Start reading "Who Could That Be at This Hour?" Free Preview Edition (T... on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

"Who Could That Be at This Hour?" Free Preview Edition (The First 4 Chapters) (All the Wrong Questions) [Kindle Edition]

Lemony Snicket , Seth
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (271 customer reviews)

Print List Price: $7.00
Kindle Price: $0.00
You Save: $7.00 (100%)
Sold by: Hachette Book Group

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $0.00  
Hardcover $11.85  
Paperback $7.00  
Audible Audio Edition, Unabridged $14.95 or Free with Audible 30-day free trial
Audio, CD, Audiobook, Unabridged $9.00  
Hero Quick Promo
Year-End Kindle Daily Deals
Load your library with great books for $2.99 or less each, today only. Learn more

Book Description

In a fading town, far from anyone he knew or trusted, a young Lemony Snicket began his apprenticeship in an organization nobody knows about. He started by asking questions that shouldn't have been on his mind. Now he has written an account that should not be published, in four volumes that shouldn't be read. This is the first volume.


Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 4-7-In this "autobiographical" mystery, a teenaged Lemony Snicket recounts his early experiences as an apprentice to S. Theodora Markson, a pretentious woman who is not remotely as intelligent as she pretends. The two travel to the formerly seaside (but now not) town of Stain'd-by-the-Sea to investigate the theft of, what they are told, is a priceless heirloom. The identity of the culprit is obvious. Or is it? There's much more to this case than meets the eye. To uncover what's really going on, the inquisitive Snicket must figure out who he can trust and which questions to ask before it's too late. This fast-paced whodunit is likely to leave readers with questions of their own. Hopefully, they're the right questions-which, hopefully, will be answered in upcoming sequels. Written in Snicket's gloomy, yet undeniably charming, signature style and populated with wonderfully quirky characters, this enjoyable start of a new series will thrill fans of the author's earlier works and have even reluctant readers turning pages with the fervor of seasoned bookworms. A must-have.-Alissa J. Bach, Oxford Public Library, MIα(c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

From Booklist

Oh, Lemony Snicket. How you confound us. For instance, in this book, the first of the All the Wrong Questions series, you give us so many unmoored happenings that readers may be inclined to believe they’ve landed in the middle of the second book. True, we will learn you’re an almost-13-year-old boy and that you escape your parents (or are they your parents?!) in a tea room to meet the woman with whom you’ll apprentice. And then you and S. Theodora Markson (what does the S stand for?) make your way to a sea town, now devoid of the ink for which it’s famous, and deserted by its residents, to find a statue rather like the Maltese Falcon, only it’s the Bombinating Beast. Someone is waiting for you back home, but who? What’s this secret program you seem to be a part of? Who cares about the Bombinating Beast? (You may take that comment any way you wish.) But just as when you were with those charming Baudelaire children, the adventures roll and one can only speculate what’s around the corner. Not that it will do any good. Kudos to Seth for the marvelous woodcut art. The pictures seem to hold clues. Or do they? HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Please, it’s Lemony Snicket. Enough said. Grades 4-7. --Ilene Cooper

Product Details

  • File Size: 1402 KB
  • Print Length: 71 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1443422800
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers; 1 edition (August 14, 2012)
  • Sold by: Hachette Book Group
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B008ENA8CK
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #3,721 Free in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Free in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Femme Fatales and Hilarious Hijinks November 17, 2012
Format:Hardcover
I'm not a kid who grew up with and loved Lemony Snicket's Series/Unfortunate Events...I'm a 40-something who loved them...I was so happy to learn a new series was here...it has all the charm of the previous series and even more...adults are still the inmates running the asylum and from S. Theodora Markson to the "Officers Mitchum" to others, "Snicket" (Daniel Handler) has once again created some absurd, ridiculous, and unforgettable characters. The first appearance of "word which here means..." warmed my heart and soul considerably. There are some true giggle-out-loud moments but I won;t give them away in the review. You HAVE to read the book! In Ellington Feint he has drawn the best femme fatale since Jessica Rabbit and in Moxie Mallahan a sweet and intrepid sidekick. It's a genius of Handler that he captures the innocence and angst of affection between and among teens so well. Can;t wait for book #2. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
54 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Noiry noirish noirable noir October 23, 2012
Format:Hardcover
Last year I was running a bookgroup for kids, ages 9-12, when the subject of children's books adapted into films came up. We talked about the relative success of Harry Potter, the bewildering movie that was City of Ember, and the gorgeous credit sequence for A Series of Unfortunate Events. Then one of the younger members, probably around ten years of age, turned to me and asked in all seriousness, "Do you think they'll ever make a movie out of The Spiderwick Chronicles?" I was momentarily floored. It's not often that kids will remind me that their memories of pop culture are limited to their own experiences, but once in a while it happens. This girl couldn't remember back five years to that very film adaptation. And why should she? She was five then! So when I see a new Lemony Snicket series acting as a kind of companion to the aforementioned A Series of Unfortunate Events I wonder how it will play out. The original series was popular around the time of that Spiderwick movie. Does that mean that the new series will founder, or will it be so successful that it brings renewed interest to the previous, still in print and relatively popular, books? Personally, I haven't a clue. All I know is that the latest Lemony Snicket series All the Wrong Questions is a work of clever references, skintight writing, and a deep sense of melancholy that mimics nothing else out there on the market for kids today. That's a good thing.

To be a success in Snicket's line of work it's important to know how to ask the right questions. And this is a problem since Snicket finds it difficult doing precisely that. He was supposed to meet his contact in the city. Instead, he finds himself whisked away to the country to a dying town called Stain'd-by-the-Sea.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who Could it Be Now? October 28, 2012
By Kendra
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
Lemony Snicket has always reminded me a little bit of Edward Gorey (which here means creating settings where a boy named Neville might just die of ennui (which here means boredom)) and Roald Dahl (which here means creating adult characters who act mean and stupid because that's what adults are).

His series of Unfortunate Events was immensely popular and as we all know following up one popular series of books with another is not easy. Harper Lee stopped after "To Kill a Mockingbird" which was probably a good thing. Stop while you're ahead. J.K. Rowling decided to write some more which would have only been a good idea if Harry Potter was still somehow involved.

But Lemony Snicket, in his new book "Who Could That Be at This Hour?" may have broken the trend. I found this book very readable (which here means I couldn't put it down) and his characters and setting perhaps more relatable and enjoyable than anything else he has previously written.

Dare I say that the thirteen-year-old Snicket who narrates the book is far more optimistic, caring and kind than his adult persona that narrates the Series of Unfortunate Events? Dare I say that this series may even hold more promise than his last?

There were times when this book reminded me of a twisted version of Encyclopedia Brown with Lemony as Brown and his lighthouse keeper's daughter friend Moxie as Encyclopedia Brown's trusty sidekick Sally. There was even a Bugs Meeny character. I loved Encyclopedia Brown and that this book reminded me of him is a good thing.

There were also times when Lemony reminded me of a young Sherlock Holmes, given his own Irene Adler and his own Baker Street Irregulars in the form of taxi cab enthusiasts Pip and Squeak.

All good things.

And good things make me want to read more.
Was this review helpful to you?
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read November 4, 2012
By Decima
Format:Hardcover
This book was really... confusing... I really loved it, but at the same time I found it really annoying. For the most, just the right balance between dark & moody and wit & humor.

Great things in the book:

*) I loved the imagery; the settings were tangible and evocative and surreal - places from everyday life, but with a twist in unexpected ways

*) The word-smithing was delightful... clearly the author has a love of language and does a wonderful job of introducing exotic words (for the target age range) and providing context without derailing the story

Things I didn't like so much...:

*) All the adults in the book are portrayed as bumbling simpletons; it would have been nice to have a couple portrayed with more depth (disclaimer: being an adult myself perhaps I have a skewed perspective ;-) )

*) Despite the mystery and intrigue the story felt shallow in places; I wish there were more background to root the characters as I was often left disoriented

*) The ending left me feeling somewhat cheated... there could have been more resolution without limiting the potential for the rest of the series...

Overall, a good, enjoyable read. I will definitely get the next one in the series, but I'll probably wait to buy it in paperback.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Best series yet!!😃
Well I picked up this book cause it said lemony snicker who of course made another great series which is called the series of unfortunate events now of course it's a great mystery... Read more
Published 2 days ago by a good reader
3.0 out of 5 stars Not My Favorite Book
I think this book was ok. If I have to pick another book I would pick harry potter and the unwanteds
Published 4 days ago by julie vanhoose
2.0 out of 5 stars all the wrong questions
Who could that be at this hour?
It wasn't very interesting and detailed, but that might not be your I pinyin but it's my, so thanks for reading.
Published 11 days ago by V. Neyman
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
my girl, 5th grader, loves this book. she wants to read more series so purchased next book right away.
Published 17 days ago by Amazon Customer
4.0 out of 5 stars darkly funny series
A quick, fun read, though not as captivating as the Unfortunate Events series. It has moments and phrases that made me smile, yet seemed to never get up to full speed. Read more
Published 29 days ago by Richard Gelderman
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Thanks!
Published 1 month ago by Meagan Gonzalez
5.0 out of 5 stars jjj
This book is really awesome the first part you might want not want to put it down when in the middle you can't put it down
Published 1 month ago by jee soulisak-hoang
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
great and unusually written.
Published 1 month ago by Patrick Joyner
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good!
Honestly it's a great book but why can I only read 4 chapters?! still awesome book and I would recommend you just get the real book and of course you will find the sequel. Read more
Published 2 months ago by aydan
2.0 out of 5 stars my book is BAD and its boring too
ugh, my book is BAD and its boring too. >:-(
Published 2 months ago by C. Sinex
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

More About the Author

Lemony Snicket claims he was nowhere near the scene of the crime. He is the author of several other unpleasant stories, including those in the bestselling A Series of Unfortunate Events and The Lump of Coal.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category