Customer Reviews


451 Reviews
5 star:
 (382)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


289 of 299 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Satellite from days of old, lead me to your access code!"
Look up the word `cool' in any dictionary and it says "see Cowboy Bebop"...well, not really...but it should, because Cowboy Bebop is the quintessence of coolness. If you don't already know, Bebop is a stylish 26-session masterpiece chronicling the thrilling triumphs and tribulations of those space-sailing, chain-smoking, bounty-hunting buddies, Jet Black and Spike...
Published on April 11, 2008 by iansomniak

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wait for Funimation's release in December
I love Cowboy Bebop. But, after being burned by two bootleg copies disguised like the real thing, I have given up on this version of the release entirely.

However, if you still want to buy this release, there are some things you may want to worry about/look for:
1) The company that produced this box set has since closed its doors. For many reasons, this...
Published 6 months ago by thirteenthDoc


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

289 of 299 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Satellite from days of old, lead me to your access code!", April 11, 2008
By 
iansomniak (USA, Planet Earth) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cowboy Bebop Remix: The Complete Collection (Anime Legends) (DVD)
Look up the word `cool' in any dictionary and it says "see Cowboy Bebop"...well, not really...but it should, because Cowboy Bebop is the quintessence of coolness. If you don't already know, Bebop is a stylish 26-session masterpiece chronicling the thrilling triumphs and tribulations of those space-sailing, chain-smoking, bounty-hunting buddies, Jet Black and Spike Spiegel. Jet is a bald and burly bonsai tree collector with an artificial left arm and a comma-shaped piece of metal under his scarred right eye. A former ISSP officer--known on his home satellite, Ganymede, as the tenacious "Black Dog"--Jet is now the owner/pilot/mechanic of the spaceship Bebop. The wiry gunfighter and martial arts master, Spike, has fuzzy green hair, mismatched eyes and a checkered past. These two intrepid space "cowboys" hop from one astral gate to another to hunt down wanted criminals all across the galaxy, hoping to earn enough woolongs to enable Jet to finally add some actual beef to his famous "Bell Peppers and Beef" stir-fry. In Session 2, Spike and Jet rescue a Welsh Corgi "data-dog" named Ein from the notorious pet thief, Abdul Hakim. In Session 3, they meet up with an unscrupulous Blackjack dealer who turns out to be the infamous yellow-clad femme fatale, Faye Valentine. And in Session 9, they meet an androgynous red-headed net-diver with an occasionally invisible nose who calls herself Edward Wong Hau Pepelu Tivrusky, IV. Only by working together can this motley little crew of hungry hunters overcome the ruthless gangsters, senile chess players, broken showers, biting mutants and bad mushrooms that stand in their way as they attempt to nab the endless lineup of bad guys profiled daily on Punch and Judy's Big Shot television show.

Cowboy Bebop showcases phenomenal jazz music and exquisitely detailed animation that perfectly captures the mean streets and spaceways of a future world that's simultaneously strange and familiar, with technology that's grungy and realistic (like the hardware of the original Star Wars trilogy) and a uniquely multi-cultural cornucopia of characters. Unlike most animes, Bebop is primarily episodic, so the shows can be enjoyed individually, without requiring the viewer to watch the entire series in one sitting. My personal favorite is the suspense-filled horror spoof, "Toys In the Attic," which opens with red-tinged video footage of a dingy tunnel, reminiscent of the long-forgotten Sega CD game, Sewer Shark.

The "Remix" of Cowboy Bebop allows you to hear the unforgettably exhilarating opening theme, Tank! (as well as the rest of the exquisitely-scored soundtrack), in speaker-rattling Dolby Digital 5.1 audio. This affordably-priced Anime Legends set collects the entire Bebop series (not the movie) on six colorfully silk-screened DVDs. A plethora of special features are included, among them: three English-language trailers for Cowboy Bebop on DVD; four Cartoon Network promos; interviews with Wendee Lee, the voice of Faye Valentine and Cartoon Network producer, Sean Akins; subtitled commentary on Session 1 with the Japanese voices of Spike and Jet, Koichi Yamadera and Unshou Ishizuka; commentary on Session 5 and 10 with Wendee Lee and ADR producer, Yutaka Maseba; a laughter-filled commentary on Session 17 with director, Shinichiro Watanabe, and legendary composer, Yoko Kanno; Session 24 commentary with the Japanese Faye, Megumi Hayashibara, and the Japanese Ed, Aoi Tada; a behind-the-scenes look at the making of Cowboy Bebop, called Session 0; plus a music video featuring the full-length version of Tank! Audio options consist of the aforementioned Dolby Digital 5.1 mix in both English and Japanese, as well as the original English and Japanese Stereo tracks. The ONLY downside to this release is that all six discs are awkwardly crowded into one plastic keepcase, each held in place with tiny tabs that are easily broken. Shucks howdy, this is an anime collection that would even satisfy those crotchety old geezers, Antonio, Carlos, and Jobim. So come out of your cryogenic sleep and order yours today! Highly recommended to all animation fans, cop show fans, jazz enthusiasts and corgi owners. "Once the channel is set, you will no longer be able to escape!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


208 of 216 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality and affordability in one Set, February 18, 2008
By 
J. Kelm (Michigan, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cowboy Bebop Remix: The Complete Collection (Anime Legends) (DVD)
Instead of giving some hack review of the story, I'll skip it and assume you either know the story already or know how to google for it.

This box set of a solid anime is finally released in its newest form (improved and cleaned-up picture and 5.1 surround mix) at a very affordable price. Honestly, $40 is a steal considering what you had to pay for all of the discs individually. All 6 discs are in a clamshell case, similar to that of the Back to the Future. No insert inside, just the DVDs.

What I think of the improved picture:
It's not bad. Not perfect but not bad. You'll notice the picture is cleaned up a lot if you compare it with pre-improved releases. Scenes that are brighter or more colorful really come through. But I did notice something that kinda bothered me some. Scenes where there is a lot of black (which are many; the story is mostly in space. who knew?) seem off. What I mean by that is, the black areas aren't a consistent black. This could be a result of the clean-up process but I'm not sure. Either way, it's slightly distracting but by no means a deal breaker. (EDIT: This was an issue I experienced on the first disc and not later ones; not sure if it was with the disc or my TV's brightness setting. Either way, not a big problem.) You're getting a better copy of the show visually.

What I think of the sound:
Ok, if you know anything about Bebop, it's that there is a great soundtrack. Snappy jazz with the opening credits and sad blues penetrate this series. Needless to say, with a diverse score like this one, the surround mix really pays off. Surround effects and bass response are dead on and not overwhelming. Scenes take advantage of the surrounds to create a balanced ambiance and you might even glance behind your shoulder at times. Don't feel dumb if you do; I did it too. Gunfights and action scenes take good advantage of the subwoofer. But nothing overwhelming, it's well balanced and just gives that extra punch you'd expect.

So what should you do?
If you don't have this series, this is probably the best offer you're going to get. If you laid down the money for each remastered disc, nothing is added for you content wise, other than your anger for Bandai not releasing this sooner.

A quality series with an upped picture quality and surround mix, offered at a reasonable price. Til next time Cowboy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


822 of 877 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I don't like anime, March 29, 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really don't like anime. It's true. Growing up in the '80s and seeing the reruns of '70s imports (like Speed Racer), not to mention the whole Pokémon thing that hit while I was in high school, I know some people out there like those things but I find them repulsive and annoying. Silly caricatures with gigantic eyes and frame rates of about 2 per minute, almost like watching a slide show with really bad narration.
Then a friend pressured me to watch Cowboy Bebop on Cartoon Network. He knew my reservations about Japanese cartoons, but pushed me into it anyway (it was a Saturday night, I wasn't doing anything anyway...) and I haven't stopped thanking him.
This series is good. Not good, great. This is the program that anyone who says "cartoons are for kids" should watch. The first thing that I noticed was that the episodes were each standalone. Most of the popular animations of today are very series-oriented, if you miss one the next one probably won't make sense, and the whole thing feels soap-opera-ish. But not Bebop. Oh, it's true that there's an ongoing storyline, but you don't have to be familiar with it to enjoy any given episode. In fact, it might be good to watch them out of sequence once and then in order, you'll get everything on two different levels.
Then there's the music. It is easily the best music in a cartoon, possibly the best in a television series. Just like I don't like anime, I don't like jazz. Or so I thought, but many thanks to Yoko Kanno for proving me wrong on that count. It's original, it's catchy, and even though I didn't much care for a lot of it initially, it now has so much emotion attached to it that I have added it to my regular listening. I definitely can't say that about any other television series ever.
Oh, the characters. Where can I even begin? They have complexity and depth, worthy of some of the best movies to ever come out of Hollywood. They each have their own backgrounds, their own motives, they have personality. After twenty-six episodes, it's hard not to develop an attachment to at least one of them. You don't have to take my word on this; I've seen many others who agree with me on this. Besides, you could watch it and decide for yourself.
As far as I'm concerned, this is essential viewing. Not everyone might agree with me, but I have a feeling that there are many out there who would absolutely love this show if they saw just one episode. It turned me on to anime, and I'm pretty hard to sway in opinion. If you're into anime, this is a must. If you can bring yourself to realize cartoons as something other than Bugs Bunny and Mickey Mouse, this is probably for you, too. It's for adults of all ages, and appeals for so many reasons.
By the way, the dubbed version may be better. Nothing against the original cast, and it's not a personal aversion to subtitles (I usually prefer subbed to dubbed), but the English cast are incredible. I've never seen that kind of attention or acting in translation. And, because of the nature of the show, I think it just feels better.
A message from the converted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Really a "boxed set", December 23, 2002
By 
"waveline" (Tooele, Utah USA) - See all my reviews
Everyone knows that Cowboy Bebop is good, and that if you don't own it already, you better get off your ... and buy the DVD's. That's a given. I just wanted to let people know that this "boxed set" is really just all 6 individual DVD's bundled together. Nothing new...no fancy box...no extras. If you missed the real boxed set or have just been holding out for the discs, you should pick this set up. ...you're getting a very good deal and it's worth the investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impartial Review, August 11, 2009
By 
age (Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cowboy Bebop Remix: The Complete Collection (Anime Legends) (DVD)
While I may have gotten this box set elsewhere, I can tell you more about it. First, the commonly known stuff: it's 6 DVDs for a total of 26 sessions (episodes), it's got English and Japanese audio in 5.0 and 2.1 but only English subtitles, and it's total run time is 650 minutes.

Now for the juicyness: some episodes have commentary from the staff. What does this mean? It means that the voice actors themselves commented on the episode. Some episodes have more than one commentary. For example, the first episode has two commentaries, one from the Japanese voice actors of Spike and Jet and another from the English voice actress of Faye. If that weren't enough juicyness, it also contains a bonus Episode: Session 0, which I am not allowed to spoil about.

So, aye, if you liked Cowboy Bebop and were waiting forever for the box set to come out, then why don't you have this yet?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterwork of the animated medium, May 17, 2003
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Cowboy Bebop has been, since it's release in 1998, the bar by which every new anime series is judged by. It's just that good. Many have described it as 1970's cop show-meets western-meets high-quality drama-meets film-noir, and I am gonna have to agree with them.
Cowboy Bebop revolves around futuristic bounty hunters Spike Spiegel and Jet Black, and the series is really just their exploits through the universe. Along the way, they meet female bounty hunter Faye Valentine, computer hacker Edward Wong Hau Pepelu Tivrusky 4th (simply Ed for short), data dog Ein, and various bounties and figures from their past.
The beauty of Cowboy Bebop is that although the show does have a recurring story based around Spike's past, this is more or less tossed aside for "filler" episodes, or one episode storylines. Through filler episodes, we make a very strong bond and attachment to these characters, and it makes the ending to it all the more heartfelt.
When I watch Cowboy Bebop, I really do feel what happens to the characters. You feel sympathy and plight, happiness and joy, sadness and sorrow. You care about the characters, and I commend the staff who worked on the series for doing this. Very few anime series have characters for whom you can actually relate to, build bonds to emotionally, and frankly, give a damn about. Cowboy Bebop pulls it off with elegance and grace, as if it were nothing.
All in all, Cowboy Bebop is one of the best anime ever created, hands down. it has excellent characters, wonderful storylines, beautiful animation, and mesmorizing locales. It remains to be one of my favorites of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clarification of Product Offered and Quality, January 15, 2003
By 
Geoffrey "ghowardx" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Since many others more competent than I have provided reviews pertaining to the content of Cowboy Bebop I will just add it is definitely one of the best.
What I would like to provide is a clarification on the product being offered and its quality due to some reviews here making negative comments.
Yesterday I received the "Cowboy Bebop Box Set (Volumes 1-6) (Amazon.com Exclusive)" and can attest to the fact that although the set is not "boxed" (unless you count the shipping box) it does include six (6) individual DVDs each in what appears to be an original case.
The first two DVDs (Sessions 1 & 2) each contain 5 Cowboy Bebop sessions. The remaining 4 DVDs (Sessions 3 - 6) contain 4 sessions each.
A random sampling of DVDs/Sessions shows both the picture and audio quality to be superb. It appears to me as though Amazon.com has simply assembled the individual Cowboy Bebop Session 1 through 6 DVDs and is offering them at a bargain price.
To sum up this set is definitely not of inferior quality or a Chinese bootleg as some reviewers have suggested, it contains 6 individually packaged DVDs, and the lowest price I was able to find elsewhere for each DVD was approx. $...each.
You do the math!
If you are a fan of this series you will not be disappointed with the purchase of this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Sessions Limited edition vs. Complete Collection, May 23, 2004
By 
Amazon Customer (Bullhead City, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
The Complete Collection contains the same DVDs as the Perfect Sessions box set, it's just not a collectible set, and does not have the soundtrack CD. Either is worth the price: just depends on how deep your pockets are.
I bought the Perfect Sessions Limited Edition set about halfway through the "Adult Swim" series. Back then it was $120. The sound track CD alone is worth the extra cost: I take a copy with me everywhere I go to play in the rental car.
"Cowboy Bebop" is, undoubtedly, one of the - if not THE - best anime series in existence. Very complex yet understandable, the English dub is superb, the animation is complex and rich.
"Bebop" was my first exposure to anime. It changed my entertainment pattern forever: I now collect both anime DVD and manga.
"Adult Swim" on Cartoon Network has done an superlative job of finding some of the best anime and presenting it to Americans. It's a great place to start your education. Rent before you buy: Netflix has a large selection if your local video store doesn't. And don't forget manga - pick up a couple of the "Cowboy Bebop" books to see how it differs from the anime, then look at other manga to see if you might be interested in the video series.
Good luck and happy viewing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bebop is Back, February 27, 2003
Cowboy Bebop is probably the best anime series of this decade (and the last one), and one of the best series that Americans will ever be able to watch. (dont you dare forget old school Robotech...) Bebop is a wonderful series with an incredible plot (every episode is a different <playing> "session"), intriguing characters, and the music....'bebop' is an understatement. more like sheer genius. So amazing, that you should also purchase the soundtracks--that's how good the episodes are.
Set in a lawless free-for-all future, Bebop lets us in on the 'sessions' of 5 main characters: an ex-cop and his welsh corgi dog, a mysterious young man who claims to have already died, a young woman with luck on her side, and a young, computer-hacking genius. You'll laugh and cry with these endearing, frighteningly real characters exploring real relationships in real situations...and you'll understand that this is more than a cartoon. It's an experience.
Exploring different themes and styles, the musicians, artists, and writers on this show create an entertaining, aesthetically-pleasing, mind-blowing series of action-packed jam 'sessions' that everyone should own 2 copies of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Anime Legend, March 8, 2009
By 
This review is from: Cowboy Bebop Remix: The Complete Collection (Anime Legends) (DVD)
Cowboy Bebop is one of those special animes that come around very rarely, its one anime that can attract a vast variety of people, there are so many things to like about the series, my main reason is the action and humor but some people may like other things. There are 26 episodes in all and each one is like a mini-movie of some sorts, and also has there own musical theme thanks to the critically acclaimed japanese composer Yoko Kanno. Cowboy Bebop is very dependent upon its music, and the music is ingeniously organized, whether it be an action packed fight scene or just a mellow cool jazzy hang-out scene, the music sets the standard for the series. The series is beautifully drawn, the graphics are just a sight to see and the charcters move seemlessly natural as if they're real people.

Another thing special about this particular anime series is the english dub. There are some decent dubbed animes but some are just terrible in every sense, but Cowboy Bebop succeeds extraordinary, the voice actors are picked perfectly, this is a series that you would actually prefer the english dub over the original japenese voice actors (well at least in my opinion). I highly recommend this series not just for anime lovers but to anyone who is looking for something to watch something thats fun and exciting. Like I said before this anime can attract anybody plus the price of this box set just makes the deal all the more sweeter, how can you go wrong with that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cowboy Bebop Remix: The Complete Collection (Anime Legends)
Used & New from: $42.32
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.