Start reading A Coupla Shades of Taupe: A Parody on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

A Coupla Shades of Taupe: A Parody [Kindle Edition]

Court Burback
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (14 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: $2.99

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

The Bone Clocks
David Mitchell's hypnotic new novel crackles with invention and sheer storytelling pleasure. Learn more

Book Description

A romantic, tender tale of blossoming emotions and hardcore schtupping. 50 SHADES OF GREY doesn't come close to reaching the literary heights of A COUPLA SHADES OF TAUPE. A Pulitzer is inevitable.

Pagan Taupe is the wealthiest man in all of Arkansas. He’s got everything. The only thing that’s missing is a whiny young codependent named Alexandra Aluminum. Pagan becomes obsessed with Alexandra at a level normally portrayed by Rob Lowe in Lifetime movies. But unlike Rob Lowe, Pagan doesn’t want to beat her with a tire iron and bury her beneath the town bridge—he wants to make her his live-in sex slave.

Alexandra takes the leap and agrees to be Pagan’s unquestioning “submissive,” and the two embark on a sexual journey that would make Gloria Steinem put a loaded gun to her temple.


Product Details

  • File Size: 218 KB
  • Print Length: 133 pages
  • Publisher: Diversion Books (June 18, 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B008FDN8F8
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #613,605 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?.


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 50 Shades by way of Bridesmaids! July 11, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I couldn't get beyond the first four chapters of 50 Shades of Grey, but when my girlfriend ordered "A Coupla Shades of Taupe" 3 days ago and she spent the next day glued to her iPad laughing like I hadnt seen her laugh since we saw Bridesmaids together, I was curious enough to check it out after she finished. The book is HILARIOUS!!! Raunchy, sharp, with brilliant one-liners that just keep on coming. The concept alone is guaranteed to make you laugh--Christian the sexy billionaire is now Pagan, a (probably-closeted), Cher loving frozen yogurt/pet taxidermy chain store entrepreneur. His object of lust/beard is Alexandra Aluminum, a, slow-on-the-uptake University of the Ozarks co-ed who is up for a promising internship at the local Petco. And when these two meet, no surface is safe from their sexual hijinks, including a Thanksgiving table complete with guests and turkey, the hood of a Kia with an unfortunate family trapped inside, and, of course, the rickshaw.

I'm sure I didnt catch all of the references to the original, but it actually doesn't matter--this is one those rare parodies that is so relentlessly clever and original, it stands entirely on it's own. As another reviewer pointed out, the writing is as knife-sharp and caustic as a great South Park episode or Carl Hiassen novel--blending great comedic writing with some very astute commentary about sexual politics.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Stomach and Sides Hurt From Laughing July 5, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I'll admit that I was skeptical about reading this due to the source material. I personally have not read 50 Shades of Grey, but when a good friend of mine, whose opinion I hold highly, recommended this book to me, I had to give it a whirl. In all honesty, this may be the funniest book I have ever read (and I've read some pretty damn funny books). Pagan Taupe could be placed on a list of top ten literary characters of all time. This book is laced with some of the wittiest humor you will have the privilege of reading. I highly recommend this to anyone who is looking to laugh until it hurts, because that is exactly what I did. My only complaint is that I can't seem to find anything else by this author.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Underground Book Reviews September 12, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
A Coupla Shades of Taupe is the Spark-Notes version of Fifty Shades of Grey... on steroids and laughing gas. While Grey is the wealthy owner of a company that delivers food to the hungry, Taupe is the wealthy owner of a taxidermy company that immortalizes deceased pets. While Anastasia Steele pines over Grey's perfectly sculpted face, Alexandria Aluminium fantasizes about picking jerky out of Taupe's teeth. If you haven't heard of Fifty Shades of Grey, you should know that it's a closet fad made infamous for its explicit sexual content, including whips and bondage. If you don't think that's grounds for a riotous parody, stop reading here.

Read the rest of this review at Underground Book Reviews dot com.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars F@#$ Hilarious June 17, 2014
By Larry
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I tried to write a really funny review but I could not. I suck at writing. If you are looking for laughs and amusement I highly suggest you read A Coupla Shades of Taupe!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was a great read, hilarious February 11, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I have never read the real 50 shades book. This was freaking funny as HELL! Is there a real Pagan in life wondering around stalking girls & hookers?
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious September 6, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition
I laughed so hard, I almost threw up. Absolutely hilarious read. I read the original fifty shades. It was.. .OK. Maybe a 6 on a scale from 1-10. This parody makes the time spent totally worth it!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilariously Funny Parody!! August 27, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition
A friend of mine at the gym was on the treadmill reading "A Coupla Shades of Taupe" and repeatedly she had to stop because she was laughing so hard. She read excerpts of the book and I decided I had to read it and I'm so glad I did!! Based on "Fifty Shades of Gray" which I read and found poorly contrived and written, the parody is extremely clever, humourous and edgey in the vein of "Southpark" and "Family Guy." The character name changes alone, the taxidermy occupation, the ric shaw rides and driver, the KIA scenario, the chained clown, and the music finale are hilariously funny. This is a talented author and I want to read more of Ms. Burback's work.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your time
So painfully stupid that words do not exist to describe how terrible and unfunny this is. Bad writing. Bad storytelling. Very immature and unreadable.
Published 27 days ago by JKA
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it.
This was just as funny as 50 shades of beige. I laughed out loud at a lot of it. Very visual writing which made me crack up even more.
Published 1 month ago by Suz
1.0 out of 5 stars Hated it; cheesey
I felt this book was not even funny. Too corny or cheesey to even get past first chapters. Dont recommend.
Published 21 months ago by Lindalemonade
1.0 out of 5 stars Laughter turned sour
I purchased this parody expecting to laugh out loud at its absurd premise. In all fairness, I did smile through the first pages as the scene was set a la Redneck heaven. Read more
Published 21 months ago by Sheryl Andrews
5.0 out of 5 stars Making Angels (and myself) Cry (from laughing)
A parody of Fifty Shades of Grey that is not only hilarious but also stylishly and skillfully executed. Read more
Published on July 29, 2012 by Courtney
4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, Witty Parody!
Oh. My. Goodness! First, let me start by saying that I have NOT read Fifty Shades of Grey, and if you can't tell, this is a parody of that. Read more
Published on July 22, 2012 by Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars This was my best friend growing up!
Reading this book made me incredibly happy. Court was my best friend growing up, and this novel is only a glimpse into her iconic sense of humor. I can't wait to read more!
Published on July 20, 2012 by Jason Gilliland
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

More About the Author

Court Burback's "adult snuggle" stories have appeared in publications that include Playgirl and Hustler (under a pseudonym to protect her virtuous and presumably ashamed Catholic family). She also writes for the website examiner.com. Thanks to (or in spite of) her ADD, she's currently working on a YA novel, a screenplay, a TV pilot, a graphic novel script, and an intricate Lego model of Ewok tree village. Court is currently a cliché starving artist living in Los Angeles, where she survives on Ramen noodles and drives a '97 Ford Mustang that runs on dreams. She continues to mourn the cancellation of Arrested Development.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category