Customer Reviews


1,124 Reviews
5 star:
 (443)
4 star:
 (341)
3 star:
 (164)
2 star:
 (74)
1 star:
 (102)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


216 of 261 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spoiler-Free Review
A man awakens in the desert to complete memory loss. The only clue to his past is a picture of a young woman and a metal contraption locked around his forearm. When he arrives in a nearby town of Absolution, trouble isn't far behind. But when strange lights from the sky arrive and begin shooting up the town and abducting its residents, the survivors decide to risk all to...
Published on July 28, 2011 by SciFiChick

versus
244 of 273 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spoiler-Free
You should watch this movie expecting a great check-your-brain-at-the-door flick, and it doesn't disappoint on that count. There are wild west gunfights, love interests, and aliens trying to take over the world -- what more could you ask for?

Daniel Craig, Harrison Ford, and Olivia Wilde are residents of an old western town attacked by what a local preacher...
Published on August 8, 2011 by Joshua Lake


‹ Previous | 1 2113 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

244 of 273 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spoiler-Free, August 8, 2011
This review is from: Cowboys & Aliens (DVD)
You should watch this movie expecting a great check-your-brain-at-the-door flick, and it doesn't disappoint on that count. There are wild west gunfights, love interests, and aliens trying to take over the world -- what more could you ask for?

Daniel Craig, Harrison Ford, and Olivia Wilde are residents of an old western town attacked by what a local preacher calls "demons." Those demons -- what we call aliens -- pillage and plunder, terrifying the locals and motivating them to drop old rivalries to defeat the new threat.

The plot is simple, although it has a couple unexpected twists. You won't walk away with your mind blown, but you also will have enjoyed the show. The aliens are designed well, the characters are intriguing, and the plot has just enough mystery to keep you interested. This movie won't likely be winning any Oscars, but it's a fun film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


216 of 261 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spoiler-Free Review, July 28, 2011
This review is from: Cowboys & Aliens (DVD)
A man awakens in the desert to complete memory loss. The only clue to his past is a picture of a young woman and a metal contraption locked around his forearm. When he arrives in a nearby town of Absolution, trouble isn't far behind. But when strange lights from the sky arrive and begin shooting up the town and abducting its residents, the survivors decide to risk all to hunt the kidnappers and find their loved ones.

Daniel Craig plays the amnesiac who comes to be known as Jake Lonergan. Craig is a stoic, hard man with a soft heart. When his past is revealed it's a bit of a shock, since it seemed to be against his nature. Harrison Ford also stars as Woodrow Dolarhyde, a tough war veteran, now rich and feared by the town and his employees. Sam Rockwell is Doc, a saloon owner who tries to toughen up to save his wife from abduction. And Olivia Wilde is the mysterious and beautiful Ella who seems to know something about Jake. The acting is solid and believable. Each character stands out and made the film worth watching.

The characters and their stories are really what made the film. While the men had rough and tough exteriors, there was still plenty of heart. The feel was definitely a Western meets Alien, with plenty of violence and intense suspense and action. Clever one-liners throughout gave the film some much-needed laughs and light-hearted moments. Fast-paced, edge-of-your-seat excitement from beginning to end, Cowboys & Aliens certainly lives up to the hype.

The story is only roughly based on the original graphic novel. This is a different story, yet still has riveting characters, a mystery, and non-stop adventure. This was the film I was looking forward to most this summer. And I'm happy to say I wasn't disappointed. The Old West setting was charming yet gritty. And the aliens are brutal and extremely powerful, but underestimate humans, so it's not a completely hopeless situation, nor silly. Both genres are treated with respect. Flawlessly blending Western action and gun-slinging with a high-tech alien invasion, this summer blockbuster is completely unique and altogether fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well-made, generally entertaining film, August 2, 2011
By 
This review is from: Cowboys & Aliens (DVD)
"Cowboys & Aliens" is a film with a simple plot with a few surprises. It takes place a few years after the Civil War and Harrison Ford is still complaining about the Union generals at Antietam, as well as having to deal with a spoiled, drunken son. Daniel Craig has amnesia and a strange bracelet clamped on his wrist. And Olivia Wilde is a beautiful, gun-toting woman who seems to know what's going on with Craig, as alien spacecraft start blowing up a town and the area's cowboys, and later robbers and Apaches. The film meanders along for quite some time, but heats up in the second half, as humans band together to try to save humanity from extinction.

"Cowboys & Aliens" has some good action sequences and photography, and the aliens are ugly and scary. The main actors all do a good job, as does Keith Carradine as a sheriff and Sam Rockwell as a non-violent saloon owner who learns to shoot a rifle.

All in all, this is a well-made film, which is generally entertaining, especially in its latter stages. Three and one-half stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Four and One Half Stars for this Western with a Twist!, July 30, 2011
By 
Scott FS (Sacramento, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Cowboys & Aliens (DVD)
No spoilers here, because I hope you'll see this fun film!

The title gives you the main plot. Aliens encounter Earthlings, but they don't do it in the modern era, but back 125 years ago, perhaps 20 years after the Civil War. And why not? Do aliens wait until the present time to decide to take a side trip to good ole Earth?

Playing as a straight Western, which is where most of the movie is set, Cowboys and Aliens is a pretty darn good one. Based upon a graphic novel (fancy comic book), C&A has a great look. It's dirty and dusty, and the small, dying Western town looks just right. Cinematographer Matthew Libatique uses the New Mexico locations to his advantage here. The rugged landscape is forbidding, stark, and desolate.

The plot as a Western isn't terribly original, but it's a decent one. There are good guys in the town, and bad guys, with a ne're-do-well son of the town's richest citizen making trouble as they just seem wont to do.

Then, the aliens show up.

The special effects, some of which are done by Industrial Light and Magic, and as good as you'd expect (although why do aliens always have to be so complex looking? They ooze mucus, they have body parts which open up and reveal surprises, and they just don't look as streamlined as, say, humans do.). Anyway, the special effects are excellent, the flying craft excellent, and the explosions are very well done.

Over all, the film gets four-and-a-half stars. Harrison Ford is looking as craggy as he ages nicely. Daniel Craig is as tough as they come, and Olivia Wilde (best known as one of the docs from 'House') is pretty, thin, and angular as you remember. The pace never falters, and the action non-stop, and there are the predictable surprises that bring a big gasp from the audience. There are a few plot 'huhs?', such as the reason for the aliens moseying down the space trail to Earth, but it is internally consistent if you buy why they are here.

Recommended. A good, solid, big-budget summer blockbuster from Dreamworks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but Needs Something, October 31, 2011
"Cowboys and Aliens" is a fun movie, if not one that'll change your life in any noticeable way. The title pretty much tells you what the movie will be about. Still, it's been so long since we saw a cowboy movie-let alone cowboys who had thoughts that originated above the waist-that I was glad to see men (and woman) a-horseback again.

The movie starts with James Bond waking up in the desert, shoeless, yet accessorized by a really snazzy bracelet. Before he can even stand up, he's accosted by Newly from "Gunsmoke" who, with his not-too-well-coifed or overly bright sons, tries to take him in assuming the bracelet to be an indication of a prison break. Bond can't remember who he is, but he remembers how to fight and, soon, is riding into town in clothing furnished by Newly & Sons.

In the town he discovers that one of the Carradines is the remarkably upstanding sheriff, the preacher is a sincere but somewhat foul-mouthed person I probably should remember and the bar is run by Guy from "Galaxy Quest". If that weren't enough trouble, Mutt2 is terrorizing the town because his father, Indiana Jones, is rich and hard and takes in Apaches. The girl from "Tron: Legacy" is there, too, though it takes a long time to figure out why.

After the old west town is attacked by aliens--who lasso their victims and jerk them into the sky--Bond, Indy and the girl lead a posse of townies, outlaws and Indians into the New Mexico dessert to find them all. If this sounds confusing, it's not, really. But one thing it was, was unpredictable. In spite of the fact that I was thinking the title gave everything away, for the whole movie I never knew what was coming next. When I thought I knew, I was wrong. It turns out that the director who brought us "Elf" really knows how to tell a story.

I only have two quibbles with this movie. 1] there's too much foul language and it rarely ever serves the plot or the characters well. B] For all the writers of this movie (there are 5 listed and rumor has it many more could have been credited) I kept thinking how much better it could have been if Louis L'Amour had been around to write it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good - just not the extended version, December 31, 2011
This review is from: Cowboys & Aliens (DVD)
We saw this in the theater when it first came out and we really liked this one. I think the title scared a lot of people off. It is one of those movies that when you go it you are not going to see a documentary, but a fiction film. You never want to look for too deep of meaning in this kind of film. Overall it was a great ride.

We then rented this via Amazon Prime when some friends came over last week. We watched the extended version thinking we might see some interesting things not in the original. The problem with this is I broke my own rule on deleted scenes. The are deleted for a reason and especially with this one. The Extended version has about 15 minutes more than the theatrical version and it is ALL DIALOGUE.. It slows this movie too far down and really makes it seem to drag.

I would recommend this movie to anyone who wants to see an interesting take on mixing sci-fi and western but please only watch the theatrical release version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most fun in the theater in a long time., September 24, 2011
When did movies stop being truly fun. Indiana Jones? Star Wars? Say what you will about them they were fun, above all else. That's what makes them classics with tons of re-watch-ability.

Cowboys V Aliens is fun. If i had to describe it i would say mix Indiana Jones with a Luis L'Amour book and a Sci-fi war movie and keep the setting and plot believable and interesting you would get C v A. Love It.

P S: Don't watch this if you have no imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weird things happen in Arizona., June 24, 2012
By 
James McDonald (Lancaster, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cowboys & Aliens (DVD)
What if James Bond and Indiana Jones were in a western with some Close Encounters of the Third Kind and Aliens stuff added to it?
Based upon the book by Scott Mitchell Rosenberg.
It is 1873. A man, Jake Lonergan (Daniel Craig), wakes up and finds himself in the middle of a nowhere desert in Arizona Territory. All he sees around him is a picture of a woman and a rock. He is wearing a wristband contraption. He tries to use the rock to get it off his wrist. Three horsemen come up to him and order him to start walking into town. he takes all three of them down.
Well now, he has new clothes, a hat, a gun and a horse to ride into town. And a dog wagging his tail.
Not everyone is friendly with him. He is a stranger in these parts and like every western, he has to fight and prove how much of a cowboy he is.
He finds out he is a Wanted man. Woodrow Dolarhyde (Harrison Ford) comes into town to help his son, Percy (Paul Dano). By the way, Woodrow doesn't like being called a "Colonel". Suddenly, something appears in the dark sky. Jake's wristband thing begins to light up. Lights of something are flying low coming into the center of the town. It's alien space ships.

Also in the cast: Olivia Wilde, Adam Beach, Sam Rockwell, Keith Carradine, Noah Ringer.

Option of language and subtitles: English, Spanish, French. DVS Descriptive Video Service.

Bonus Features: Finding The Story. Outer Space Icon. The Scope of the Spectacle. Audio Commentary with Director Jon Favreau.

Well, this movie did not help with George Lucas getting Indiana Jones 5 into full writing speed, but at least we have a new James Bond movie, SKYFALL, to be released November 9, 2012.

Casino Royale (Two-Disc Widescreen Edition) (2006)

Indiana Jones: The Complete Adventure Collection (Raiders of the Lost Ark / Temple of Doom / Last Crusade / Kingdom of the Crystal Skull)

Close Encounters of the Third Kind (30th Anniversary Ultimate Edition)

Alien Quadrilogy (Alien / Aliens / Alien 3 / Alien Resurrection)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly entertaining throwback to classic 1950's monster movies., September 17, 2011
By 
Ash_M (San Antonio, Texas) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cowboys & Aliens (DVD)
This movie reminded me of the 1950's monster/alien movies that I was raised on, with a hearty side of classic western thrown in. Obviously, this movie has much better special effects than what was available in the 50's, but the tone and acting style of the film was what gave me that feeling. The characters are believable, and any changes in character personalities were completely warranted. There was one plot twist that I totally saw coming, but it didn't detract from my viewing experience. If you're looking for a classic western story with a twist on the villain du jour, this is the film for you.

Overall, it just had kind of a 'classic film' feel to it, and I am definitely looking forward to adding it to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Sci-fi action flick, September 10, 2011
Look if you want an Oscar contending movie on par with last years True Grit than don't watch this movie, but if you are looking for Indiana Jones and James Bond to kick alien butt while riding horses across the Old West while shooting six shooters and chasing a few spaceships then this is the movie for you. I understand why some people didn't like the movie, I'm thinking because they can't suspend the belief that the little guy can sometimes win against the big guy or in this case, bullets v.s. lasers, but the graphics are great the aliens look good and the cast is excellent. Suspend belief for a little while, get some popcorn and watch some Cowboys kick some alien butt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2113 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cowboys & Aliens
Cowboys & Aliens by Jon Favreau (DVD - 2011)
$14.98 $4.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.