Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Covert Hypnosis: An Operator's Manual
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$41.81+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 10, 2007
Some people work readily with cognitive behavioral therapy. Some people are happy to try hypnosis. And some people have the troubles they have because they work very hard to hang onto the psychological mindsets that bring them about. Covert hypnosis has many good ideas for using language to heighten suggestibility and covertly implant suggestions that would not be accepted if presented overtly. On the whole, this looks like a method of turning a conversation into a long-form induction, except that there isn't an explicitly denoted conversion to hypnosis.

I am a certified hypnotist, but I'm a customer service agent by trade. I purchased this manual after reading the author's Psychology of Persuasion. I had hoped this would offer a more in-depth look at the communication strategies discussed in that book, and have not found this manual as helpful in that regard. If you are a therapist or work with people in other settings where wide-ranging, extended conversation is a given, this manual offers lots of good suggestions for guiding the conversation, all the way to planting suggestions for those resistant to change in a therapeutic setting. But if you're in sales, customer service or another profession where shorter interactions are the rule, I'd recommend the Psychology of Persuasion instead.
0Comment|55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2007
Maybe this book does help becuase I was totally taken in by the marketing hype describing the book.

First, this book has quite a lot of the shortcomings of many self-published books -- rampant typos, grammatical errors and unverifiable testamonials followed by unsubstantiated anecdotes sprinkled with factual errors.

Second, it's regurgitated, dumbed down NLP for the masses.

Third, the information is dated although presented as "new" and "cutting edge".

There are many other books on NLP and body language that are a lot more helpful. Don't buy this book, especially at its inflated price. That's part of the ploy. If it costs so much it must have the "good stuff" in it, right? Wrong!

I'm just very disappointed to be told that I need to lose weight, grow taller and dress for success to get my subliminal message across to make the sale.
22 comments|87 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2006
This book is more than a book on covert hypnosis. Master the skills in this book to be an elegant communicator, have a greater, more thorough understanding of persuasion techniques and gain the upper hand in negotiations.

This book is easy to read, easy to understand and follow. As someone who has worked in the hypnosis field for a number of years now, this is THE book on covert hypnosis.

Whatever field you work in, you will benefit from this book. I have followed Kevin Hogans work for a number of years and this book delivers his usual brilliant high standard and is packed with information. Very enjoyable.
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2007
Despite the title, this book is about understanding how to help people envision your ideas and thoughts. There are many good concrete examples that illustrate methods for guiding conversations in a positive productive way for both parties. Implementing the lessons taught in this book has improved my business and personal relationships. I highly recommend it to anyone that wants to build his "people skills."
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2009
This is a great book for a newbie - if you have not yet started, but want to - then this is a good starting place. If you don't achieve what you want in the first 90 days, give it 6 months to try again. It is very basic which is what some people need.

One related book that is very powerful if you read it with a different eye is: How to make a Manchurian Candidate: the Soviet Art of Brainwashing: A synthesis of the Soviet Textbook on Psychopolitics

Be careful!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2013
Kevin Hogan is selling a con. Once you buy a product from him or his website, there's no return. The produce was just a bunch of story telling and did not give any information that actually relates to Covert Hypnosis. A waste of money and leaves you with a bad taste for him and his products. I would never recommend him or his products to anyone. Being the way I was treated and spoken to by his staff.
There no refunds policy is B.S. He's selling garbage which cost over $230.00 at the time it was purchased. Just a bunch of story telling about his days as a kid selling door to door books.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2007
Kevin helps the reader understand what drives a person to make a decision. Reading this book can help with selling to people by getting to know what drives them. Helpful for building rapport with others. A must read for anyone wanting to increase your confidence with selling products and services. [...]
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2009
I typically don't write reviews about books but I found most of the reviews here extremely un-helpful. First covert hypnosis is not really traditional hypnosis. No one is being told, "Sleep!" It's also different from conversational hypnosis which gives strong attention to language patterns.

Covert hypnosis is about changing behavior at a deeper drive level. In other words you not only have someone do something but have them eager to do it.

The strategies, techniques, and tools Kevin Hogan present are so easy that a 12 year old can do it. Some people say when they learn how it's done "that's it". Well yes succeeding can be had with simple changes.

What's great about Kevin Hogan is that he tests everything to see if it works in the real world. So everything he presents is groundbreaking science.

Covert hypnosis has been used for decades. Only now is it being discovered how it's used. In fact I believe it was Kevin Hogan invented the term covert hypnosis.

I was reading two reviews below and I was surprised that people didn't really understand what Covert Hypnosis is. If you didn't know what is really was its okay it's not your fault. Covert hypnosis has been used by politicians and if you discover what it is you can see how it's used in the bible. Note: it's used a lot.

One reviewer about his grammar, I'm no expert in English but I'm not sure I really care.

When you use Covert Hypnosis you get results. At least I have.

I found this book to be life changing for me. I was surprised by how much I didn't know about human behavior. This book really helps you understand people, what motivates them and how to make a positive impact in their lives.

I can see where salespeople will love this. I use it for marketing. Most people will probably take the sales and marketing directions and apply them to relationships.

I have to recommend this book.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2015
As a licensed and certified hypnotherapist and mental health professional, this book lacks. As a former skilled sales person familiar with NLP, there are some useful tips in this book, but not enough to purchase it compared to the wonderful other titles out there. If you are looking for great hypnosis books for a hypnotherapist, try something like Ideomotor Signals for Rapid Hypnoanalysis by Ewin. If you want something about NLP, go with O'Connor's Introducing NLP. If you want to manipulate people, go with anything by Robert B. Cialdini (and get some mental help). If you want some sales skills, start with Win Friends and Influence People, then Roger Dawson, then Earl Nightingale, then all the modern slicksters. You want to be a well balanced person to help others? Then read this wonderful book: The Worst is Over. But don't waste your book on this candy bar junk.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2014
This book is a waste of money. Also it is hyped up. This person is a sales man

The other thing I wanted to say is do not pretend to be someone you are not. You end up hurting people because they miss read your signal. I know a "hypnotherapist" (actually a sales man, con man) who abused his skills on me and I have been emotionally scared. Instead of supporting me while in grief he abandoned me and then was using his charm to sell me into a cultic organisation. Do not be someone you are not!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse