Kindle Price: $2.99

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Get the Free Kindle App

Enter email or phone number to get a link

Processing your request...

A Coupla Shades of Taupe: A Parody Kindle Edition

14 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$2.99

Length: 133 pages Matchbook Price: $0.99 What's this?
For thousands of qualifying books, your past, present, and future print-edition purchases now lets you buy the Kindle edition for $2.99 or less. (Textbooks available for $9.99 or less.)
  • Thousands of books are eligible, including current and former best sellers.
  • Look for the Kindle MatchBook icon on print and Kindle book detail pages of qualifying books. You can also see more Kindle MatchBook titles here or look up all of your Kindle MatchBook titles here.
  • Read the Kindle edition on any Kindle device or with a free Kindle Reading App.
  • Print edition must be purchased new and sold by Amazon.com.
  • Gifting of the Kindle edition at the Kindle MatchBook price is not available.
Learn more about Kindle MatchBook.

Kindle Delivers
Kindle Delivers
Subscribe to the Kindle Delivers monthly e-mail to find out about each month's Kindle book deals, new releases, editors' picks and more. Learn more (U.S. customers only)

Product Details

  • File Size: 218 KB
  • Print Length: 133 pages
  • Publisher: Diversion Books (June 18, 2012)
  • Publication Date: June 18, 2012
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B008FDN8F8
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #566,703 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Court Burback's "adult snuggle" stories have appeared in publications that include Playgirl and Hustler (under a pseudonym to protect her virtuous and presumably ashamed Catholic family). She also writes for the website examiner.com. Thanks to (or in spite of) her ADD, she's currently working on a YA novel, a screenplay, a TV pilot, a graphic novel script, and an intricate Lego model of Ewok tree village. Court is currently a cliché starving artist living in Los Angeles, where she survives on Ramen noodles and drives a '97 Ford Mustang that runs on dreams. She continues to mourn the cancellation of Arrested Development.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Joseph marks on July 11, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I couldn't get beyond the first four chapters of 50 Shades of Grey, but when my girlfriend ordered "A Coupla Shades of Taupe" 3 days ago and she spent the next day glued to her iPad laughing like I hadnt seen her laugh since we saw Bridesmaids together, I was curious enough to check it out after she finished. The book is HILARIOUS!!! Raunchy, sharp, with brilliant one-liners that just keep on coming. The concept alone is guaranteed to make you laugh--Christian the sexy billionaire is now Pagan, a (probably-closeted), Cher loving frozen yogurt/pet taxidermy chain store entrepreneur. His object of lust/beard is Alexandra Aluminum, a, slow-on-the-uptake University of the Ozarks co-ed who is up for a promising internship at the local Petco. And when these two meet, no surface is safe from their sexual hijinks, including a Thanksgiving table complete with guests and turkey, the hood of a Kia with an unfortunate family trapped inside, and, of course, the rickshaw.

I'm sure I didnt catch all of the references to the original, but it actually doesn't matter--this is one those rare parodies that is so relentlessly clever and original, it stands entirely on it's own. As another reviewer pointed out, the writing is as knife-sharp and caustic as a great South Park episode or Carl Hiassen novel--blending great comedic writing with some very astute commentary about sexual politics.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By MusicAddict on July 5, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I'll admit that I was skeptical about reading this due to the source material. I personally have not read 50 Shades of Grey, but when a good friend of mine, whose opinion I hold highly, recommended this book to me, I had to give it a whirl. In all honesty, this may be the funniest book I have ever read (and I've read some pretty damn funny books). Pagan Taupe could be placed on a list of top ten literary characters of all time. This book is laced with some of the wittiest humor you will have the privilege of reading. I highly recommend this to anyone who is looking to laugh until it hurts, because that is exactly what I did. My only complaint is that I can't seem to find anything else by this author.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Underground Book Reviews on September 12, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
A Coupla Shades of Taupe is the Spark-Notes version of Fifty Shades of Grey... on steroids and laughing gas. While Grey is the wealthy owner of a company that delivers food to the hungry, Taupe is the wealthy owner of a taxidermy company that immortalizes deceased pets. While Anastasia Steele pines over Grey's perfectly sculpted face, Alexandria Aluminium fantasizes about picking jerky out of Taupe's teeth. If you haven't heard of Fifty Shades of Grey, you should know that it's a closet fad made infamous for its explicit sexual content, including whips and bondage. If you don't think that's grounds for a riotous parody, stop reading here.

Read the rest of this review at Underground Book Reviews dot com.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Larry on June 17, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I tried to write a really funny review but I could not. I suck at writing. If you are looking for laughs and amusement I highly suggest you read A Coupla Shades of Taupe!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Sara block on February 11, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I have never read the real 50 shades book. This was freaking funny as HELL! Is there a real Pagan in life wondering around stalking girls & hookers?
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Stefanye on September 6, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition
I laughed so hard, I almost threw up. Absolutely hilarious read. I read the original fifty shades. It was.. .OK. Maybe a 6 on a scale from 1-10. This parody makes the time spent totally worth it!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Good Books Lover on August 27, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition
A friend of mine at the gym was on the treadmill reading "A Coupla Shades of Taupe" and repeatedly she had to stop because she was laughing so hard. She read excerpts of the book and I decided I had to read it and I'm so glad I did!! Based on "Fifty Shades of Gray" which I read and found poorly contrived and written, the parody is extremely clever, humourous and edgey in the vein of "Southpark" and "Family Guy." The character name changes alone, the taxidermy occupation, the ric shaw rides and driver, the KIA scenario, the chained clown, and the music finale are hilariously funny. This is a talented author and I want to read more of Ms. Burback's work.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in