Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great softbox
It is really cool thst you can use this umbrella softbox not just with a speedlite but witha monolight as well. I initially bought for easy portability and setup for location shoots but Ive been using it in my studio as well with alien bees B800. Excellent results!
Published 19 months ago by Nicolas

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap cost: Cheap quality but will work great used gently.
Works as advertised- but its definitely not made to withstand anything other than occasional use. I have been using it with three bent ribs because they are so thin.
If its used gently (open it gently- the ribs will bend if you're too aggressive) and always indoors it will work great for you. However, if you're a pro (or aspire to be) skip this product and buy a...
Published 9 months ago by Jimmy Dozer


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap cost: Cheap quality but will work great used gently., December 3, 2013
By 
Jimmy Dozer (Littleton, CO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: CowboyStudio Pro 30-Inch Octagon Umbrella Speedlite Softbox for Nikon Canon Flash Light (Electronics)
Works as advertised- but its definitely not made to withstand anything other than occasional use. I have been using it with three bent ribs because they are so thin.
If its used gently (open it gently- the ribs will bend if you're too aggressive) and always indoors it will work great for you. However, if you're a pro (or aspire to be) skip this product and buy a Westcott Apollo: its 3x the price but will be able to take the daily use and last much, much longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great softbox, January 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CowboyStudio Pro 30-Inch Octagon Umbrella Speedlite Softbox for Nikon Canon Flash Light (Electronics)
It is really cool thst you can use this umbrella softbox not just with a speedlite but witha monolight as well. I initially bought for easy portability and setup for location shoots but Ive been using it in my studio as well with alien bees B800. Excellent results!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product for any level of photohgrapher, November 27, 2012
This review is from: CowboyStudio Pro 30-Inch Octagon Umbrella Speedlite Softbox for Nikon Canon Flash Light (Electronics)
This octobox is one of the easiest I have found to set up. It is basically an umbrella internally that pops open in which you put on a stand. Put a speedlight or strobe in it and you're good to go!

It gives off an amazingly soft large light source which makes for a great fill light for outdoor or environmental portraiture, or wedding portraiture.

All around this is a great product from cowboy Studios, . it seem well built and very east set up and take down

Great value, for great products, just what photography needs.

Yes, I would recommend this to a friendCowboyStudio Pro 30-Inch Octagon Umbrella Speedlite Softbox for Nikon Canon Flash Light
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like this very much, January 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CowboyStudio Pro 30-Inch Octagon Umbrella Speedlite Softbox for Nikon Canon Flash Light (Electronics)
I've gotten good photos using this with a single Sony HVL-F43AM Sony Alpha System HVL-F43AM Flash Unit for Alpha DSLR and a silver reflector.

You'll have to mount this on a stand extension with a swivel head under it to get much tilt out of it. The swivel on the umbrella adapter just doesn't move much inside of this softbox.

A boom arm might work too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy & Fast Setup/teardown, February 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CowboyStudio Pro 30-Inch Octagon Umbrella Speedlite Softbox for Nikon Canon Flash Light (Electronics)
Alright- here's the deal. This is a great little unit. The fact that it opens up like an umbrella is SO convenient. Takes 2 seconds to pop up or tear down. It's also nice and taught. However, I have a few issues with it. First off, the shaft to mount it is very short. I would have preferred a slightly longer shaft that could then poke through the diffuser if you use it. IT would give a little more latitude to how close the flash is. (The diffuser is nice, and sturdy. Easy pop on and off.) You don't have to use the diffuser. It attaches with velcro around the edges. Your flash *could* be further from the unit itself had they included a slightly longer shaft.

The zippered slat to slide a light stand through is peculiar to me. As you can see, it is a good 6" long. The issue is that it goes backward toward the center of the umbrella. That would allow you to.......point it up. Not exactly useful. Having a light on a stand usually means you need to tilt it.....down. You cannot do that with the light stand through the slot. I personally don't slide the stand through the zippered slot. I just attach the diffuser at the top and pull it down the sides as far as I can in relation to where the stand catches it. It would have been more useful if the zipper zipped straight to the edge of the unit. In stead, it stops at the black "collar" around the front of the unit where the velcro strip is. I'm considering cutting through where the zipper is at the edge and then getting a couple of velcro strips to hold the slit shut when I don't need a light stand to poke through right there.

The unit itself is sturdy and is highly reflective in the interior. I've used it to make some very nice head shots and I would buy it again. For the price, you can't beat it. It even includes a case to slide it into to keep it from getting too beat up in your trunk. I think it will hold up well especially considering the fairly tough feeling material it's made out of. At this price, you won't really lose sleep if something happens to it anyway.

Don't forget however if you use a diffuser with this, you'll have to keep pulling it up to adjust your flash if you don't have expensive transceivers (ie- pocket wizards or phottix odins). That is the one advantage of more expensive (shoot through the back type) umbrella soft boxes. In those you have access to your flash and the whole unit is mounted from behind so you have more latitude with positioning. If you don't use the diffuser, there's really no issue. Just know the zipper is useless unless you're going to shoot with the box in a perfectly vertical position. (Or pointed up.) (also-this unit is for flasheads only- not studio strobes.....but I think anyone with studio strobes would know that.)

Would buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the fastest to setup because of grid and scrim, but otherwise nice light, November 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really like the price and light quality, however it's durability is questionable. It tipped over in the wind into a shrub and bent a rod. It's still workable, but to have that happen on my first shoot was slightly disappointing.

The other knock is that it takes a considerable amount of time to setup compared to some other "instant" softboxes that pop up with the screen in place. You have to go around each of the 8 segments and push the velcro to connect for both the white scrim and black grid. So it's not something you can just put together in 15 seconds between locations on a wedding day. More like a "setup and carry as one piece" type of thing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Decent buy for the price and fits the purpose, January 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Generally well made construction, would have preferred a longer stem. Decent buy for the price and fits the purpose .

UPDATE: Had the same issue as one more user, left it open and suddenly one of the metal pieces broke from the middle and tore through the umbrella. I haven't used this unit much either, and did not even move around with it outside my living room, shows that the frame material is not at all durable. I am guessing if I had actually used this on location and moved around with it this would have happened much earlier. Had to reduce to 2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Design Flaw: Want to combine a reflective umbrella with a softbox, but failed, April 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just like what others said, the zip at the bottom of the umbrella that allows the flash or light standing get into it makes it impossible to tilt down cuz the umbrella is not big enough. The maximum tilt is around negative 5 degrees. If the black surface can be removable then it could be really useful as a shoot-through umbrella. Also, the flash would look awkwardly projecting when you cover the diffuser up. Maybe it will be better with continuous lighting? Maybe.
I haven't had issue with its quality yet, but the umbrella surface feels good, and the diffuser and grid quality has no problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good product over all, March 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I received this item timely and it is pretty good for the cost. However, after two uses at my indoor studio, one of the metal umbrella pieces bent. It's still usable, but I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw it since it's brand new and I baby my equipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good first softbox, January 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CowboyStudio Pro 30-Inch Octagon Umbrella Speedlite Softbox for Nikon Canon Flash Light (Electronics)
I have not used it much. quality is a bit thin but if your are careful it will hold up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.