Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outwit and Outmaneuver the Manipulators in Your World
In an era in which secondary schools and universities are not teaching people superlative critical thinking skills, it is easier than ever for groups and individuals within groups to be manipulated. In this book, Beverly Eakman outlines tactics that trained manipulators in settings such as PTA meetings or other public policy meetings use to get people to sign on to...
Published on July 1, 2011 by Eric Mayforth

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected
I was hopeful that this book might provide special insights into group processes, how to react, and direct them. However, the organization was poor, and there was a lot of wasted time spent ragging on "liberals" who were actually Marxists indoctrinated (unsuspectingly) in the '60s, and who have become the new authoritarians of our time, and other straw dogs. I am appalled...
Published 21 months ago by SaysWho?


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outwit and Outmaneuver the Manipulators in Your World, July 1, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Counter Group Manipulation Tactics: The Techniques of Unethical Consensus-Building Unmasked (Paperback)
In an era in which secondary schools and universities are not teaching people superlative critical thinking skills, it is easier than ever for groups and individuals within groups to be manipulated. In this book, Beverly Eakman outlines tactics that trained manipulators in settings such as PTA meetings or other public policy meetings use to get people to sign on to politically correct consensuses--and she provides the tools that one needs to derail these tactics.

Eakman describes many of the main weapons that manipulators use, including the familiar Hegelian and Alinskyite tactics. She shows how manipulators (who the author says frequently attempt to give themselves the euphemistic name of "facilitator") attempt to coerce individuals into adopting group beliefs, to trick an individual into thinking that the group's predetermined consensus was in fact the individual's own idea, and to make the individual think that he has input into the group's decision when in fact he does not.

When reading this book it may seem depressing to realize how easy it is nowadays for someone to control a group, but Eakman provides many countermoves one can use to avoid being manipulated or demoralized and to hold your ground in meetings--and she provides a splendid rejoinder one can use to deflect ad hominem attacks.

Some years ago I took an interest in this topic and became, if something less than an expert, at least a fairly serious armchair student of manipulation tactics, so I was intrigued when I saw a link to this book last May. This book is not exhaustive--I can think of quite a few of the lowest and foulest manipulation techniques that were not covered in this book, and there was one example in the book that fell flat due to an inaccurate statement. Also, there is a type of psychological Strategic Defense Initiative that one can adopt and employ to render powerless any and all mental coercion techniques, but it is not described in the book.

That being said, this tome is a pretty good introduction to the topic of psychological manipulation. If you are middle-aged and at one point had a keen interest in this topic, even you will likely learn something new from this book. And if you are in your twenties and think that you are too trusting or have been told by others that you are too trusting, don't think twice about clicking the "Add to Cart" button on this page--you very likely need to read this book, and recall that being as innocent as a dove and as wise as a serpent are not mutually exclusive conditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you have ever wondered how YOUR agenda got sidetracked, this manual is for you!, June 6, 2011
By 
Curly Top (Raleigh, NC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Counter Group Manipulation Tactics: The Techniques of Unethical Consensus-Building Unmasked (Paperback)
Talk about a vital book for our time. I don't know about you, but after attending a variety of political group "get-togethers," school board and PTA meetings, office "brainstorming" sessions, business "feedback" conferences and more, I became disillusioned anything useful would be the result. After reading Eakman's manual I now understand how and why "plants" (read agent provocateurs) are placed in these meeting, how I can identify them and get the agenda back on track. This book is a must read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Facts vs Fiction, June 6, 2011
By 
Roni Bell "Farm girl" (La Salle, CO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Counter Group Manipulation Tactics: The Techniques of Unethical Consensus-Building Unmasked (Paperback)
What I appreciate most about Ms. Eakman's work, is her thorough documentation. She's meticulous in having at hand, papers that verify her claims.
In a present culture of trying to wade through the reams of personal opinions, Beverly's work always provides a welcoming, stabilizing, foundation.
Americans need more doses of facts and realities as offered by folks like Beverly Eakman.
Why? To stop the force feeding of caustic lies and fiction that deliberately serves the purpose of perforating our Constitution.
For one example, I heard a reporter on Sunday Morning refer to DDT as, "the deadly chemical..." when in fact, DDT is not a deadly chemical! But, it's necessary for Depopulationists such as George Soros to perpetuate this lie, in order to achieve their goal of allowing millions to continue dying of malaria.
Ms. Eakman's work gives real time...opportunity. The powers that be, would do well for America if they'd take heed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anyone interested in thwarting the demise of our Republic?, June 15, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Counter Group Manipulation Tactics: The Techniques of Unethical Consensus-Building Unmasked (Paperback)
Anyone under the age of 60 who was educated in our Public system must STUDY this book. Anyone over the age of 60 will realize why when they start to read this book. This book is a bargain at any price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent resource for persons dealing with the school system, June 5, 2011
This review is from: How to Counter Group Manipulation Tactics: The Techniques of Unethical Consensus-Building Unmasked (Paperback)
I read this book when I was part of a group trying to address the problem of drug abuse in our local high school. It helped me understand how the school administrators kept putting us off by endless meetings, discussions, reports and even trying to discredit parents. It gave us the information we needed to deal with these tactics. Ms. Eakman has provided a valuable service with this book. As for the review by Ms. Bartley, it was no more helpful than her other reviews which included the facts that she dropped the battery cover of her MP3 player in the toilet and she hates her printer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How to know you are being used...., June 26, 2013
By 
Leon Dixon (Flyover country) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Counter Group Manipulation Tactics: The Techniques of Unethical Consensus-Building Unmasked (Paperback)
Most everyone knows that they are subjected to misinformation but might be surprised at the extent of it and the sources. In Portland, Oregon area there is a primate center and tours of it are provided the public. A few hours of examining thousands of monkeys is good preparation for this modern recap of Extraordinary Popular Delusions and the Madness of Crowds. The techniques now used, honed with insights from "psychology" are pointed out for group settings though with a bit of thinking one could see them in movements like the Common Core Fad where an untold amount of money has been devoted towards a very serious Manipulation of American thinking. Most sentient beings in America are quite aware that there are no intellectual firewalls in education-at least from the time of Dewey-these folks suck down stupidity as often as France changes governments (over the past 100 years). The techniques described are unethical. Part of the argument however, is that we don't have ethical standards anymore and so all is fair when treating people like monkeys. We have dumbed down education so far that even ethical people are tempted to use these group persuasion techniques. This is a quick read but points to her earlier work The Cloning of the American Mind-or something like that which is probably a more important book reaching back, i'd guess to the criticisms offered by Adm Rickover and Milton Freidman in the late 1950's - the last time some attempt was made to improve education from the mediocrity it had become and to re-inject intellectual capital into the failing enterprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Required Reading for Concerned Citizens, May 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Counter Group Manipulation Tactics: The Techniques of Unethical Consensus-Building Unmasked (Paperback)
I would recommend this book to anyone who has ever felt frustrated at a school board, "community forum", or other political meeting. The author draws back the curtain on the manipulators who always seem to sidetrack real work on the issue at hand. Her writing style is cogent, humorous, and informative. Useful for all who really wish real work could be done at the endless meetings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative. Enlightening., April 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Counter Group Manipulation Tactics: The Techniques of Unethical Consensus-Building Unmasked (Paperback)
This book is very well written by someone who knows what she's talking about. If you wish to inform yourself on group manipulation tactics (such as the Delphi Technique) currently being employed by the government, media, corporations, and the Sustainable Development aka Agenda 21 scammers, I recommend this book very highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should read it., January 15, 2013
This review is from: How to Counter Group Manipulation Tactics: The Techniques of Unethical Consensus-Building Unmasked (Paperback)
This is a great primer on how we get manipulated to go along with, and possibley even support, things we would not normally agree to. We have to be aware of the tactics used in order to defend ourselves. The bookk also teaches how to counter these tactics. If we're going to preserve, and teach, individual critical thinking as opposed to "group think", we have to prepare so we don't show up unarmed for this battle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dealing with thugs ..., November 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Counter Group Manipulation Tactics: The Techniques of Unethical Consensus-Building Unmasked (Paperback)
A helpful read if you are going to have to interact with "the system", especially education boards and special interest groups, most of which behave in exactly the way described by the author-manipulative, with an axe to grind and a willingness to use devious tactics to achieve an end.

Not very well written though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

How to Counter Group Manipulation Tactics: The Techniques of Unethical Consensus-Building Unmasked
Used & New from: $69.07
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.