Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and riveting writing!
Review by Desere: Trey March is your typical average cowboy (ranch worker) he keeps to himself and stays out of trouble and never lies. That is until he ends up in the arms of the young and beautiful Daisy Barton,the boss's daughter ! The more time they spend in each others arms the more Daisy falls in love ,but Trey is too on edge about his own mixed up life to even...
Published on November 15, 2011 by Romancing the Book

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but a few too many coincidences
This is the first book I've read by Ms. Kenny. She writes well, and I did like her characters for the most part, but there were just so many "coincidences" that I finally began to think, "Oh please, not another one." I don't want to include spoilers so won't spell out the incidents I'm thinking about, and perhaps another reader would not be bothered. I could tell this...
Published on February 27, 2012 by Carolynn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and riveting writing!, November 15, 2011
This review is from: Cowboy Come Home (Zebra Books) (Mass Market Paperback)
Review by Desere: Trey March is your typical average cowboy (ranch worker) he keeps to himself and stays out of trouble and never lies. That is until he ends up in the arms of the young and beautiful Daisy Barton,the boss's daughter ! The more time they spend in each others arms the more Daisy falls in love ,but Trey is too on edge about his own mixed up life to even begin to think of such talk. Daisy however believes that Trey will come around and they will eventually get married. But then suddenly Trey is gone without so much as a goodbye note.

Daisy is torn,alone,heartbroken and expecting ! Fast forward a few months and you find Daisy now running the ranch and debts of her deceased father. Add Trey suddenly showing up at her doorstep demanding payment owed to him by her father and you get a volatile mix of emotions welling up. Trey is also telling Daisy he never left but was kidnapped and left for dead by her father. Of course Daisy is outraged by this accusation but after some consideration ,a conversation underlined with hatred,heartache and "secret love" Daisy and Trey strike a deal.

Trey will help Daisy get her cattle across to her fathers other ranch before they die of thirst,in exchange he only asks what is owed to him nothing more and nothing less. Now as simple and easy as that sounds Daisy and Trey's journey is filled with untold secrets and dangers around every corner.

For you see Trey and Daisy's life are in danger at the hands of more than one hidden evil source . The evil ex foreman and good old fashioned outlaws of the Wild West allowes for gripping intense moments through out the book. And not to mention the fact that there is Daisy's ex-fiance who desperately wants her back but could at the same time be one of those wanting Daisy dead, and Daisy having memory loss does not help much either.

Trey having his own secrets and trying to come to terms with his past makes sure Daisy understands that he is not a beat about the bush kind of guy and will not tell her the words she so desperately craves to hear,but he is still insisting they marry. Daisy in turn makes sure Trey understands that she will not marry him simply because she needs protection ,nor can she seems to keep the notion of him wanting to marry her for her land out of her head !

But the real question is can Trey face his past and can Daisy overcome her fears and reveal her secret? Trey and Daisy's journey takes you on a wild west adventure like no other written by the super talented Janette Kenny.

Janette Kenny has one of the most powerful and riveting styles of writing that I have seen in a long time. In Cowboy Come Home Janette weaves a tale of passion,intrigue and good old fashioned Texas romance. Each and every page takes you closer to a world filled with secrets just waiting to be brought to light,and when they do you will not be disappointed but simply more intrigued! Trey and Daisy's story will have you hanging onto the edge of your seat and wanting more.

It is a tale that clearly proves true love can survive against all odds and when meant to be together ,the one you love will bring you home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cowboys C'mon Down!, February 13, 2012
This review is from: Cowboy Come Home (Zebra Books) (Mass Market Paperback)
It's been a long time since I've been so engrossed in a romance novel that I didn't want to put it down! Kenny has done just that for me with Cowboy Come Home! I fell in love with Trey and Daisy from the beginning of the book. The story took me on a roller coaster ride of ups and downs, but ended on such a lovely note that I was pleasantly pleased.

Trey March falls head over heels in love with Daisy, yet his past does not allow him to feel or recognize love. He's a stubborn cowboy who feels he cannot give Daisy what she deserves. . . but doesn't realize Daisy is just as head strong as he is.

The minute Daisy puts eyes upon Trey she knows she's a goner. . . However, she is willed to run the ranch her Daddy left her, with or without Trey's help. She does not expect the trouble she gets into along the way, but being the strong willed woman she is, she perseveres and in the end turns the ranch around, but also her love life.

Sit back, relax and let Janette Kenny take you for a ride on a historic romance train! Once you finish this novel you'll be clamoring for more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent cowboi story, June 23, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cowboy Come Home (Zebra Books) (Mass Market Paperback)
This was a little sad then fun an all around good story that moved smoothly and came to a happy ending
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, August 20, 2013
By 
Sheila Stimson (Rainier, Oregon United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is a Great reading book, I am going to look for more books from this author and read them too. I can't wait to read more books from this author and read them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cowboy Come Home, July 5, 2013
Awesome book!! Had never read any of her books but just ordered more. Anyone who is searching for books by a new author, try one of her books. Her writing could be compared to Sudan Mallory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, March 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cowboy Come Home (Zebra Books) (Mass Market Paperback)
Love it. Janette Kenny is a great author. I have read several of her books. I share these books with my sisters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 Stars - Best book of the series!, December 11, 2011
This review is from: Cowboy Come Home (Zebra Books) (Mass Market Paperback)
Lovers separated by circumstance, brought back together by fate. This is the final book in the Lost Sons Trilogy.

Trey March is returning to the JDB Ranch for one thing, the money that is owed to him. After recuperating from a vicious attack, he returns to the ranch and meets the one person who betrayed him the most, Daisy Barton. Her treachery runs deep, her silence of their relationship almost got him killed and he wants nothing to do with her. The problem is once he sets his eyes on her, old and new feelings collide leaving Trey bewildered. After hearing and seeing the state the ranch is in, the only thing he can do to secure his future is to work with the one person he despises most.

Daisy has lost everything; her father, her lover and is about to lose the ranch. She was raised to become a wealthy rancher's wife not to run one. She has no idea what to do and must rely on the foreman, Ned Durant, to guide her. Now Ned has proposed to her and she is seeing his intentions more clearly. He wants to own the ranch by any means necessary. Things change immediately when the last person she ever expected to see walks into her office demanding money. Too bad the ranch is broke and there is only one way Trey will get his due, he has to become the new foreman.

As Trey and Daisy work together they discover the extent of the treachery that encircles them and their pasts. They must work together to save the ranch and each other. Day after day they learn what they lost, but until the entire truth comes out, neither will be totally happy.

I have to admit that this is the first book of the trilogy that I read. After my first reading of the novel, I didn't like it. When I request books to review, I stay away from series unless I have read the prior books. That was not the case here. On the major book sites there is no real indication that is last book in a trilogy. Even the cover doesn't state it. So after reading it and being confused a bit and then annoyed at the end, I wasn't able to give it a good review. I contacted the publisher and they allowed me to read/review the other two novels. I am so glad they did. Now that I have read the whole trilogy, this book is my favorite.

It had passion, mystery, suspense and a touch of humor. It is a well written book that is simply divine. It is an easy read and relaxing too. I fell in love with the characters and enjoyed their journey back to each other. I appreciated how it brought the history/futures of the foster brothers all together. There was completion, even if the circumstances were rather fantastic. Yet if you look at the whole picture, you can call it fate or divine intervention. Either way these three men deserved all the happiness they found.

This book is obviously written as a stand-alone, but I would highly recommend you read them all together, starting with A Cowboy Christmas and then In a Cowboy's Arms. I say this from experience and like I stated before, I enjoyed this book much more after I had read the prior books.

I am sorry to see this trilogy end. I loved the sexy cowboys and the high spirited women that tamed them. This trilogy is a wonderful easy going read that is pleasant and heart-warming, with just enough spice to get your pulse rising a bit. So head on out and rope up these books. They are a great treat for lonely nights and a sure way to get a cowboy fix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but a few too many coincidences, February 27, 2012
By 
Carolynn (Tennessee USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cowboy Come Home (Zebra Books) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the first book I've read by Ms. Kenny. She writes well, and I did like her characters for the most part, but there were just so many "coincidences" that I finally began to think, "Oh please, not another one." I don't want to include spoilers so won't spell out the incidents I'm thinking about, and perhaps another reader would not be bothered. I could tell this book was one of a series, and that may have contributed to the situations that irritated me. If you're already a fan of Ms. Kenny's and have read her other books, I'd say you would enjoy this one. If you've not read her books before, you might want to consider beginning with one of the earlier ones in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Plodding & rather boring actually., November 4, 2011
This review is from: Cowboy Come Home (Zebra Books) (Mass Market Paperback)
I've only read this one book of the series & with any luck at all will manage to avoid the rest. The characters are one-dimensional, the writing jerky and amateurish, predictable cookie-cutter storyline. Trey is given no depth at all and the sex scenes seem contrived. Daisy is "stubborn" ad nauseam - characters pop in and out at random - overall I feel generous in giving it 2 stars. For a Good Western try Linda Lael Miller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars strong end to the Lost Sons western romance, November 2, 2011
This review is from: Cowboy Come Home (Zebra Books) (Mass Market Paperback)
In 1895 Texas, Trey March rides to the JDB Ranch to confront owner Jared Barton. He believes Barton had his men led by viscous Ned Durant leave him for dead because the upstart went after his daughter Daisy. However, he is shocked to learn Daisy is not married and that Barton is dead. Trey shows Daisy where her dad kept his ledger supporting his claim of a debt due. Daisy asks Trey to become foreman at her other ranch Circle 46 where he said there is water. She is upset with herself for still wanting him though he deserted her.

Trey leads a cattle drive to the Circle 46. Daisy tells Trey she has memories of the orphan train and a boy who held her. Trey mentions his foster brother Dade Logan had a little sister Daisy who was taken from him. He sends a letter to their friend Reed to give to Dade. Someone deliberately burns down the JDB. Trey and Daisy visit the JDB to see the damage. He proposes but cannot say he loves her; she refuses though they make love. Their trek back to the Circle 46 proves harrowing as Ned surfaces while Trey becomes increasingly confused with how he feels.

This is a strong end to the Lost Sons western romance (see A Cowboy Christmas and In a Cowboy's Arms). The lead couple anchors the prime plot while they and the support cast insure the major threads from the previous entries are tied up. Readers will enjoy this warm second chance at love if Trey follows his heart.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cowboy Come Home (Zebra Books)
Cowboy Come Home (Zebra Books) by Janette Kenny (Mass Market Paperback - November 1, 2011)
$6.99 $6.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.