Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
11
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$8.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 20, 2009
I'm giving this one star not because the content isn't good - Krugman's explanation of the different analytical approaches needed to discuss economic issues and business problems is typically clear, thoughtful, and relevant - but because this book is a rip-off, plain and simple.

This is nothing more or less than a 100% faithful reprint of an article Krugman published in the January/February 1996 Harvard Business Review with the same title. There are no updates whatsoever, so readers will enjoy a stroll down memory lane as they read about the GATT, 1994-era monetary policy, and the Mexican peso crisis. Not that those references have become less appropriate with time, but I would have appreciated some sort of introduction or afterword discussing how Krugman's analysis is as timely as ever. After all, George W. Bush, "America's first President with an MBA", pursued exactly the kind of mistaken trade and economic growth policies that Krugman warns of here; readers who want more detailed discussion of specific policy missteps should read his excellent 2003 New York Times essay collection "The Great Unraveling".

The article is available for free online ([...]), so I would recommend that prospective buyers simply check it out there. 6,000 words is a great essay, but when you are holding those words in gigantic type on tiny pages, it makes for an underwhelming book. Save your $8.95 and pick up some of Krugman's other works.
11 comment| 170 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2010
Aaron, while I take your point, and I did find the article online in PDF form, I think your praise outweighs your criticism. The insights are still useful especially in these times where business interests hold so much sway over our national politics. The argument is the important thing here. America needs to hear it, however it's delivered, as one part of an important public debate.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2013
I read Krugman's pamphlet " A Country Is Not A Company" because I was tired of the political talking points and spin engendered by the austerians on the right and the anti-government corporatist supporters wringing their hands and expressing faux fears about our national government debt. As usual Krugman carefully parses the difference. Quote:"...economics and business are not the same subject, and mastery of one does not ensure comprehension, let alone mastery, of the other.A successful business leader is no more likely to be an expert on economics than on military strategy." " For though no one will believe it-economics is a technical and difficult subject."
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2013
As one who loved economics in school, ..I must admit this was never presented to me so bluntly and forcefully as to cause me to remember it. Krugman is a National (and Global) Treasure and I suspect history will treat him very kindly indeed. If this is your first book by Paul, Krugman then I hope it will not be your last. Regardless of your political inclinations, ..you will be exposed to someone of impeccable global credentials who is totally comfortable conversing with any man or women on the street.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2012
In 1996 the Harvard Business Review published a paper written Paul Krugman delineating the differences between what is required of a CEO and the president of the United States. The point he made was that the CEO has a much more narrowly focused task than does the president or prime mnister of a country. What is the main concern of the CEO? The well known bottom line. A president does not have such a luxury. He (and maybe someday she) has an almost unlimited list of responsibilities such as national security, a stable currency, a adequate infrastructure, the welfare of the country's citizens and preservation of the environment, to name a few. This booklet is more relevant today than it was on the day of its publication I have inscribed the following on the title page of my copy "Required reading for Mitt Romney." I thank Amazon for making it available.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2013
Macro Economy is not an intuitive topic, and with this small book, you can understand why. Great for people being introduced to the subject, and for people teaching Economy; and for everyone else for that matter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2011
I bought this as a present for someone else. Somehow when I saw that the book was 64 pages long and cost $9, I thought it would be about the length of a novella. Should've paid more attention to the dimensions. This book is about the size of an index card and there aren't many words crammed onto a page. Just doesn't seem worth it, no matter how interesting the contents are. I'm sure you can find the articles in the archives somewhere and print it off.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2012
Don't you want to become one of the few privileged people who can make sense of all the economic mess that is going on in the US and Europe? Just read it. It only takes common sense. No particular knowledge of economic science required.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2016
As you say; it's a classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2011
Kurgan uncovers the business lies that seem like common sense. His arguments are concise and straight to the point. He has no problem criticizing business like arguments that clearly are lies and false statements. This book will help one see a different view of how business people manipulate the public. It is important for the public to be more economically informed than to base decisions on what may seem like common sense.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse