Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 blue ribbons from Romance Junkies
Kate Collier is slowly recovering from the brutal rape that has left her a social outcast among her so-called peers. Determined to not take any more lovers, she's started a dress shop in order to try to support herself. Slowly, Kate is reinventing herself, until Jason and Tony reenter her life and throw it completely off kilter again.

Lord Jason Randall and...
Published on January 29, 2008 by C. Dionne

versus
69 of 76 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Did we read the same book?
The Courage to Love is a M/M/F erotic romance ostensibly set in the Regency era. Jason Randall, an earl of some sort, and Anthony Richards are veterans of the Napoleonic wars and formed an especially close friendship while serving together. With the war over, they return to London to propose marriage to Katherine Collier, a widow of a comrade of theirs. Kate, however, was...
Published on August 15, 2009 by Ridley


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 blue ribbons from Romance Junkies, January 29, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Kate Collier is slowly recovering from the brutal rape that has left her a social outcast among her so-called peers. Determined to not take any more lovers, she's started a dress shop in order to try to support herself. Slowly, Kate is reinventing herself, until Jason and Tony reenter her life and throw it completely off kilter again.

Lord Jason Randall and Mr. Anthony Richards formed an unusual bond while serving in the battle against Napoleon. By having sex with a woman at the same time, they felt an emotional connection to each other. It was a connection that they needed in order to satisfy their needs beyond basic survival. Jason and Tony have both been in love with Kate for years. They're determined to get her to marry them - both of them.

Kate's learned to quell her panic attacks by controlling her breathing. Being in public where she runs the risk of being seen by the men who were part of her rape is terrifying for Kate. Unfortunately, when she accepted her friend, Kitty's dinner party she didn't think it would give the impression that she wants to reenter the social circle of wealthy men and their mistresses. Jason and Tony approach Kate while she's taking a moment to get control over her rampaging emotions and a few deep breaths to keep the panic away. They'd returned to London from the continent to claim Kate as their wife. They are unprepared for the changes that have happened to the carefree woman she'd been. Having been abroad, they had no knowledge of what had happened to cause her fear but they intend to find out. Kate may believe that she can't marry Jason and Tony because of what had been done to her, but they intend to prove differently - with a little help from Kate's niece, Veronica.

THE COURAGE TO LOVE has earned a permanent spot on my keeper shelf! Why? Because any book that can send tingles down my spine and curl my toes is too hot not to reread whenever the mood strikes. The characters are perfect. Kate, Jason, and Tony all love each other without any hesitation or any attempts at hiding their feelings. Kate's fears keep her from accepting Jason and Tony's marriage proposal, but she's wanted both men for too long to deny them forever. Jason and Tony discover a deep love for each other that's only grows stronger over the time they spend with Kate, and she battles her driving need for the safety and sexual fulfillment she feels only when she's with Jason and Tony. I'm practically bouncing in my seat just imagining what the rest of Samantha Kane's BROTHERS IN ARMS series could have in store for us next. There are so many other characters that I'm just dying to know more about - the rest of the men that have partnered up as Jason and Tony have, and Kate's niece is such a little spitfire, I'd love to delve more into her story.

Chrissy Dionne (courtesy of Romance Junkies)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 76 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Did we read the same book?, August 15, 2009
By 
Ridley (New England) - See all my reviews
The Courage to Love is a M/M/F erotic romance ostensibly set in the Regency era. Jason Randall, an earl of some sort, and Anthony Richards are veterans of the Napoleonic wars and formed an especially close friendship while serving together. With the war over, they return to London to propose marriage to Katherine Collier, a widow of a comrade of theirs. Kate, however, was forced to become a mistress after her husband's death, with traumatic results, and refuses to give up her hard earned independence easily.

The book has so many flaws, I wonder whether I read the same book as those who gave it five stars.

The most glaring flaw is a lack of sexual tension. Maybe it's a matter of opinion, but erotic romance should not merely be a romance with crudely worded, frequent sex scenes. It should be a romance where the sex plays an integral part in the conflict that drives the plot. I still want to see tension built up. A book where 80% of the action is sex builds no tension and leaves nothing to the imagination. Every itch was immediately scratched.

For a book with as much sex as this one has, it was incredibly unerotic. The language was appalling. It wasn't the obscenity that got me, it was the absurd purple prose. If I never see "rampant erection," "nether lips" or see vaginal lubrication referred to as "cream" again, it would be too soon. Newsflash erotic fiction authors: if a woman's vaginal moisture is opaque and whitish enough to be compared to dairy products, it means the poor girl has some sort of infection. Yeast infections are not sexy.

For a regency the language and attitudes were anachronistic to the extreme. Kate and her 16 year old niece Veronica have an absurdly modern relationship where Veronica is privy to, and accepting of, her aunt's sexual hijinks. The dialog sounds like something you'd hear on the streets of today and she makes a mess of the English title system. It is very much a wallpaper historical.

In the end, I finished the book only as a compulsion. The increasingly boring sex scenes got skimmed and I failed to make any emotional connection to the players. I was as invested in the characters' feeling as I would be in a porn star's, which is to say, not at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot and well written, October 10, 2007
It is nice to finally get a new erotica author who can make a story HOT while having a terrific storyline and characters. You will not be disappointed if you are a fan of erotica or just enjoy a well written love story. Can't wait for the whole series to be out in paperback!!!!
Heather
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wasn't blown away by it, but it's a nice read, June 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Warning: This review might contain what some people consider SPOILERS.

Rating: 6/10

PROS:
- I like how fiery Kate is. She's lived through a terrible experience, and although she still suffers negative effects from it, she doesn't entirely give into them. She just lifts her chin and soldiers on.
- Sometimes when I read about threesome relationships, I feel like one person gets repeatedly left out. I didn't get that feeling with this story: the men both love Kate, and they realize later, gradually, that they're in love with each other, as well. So the ménage aspect in this story felt natural to me.
- Several of the secondary characters are intriguing enough for me to want to read their stories. In particular, Kane does a good job of setting up pairs of men (who are already together and are searching for women to complete their threesomes) for later books.
- The sex scenes are plentiful, they're described in a good amount of detail, and they're hot. Usually I prefer a little less sex, but since the relationship here is very much the prominent story element, I didn't mind the pervasiveness of sex scenes in this book.

CONS:
- The point of view is all over the place. Early on in the book, the scenes do a decent job of staying in only one character's head: I still got a little dizzy on occasion because some of the scenes are so short--2 paragraphs, for instance--but at least they were fairly consistent. Later in the book, the scenes are longer but the POV jumps almost constantly from one character to another, and the problem I always have with that is that I can't tell whether some sentences are Character A's thoughts or Character B's perception of Character A.
- I read quite a bit of erotica, but most of it is m/m, which might be fundamentally different than m/m/f in some ways. (If so, and you're used to reading m/m/f, please excuse my ignorance and/or disregard this next comment.) Some of the description in this book, and especially some of the bedroom dialogue, is so corny-mushy-sweet that it made me cringe (or laugh, although I doubt that was the author's intent). Early on, for example, Kate says this: "F me, wonderful Jason. Make me remember this night always." Then later, Tony says, "Oh, Kate, what a glorious marriage the three of us will have" and then "sighed contentedly, and rested his chin in his hand as he gazed worshipfully at her."
- This is admittedly a strange thing to pick up on, but after reading Shakespeare's Taming of the Shrew multiple times, I was a little distracted by the number of times Tony and Jason say phrases that mirror the famous line "Kiss me, Kate" from Shakespeare's play. The strangest rendition? "Milk me, Kate." (I'm sure you can figure out the basic situation in which this one is said...)

Overall comments: I enjoyed this book, but it was a little too flowery for my tastes, so I wasn't blown away by it. There's a lot of sex in it (hot sex), so if you prefer books that are more plot-heavy, this one might not fit the bill for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HOT!HOT!HOT, April 27, 2008
By 
M. E. Newell (Georgia, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Kate Collier is still recoving from vicious gang rape when Tony Richards and Lord Jason Randell come back into her life. They have come back from Europe determined to have her. The men that love her are forced to go slowly to show Kate that the three of them are ment to be together.
"The Courage to Love" is the first book that I have read by Samantha Kane and this book is really good and VERY HOT! This book is not for the faint of heart or people who are not fans of m/m/f. Can't wait to read more from Ms.Kane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The First Of The Series, November 5, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the first story of the trilogy that is repeated in the other two books, claiming to be historical merely on the basis that they take place during the Napoleonic Wars. While reading 'The Courage to Love' I had the feeling that little has changed since then. There were no major differences in behaviour and attitudes other than their clothes and means of transport. Surely a writer can do a bit of research into the period she has set her story in, otherwise why bother to make it 'historical'? At a time when even spouses called each other by their surnames it is hard to imagine such liberal use of f*** and c*** words. But that was not what annoyed me most; it is the tendency of writers of erotic fiction to cut a story short, by rushing through or even omitting character development and periood setting so as to get on with the sex.

Kate Collier was obliged to become the mistress to various men after her husband's death. Her last lover was an abhorrent creep who allowed his cronies to rape her so Kate is now suffering from phobias caused by the physical and mental abuse inflicted on her. She is trying to live her life without drawing attention to herself as society has shunned her. Then Jason Randal and Antony Richards return from the war, wishing to claim her as they have both felt a strong attraction to her for many years but she was married at the time. Now that she is widowed they are given another chance they are determined not to miss. During the horror of the war the two men became so close that they shared a woman, an experience that bonded them even more. It is their ardent wish to share Kate as their woman and live happily as a threesome.

This premise sounds intriguing, but Ms Kane stops the story there and launches into one torrid sex scene after another. Our traumatised heroine wastes no time and soon after being reunited with the two men indulges in raunchy sex leaving us puzzled as to how one can act so contradictory. I am no Freud but I know that a rape victim needs time, and probably needs to be reintroduced to sex gradually. Today, women need therapy or even medication. So why not let the story develop gradually, the heroes become reacquainted, their love deepen? What's the rush? Without this escalation the sex scenes seem to be in an emotional vacuum, meaningless acts of routine. There was no craving or yearning ,something which is becoming so hard to find in modern romance. While the sex is explicit, there is no all consuming love and passion. The sex without them reads like pornography and while I don't object to the erotic I would like it to be accompanied by a storyline which involves people who express their love by other means than just in the bedroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars men in love, January 1, 2008
First in historical series of m/m/f menage. Good storyline and hot sex!I highly recommend book and although I have ebooks of this one and others in series, I just had to have it for my print library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What was the thought process?, December 31, 2011
By 
Anita Somers (California, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Courage to Love (Brothers in Arms, Book One) (Kindle Edition)
This is a menage erotica and the heroine was raped. Brutally. Why on earth would the author want to use this as a plot device and yet have the heroine still want to enthusiastically get it on as soon as her love interests arrive?

Rape is a red-flag for me and promises the reader the issue will be dealt with. In fact, it sets it up to be a serious conflict for the three of them. In this book, not so much. She's raped, she flinches from the boy's touch, but you know, it feels so good, what the hell. That's a real turn-off for me. And since it's erotica, that's a problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Anything But a Regency...but still hot!, October 7, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Granted, it is difficult to craft an erotic story set in the Regency that reads as if it were penned by Georgette Heyer who later stashed it away with burning cheeks. It is far more difficult to craft one that features an alternate lovestyle in a time when such practices could end up in social ruin and even death. Frankly, Samantha Kane's Courage to Love was only a Regency in name and cursory details and is saved from being too much of a disaster by some very hot sex scenes, especially in which the two male characters actually get to be intimate.

It was very hard to try to keep a regency perspective when the characters used modern language, both in and out of the bedroom. I kept getting jolted out of the flow of the story and was highly disatisfied with how nicely everything was wrapped up, especially when the mother decides to forgive and embrace her errant son and his unconventional lovestyle.

The characters were stilted and had no depth, though I enjoyed the fact that Ms. Kane did not make either of the males into an overly feminine stereotype, which tends to happen a lot in m/m romances written by women. Had this been a longer novel, the author could have fleshed the characters of Kate, Jason and Tony out better and made them real enough to care about. She also peppered the book with other characters whom will obviously end up in further books, since the series is called Brothers in Arms.

If you are looking for a well-written Regency erotic romance, especially one with the M/F/M pairing, then I highly recommend Phyllida and the Brotherhood of Philander by Ann Herendeen. It's not as explicit as Courage to Love, but Ms. Herendeen does a fantastic job of capturing the language and social mores of Regency England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steamy! Read it aloud to your significant other!, October 12, 2007
By 
C. Herring (Washington D.C.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you're a fan of erotic romance, this is the one book you must have on your shelf! Ms. Kane's writing style is so hot that my husband and I read her books aloud to each other! It's not just the sex though; the plot, character development, and historical accuracy all make for a most satisfying romance read, as well. Absolutely recommend this great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9ddd1054)

This product

Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.