Customer Reviews


2,956 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,709)
4 star:
 (831)
3 star:
 (264)
2 star:
 (85)
1 star:
 (67)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD box set, if you get the right price
I noticed that none of these reviews or the description of the product lists the special features. So I will.

Disc 1
1. Pilot
2. Walter's Walk
3. South Bound Suarez
4. No Quarter
-Deleted Scenes on select episodes
-Pilot cast and crew commentary

Disc 2
5. In the Light
6. Houses of the Holy
7. Communication...
Published on July 1, 2011 by Natasha Reeves

versus
31 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has Potential, but Needs Work
After watching the 1st season of Covert Affairs last summer on USA, I was left with mixed feelings. The show has a great look, sets and a beautiful and athletic lead actress in Piper Perabo as CIA agent Annie Walker. Also, the show has a solid creative team behind it led by producer Doug Liman, who was responsible for the Bourne movies. However out of the 11 episodes,...
Published on May 29, 2011 by Don Jariyasunant


‹ Previous | 1 2296 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD box set, if you get the right price, July 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Covert Affairs: Season 1 (DVD)
I noticed that none of these reviews or the description of the product lists the special features. So I will.

Disc 1
1. Pilot
2. Walter's Walk
3. South Bound Suarez
4. No Quarter
-Deleted Scenes on select episodes
-Pilot cast and crew commentary

Disc 2
5. In the Light
6. Houses of the Holy
7. Communication Breakdown
8. What is and What Should Never Be
-Deleted scenes on select episodes
-Communication Breakdown cast and crew commentary

Disc 3
9. Fool in the Rain
10. I Can't Quit You, Babe
11. When the Levee Breaks
-Deleted scenes on select episodes
-Gag Reel (really funny, but very short. Piper has a mouth on her! (but it is censored out, unlike White Collar gag reels)
-When the Levee Breaks cast and crew commentary
*Behind the Scenes Featurettes:
-Welcome to the Farm
-Blind Insight (really interesting, a short one-on-one interview with Chris Gorham who plays Auggie Anderson)
-Set Tour (with Sendhil Ramamurthy and one of the co-creators. Sendhil is very witty and funny, and the sets are very impressive.)
-Celebrate the ADA (PSA)

Although I do agree that the price for just 11 episodes is still outrageous, I got mine discounted from an independent seller and it was totally worth it. The commentary actually adds to the episode, not just rambling about whatever they felt like (which often happens with Supernatural commentaries) and Chris Gorham even took some questions from his facebook page to answer during the duller parts of each episode.

Great series, plus lots of good cover art on the DVDs. Beautiful set!

EDIT: July 2011 It has come to my attention that some of the DVD box sets of this series are fakes being sold as real ones. Real DVDs should have 7.5 DVDs and nothing less. The cover art and plastic casings should be sharp and professional looking, no blurry images or cheap plastic. The DVDs inside should have writing on them but no pictures, showing the rainbow DVD through the words. If you think you might have a fake, pop it into your computer drive and go to My Computer. Right click on the DVD drive and go to Properties. If the number is anything less than 7.5, like say 4 or 4.5 it is a fake. Contact the seller to get a refund or if you're worried about the seller (and if the seller is on Amazon) contact Amazon and they will help you get your money back and hopefully a real copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 85 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars She spies!, December 8, 2010
This review is from: Covert Affairs: Season 1 (DVD)
Finally, a TV show about a female spy that ISN'T all about dressing her in sexy clothing. Instead, "Covert Affairs" is all about a young CIA agent's adventures, as she carries out taut, action-packed missions. It's an enjoyable, promising little series, and Piper Perabo makes an enjoyably earnest young agent.

Annie Walker (Perabo) is undergoing training to be a CIA agent, and trying to forget her last romance -- her boyfriend Ben (Eion Baile) vanished without a trace, and she hasn't been able to find him.

Then she's suddenly pulled out of the program, stationed in Washington, and sent out into the field to use her linguistic skills. So when she isn't trying to have a semi-normal social life and spending time with her sister's family, Annie is diving into some very hard missions under the guidance of blind agent Auggie (Christopher Gorham).

She has to deal with a boy-genius, a deadly Venezuelan agent, a disastrous Zurich mission, a Senatorial leak, a computer hacker who wreck's D.C.'s communications, an Iranian refugee, smugglers, an art auction.... and the return of her former lover. At the same time, her bosses have discovered that someone inside the CIA is leaking information to a muckraking journalist.

Disclaimer: I am not a CIA agent, and I don't know what it's like to be one. But I assume that "Covert Affairs" is a pretty good dramatic depiction of that agency -- there are some obvious flaws (husbands and wives cannot work together in government agencies), but it FEELS much more realistic than many other shows' depictions of the CIA.

Every episode has a nice tight mesh of action, drama, and a bit of humor, as Annie grapples with life-threatening scenarios, hails of bullets, villainous agents and the possible deaths of innocents. But somehow she always manages to save the day, and the writers make sure to stay connected to her life with her family (such as when Annie's sister tries to set her up on a date).

It also helps that Piper Perabo makes a really likable heroine -- Annie is a very earnest, sensible, kind young protagonist, but she also can kick butt. Gorham is a pretty awesome sidekick for her, especially since it's rare to see a disabled person in a TV show like this one. And we have some solid performances by Peter Gallagher and Kari Matchett as Annie's bosses (who are also stormily married), and the megahot Sendhil Ramamurthy.

"Covert Affairs Season One" is a tight, action-packed little series with a likable heroine and some solid stories. Give it a try, and tune in next season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Tough to be a Spy, September 16, 2010
This review is from: Covert Affairs: Season 1 (DVD)
Of all USA's shows I currently watch (Burn Notice, Royal Pains, Covert Affairs), Covert Affairs is probably my favorite. While Burn Notice is still fun, it just seems to be a rehash every season of the same story with different people, much like Heroes ended up doing. Covert Affairs stars Piper Perabo as a shoe-in CIA Agent - or so she thinks. Her entry into Langley as a field agent is suspect from the beginning of the season as her one-time love interest, Ben Mercer, keeps popping up (in more ways than one) to haunt her. Is she there because of her talent? That's up for you to decide. Annie's sidekick, August "Auggie" Anderson, is a blind, tech savvy, ex-soldier who makes a great partner for Annie and can seemingly get more women than Brad Pitt. Annie's superiors, constantly feuding husband and wife duo Joan and Arthur Campbell, make for an interesting side story in each episode with Joan being Annie's direct boss and head of the DPD and Arthur being Joan's boss and Director of Clandestine Services (DCS). Another recognizable face is that of Sendhil Ramamurthy, a.k.a. Mohinder Suresh from Heroes.

I don't want to say Covert Affairs is unique however it does give us, what I would consider, a good look into the methods of the CIA. Annie is constantly being chosen for dangerous field ops and always gets into tight situations where she, very MacGuyver like, always manages to find a way out. One thing that bothers me about this show and it is an issue with all three above mentioned USA shows is that you can predict that: a). with Royal Pains, Hank always seems to be around when someone's health is hitting the fan b). in Burn Notice, Michael is supposed to be incognito yet word gets around and people always seem to know what he does, where he lives, and how to reach him and c). with Covert Affairs it seems like in every episode, Joan tells Annie, "Don't do this without my approval" and she does it anyways. Joan will tell Arthur, who has just chosen Annie for the umpteenth time to do a dangerous op, "I will not put Annie in danger again" yet next episode, like clockwork, we're in a pickle again. I realize this nitpicky but this is why I gave it a 4 instead of a 5. Someone above mentioned "This will never be Lost or 24 caliber." To you I say it is USA. This is as good as it is going to get on a network that sells its shows as character driven and that's what Covert Affairs is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harmless Summer Fun, June 11, 2011
By 
James Schumaker "Shoeone" (San Clemente, California USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Covert Affairs: Season 1 (DVD)
If you've just come off the beach, have settled down in front of the TV with a nice drink and a few snacks, and are ready for a diverting TV program that doesn't test the brain cells too much and is fun to watch, then you can't do better than "Covert Affairs." You're not exactly going to learn anything about how the CIA really works, but you will be entertained, and pretty much everything will be strictly G-rated. I find myself charmed by Piper Perabo, and genuinely concerned about the scrapes she gets herself into, however improbable they may be. The rest of the cast is also very engaging. I'm wondering if a conscious decision was made to cast Kari Matchett because she looks so much like Valerie Plame. If so, then Joe Wilson must feel flattered by his casting choice. All in all, "Covert Affairs" is good enough to DVR, and I was glad to hear that it was renewed for a second season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Flippin' Awesome Series, September 21, 2010
This show really surprised me because when I saw the previews, I figured it would be another Alias or something. Actually, it's a smart and witty show filled with humor, sexual tension, a fun cast, and just an all together "human" look at the classic spy movie/show. I mean, here we get to see a more down-to-earth-not-just-a-mysterious-super-hero face of the CIA. The diversity of personalities isn't super new but it's still refreshing, especially Chris Gorham's character. He plays a blind, former ops agent and goodness he does it well! His chemistry with Piper Perabo is almost tangible! Overall, great series! I can't wait for more. The only thing that bugged me was that sometimes the video would freeze up a bit or go from HQ to LQ. That was my main annoyance. Otherwise, I'd rec this series to anyone looking for an addictively fun time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has Potential, but Needs Work, May 29, 2011
This review is from: Covert Affairs: Season 1 (DVD)
After watching the 1st season of Covert Affairs last summer on USA, I was left with mixed feelings. The show has a great look, sets and a beautiful and athletic lead actress in Piper Perabo as CIA agent Annie Walker. Also, the show has a solid creative team behind it led by producer Doug Liman, who was responsible for the Bourne movies. However out of the 11 episodes, I can honestly say I only enjoyed maybe 5 or 6 at most. The show was marred by sloppy writing and an inconsistent plotted serialized arc about Annie and a mysterious ex-boyfriend. When it comes to a rookie show like this, you can expect some growing pains. There were several other issues I had which included miscasting Sendhil Ramamurthy from Heroes as Jai Wilcox, an Indian-American CIA agent, who helps Annie on several missions. They also tried to make him a potential love interest for Annie and you can tell right away he had no chemistry with Perabo. The show also wasted the talented Anne Dudek from House and Mad Man, as Annie's sister who had no clue she's a CIA agent. And I'm not sure I understand why the writers chose to make Chris Gorham's character Auggie blind. To me, it added nothing to the show. Am I supposed to feel sympathy for him? The character had some chemistry with Annie, but I didn't become attached to him right away. He did grow on me as the season progressed. There was another serialized arc in season 1 about a possible leak in the CIA, which went nowhere and had a disappointing resolution. The show did have some great guest stars including Peter Gallagher, who played a top CIA official, Greg Itzen, Oded Fehr and Eriq LaSalle.

After watching the CW show Nikita this past season, I was even more disappointed with Covert Affairs. Nikita delivered wall to wall action and a very compelling serialized arc with great characters. Covert Affairs on the other hand, left me with the feeling of what could have been. Hopefully the writers learned from their mistakes and will make the show compelling this season. As for purchasing this DVD set, I would wait until there is a significant price drop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very unique. A highly intelligent blind man is the assistant to a woman covert operative., August 21, 2010
This review is from: Covert Affairs: Season 1 (DVD)
Very unique. A highly intelligent blind man is the assistant to a female covert operative who very good at improvising in tight situations. When this series is available on DVD I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome series Covert Affairs, January 12, 2012
By 
Ruth D. B. Brooks (Virginia Beach, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Covert Affairs: Season 1 (DVD)
This series is excellent, and each episode is exciting and keeps your attention the entire time. The actor who plays Augie is amazing and does an excellent job of portraying his character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, Bright and About the People, Not the Gimmicks, October 31, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great way to show CIA agents as real people, with lives, emotions, responsibliites, self-discipline and commitment and all the complexities of reality. I like all the characters, and particularly the marital struggles between the drop dead gorgeous Peter Gallagher and the cooly professional Kari Marchant. Then there's the mesmerizingly gorgeous Indian actor, who seems both an extremely competent agent and a far better match for Annie than her late lover, Ben. The focus here, so far, is on the people involved and their relationhips. Augie and the technology are, as they should be, supporting the mission and the people.

This isn't a show for those who crave the flash and dazzle gimmickry and Bondish promiscuity. The technology i there, but in its proper role and the show is family friendly and humane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I can't believe I watched the whole thing !, December 17, 2013
This show is a throwback to a much simpler age. Think Dr. Kildair, Man From Uncle,etc. The pretty, young, plucky, good hearted heroine is good at everything, right about everything via an infallible intuition and ... you get the picture. No thought provoking nuance here, The CIA portrayed is a wonderful, altruistic institution whose greatest ethical challenge is asking its agents to work on weekends instead of spending time with their families. This is feel good escapism with very tenuous connections to reality. Its alight for stress reduction, and she is cute, but view with caution as over indulgence can lead to brain damage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2296 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Covert Affairs: Season 1
Covert Affairs: Season 1 by Piper Perabo (DVD - 2011)
$59.98 $12.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.