Start reading Courier Run (Adventures in the Liaden Universe ® Book 18) on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

Courier Run (Adventures in the Liaden Universe ® Book 18) [Kindle Edition]

Steve Miller , Sharon Lee
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: $2.99

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Kindle Daily Deals
Kindle Delivers: Daily Deals
Subscribe to find out about each day's Kindle Daily Deals for adults and young readers. Learn more (U.S. customers only)

Book Description

Two new Liaden Universe® adventures! Novelette "Kin Ties" explores the ties that bind beloved kin -- and desperate enemies. Short story "Guaranteed Delivery" is a tale of love, leadership, and insurance fraud. Both stories appeared in slightly altered form on the authors' Splinter Universe website.


Product Details

  • File Size: 132 KB
  • Print Length: 54 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Pinbeam Books (December 17, 2011)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B006NOVSU8
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #169,210 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?.


Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
(13)
4.8 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liaden Adventures March 24, 2012
By C. Skaw
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
For new readers, this may not be the place to begin in the Liaden series (I recommend Agent of Change or Crystal Soldier). For those who are familiar with the series, they are just as fun and well done as all the others.
Guaranteed Delivery: One of the early deliveries by Aelliana and Daav abroad the Ride the Luck. Not a whole lot of substance, but fun.

Kin Ties: takes place after Korval breaks from Liad in the aftermath of the book, I, Dare. Ren Zal returns to his birth world with Anthora, his lifemate. This story doesn't stand on its own as well as some of the others. Its best read with Changeling, the novella which tells how he came to leave his homeworld in the first place - which is also available for the kindle.
A combination of Changeling and Kin Ties would stand on its own quite well without any prior knowledge of the series and provide a more satisfying experience overall.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and Loose Ends April 2, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
"Courier Run" is a sweet fun story with a little adventure for Daav and Aelliana on their first courier run. I always enjoy additional Liaden adventures, and Daav and Aelli are two of my favorite characters.

"Kin Ties" wraps up the loose ends of Ren Zel's social death at the hands of Clan Jabun. It's a poignant story with the promise of a better life for the only surviving member of Clan Jabun.

I'm a harsh critic, giving these four stars simply because they didn't blow me away. There are Lee & Miller short stories with more power, but these are lovely chernubia.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fan Treats July 5, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Fans of Lee and Miller, especially the Liaden Universe series, may wonder if it is worth buying these stories. No, it isn't worth it-- unless you want to spend a few hours each evening wrapped in wonderful stories about characters you have come to love in the books, or know more about some of the minor characters, learn more fully about back stories and spend some time being entertained and relaxing. I bought my Kindle to get to read these stories NOW and am not disappointed.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you for tying up loose ends July 21, 2014
By CFE
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
The first of these stories tells of a time when Daav yos Phelium and his lifemate Aelliana Caylon worked her ship as partners and as couriers. She doesn't yet know his true identity but their resourcefulness is clear. There's also an interesting background suggesting that celebrity is a commodity which is studied, coached and rated. Apart from that the story is pleasant but not essential.
Contrast that with the second story centered on Ren Zel now life mated to Anthora but with his relationship with his birth family and the clan that caused his exile from that same family is still unresolved. This story resolves a number of loose ends most satisfactorily. It is essential to an understanding of this story that the reader has read Changeling. But for those of us who have, and who have a fondness for Ren Zel , it is jewel not to be missed!
Disclaimer:
I'm hoping for more about Anthora and Ren Zel. Are they linked with a far distant past as Shan and Priscilla (aka Lute and his lady Moonhawk) are discovered to be in I Dare ...or are they something else?
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great follow-on to Mouse & Dragon December 22, 2011
Format:Kindle Edition
Courier Run (Adventures in the Liaden Universe®)I enjoyed reading about Aelliana achieving her dream of being a courier with her own ship and Daav along as well. Anymore would be a spoiler.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars an enjoyable read July 16, 2013
By Sheri
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
The Liaden Universe is one of my favorite places. The strong connection of characters and dramatic action never fails to delight.
Courier Run is a simple story with a fun twist and Kinship provides a dramatic moment poised on honor and Balance.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Courier Run April 27, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I enjoyed this a lot. I have read most of these two authors books abour Liaden. I look forward to read more.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category