Cosmic Forces: Book Three in The Jake Helman Files Series and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $14.95
  • Save: $1.49 (10%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Good | Details
Sold by bookfinders
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Ex-library book in good condition with typical stamps and markings. Pages are clean and the binding is tight. *NOTE* Stock photo may not represent the actual book for sale.
Add to Cart
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Cosmic Forces (Jake Helman Files Series) Paperback – October 1, 2011


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$13.46
$2.35 $0.01

Frequently Bought Together

Cosmic Forces (Jake Helman Files Series) + Tortured Spirits (Jake Helman Files Series) + The Frenzy War (Frenzy Cycle Series)
Price for all three: $40.09

Buy the selected items together

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Hero Quick Promo
Browse in Books with Buzz and explore more details on the current pick, "Landline" by Rainbow Rowell.

Product Details

  • Series: Jake Helman Files Series (Book 3)
  • Paperback: 330 pages
  • Publisher: Medallion Press (October 1, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1605424080
  • ISBN-13: 978-1605424088
  • Product Dimensions: 1.1 x 4.9 x 7.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 12 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (10 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,307,855 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

"The Jake Helman Files continue to be a magnificent addition to the ranks of occult detectives, with Jake Helman's glass eye deserving a place of honor next to Carl Kolchak's seersucker suit and Teddy London's .45 (Betty) and knife (Veronica). I'd call this series an absolute must read for any horror or hard-boiled detective fan, because Greg Lamberson delivers the goods and does so in spades." —www.BloodSprayer.com (August 26, 2011)


"Two-time Bram Stoker nominee Lamberson has created a hard-boiled hero, gifted with a big heart and sent on intriguingly horrific adventures, who is reminiscent of Jim Butcher's Harry Dresden and Glen Cook's Garrett, P.I." —Library Journal (August 1, 2011)


"Lamberson knows exactly what he's doing and creates a different, more emotionally charged, and thematically huge story with every subsequent release." —Colum McKnight, www.DreadfulTales.com (August 18, 2011)


"I'm reminded of the tales of The Shadow, Doc Savage, Manly Wade Wellman, H.P. Lovecraft, and other pulp stories. The creativity and pacing make this a very enjoyable and fast-moving novel." —Barry Hunter, www.baryon-online.com (September 2011)


"Fans of Personal Demons and Desperate Souls will definitely enjoy Cosmic Forces. . . . Like all of the prior Jake Helman novels, Cosmic Forces is a quick and fun read for any horror fan." —www.HorrorYearBook.com


"The writing is top-notch, the story compelling, bringing comparisons to F. Paul Wilson's New York Times best-selling Repairman Jack novels." —K. L. Young, Strange Aeons Magazine (November 2011)

"Cosmic Forces is a fast moving, intriguing, action-and-horror-packed read that is a creative tour de force, one that will leave readers equally thrilled and breathless." —www.HorrorWorld.com (November 2011)


"Readers will enjoy his three investigative cases as all roads lead to those who abuse power whether they are from hell, earth, or otherwise. With a nod to Dresden, readers will appreciate the case load of kick butt softy Jake Helman." —www.MidwestBookReview.com (December 2011)

About the Author

Gregory Lamberson is the writer and director of Naked Fear, Undying Love, and the cult classic Slime City. He is the author of Desperate Souls, The Frenzy Way, Johnny Gruesome, and the Anubis Award–winning Personal Demons. He lives outside Buffalo, New York.


More About the Author

"Gregory Lamberson is the sort of force that dark fantasy and horror are lucky to have." - FANGORIA magazine

"Why in the name of all that's unholy has Hollyweird not got their sights on this series? I'm just going to put it out there -- Greg Lamberson is the most cinematic author writing today and The Jake Helman Files are nothing short of the most awesome movies that have not been filmed yet."
-Author Bob Freeman, the Occult Detective

Two-time IPPY Gold Medal winner and three-time Bram Stoker Award finalist Gregory Lamberson is an author and filmmaker who loves to thrill people. Rave reviews of his work have appeared in Fangoria, Rue Morgue, Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and Booklist. All of his books are available in print and as e-books, and some are also available as audio books. In 2014, Medallion Press will publish Lamberson's novel THE JULIAN YEAR, the first TREEbook (Timed Reading Experience E-book), which will employ revolutionary time-triggers and branching technology to tell multiple variations of a story. Medallion will also publish THE FRENZY WOLVES, the third novel in the author' Frenzy Cycle werewolf series which includes THE FRENZY WAY and THE FRENZY WAR.

Lamberson's novel PERSONAL DEMONS, winner of the IPPY Gold Medal for Horror, is the first volume in the action packed occult detective series "The Jake Helman Files," published by Medallion Press. Other books in the series include the zombie novel DESPERATE SOULS, the new Cthulhu themed COSMIC FORCES(nominated for Superior Achievement in a Novel by the Horror Writers Association), TORTURED SPIRITS, STORM DEMON and HUMAN MONSTERS, which is scheduled for March 2015. PERSONAL DEMONS, DESPERATE SOULS, and COSMIC FORCES and TORTURED SPIRITS are also available as audio books from Audible.com.

The Jake Helman Files and Lamberson's novella CARNAGE ROAD are currently being developed as Film/TV properties.

Lamberson's second novel, JOHNNY GRUESOME, won the IPPY Gold Medal for Horror and Dark Scribe Magazine's "Best Small Press Chill" Award, and was nominated for a Bram Stoker Award by the Horror Writers Association. The novel spawned a rock CD, GRUESOME, an award-winning online comic book, and a collectible mask.

Lamberson's first novella, CARNAGE ROAD, was published by Creeping Hemlock Press in May 2012. Library Journal gave it a starred review: "Lamberson's (Personal Demons) latest is both bleak and beautiful, a brain-splattering zombie thriller that is at its core a paean to the power of friendship, even in a dead world. This novella may be brief, but it has real bite, along with taut zombie action, scathing social commentary, and a suitably nihilistic ending. Zombie fans are in for one easy ride through the apocalypse. [Print Is Dead is Creeping Hemlock's zombie-themed imprint.--Ed.]"

Lamberson's second novella, SCAREMONGER, is available as Kindle Exclusive E-book.

Lamberson wrote and directed the 1988 cult horror film SLIME CITY, which is available on DVD as GREG LAMBERSON'S SLIME CITY GRINDHOUSE COLLECTION, a 2-disc collection which includes his vampire film UNDYING LOVE, the thriller NAKED FEAR, and GRUESOME, a short film starring "Scream Queen" Misty Mundae. His 2010 film SLIME CITY MASSACRE, starring horror icon Debbie Rochon, is available on DVD, the PlayStation Network. and Xbox Zune. His production SNOW SHARK: ANCIENT SNOW BEAST was a surprise hit on DVD. 2014 will see the DVD releases of THE LEGEND OF SIX FINGERS, which he produced, and DRY BONES, which he wrote and directed.

Combining his literary and cinematic interests, Lamberson wrote the instructional filmmaking book CHEAP SCARES: LOW BUDGET FILMMKAERS SHARE THEIR SECRETS, which was nominated for a Bram Stoker Award. He is an Active member of International Thriller Writers, and a founding director of Buffalo Dreams Fantastic Film Festival. His website is www.gregorylamberson.com.

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 10 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Dark Mark on July 21, 2012
Format: Paperback
Greg's third thrilling Jake Helman adventure pits its redoubtable hero against a sinister cabal of evil men who worship an ancient and fiendish entity. Joining forces with both the forces of light and dark this is his most exciting episode yet and the pace doesn't let up throughout. If you haven't experienced Greg's masterful, amazing storytelling and cinematic prose what are you waiting for?
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
A page turner. I really enjoyed the series. The plot, characters and style were wonderful. I read it only in a day. Gregory Lamberson is a fantastic author.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
With the Jake Hellman books, horror maven Gregory Lamberson has weaved a universe that is both fantastic and yet grounded in human realism. Former cop Jake tries to make an honest living after a tragic past. Despite his best efforts, the dark world of the macabre keeps pulling him back in {insert Pacino impression here}.
Personal Demons was the first Lamberson book I had read so never thought anything would top the feelings I got after my initial read of that novel, but Cosmic Forces has surpassed my already high expectations. This is what horror/fantasy writing should be. Not since Christopher Golden has an author made me want to stay with a series so emphatically. Looking forward to where Jake's next adventures take him.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This series get better and better! So does Lamberson's writing! I have yet to read a book from Lamberson that I would not heartily recommend to anyone who is a fan of Horror, Mystery, or just plain ol' good writin'!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Michael Hall on December 31, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Cosmic Forces is imaginatively amazing. It's really cool Gregory got some biblical folks in it: Adam Eve Abel and Cain. I can't wait for the next book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Search

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?