Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer seeso seeso seeso  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl ReadyRide Bikes from Diamondback STEM

Customer Reviews

2.5 out of 5 stars19
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 12, 2007
I am surprised at some of the past reviewers of this book. They sound like armchair secret agents that want a book like this to tell them all the secrets of 9/11, Roswell and the Kennedy assassination, all for under a dollar!

The truth is, however, that this book is a how-to manual for people who need to lay low for a while, because of financial problems, stalkers, vengeful ex-spouses, or what have you.

Do the techniques it describes work? YES. Using them I was able to disappear for several months during a time when a vengeful and psychotic ex-boyfriend wanted very much to put a bullet in me. He is now sitting in prison, and I am safe for at least 20 years. But if I hadn't found this book then I would likely be dead at this point.

I strongly recommend this book for anyone who needs to get away from things for a while - without anyone being able to track them down.
0Comment|89 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2004
Anyone needing to increase their personal privacy should read this book. It has advice for people trapped in bad marriages, folks threatened by stalkers, and even those who are just desperately unhappy in their daily lives. Following Wilson's instructions you really can virtually fall off the face of the earth for several weeks up to a year, while you get your head together and figure out what to do next.

Though it's about a very serious topic, the author tosses in some of his own quirky humor and observations which make the book fun to read as well as enlightening. Recommended to anyone interested in privacy protection.
0Comment|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2004
Most books on the subject of Fake ID tell you how to start over completely. You have to sever ties to your former life permanently and completely. There is no going back. But what if you aren't sure you want to change your ID completely? What if all you need is an extended vacation to collect your thoughts and prepare a plan?

"Cover Your Tracks Without Changing Your Identity" introduces the concept of a "light identity change". This interesting title explains how to leave your old identity intact but keep your problems finding you at your new location. Using Wilson's tactics in "Cover Your Tracks Without Changing Your Identity", you will be able to return to your former identity if you desire.

The information contained in this unique title will undoubtedly help many people.
0Comment|68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2008
If you read this book and find yourself saying, "wow, I never would have thought of that!" you may have more important issues to deal with than ones your looking to run away from. The suggestions offered are very basic and common-sense which was a little disappointing; more annoying is that the author continually points you to other books, most of which are published by... you guessed it, the same publisher that put this one out. It comes across as a thinly veiled advertisement more than a manual.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2007
this book is more like a large pamphlet. The book is mainly a lot of ideas that are somewhat common sense (at least to me). In order to make most of this book work for you, you might want to also get a book on how to extremely lower your standards. The author suggests most of his ideas to become homeless and hitchhike as opposed to actually setting up a new identity although there are a few ideas about that. All in all for the length of the read i didnt expect to much, but got a few ideas.
22 comments|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2010
I felt cheated and reading this book. It seems the author loves to send you to other books to get to the meat of how to disappear without going into a lot of detail. To be fair, his stories are cute, but this book lacks meat and delivers whip cream in its place. Look elsewhere.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2010
This little gem of a book is packed with practical advice for taking a "leave of absence". It includes everything from what to do with your stuff to where to go to how to get there to how to survive while getting away from it all. It concludes with advice on returning to your old life or deciding to stay gone forever. This book is a MUST HAVE for those wanting to get away from the current stresses of their lives or even for those that are just thinking of getting away from it all. Having this book at hand definitely gives you options and I HIGHLY recommend this book to everyone from young adults to those that have already lived a full life and just need a break...there is something here for everyone.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2009
First, before you waste your money, head to a Barnes N Nobles and check the book out. If you have an hour to kill, you'll finish the book, that's how short it is.

Second, if you know anything about public transportation, motels, shelters, and relatives that would gladly let you crash with them, then you know 90% of this book. If you know how to open a P.O. Box or a private mail box at a facility like the U.P.S. store, then you know the remaining 10% of this book.

If this book cost $1, then perhaps it would be worth it. Could always use a fire-starter.
22 comments|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2007
I am really disappointed in this book. There is nothing written that cannot be figured out by an average adult. The suggestions given do not go into enough detail to be useful. Instead, try a book like Bulletproof Privacy, by Boston T. Party, if you really want to cover your tracks.
33 comments|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2013
this is a total waste of money - if you believe that any of this actually works then I have to question what kind of trouble you're in and if you are I suggest a different guide than this particular one.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.