Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eat this book.
This is my favorite Irish cookbook. Beautifully illustrated and filled with interesting cultural information as well as tempting recipes. It's nearly encyclopedic in scope, as well - a hefty book, obviously a labor of love.

In several recipes so far I've found that I need to alter the quantities of various ingredients to hit a home run. The Irish Stew was...
Published on January 22, 2010 by Quai Chang Cain

versus
53 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some Recipes Disappoint
As another reviewer mentioned, the quantities called for in some of the recipes are wildly incorrect.

Case in point: Battered Sausages. If you make it as written, you won't get a batter, you'll get a thick, elastic dough that will not coat the sausages. Cut both the flour and yeast quantities in half, and you're good to go.

I'm always nervous...
Published on March 12, 2010 by C. Bradley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eat this book., January 22, 2010
This review is from: The Country Cooking of Ireland (Hardcover)
This is my favorite Irish cookbook. Beautifully illustrated and filled with interesting cultural information as well as tempting recipes. It's nearly encyclopedic in scope, as well - a hefty book, obviously a labor of love.

In several recipes so far I've found that I need to alter the quantities of various ingredients to hit a home run. The Irish Stew was simple, but maybe the best I've ever had, however the first time I made it I used all the potatoes and cream that the recipe called for, and I didn't get a nice crust on top. Dial back the thickness of the potato layer and a little less cream (plus 2 cloves of garlic all minced up, because that's how I roll), and then it was perfect. Likewise a 'bunch' of kale is apparently smaller in Ireland than here in Washington, so my first crack at colcannon soup actually "tasted green" according to my guests. It was still good, but next time I'm going to try with less kale.

Also, several dishes include ingredients hard to find in my city. Not the author's fault, of course, and probably not an issue if you live in a big city, but there you have it.

Overall, I am very impressed with this cookbook and will return to it often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some Recipes Disappoint, March 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Country Cooking of Ireland (Hardcover)
As another reviewer mentioned, the quantities called for in some of the recipes are wildly incorrect.

Case in point: Battered Sausages. If you make it as written, you won't get a batter, you'll get a thick, elastic dough that will not coat the sausages. Cut both the flour and yeast quantities in half, and you're good to go.

I'm always nervous cooking from a book after I discover such an error. It means either that the recipes weren't tested, or the book was poorly edited.

A shame, because the book is gorgeous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delicious foray into a much overlooked cuisine, February 1, 2010
This review is from: The Country Cooking of Ireland (Hardcover)
There is never a better time to break out the hearty soups and savory farmhouse bakes than in the dead of winter, and Country Cooking of Ireland helps cooks of all skill levels and experience do just that. Colman Andrews, the co-founder of Saveur Magazine and author of several cookbooks, brings together the very best of Ireland's cuisine in one irresistible volume.

From poultry to potatoes to puddings, no stone was left unturned in Andrews' quest for authentic recipes. It is a treat to not only cook from, but to read from cover to cover - tucked in between the recipes are pages profiling artisan cheesemakers, brewers, and bakers, gorgeous photographs of Ireland's rugged landscape, and engagingly written background information about the history of various ingredients and the specialties of the different counties.

In our test kitchen we tried out two recipes for a casual weekend dinner: glazed carrots and panhaggerty. The recipe for glazed carrots brought out their natural sweetness, and the simplicity of the recipe ensures that it will become a regular side dish at mealtimes in the future. We initially balked at the generous amount of butter called for in the panhaggerty recipe, but we gave it a try and were blown away by the extraordinary taste of this potato gratin dish. The potatoes, onions, bacon, and Irish cheddar played off one another marvelously.

Country Cooking of Ireland will come as a delightful surprise to both newcomers and old hands at the treat that is traditional Irish food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Taste of Éire, January 8, 2012
By 
This review is from: The Country Cooking of Ireland (Hardcover)
Craíbechán, Caherbeg Pork Pie w/ Caramelized Apples, Colm Finnegan's Colcannon Pie w/ Bacon & Lavistown cheese, Champ, Boxty, Braised Chicken w/ Bacon, Black Pudding w/ Cabbage and Apples. Yep, Irish cuisine that is simple, delicious and comforting once given the chance. No longer just potatoes and buttermilk - Colman Andrews' 'The Country Cooking of Ireland' is easy to follow and works well if you have the ingredients. I have access in Kearny, NJ and/or the Bronx NYC for the bacon, sausage, soda bread, various Irish cheeses, etc etc. And what the hell anyway? People who live in an area where they can't get their hands on imported Irish food products can just order them on the internet. It's 2012 afterall. Not only does this awesome cookbook have beautiful pictures of various locations in rural Ireland scattered throughout, it also gives a brief history and originator captions next to most of the recipes given. Five stars no question. Bain taitneamh as do bhéil!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, July 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Country Cooking of Ireland (Hardcover)
I would read this book just for the little articles about Ireland and its people that are interspersed among the recipes. The pictures are gorgeous, too. I tried the Soda Bread recipe and loved it. It was great having an authentic recipe, after baking several from the "net" that were very different. I ordered special Irish flour, which really makes a difference in the texture. I'm still reading the book and putting sticky notes on recipes I want to try. Since it's pretty hot here, right now, some will have to wait till autumn. It's just not soup weather, now.

The book is heavy, so it's not a "light" read. I will enjoy this book for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully-done take on Irish cooking, success with 3 recipes so far, March 27, 2011
By 
This review is from: The Country Cooking of Ireland (Hardcover)
`Country Cooking of Ireland' contains a comprehensive collection of Irish recipes, with mouth-watering color photos and fascinating bits of history with each section. In my hands, it felt weighty and substantial, as the dimensions of each page are about 8X11 inches and there are more than 350 pages. There are 15 chapters and in the back there is a resource guide, list of recipes, bibliography and an index.

Colman Andrews, one of the founders of Saveur magazine, wrote and compiled this volume, which seems designed to win a James Beard award, if it hasn't already done so. The author approaches the topic of Irish food with earnestness not usually found in other cookbooks. I particularly enjoyed the wide range of photographs of many of the recipes, but also of raw ingredients and Ireland, past and present (photos by Christopher Hirsheimer).

I tried 3 recipes: boxty, Shephard's Pie and `Sultana Scones' (though I used dried cranberries instead of raisons). All were easy to understand and to follow. For each of the recipes that I cooked, I could have probably found a similar recipe on the internet. However, each dish was really enhanced by the history and photographs in the book. Overall, I would highly recommend for those interested in Irish cooking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Irish Recipe Book, March 17, 2011
By 
Kevin McDaniel (Waunakee, WI United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Country Cooking of Ireland (Hardcover)
We received the book yesterday and have tried a couple of recipes for this evenings dinner. Overall the book is well laid out, has a great number of recipes in it and also explains some of the history behind Irish food. Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comfort Food, Beautifully Done, February 11, 2011
By 
This review is from: The Country Cooking of Ireland (Hardcover)
Equally suitable as a cookbook or coffee table book, this slightly over-sized volume abounds with beautiful photographs, historic and cultural notes and entertaining descriptions. Though largely unpretentious comfort food, the recipes vary widely and include both high-end restaurant plates and reproductions of antique recipes. The author does an excellent job of citing his sources where he's acquired, borrowed or adapted a recipe and is both mercifully and politely clear about his ingredients and substitutions where there might be any cause for confusion or a lack of access in various countries.

The recipes themselves are mouth-watering and require no special pots, pans or extensive cooking experience. I can't wait to cook my way through the many pages I've marked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply beautiful book!, September 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Country Cooking of Ireland (Hardcover)
Just got this and wow! This is a coffee table-sized book, gorgeous photographs and mouth-watering recipes. The inclusion of geographic recipe origin and other Irish lore makes the book quite unusual. I like to pick it up anywhere, envisioning my family roots from the Emerald Isle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Country Cooking of Ireland, June 5, 2010
By 
A. McGuirk (Buffalo, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Country Cooking of Ireland (Hardcover)
I have recently returned from a grand holiday in Ireland. Driving from region to region I was able to experience the taste and see the differences in the food offered. The Country Cooking of Ireland contains not only wonderful recipes, but stories giving the history that developed many specialities. The book also provides resources for obtaining specific products. The photos make you think you are able to smell the dishes, beautifully done! Recipes are easy to follow, truly an award winning book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Country Cooking of Ireland
The Country Cooking of Ireland by Colman Andrews (Hardcover - November 11, 2009)
$50.00 $34.33
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.