Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cover letter examples!
Cover Letters for Dummies is a powerful and easy to read resource! Most employers are now requesting applicants to submit a cover letter along with their resumes. For those individuals who struggled to write resumes and don't know where to begin with writing a cover letter, this is the book for you. It gives you step-by-step instructions to writing an impressive cover...
Published on October 10, 2009 by D. Montgomery

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is Good
This is a good book..... but very jumbled. Make sure to have lots of time to read before using. The best part is the front
inside cover - the Cheat Sheet!
Published on October 9, 2011 by Tracy Una Wagner


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is Good, October 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cover Letters For Dummies (Paperback)
This is a good book..... but very jumbled. Make sure to have lots of time to read before using. The best part is the front
inside cover - the Cheat Sheet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cover letter examples!, October 10, 2009
By 
This review is from: Cover Letters For Dummies (Paperback)
Cover Letters for Dummies is a powerful and easy to read resource! Most employers are now requesting applicants to submit a cover letter along with their resumes. For those individuals who struggled to write resumes and don't know where to begin with writing a cover letter, this is the book for you. It gives you step-by-step instructions to writing an impressive cover letter. Plus, it has tons of useful samples to review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just cover letters--a wealth of information!, October 6, 2009
This review is from: Cover Letters For Dummies (Paperback)
This book is valuable not only for the great cover letter examples. It also contains a warehouse of tips about the entire process of getting hired. I know professional resume writers, recruiters, and career coaches who keep this volume handy. In the current economic climate it is an important tool for getting your resume to stand out and nailing that job interview. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good information on an important topic, September 15, 2009
By 
David J. Jensen (Salt Lake City, UT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cover Letters For Dummies (Paperback)
A cover letter is often your first contact with a potential employer. Joyce Lain kennedy offers some great advice and information about this valuable piece of a resume package. Excellent work! -David Jensen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for this tough job market!, October 6, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cover Letters For Dummies (Paperback)
Once again Joyce has nailed the complete process in creating the "Cover Letter" to stand out amongst the competition! Time and time again I have found myself referring to this book as my main source in creating cover letters. The book is designed for both the novice and the seasoned job search candidate while also injecting humor and insightful knowledge. This book also won the prestigeous "1st place National Benjamin Franklin Awards -2009 Best Career Book of the Year" Impressive accomplishment as a Career Book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cover Letters for Dummies, April 4, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cover Letters For Dummies (Paperback)
I bought this as a present and the party said it was an excellent help with her cover letter and other office items she needed.

Thank you
Grace E. Himes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Found it., September 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cover Letters For Dummies (Paperback)
I found this book and the library and I liked it so much I had to buy it, so I could look at it any time I wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book!, October 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cover Letters For Dummies (Paperback)
This book has been very helpful in finding the right words/phrases to use in cover letters in various occupations and industries. It is also helpful with resumes. I would recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Too personal, not enough professional, September 3, 2012
This review is from: Cover Letters For Dummies (Paperback)
As a reviewer pointed out, the book is full of extraneous information and lean towards the personal side. It goes into sending audio clips along with cover letters in addition to attaching "job fair" letters and "prospect" letters, none of which I have heard of. The examples are way too personal and you will see that for most of the advice,there often are common exceptions and departures that should be included in the book. There are a few good solid tips, but it gets lost in the examples. The reader raises more doubt as the reading feels a little bit opinionated than based on factual.

Perhaps it is because I feel this book isn't tailored to the profession I am looking for, but it just seems inappropriate at times. Best to just ask friends and family to have a quick look at your resume than to purchase this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6c5d648)

This product

Cover Letters For Dummies
Cover Letters For Dummies by Joyce Lain Kennedy (Paperback - January 9, 2009)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.