of scrolling resistance. It's firm, unlike the loose-feeling scrolling of most computer mice. And you've got all your media controls in tow as well.

Cons:

-The pass-through USB female connector is a downgrade from the K60. The K60 female USB plug was NOT flush with the back of the keyboard, it was on a slightly lifted off island on the back of the unit, which made it easy to find. The K70 female USB port is somewhat flush with the rest of the keyboard = more difficult to find. There is a little bit of a notch to the right of the connector to help guide you, but it's still not completely separate like it was on the K60. I personally don't use the pass through either way, but would see this being more of a minor nuisance (and downgrade).

-In the mean time, availability. I purchased mine at corsair, which released it first. I believe NCIX has them in stock, and Newegg should as of this review's posting date. Other than that, good luck finding it.

Cons (update after 2 days of use):

-With full key backlighting, everything looks great except for keys that have symbols above them. Namely the numeric keys above the letters. The backlight illuminates the symbols 100% due to the positioning of the LED, but the actual numbers are only about 30% lit. To me it's not that detracting from the appeal, but it is a shame that it was overlooked. Note, this only applies to the 1-0 keys above the letters. For some odd reason the numeric pad on the right doesn't have this problem.

Undetermined:

-It's still new so the quality and durability of the lettering on the keys is yet to be determined. I'll update if any discernible fading is noticed.
-I've also ordered some 50A o-rings to see if they dampen the bottoming out of the keys. I'm hoping to shorten the strokes of the keys, I don't really mind the mild clack from the key bottoming out on the aluminum backplate.

UPDATE 5/1/13:

-The 50A orings from amazon are in (Buna O-Ring, 50A Durometer, Round, Black. I installed them on the central keys of the keyboard. Easy install, look up the older K60 keyboard on corsair.com for an install video, then insert each oring on the underside of the key. I just used a pen to push the oring deep into the key.
-Technical data states that cherry reds take 2mm to actuate from the upper position, then another 4mm to bottom out after the actuation point. Installing these orings makes it feel about 2mm on both sides of actuation.

-Ok, so enough of the technical mumbo jumbo. These orings make the keyboard feel GREAT. The movement of the keys was always super smooth, but the problem was that after activation, the amount of travel to bottom out felt VERY long (it's the 2mm vs 4mm discrepancy that you feel). With the orings, the whole key travel is shortened. In essence it feels like my old tarantula's short-travel keys (which is a positive thing!). Travel to actuation is exactly equal to actuation to bottoming out.

-As for bottom out, you don't hear the loud *clack* of plastic upon aluminum anymore, it is much more muted with the orings. If not having orings equaled a clack of 100 points of loudness, installing orings literally halves the noise to 50. Bottoming out the keys is no longer the loudest aspect of the keyboard. When the keys rebound into their upper position, there's another *clack* noise, but this one is ~70ish points of loudness relative to the original bottoming out noise. This rebounding noise is much more livable, I don't think your significant others in the next room will complain.

-And I type more accurately/faster with the shortened throw of the keys, which is what this thing is meant for, hah.

UPDATE 5/2/13:

I just finished replacing all the larger keys (enter, shift, space), and I found out that Corsair is AWESOME, they did away with the stabilizer bars. So, in order to pop these keys off, you just center the key remover and pull. No need to fuss around with the steel bar that's under other cherry red keyboards. +1 for Corsair for easy key cap replacement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, December 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Corsair Vengeance K70 Mechanical Gaming Keyboard - VENGEANCE MX Red, RED LED (Personal Computers)
Feels good to type on and has worked great for gaming so far. Love the keyboard for its classic design. No more useless fluff like copy and paste buttons, playback buttons, browser... email buttons etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Keyboard for gaming...!, September 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Corsair Vengeance K70 Mechanical Gaming Keyboard - VENGEANCE MX Red, RED LED (Personal Computers)
The Perfect keyboard. Excuse my grammar mistakes .English is not my tongue language.

Pros:

+ the build quality is outstanding.
+ the look of this keyboard is one of the best I've ever seen, the red back-lights is sexy, the keyboard surface is luxuries. even the keys is a higher from the surface of any other keyboard that gives it more of an under glow effect which is amazing. Everything about the look is amazing.
+ the red cheery mx is awesome, it's a lot better than the regular (not mechanical) keyboard, Once you go mechanical you never go back :)
+ the rubbers below the keyboard is very very strong. It will not move from the ground without force.
+ the extra gaming keys (the red A W S D & 1 2 3 4 5 6 keys) & the "space" key has deferent texture for heavy using & also they're less slippier than the regular keys. & the amazing thing about them is that the "A,W,D & S" keys are curved so that you can find during the game easier without looking down. Also another great feature is that they come with a thing that make you switch those keys back & forth within few seconds.
+ it comes with a wrest rest that has a special texture that make it less slippier.
+ some other great features:
The sound scroll is awesome, the back-light has 3 different brightness levels, it also has windows key lock.

Cons:

- it works with 2 USBs .
- the keyboard wight is a bit heavy.

Important notes:
* This is the newer version of the previous one (the k60)
* this version is called k70, it comes with tow colors : black with red Leds, silver with blue back LEDs.
* the red extra keys come in both keyboards (the black & the silver).
* i think they're also available with a cherry mx blue & brown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Keyboard Makes Gaming and Typing Utterly Devine, November 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Corsair Vengeance K70 Mechanical Gaming Keyboard - VENGEANCE MX Red, RED LED (Personal Computers)
What can I say? This is the best keyboard I've ever used. I own the black version of this keyboard with Cherry MX Red switches (light and linear). I've used a friend's mechanical keyboard on many occasions and I was never a fan of the construction of the board itself. Corsair didn't cut any corners on this one.

The main body is cut from a piece of extruded aluminum with a shallow fold in the center that houses the key switches. The brushed, black anodized finish is incredibly done and has a has a beautiful deep-brushed texture. The black anodized Corsair logo is milled into the top of the aluminum frame and oozes sleek looks and how well built the keyboard is. The included wrist rest has a hard rubber finish (great for sliding your wrists around during typing) and snaps on from the back and feels robust for being plastic.The cable for the K70 is very thick and has a beautiful, tight-weave, braided black fabric sleeve that runs the entire length and splits into two red USB plugs (one for the keyboard, the other optional for a USB pass-through from the back of the keyboard). The back has four feet than can be flipped out to raise the board in any tilted configuration you can come up with.

They MX Red switches on the black version that I own are utterly amazing to type with. They are linear and have a very well tuned actuation which feels smooth and precise. The actuation travel happens about 1/3 of the way down and there is no bump or click. The whole actuation feels very smooth and event-less and feels totally foreign to a typical bubble dome key. The MX Reds are no-nonsense, quality keys and typing on them for the first time is really impressive. These switches have many benefits for gaming; the rebound is very quick and quick presses of a key are easily achieved and doesn't tire your fingers. The keys are not too bouncy, which is excellent for typing, but they do return quickly enough for fast tapping or repeated presses.

The main key layout is fairly standard, but the keys themselves sit very high off the aluminum frame which looks great but also allows for easy removal and cleaning; this is probably my favorite aspect of the K70. The keys are all inwardly (concave) curved on one axis (curving side to side) and feel very comfortable on your fingers. The spacebar is outwardly curved (convex) and has a fine triangle texture on it that helps for fps gaming and for accurate, fast actuation in typing. The plastic keycaps feels like they are coated with either epoxy or some other tough resin and have a very subtle 'soft-touch' feel to the material. The font on the keys is easily legible, but is slightly informal for my tastes (just my opinion). There are also optional gaming keys for WASD and numbers 1-5 that have a red, textured finish and heavily exaggerated curving to help you space your hand for WASD control. I don't use these personally, but it's a great option to have. The media keys on the top right are one of my other favorite parts of the K70; they are made from a nice rubberized plastic and are simple in layout and function (in order: Stop, Skip back, Play/Pause, Skip forward). Above the media keys is a mute button a volume roller. The roller is wide and made from black-anodized aluminum with an engraved diamond pattern on it; it's lightly dampened and is incredibly precise and is loads of fun to play with! To the left of the volume rocker are three buttons to control the lighting mode (individual control vs. all keys), a brightness button (Modes: LEDs off, and three levels of brightness), and a windows lock key that lights up when you engage it. There are also three white LEDs just to the right before the volume roller that indicate numlock, capslock, and scroll-lock.

The backlighting on the keys on the black K70 looks fantastic and ominous in its saturated and striking red hue. The three brightness levels are well spaced and on the brightest setting I can easily see them under a bright light (at night this setting is blinding!) The high keys allow for much of the LED light to spill out onto the aluminum frame and glow back at you. Really cool stuff and it helps you see which keys are lit up on the program modes. If you press the lighting mode key you can light individual keys by holding down the button; it will blink allowing you to press buttons and light them individually, then holding the button again allows you to set the keys you have chosen for that mode. Pressing the lighting mode button again will turn on all of the lights. A hidden function of the lighting mode button is to put the keyboard into individual lighting mode and then hold the mode button and the control key for a few seconds: the keys will now light up for about 1/2 second after you press them and then turn off. It's not useful, but it looks really cool! (holding down the same two buttons will disengage this mode).

Overall the key accuracy and feel of typing on the K70 is purely enjoyable on every level. Smooth and precise, comfortable and engaging. Here are my overall thoughts on the Black K70 with MX Reds:

Pros:
- Outstanding build quality, materials, and design
- Very durable and beautiful frame/finish
- Smooth, accurate keystrokes for effortless typing and pressing(even better for gaming!)
- Tall key switches/caps for easy cleaning and a flexible typing space
- Optional contoured gaming keycaps
- Included keycap puller
- Useful and great-looking backlighting
- Lots of lighting modes and interesting possibilities
- Well thought out media keys are the best volume control I've ever used
- Thick, robust cabling with impeccable sleeving
- USB pass-through on the back of the keyboard (single)
- Overall, clean and amazing aesthetics to match the performance

Cons:
- Expensive
- Blacklighting on the number keys isn't quite even (the alternate functions light up brighter than the numbers on the bottom)
- Wrist rest could be slightly larger/taller
- Tall key position might put some people off (this is preference, personally I enjoy this)
- Only backlighting color is red, again this comes down to preference

This is a fantastic keyboard, and one I hope to use for a very long time. Corsair nailed this design and it pulls out all the stops in terms of build quality, typing/usability, and aesthetics. I highly recommend getting this keyboard not only for gaming, but for a fantastic typing experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Satisfied, September 9, 2014
By 
Nick (West Virginia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Length:: 0:20 Mins

UPDATE: Added video of the setting I have been using.

I normally don't review the products I buy but I feel this actually deserves one.

First impressions:

Straight out of the box the keyboard LOOKS professional. It is a clean, minimalist design. There is material where there needs to be and really not much else. The switches are much more exposed than other keyboards I have seen with Cherry MX switches and it gives off the impression that the keys sit very high. It seems incredibly easy to clean because of that.

Lighting is bright but slightly "uneven" on the number line. This is obviously because of the LED sitting in the top part of the switch. It is really only noticeable on the number line and this is very common among keyboard manufacturers so it really isn't a huge issue. The LEDs and animations include all of the mechanical keys AND the media keys, lock key, and brightness key. That is a nice touch. The small LEDs between the lock and mute buttons are white.

The Cherry MX Reds are louder than my membrane keyboards but not obnoxiously so. They are definitely harder to get used to typing on full time. Between the key caps being slightly skinnier and the keyboard being slightly smaller it has me making a ton of typos compared to my usual.

Build Quality:

Overall the build quality is great. It is really solid feeling. There is a screw directly beside the esc key and I really don't like it there. Other than that I have no complaints.

LED/Switch Quality:

They feel and look exactly like standard Cherry MX Reds. The switches themselves work great, feel great, and I fully expect them to last a long time.

The actual lighting is fantastic. There is no noticeable lag at all and the lighting animations seem to keep up with my typing even when I am in the 80wpm range. I am honestly impressed by that. It is actually impressive enough that everyone who saw me using it seems to want to buy one. Most women were instantly drawn to it so it definitely appeals to the female gamer crowd. Lighting is bright, clear, and has a nice under glow.

Media Keys:

They work... not much else to really say about them. I had them working perfectly fine in Windows 8.1. The scroll wheel is kind of stiff. You have to deliberately roll it. Tapping it lightly to increase volume just will not work.

Software:

It is a nightmare... It isn't overly difficult once you start to understand what you are doing but before that it is extremely confusing. Lua scripting will be implemented later which should be pretty cool. I can definitely see it making the keyboard even more impressive.

I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a keyboard with mechanical switches in it.

NOTE:

THIS KEYBOARD DOES NOT HAVE A USB PASS THROUGH, EXTRA KEY CAPS, OR A KEY CAP REMOVER. YOU CAN CHANGE THEM LIKE ANY OTHER CHERRY MX SWITCH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing like it, accept no imitations, September 18, 2014
Been anticipating the release of this keyboard since it was first revealed, now that I've got one I'd say it was well worth the wait & $. I was a bit worried at first after browsing thru Corsair's forums and reading the numerous issues others are having but I've experienced no problems whatsoever since I got it, that includes the software. Guess I'm lucky with Corsair because I've never had a bad experience with any of their products I've bought.

The build quality of this keyboard screams premium, the all black chassis with it's gorgeous brushed aluminum surface and the visible cherry mx switches look amazing. It's built very solid and I expect it to last me a very long time. The included wrist support snaps on effortlessly and is made of a very comfortable soft rubberized material. The cable is braided and feels very durable. This keyboard requires two usb 2.0 / or one usb 3.0 port for it to work
As per corsair's connection requirements:
Connecting via USB 3.0

Use one connector (the one with the keyboard icon) when connecting via USB 3.0

Connecting via USB 2.0

Use both connectors when using USB 2. Important Note: Plug in the connector with the two arrows icon first, and the connector with the keyboard icon second.

there is no usb pass through however, which isn't a big deal for me personally. I had hoped they would've included the textured keys / keycap puller from the previous K70, but looks like I'll have to buy them separately. For gaming the textured keys would've been a nice addition to have. Maybe future versions may include them but I'm doubtful.

This is actually my first official mechanical keyboard and the most advanced one I've ever used, but not my first experience with cherry mx switches as I own a razer orbweaver. The cherry mx reds are a pleasure to type on, smooth responsive click, but I do prefer the tactile feedback of the blues which the orbweaver uses so I may switch whenever it releases. Media buttons function as they should & the volume scroll wheel has a very smooth movement. There's also a handy windows key lock button included.

The leds....oh the sweet leds. The main reason anyone is even considering purchasing this keyboard. They're very bright and look great but as others have mentioned the keys that have secondary characters on them are not lit fully as the led is mounted to the top of the switch so you find that only the top characters are properly illuminated. It's a bit lame but it doesn't detract from the overall effect imo. Hopefully this may be corrected in future releases. There are three levels of brightness which can be controlled via a button on the keyboard or via software. There are already a couple different user created led profiles on Corsair's forum which I've tried and they work beautifully. The effects are lag free and work seamlessly. My personal fav right now is called heat :D

Speaking of software, this is where Corsair has received the most flack, when I attempted using it at first it was very confusing & took some time figuring it out, there were also some useful youtubers who posted tutorials which also helped me. I'm still not 100% versed in it but I can find my way around now much more easily and haven't had any issues with it crashing or led profiles not working. They (Corsair) have stated that improvements will be made and eventually it will be become more user friendly as well as more powerful in terms of advanced scripting to be included. The software is not bad at all imo, just a steep learning curve to use it which will get better as time progresses.

IMO the future competition from logitech/razer/cougar or whoever else are planning to release rgb mechanicals are not even in the same league, this board definitely stands out. So in conclusion I'm extremely satisfied with this keyboard and may only return it to get the blues when they are released. It's a first batch release so it's expected to have a couple problems being reported, things will get better over time. This is must have for any PC enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dim, Dull, Light Bleed, NOOB Design Errors - Truly Disappointed, September 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am a peripheral connoisseur of sorts. It takes me FOREVER to find peripherals I enjoy. I was INCREDIBLY excited for this keyboard. I have used many Cherry MX keyboards before, but was enticed by fully custom LEDs (as I have RGB LEDs in my computer case). So, here we go...

DIM!
-If you aren't using Green or Blue, the lighting is VERY dim. And YES I do have the "brightness turned all the way up." This isn't an issue for when you are in complete darkness, but the second you turn on the lights, it becomes hard to see the keys. Even "White" comes off as a dull gray. I am coming from a Max Keyboard that is fully red with purple accent lights. The reds, purples, and then any "custom color" is extremely dim (as the luminance isn't balanced between the R-G-B). You can BARELY see the Red keys on this keyboard if the lights are on.
-I will add that I do video work and have my monitors properly adjusted for brightness and color. Even so, when I glance down at the Corsair keyboard (which admittedly isn't very often), my eyes basically have to "adjust" before I can read anything.
-I have posted pictures comparing the brightness of the Corsair keyboard to that of my Max Keyboard

Dull!
-On top of simply being dim, all colors except for green and blue are DULL. They are hardly the right color. Sure there millions of colors to pick, but they never turn into the proper shade. The colors are identical to turning down the "saturation" on your tv or computer monitor. White is a dull gray, purple a pale pink, red is more orange, orange is more yellow, etc. There is no "contrast" to any of the colors.
-I want to point out that when we see video and pictures of this keyboard, cameras are FAR more sensitive to light than the human eye. Videos and pictures look "saturated" but in reality, it is dull to the human eye. Source: I'm a videographer

Light Bleed
-For all of us that looked this keyboard up, we know that the LEDs are mounted under the keyswitch and the housing for the keyswitch is clear. This increases the reliability of the LEDs by virtually eliminating ESD (Electrostatic Discharge). Anyways, the idea behind an RGB keyboard is to make every key whatever you want it to be. Now that I have it in hand, the colors bleed into the surrounding keys. Contrasting "purple" to "red" is difficult because all the adjacent keys are a "purple-red" mix. Unless the colors contrast DRASTICALLY, you cannot distinguish them. Switching every key to alternating colors simply gives off the effect of a white keyboard. Unless every other key is turned off, there isn't enough contrast.
-Remember the Dim brightness I was talking about? Well, the light coming out of the keyswitch is significantly brighter than the light that makes it to the key, thus increasing the "bleed" effect

NOOB Design Errors (Corsair, REALLY???)
- *sighs* It's like no one even used this keyboard IRL. Look at the pictures I posted. Corsair made the NOOB error of forgetting where the LED is. The LED, even though it is in the keyswitch, is still mounted at the top. If you look at the number keys, notice that the actual "numbers" are at the bottom. THEY DONT EVEN RECEIVE ANY LIGHT. The numbers are SO hard to see. In contrast, look at my Max Keyboard. The numbers are at the top and right next to the symbol. This way BOTH are lit.
-this problem plagues EVERY dual function key on this keyboard; tilde, brackets, backslash, commas, arrow keys on the num pad, etc.
-Remember the brightness issue? Corsair, WHY would you ship a keyboard this dim??? You should make a product that is TOO bright then make actual use of your brightness key. This will allow for 95% of the population to dial in the keyboard to the appropriate level for their environment. I will add that I am in a room with NO WINDOW. My only light is a track light that sits 12ft behind and above me. Think about your phone. It has a stupidly bright setting that is only useful for standing under the sun, but then can dim to next to nothing. Imagine your phone not being bright enough? Now imagine your LED keyboard and you want to show off your fancy colors! Well you can't. Unless you turn off all the lights. Even then, bleed
-Bleed! Can be fixed by painting the surrounding area of the keyswitch. OR, only produce a switch with a tiny piece of clear acrylic for the LED. More expensive, I know, but the key caps already implement this bit of manufacturing know-how. An acrylic cap with paint.

FINAL THOUGHTS!
I KNOW I have been bashing it. I'll get to the pros in a second. BUT in my defense, you are ONLY buying this keyboard for the LED functionality. There are plenty of other non-fancy LED Cherry MX Mechanical keyboards. In fact, Corsair makes excellent ones! So when I go out of my way to pay extra for the RGB functionality and find sub-par implementation, I am disappointed. I will be returning this and sticking with my Max Keyboard.

THE GOOD STUFF: (mainly for those who have never owned a Corsair keyboard)
-Corsair does know how to make a beautiful keyboard. Besides being a Cherry MX keyboard (ALL Cherry MX keys come from ONE manufacturer in Germany. The only difference between manufactures is the housing and even that is sometimes reused), the best part is the housing. There is NO EDGE. This means the keyswitch sits on top of the housing which makes cleaning a breeze! When you dust it, you aren't trying to shoot dust out of a housing. It just rolls out.
-Though poorly implemented, mounting the LED under the keyswitch is a good idea. They just need to compensate and increase the LED brightness then paint the surrounding area
-It's a Cherry MX Keyboard available (rather, at the time of this review SOON to be available) in the most popular switches; Blues, Browns, and Reds
-The software is easy to use (though I refrain from "intuitive"). It has only a tiny learning curve to it. It is also open source, so it is almost guaranteed to have cool effects in the future
-Lastly, the price is SPOT ON in my mind. Very affordable for what it is

Soooo...

PROS:
-Cherry MX Keyboard (available in Blues, Browns, or Reds)
-Brilliant, easy to clean housing
-Smart mounting of LEDS

CONS:
-Dim, Dull, LEDs that also suffer from Light Bleed
-DUMB symbol placement of number keys and every dual purpose key (one symbol isn't lit)
-For an "RGB" keyboard, they sure seemed to forget about accurate colors...
-In terms of "Lighting" it is bested by a normal keyboard with LEDs you choose. If you aren't trying to change colors often, just get a custom one made.

Hope this review helps. IMHO don't be tricked by pictures, cameras are far more sensitive than our eyes. I found it to be too dull, dim, and disappointing. I will be returning and waiting for a revision in the future. Although I detest Razer, I am now the faintest bit interested in their Chroma keyboard. Since the LEDs are mounted normally, it shouldn't suffer from the color issues this keyboard has.

I love you Corsair, but please learn from this and try again! I KNOW you guys will get it right next time,
-William
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best mech keyboard I have used, September 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Corsair Vengeance K70 Mechanical Gaming Keyboard - VENGEANCE MX Red, RED LED (Personal Computers)
I had the Gigabyte Aivia Osmium which while I liked had severe issues, i had it replaced 3 times by amazon because of double and triple stroke issues, i would hit the the K key and get KKK, same with other keys. So I looked around and stumbled on this corsair k70 and i couldn't be happier. The keys are about 40% brighter, a tad softer and not as loud, the build is much better with its aluminum body and floating keys, cleaning this bad boy is a breeze, just tilt and blow. Did i mention the Brightness of the keys is stunningly bright. I havent dug real deep into the settings but so far im beyond pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great first mechanical keyboard for both typing and gaming., July 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Corsair Vengeance K70 Mechanical Gaming Keyboard - VENGEANCE MX Red, RED LED (Personal Computers)
I'm absolutely in love with everything about this keyboard. It's a dream to type on, and it has a smooth, light and linear action to press the keys. The key placement is exceptional, and the build quality is outstanding. I was using an old Dell OEM keyboard for 6 years before this. My WPM went from 82 to 94 after only a few days of practice, and I make even less errors than before, because the other keyboard would not register many of my presses. The volume wheel is absolutely one of my favorite features of the keyboard. Having physical control over the volume is very useful when using full screen applications that capture the cursor. I've had a few issues with the media (stop, back, play/pause, forward) buttons working reliably, but I don't use them often enough to be bothered by it. As for using other mechanicals, I've only used browns on one occasion and I didn't like them at all. They felt squishy, where these keys feel soft. I had a hard time choosing between Black and Red switches. I'm happy I picked red, they're perfect for light typing. It's stepped up my game as well, it feels as if my reaction speed has been increased. The included gaming 1-6 and WASD keys are a nice addition. I was worried I would notice them when I'm typing, and to be honest, I can feel them there, but it doesn't interfere with my typing action.

There's a couple of minor cons that I'd like to bring up, though. First, this might bother some people, but i've been okay at it for now, the 1-6 gaming keys do NOT have the symbols under the numbers. They are only number keys. So if you haven't remembered where all the symbols are, you might have a hard time using those keys.

The last thing I already mentioned, but I'm including it here for continuity's sake. The media keys work when they want to. I wish they worked more often, but really, it hasn't bothered me at all. I've looked up the issue online, and it seems to be related to the gaming window capturing the input and not sending it to the media player, but I've had instances where they won't work even when there are no programs running and I'm on the desktop. The work-around I'm currently looking at is a global hotkey capture for my media player of choice, and then manually setting the media keys for their original actions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't double think just buy..., November 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Corsair Vengeance K70 Mechanical Gaming Keyboard - VENGEANCE MX Red, RED LED (Personal Computers)
I always had my eye on this keyboard because of the material it is made of, and the color scheme. This keyboard did not disappoint me. Being able to choose what keys you want to light up on the fly is a amazing feature. ( One thing they should have done to make the keyboard even better, is to have to media keys light up with the rest of the keyboard) The volume rocker is a nice addition along with the very thick braided cable. MUST buy keyboard, Corsair doesn't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 258 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.