Customer Reviews


161 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for dual card-type users or pure CF card users!
I read the reviews of this before I purchased one, and was a little skeptical based on Trebe's review. I figured that for the price, it was worth a try, especially as it was marketed as a "sealed, water proof" card case. I am not unhappy with my purchase at all. I picked up bird and birds-in-flight (BIF) photography at the end of 2011, and ended up getting a Canon 7D, a...
Published on April 27, 2012 by Jon Rista

versus
54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars heavily armored memory card case, with some significant design issues...
This extremely heavy duty case, is made by Jin Jiacheng Technology Company (JJC), located in China. The MC Series Digital Camera Memory Card Case is very solidly built, with an outer case constructed of hard polycarbonate resin. There is a continuous rubberlike seal along the inside edge, that supposedly makes the case water-resistant, after it is secured with a plastic...
Published on October 20, 2010 by trebe


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars heavily armored memory card case, with some significant design issues..., October 20, 2010
This review is from: CowboyStudio Professional Rubber Sealed, Water Proof Memory Card Case for 4 PCS (Camera)
This extremely heavy duty case, is made by Jin Jiacheng Technology Company (JJC), located in China. The MC Series Digital Camera Memory Card Case is very solidly built, with an outer case constructed of hard polycarbonate resin. There is a continuous rubberlike seal along the inside edge, that supposedly makes the case water-resistant, after it is secured with a plastic clasp. There is also a provision for attaching a cord, chain, or lanyard.

While the case is solidly constructed on the outside, there are some significant issues on the inside. The case is intended to accommodate four memory cards of various types. Four molded inserts made out of a hard synthetic material, are pressed into the body of the case. Each insert supposedly can accommodate either a compact flash card, SD card, Olympus Xd card, or a Sony memory stick, however there are some problems with the design of these inserts.

The inserts provide a very tight fit for compact flash cards. The fit can be so tight, that forcing a CF card in an out, can scrape material off the edge of the insert. This is obviously not the greatest workmanship. While too tight for CF cards, the insert is too loose to hold SD cards in place. I can't speak to how well Xd and Sony memory sticks fit into the insert. I got this case primarily for CF cards, so it kind of works for me. However for other types of memory cards, it could be a complete disaster! Look at the product photo, you can barely see the tiny nubs that are supposed to hold the SD and Xd cards in place.

Compared to other cases that hold four CF cards, like those by Hakuba, Sony, or Lowepro, the MC Series case is bulkier and heavier. Generally the other brands have inserts that are made of softer material, that are cut more precisely to fit a compact flash card. It's not watertight, but I like Hakuba's case the best (HAKUBA USA INC DMSPCF4 Compact Flash Card Storage Wallet).

The ridges on outside of the MC Series case, could scrape or damage your other gear. Since the case appears to be dustight, and perhaps even watertight, it is probably best suited to those who expect to be in extreme conditions or outdoor environments. With its heavy duty construction, the MC Series case seems share some qualities with this more costly Pelican case (Pelican 0940 Compact Flash Memory Card Protective Case). If you need this level of protection, and intend to store CF cards, you may want to consider the MC Series case. While the seven dollar cost at Amazon is low, the case does seem to have some significant issues that could lead to problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for dual card-type users or pure CF card users!, April 27, 2012
By 
Jon Rista (Aurora, CO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CowboyStudio Professional Rubber Sealed, Water Proof Memory Card Case for 4 PCS (Camera)
I read the reviews of this before I purchased one, and was a little skeptical based on Trebe's review. I figured that for the price, it was worth a try, especially as it was marketed as a "sealed, water proof" card case. I am not unhappy with my purchase at all. I picked up bird and birds-in-flight (BIF) photography at the end of 2011, and ended up getting a Canon 7D, a few CF cards, and this case. Since then, I have spent a fair amount of time photographing in some pretty extreme weather, experiencing everything from rain, sleet, snow and hail. I've had to change cards in the middle of high winds and driving rain and sleet, and snow coming down so thick you could barely see more than a few feet ahead of you. Here are my conclusions:

1. The fact that this is sealed and water proof is an important factor. I wouldn't bet on it keeping out water if fully submerged under several feet of water, but so long as you angle yourself away from the wind when opening this for changing a memory card out, it definitely stays dry...even if you drop it on wet ground, in a puddle, or into a snow drift.

2. It holds CF cards very well. I've never had a problem with them not fitting, being too tight, or not being tight enough. Its a snug fit, but a good fit. I've used it with both SanDisk and Transcend CF cards, although not any other brands.

3. The complaints about other types of cards not holding well are not entirely unfounded, but there are some workarounds. First, if you do want to hold just SD/SDHC/SDXC cards, you can hold them pretty snugly by putting them in upside down, with the angled corner fit snugly into the deeper edge (rather than the center, where there is only a half-height rubber nub to latch the card onto.) These types of cards have an inset ridge along the bottom side which doesn't work well for how this case's SD-type spots are designed. By flipping the cards upside down, you are able to get a much better grip. Its not enough to keep all of the cards from flopping around loosely inside if you drop the case or bang it against something nice and good, but under general use (not dropping it or banging it hard on a regular basis), I've found it holds all four of my SDHC cards with only a very low rate of failure.

4. If you are the type that uses two kinds of cards, such as SDHC and CF for a dual card slot DSLR (such as the Canon 5D III or Nikon D800), this case is excellent. You can fit the SDHC cards upside down in their areas, and still fit the CF cards above them. The trick is to simply insert the CF card such that the raised ridge on the bottom is opposite where the SDHC card is. The CF card will pop out on the other end by about 1mm or less, however it is still a VERY snug fit. You gain the added benefit that no matter what, none of your cards are going to fall out of their place and float freely around the inside of the case when its closed, even as a result of a strong impact.

5. The CF cards, since they fit very well within their space, require that you press on one end (preferably the bottom) to pop up the other end so you can get some grip to pull them out. After months of use, I have noticed that the rubber around the bottom has just barely started to wear. I was probably not very careful earlier on when inserting and removing my CF cards. So long as you are mildly careful about how you insert and remove the cards, there shouldn't be much wear at all on the rubber that holds each card in place. It takes a little experimentation, but you'll figure out how to insert the cards cleanly without roughing up the edges of the rubber.

I figure this case should last a couple years of heavy use if its used well. At a mere $9 a pop, even if it does wear out, its cheaper than a lot of other card holders, water sealed to boot, and can easily hold a total of 8 cards at once if you store both CF and SD type cards in one container. If it wears out in a year, you could by another and still have only spent about as much as any of the cheaper more "feature rich" holders that don't offer any kind of water proofing. Good deal in my book. Well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for SD cards, June 14, 2012
By 
Giovanni Nocturna (Gulf Coast Florida) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CowboyStudio Professional Rubber Sealed, Water Proof Memory Card Case for 4 PCS (Camera)
As other reviewers have noted, this case does not retain SD cards at all well. Since it wasn't cost effective to return this $8 item, I just cut a piece of heavy cardstock the size of the interior of the case to hold the SD cards within the rubber wells, they will shift around a little but I believe the memory cards are very durable and there is no chance of damage. The cardstock is also good for notes as to what is on the SD cards. The case is well built of heavy, rugged materials, also weights more than I would have guessed. Not a bad buy for the money but would have been better if it was specific to one type of memory card.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good, but not great, May 2, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CowboyStudio Professional Rubber Sealed, Water Proof Memory Card Case for 4 PCS (Camera)
I like the design and construction of this product, but the cards sit in their "bed" a little loose. They are definitely not secure enough where I would feel confident opening the case over any amount of water or fall because I'd be afraid that the cards would fall out when I opened the case. BUT how often am I over a body of water or a great fall while opening my memory card case? THAT'S NOT THE POINT! haha. the point is: It's an ok case, definitely good for the price, but I wish the cards sat more secure in their beds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Attention to detail just a bit off...., July 7, 2012
By 
Dad Ed (Warren, OH USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CowboyStudio Professional Rubber Sealed, Water Proof Memory Card Case for 4 PCS (Camera)
The attention to detail is missing on the interior although the exterior looks like SWAT equipment. It's just too bad that the dimensions are lacking in depth to allow CF,SD and XD fitting comfortably without feeling that they will be really tight altogether. The concept is great but the interior dimensions are off just enough to bring this down to a 3*.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for SD Cards - Be Warned, January 22, 2013
By 
Charles Martel (Charlotte, NC United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CowboyStudio Professional Rubber Sealed, Water Proof Memory Card Case for 4 PCS (Camera)
No matter what the product description says, this case is not designed to hold SD cards. That is disappointing because I needed this for a trip to a river and want to protect my SD cards.

In addition, the four molded sections of the inserts are not made to the same specifications. The spaces are different sizes when they are supposed to be uniform. So even if your card fits snugly on one side, it may not fit on the other.

Finally, there is no easy modification to make it work for SD cards. If you need this case for SD cards, I would avoid this and purchase a different case. Otherwise, you will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional!!!! Couldn't be better for protecting CF/SD cards, November 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CowboyStudio Professional Rubber Sealed, Water Proof Memory Card Case for 4 PCS (Camera)
I got this case just because I needed "something" and it seemed like it was as good as any. All I can say is "WOW". This thing is solid, when it says "professional rubber sealed, water proof", that is an understatement. This thing is also crush proof and strong enough to withstand ANY possible accidents it might be subjected to. At first I thought it was a bit overkill and couldn't imagine why it is built like it is, but then I supposed if you go on the theory that the camera, lenses, batteries --et al, --everything is 100% replaceable but the actual photos on the memory cards are not (or at least not easily) then it makes sense.

Its about the size of a deck of cards, or mans wallet, and probably weighs about the same. Its a shiny black with the "gasket" a grey/blue color, and the clasp bright yellow. (the pictures are very accurate both in colors and appearance)

Its not difficult to close the "clasp", but not easy either because you have to compress the gasket just enough to make it waterproof.

I would DEFINITELY recommend this to anyone, and absolutely buy it again. No question. Its made exceptionally well and is a very good value. Having said that, I also got this one--Vanguard MCC 21 CF Memory Card Case and for the price--its about 40cents difference in price, the vanguard holds 6 CF and they also have one that is made for SD cards only. THere are other cases still that hold 6 CF and 12 SD which might be more practical. The reality is that for 5-8$ its not going to break the bank. They are all very similar in construction and most likely made by the same company or family anyway.

Thanks for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great case impaired functionality, May 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CowboyStudio Professional Rubber Sealed, Water Proof Memory Card Case for 4 PCS (Camera)
Length:: 1:58 Mins

It's a decent product very solid and protective. I wish they had only SD and CF card slots, so it is no so difficult to stick cards in especially if you are in a hurry, and when are you not in a hurry when switching out memory cards?

(audio recorded on http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B009YCI62Y/ref=cm_cr_ryp_prd_ttl_sol_5 and http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0090XWZB0/ref=cm_cr_ryp_prd_ttl_sol_49)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shoddy clasp, March 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CowboyStudio Professional Rubber Sealed, Water Proof Memory Card Case for 4 PCS (Camera)
I doubt that the clasp will last long as it has a thin metal pole and the yellow clasp itself is of cheap quality. I bought two and I will return them. The pictures show something more sturdy than reality. Tip to manufacturer: make the clasp heavy-duty and you may have a winner. Everything else is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless for SD cards, June 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not recommend it if somebody need it as SD card case. It is completely useless for them. If You need something waterproof buy Pelican instead
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.