Professional restaurant supplies BDD_MSW16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc The Jayhawks Fire TV Stick Grocery Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars55
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 1, 2011
Things were really starting to look up for Camile. She's more in love then ever with her triad of husbands, now that Morio is on the mend, and the other two are home safe with her, well as safe as they can be considering the war. Even her upcoming training with Morgaine doesn't bother her as much anymore. All that changes when she is captured by Smoky's father, who is bent on vengence. He plans to break her mind, body, and soul slowly in the most horrific ways possible. She knows she must hold on to hope with every last shred, but how long can she really hang on with what she is about to face?

Not once in this entire series has the danger been as real and horrific as it was in Courting Darkness. In the author's note at the end she talks about how the story was dark, but that it had to be that way due to Hyto's nature. I completely agree with her, especially since he is by far the sickest thing the sisters have faced. That's really saying something when you look back over everything that has happened. My heart was pounding for the entire book and I literally cringed everytime Hyto came around. However, it isn't all dark as we got to see just how strong Camile is. What she withstands is nothing short of remarkable, but what is even more impressive is her character growth in the end. She learns that she can't always be the rock and that sometimes its okay to lean on others for support. In the past she has always taken on the heaviest burdens, but now I see her sharing some of that with the others, making the group only stronger in the end. The more these sisters grow and mature, the greater a force the become to be reckoned with. I know I wouldn't want to be on their bad side.

Courting Darkness, like all of Camille's books, comes jammed packed with sensuality. (Who can blame her as she has three incredibly sexy men for husbands!) It's always entertaining to watch them all struggle to get along and make things work, as each man is very different. Of course the focus in this book was mostly on Smoky due to the circumstances. I really enjoyed the closer look into his life. As a dragon he is so very territorial and quick to anger, yet his devotion to Camile is incredible. To see such a powerful being practically bow down before her is quite amazing. Despite his extreme reaction to certain events, I found myself falling even more for him, so that he is probably my favorite of her husbands.

With each new installment in this series, my favorite sister always seems to shift to whose ever turn it is to narrate. I think this really shows how talented Yasmine Galenorn is as she is able to make the reader fall for each sister over and over again. They all have their own unique "voice," and the variety really ratchets the enjoyment factor tenfold. As always, the ending left me satisfied yet more than hungry for more. So, make sure you don't miss Courting Darkness as it is yet another great installment in this stellar series.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2012
I had enthusiastically picked up this book with fond reminiscence of the first three books of the series, at the time of purchase not knowing that this was book ten of a series. The good thing about Galenorn's writing and the way that she does set up her Otherworld series, however, is that the novels can be read as stand-alone books as she does spend time reintroducing characters and giving a rehash of what happened previously. She rotates the point of view of her books between her three main characters, each sisters with unique talents. Courting Darkness is told from the point of view of Camille, a witch and priestess of the Moon Mother.

When I had picked up the book I noticed the spine was stamped "paranormal romance" and thought "that's not right. These were always more urban fantasy. Girls kicking butt with magic and being awesome." But, as I started reading, I quickly remembered why I didn't enjoy Camille as much as a character, and why this really is paranormal romance and not urban fantasy. As I saw someone describe them, her books are "porny." But really, what can you expect from a character who has three husbands?

I had some problems with this book. Big problems. There is a scene of sexual assault in this novel that I really don't think Galenorn needed to go into such graphic detail on. I've read other books where the horror of rape were implied without having to go into implicit detail. In addition to the scene, I found it ludicrous that after, the main character, Camille, would be lacing herself into a corset to "support" her bruised ribs. Really? And sexual activity right after a sexual trauma? Has Galenorn ever researched sexual trauma or PTSD? Looked at a psychology text? I really lost interest at that point.

Along with the disturbing rape/sex combo in the book, there were some inconsistencies that it seemed she tried to pick up at the end unsuccessfully. She kept introducing bad guys with no rhyme or reason as to why they were being introduced, then no mention of them until the very end. It looks like she's going to leave them for another book. Honestly, all I could think of was that her characters are big fat self-important Mary Sues.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2011
First I want to say that if you aren't reading this series you should be. It's one of the best written urban fantasy series out there. That being said, this is the tenth book in the series and not a good place to start.

This book was impressive and yet so difficult to review. It was action packed from start to finish and had my full attention from the first page. I won't go into detail about things because so much happens and I don't want to ruin it for others so I will be brief.

Getting a glimpse of the Dragon Reaches was awesome, I love Smoky even more after this book and Vishana is bad ass. I never liked Chase before but my feelings for him have changed and it's exciting to see him grow. I'm thrilled that the Vanzir situation is resolved and look forward to seeing what happens with him next. I'm soooooo happy for Iris. The Morio and Menolly storyline is still developing and I'm really curious how their bond is going to affect the dynamics of both Camille's marriage and family. I know that's all rushed and a bit confusing but I'm trying for no spoilers.

On to the sick and twisted... With Hyto being a psychopath I was expecting this book to be dark and twisted but wow. What a sadistic bastard. Much respect to you, Yasmine, for taking your characters in a direction other authors wouldn't dare to tread.

Courting Darkness was an exceptional read and I loved that the first chapter of the next book, Shaded Vision, was included. After reading such a dark book it was good to read something that made me laugh so hard I scared the crap out of my dog. Delilah and her kitty urges always make me laugh but this scene takes the cake. Can't wait to read the rest of it.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2012
I am a long time reader of this series but found this book difficult to get into. I started reading and put it down at least three times. After I stuck with it I was glad I did, the book is full of magical imagery and in the case of Hyto some very dark. While I understand the need for it I have found Camille's having three husbands a bit much to handle, I adore Trillion but find Smoky a little over-bearing/over-protective at times which seems out of character for such a strong woman as Camille. Don't get me wrong over-protective is my husband's middle name but I am not from Otherworld with the powers to charm anyone I meet. Of all the readers of this series I cannot be the only one who thinks this. Nonetheless, all of her husbands serve a role in Camille's life and enhance the reading experience immensely.

I was fascinated by the Dragon Realms and the images conjured in my mind by Yasmine's descriptions. If only I could find a portal nearby I could get lost in the Dragon Realms quite easily. The introduction of Smoky's mother offered new insight into his character and made me appreciate him more than previous books allowed. This book was a great exploration and education of Smoky and his true devotion to Camille. It is pleasing to read the transition and growth these characters are taking, I would never have imagined Camille from Witchling give pause to consider having dragon babies or any babies for that matter.

This is a good read and will keep series fans happy and ready for more!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2014
I finished it reading it a couple of days ago. I found it interesting. Camilla has three husbands. One dark Elf, two a fox demon and the third a dragon. In Fay law its legal. She is part human and part fay. She has several problems one in she and sisters must a powerful demon to wage war not in one realm, but open portals into Earth and the Otherworld. Another that her father disowned her because of political. But that is not the worse of her problems. Smoky father Hyto. Blames Camilla for his troubles. First Hyto wanted Smoky to marry to another one ( another dragon). But Smoky did want to. He compensated her. But Hyto consisted it a problem for him. Though the Dragon Council consisted the problem solved. But Hyto was banded because he felt he was cheated.
But Smoky and his mother thought it was the end. But Hyto planning his revenge on Camilla, Smoky and his mother. First he try to capture his wife. He failed. Then he went after Camilla. Captured and brought her in a private cave in the Northern Lands. And then collared her. Then he tortured her. Most dragons are more or less noble. But he was consisted mad or crazy even by dragon standards.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2011
I strongly recommend you read this series in order (Witchling, Changeling, Darkling, Dragon Wytch, Night Huntress, Demon Mistress, Bone Magic, Harvest Hunting and Blood Wyne) prior to reading this installment.

This series has accomplished a difficult feat that no other series that has been banished from my reading list has managed to do, implore me to give it a second chance; in addition to making it to the top of my favorites list.

In this installment, Camille has had her trial by fire and came out the other side victorious; in addition, we delve deeper into to Smoky's culture and history.

This book swung towards the extreme dark-side of what one deprave being can do to another. However, the author told this ugly story beautifully, all while retaining the heroine's grace and dignity, even in the face of degradation.

This installment was very risqué. The author was brutally on target, representing the heavier-hitter personalities involved accurately no matter how violent. This was by far the grittiest and most brazen of any Otherworld installment. I mainly felt this way because the atrocities were happening in real-time. There was no inkling as to what the outcome may be or assurances on how far the author would go, or even if Camille would come out to resemble the same woman she was before her ordeal.

The one thing I've never understood about Camille is her lack of fighting skills. She's in the middle of a war and she does not know how to handle herself in situations with hand-to-hand combat or some sought of self-defense? Relying on her magic (especially being faulty magic at times) as her sole defense system is extremely reckless. You'd think one of her many husbands would have made fighting lessons an integral part of their harem activities by now.

This series has had an about-turn for me, thus as a result, I am once again enjoying its mystery and adventure. Therefore, I will be giving the author's Indigo Court Series a try.

I recommend this book to fellow dark urban fantasy readers and look forward to the next book Shaded Vision due out 2/7/12 and also look forward to starting the first book in the Indigo Court Series, Night Myst.
I also recommend:
Blood Engines (Marla Mason, Book 1)
Kissed by Fire (Sunwalker Saga)
Scorched: The Dark Forgotten
Mark of the Demon (Kara Gillian, Book 1)
Spider's Revenge (Elemental Assassin Books)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2015
I LOVE OTHERWORLD SERIES!!! I can't get enough Camille is my favorite but every single character brings this fantastic world to life! I'm starting they my 16 book audio series again 😍 Ms Galenorn is fantastic!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2014
best i can say really. sexy cover. clearly Ms. Galenorn is getting paid cuz she's churning these books out like crazy. i think this was a series as well as some of the other books i bought.
i felt like a really intelligent guy (i'm female),, who meets this gorgeous broad and is crossing his fingers theres more than air in her head. only to turn away with a sigh….. duped again.
say it with me!! substance, substance!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2011
I have to say that I am thrilled that I decided to read the Otherworld series...because I believe Yasmine Galenorn to be one of the best paranormal authors to date....seriously! I fell in love with her descriptive prose...her attention to detail...her phenomenal characterization...the way her stories pull the reader into the world she has created...and the best fact of all...these stories stay with you long after you finish reading the book....the author has created people that will touch you, make your shiver, make you shudder and then grip you by the throat and not let go....and the action scenes are simply delicious....I sometimes feel as if I am right there in the midst of battle...all in all...I highly recommend this book, Courting Darkness...and suggest you begin with the first of this series and continue on...and get her other series...Ms Galenorn is highly talented and truly blessed with the gift of storytelling at its finest. Bravo to the author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2012
I had stepped away from reading the Otherworld series for a bit, but recently decided to pick up Courting Darkness. I thought that the book was one of Galenorn's better stories as not only was it action packed and sensual, it held elements of emotion that often are missing with a high speed book. I very much enjoyed seeing Smoky more vulnerable and quite enjoyed the interplay between Smoky and his mother, that made me smile =)
If you've liked the other books in this series than this one is a no-brainer and totally worth the time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.