Robin non-member

Buy New

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Good See details
$5.92 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details

or
 
   
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Counterfeit²
 
See larger image
 

Counterfeit²

Martin L. GoreAudio CD
3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (45 customer reviews)

Price: $13.98 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Monday, Aug. 25? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
CD-R Note: This product is manufactured on demand when ordered from Amazon.com. [Learn more]

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, 2013 $13.98  
Vinyl, Import, 2006 --  

Amazon's Martin L. Gore Store

Visit Amazon's Martin L. Gore Store
for all the music, discussions, and more.

Frequently Bought Together

Counterfeit² + Counterfeit + The Light The Dead See
Price for all three: $61.58

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details

  • Audio CD (January 14, 2013)
  • Original Release Date: April 2, 2012
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Mute / Reprise
  • ASIN: B00008VGL6
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (45 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #20,584 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. In My Time Of Dying
2. Stardust
3. I Cast A Lonesome Shadow
4. In My Other World
5. Loverman
6. By This River
7. Lost In The Stars
8. Oh My Love
9. Das Lied Vom Einsamen Madchen
10. Tiny Girls
11. Candy Says

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com

Counterfeit proves that Martin Gore has exemplary taste in music. The Depeche Mode songwriter's first full-length solo excursion is a covers album in the tradition of David Bowie's Pin-Ups. The 11 selections range from obviously classic works by rock lords Lou Reed, Nick Cave, Brian Eno, Iggy Pop, and John Lennon; to a pop-trash wildcard--a winsome version of David Essex's "Stardust." What’s more, most of the songs fit in with Depeche Mode’s fascination with masochism, drugs, decay, and disillusion. The problem lies in Gore's lack of emotional and musical range. Fans will take great comfort in the set's familiar moody minor chords, electronic touches, echoing darkness, and Gore's vocals. But the end result is uniform in texture and tempo, and songs as originally powerful as "In My Time of Dying" or Cave’s "Loverman" just seem to float into the background, deprived of edge and individuality. Still, Gore plays Weill’s "Lost in the Stars" piano-and-strings straight, and seekers of tasteful ambience may enjoy the idea of various cult rock, folk, and country songs being transformed into Mode-ish mood music. --Garry Mulholland

Product Description

Counterfeit by Martin L. Gore

This product is manufactured on demand using CD-R recordable media. Amazon.com's standard return policy will apply.


Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
(45)
3.9 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different times, different music May 1, 2003
Format:Audio CD
Being a Depeche Mode fan for about 20 years now, I own (and -in most cases- adore) every piece of music the guys ever made. Thus I own the first Martin Gore solo album, "Counterfeit", and had to have this new output immediately.
And how is it then?

Like the first "Counterfeit", it consists of cover versions only. Some very strong tunes (I did not know any of them before) with deep, meaningful, and sometimes strange lyrics, sophisticated arrangements - and Martin's lovable warm voice, that fits to the songs absolutely perfect.
In my eyes the latest Depeche Mode work, "Exciter", falls behind the terrific "Black Celebration", "Music for the Masses", or "Violator" periods. It's a skillful album, no doubt about that, but it will never touch me as deeply as the the mentioned albums did/do. And in a similar way the latest "Counterfeit²" cannot keep up with Martin's first solo project.
In fact, I was expecting this. The times have changed, I have changed, and so did the guys from Basildon near London and their music.

Well, to prevent a misunderstanding: The CD is good, even better than I was hoping it to be.
I cannot rate it 5 stars because it didn't produce the instant "Wow!!!"-effect like a Depeche Mode "Violator" and also his first solo CD did. But I can honestly assign 4 stars to a very complex and ambitious piece of music...
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Words don't explain... August 16, 2006
Format:Audio CD
I can perfectly see, based on the reviews in here, how it works on people - it either gets a 5-star review by an amazed listener or a 1-star review by a person who asks what is this supposed to be. Well, being a DM fan for so many years I can tell that DM fans are so incredibly diverse that I can almost understand such varied reactions.

This album represents what Martin truly is and I'm sure that there can hardly be any closer expression of himself. I've heard it dozens of times but there's just no way I can get bored with it, it's so unbelievably catchy and profound, so incredibly loaded with emotion that is works like a drug. Those who just don't get it say it's monotone and disappointing and that's just because it's not really an easy listening, you've got to devote your time to really get into it... words just can't explain, I'm not a native english speaker so I can't describe it in such an impressive way. You have to feel this one inside out, this is for people who understand the deepest dimensions of music and once you get it, I'm absolutely sure it'll tremendously reward you and never get away from you. There's just nothing in between - you either understand it or you don't.

You ask how can it be so much special when considering Martin is the brain of DM? It's extremely irresponsible to state that it's just because he could've done better with this album - those who said it in here could have done much better when they listened to it and made such vague statements about this "one-of-a-kind" album. My ultimate viewpoint is that after hearing this album I understood that DM is actually the "commercially-friendly" version of Martin's world and his ideas, although still being so stellar and fantastic to all of us. Although I'm a musician and constantly listen to such a broad spectre of music I must admit that Martin L. Gore is so unbelievably gifted that he can't be denied the spot among the very unique geniuses that this world has ever seen.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Haunting, darkly beautiul November 22, 2005
Format:Audio CD
This beautiful little covers album is not, of course, a Depeche Mode album. It doesn't have the production investment behind it or a point to prove. But it is a wonderful discovery of torch songs, beautifully sung with minimal instrumentation and basic but very satisfying production. Many of the songs are far from immediate but the album has grown steadily on me for the past two years and is now becoming a favourite. The choice of songs is unusual and brave- not many would take on an Alvin Stardust cover- but Martin Gore brings a uniquely beautiful darkness to each song. He understands perfectly the crossover between glam rock and the darker side of Bowie albums such as Low. What we get is a dark modern electronic take on that.

The strongest track is probably his cover of Julie Cruise's In My Other World which is very atmospheric and has a haunting guitar riff. But his versions of Nick Cave's Loverman and Iggy Pop's Tiny Girls are joys to behold. The album ends with a narcotic rendition of The Velvet Underground's Candy Says which envelopes the listener. I would recommend the album to anyone who likes Martin Gore's songs on the Depeche Mode albums and is used to appreciating independent music. This is free from the shackles of major label input and you'll never hear a collection of songs like it- unless, of course, Martin Gore releases another one. Given the 14 year interlude between Counterfeit and Counterfeit2 it's unlikely but I, for one, hope he will.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars counterfeit2 May 1, 2003
By George
Format:Audio CD
Depeche Mode being my favourite band, of course i was looking forward to this release. the ballads on the depeche albums sung by martin gore were always a highlight for me. I love his voice but i think that his strengths lie in his lyrics. Of course on this solo cd these are covers, so i think that takes away a little for me. Also - and i hate to agree with this- i do think what the amazon.com reviewer said is true about this collection--martin does not sing a lot of these songs with great emotion.or at least the emotion we're used to getting from him.Could it be because he didn't compose them?- i don't know. this is a great collection of songs, my faves are "stardust", "loverman" and "in my time of dying". i think Gore did an awesome job of making them his own.overall this is a great cd, definately worth buying just for his uniquely beautiful voice, but no, i'm sorry' its not as good as his first solo album.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!
If you are a fan of Depeche Mode, you will like this CD. Martin picked great songs to cover and his singing, as always, is superb.
Published 11 months ago by J. Brown
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome
I was expecting to hear something that remain me of Depeche Mode. It is great, audio is incredible, price really inexpensive and a hard to get. Love it
Published 19 months ago by C. S. Nunez
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gray Album for a Gray Day
Let me preface this by stating that unlike many of the other reviewers, I do not feel that this albums sounds very much like Depeche Mode at all. Read more
Published on August 7, 2011 by S. Pero
5.0 out of 5 stars track list
Track Listing
1. In My Time Of Dying
2. Stardust
3. I Cast A Lonesome Shadow
4. In My Other World
5. Loverman
6. By This River
7. Read more
Published on March 15, 2008 by John Crandall
5.0 out of 5 stars Martin Gore's Counterfeit2 - Let's give Martin a chance!
Brief summation: This album is a fantastic showcase of Mr. Gore's vocal, musical, and arranging abilities, accessible to most audiences (specifically, those with any penchant... Read more
Published on October 11, 2007 by Megan Smeltz
4.0 out of 5 stars A well-done covers album
..and to tell you the truth, those things don't really usually catch my attention, unless I like the artist a lot. Read more
Published on November 5, 2006 by Zen Station
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost In The Stars With Martin
Ah, the brains behind Depeche Mode. And it shows. I've had this album for about three years now, and it still is on regular rotation on my player. Read more
Published on April 18, 2006 by LC
1.0 out of 5 stars "Its no good"
I had to at least give it one star because after all its Martin Gore and he deserves something.

However I was really let down by what I heard . Read more
Published on December 29, 2005 by D.J .Royalspin
5.0 out of 5 stars Just beautiful
Martin L. Gore is one of few male vocalists that give me chills down my spine. Moreover, he's an extremely talented producer, who brings some of his favorite songs to a whole new... Read more
Published on November 27, 2005 by Charlene
3.0 out of 5 stars depeche expert
its not the best album but who cares its still depeche mode and theire music rules. There are a couple of good songs though. Read more
Published on October 20, 2005 by Russell Foster
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Look for Similar Items by Category