Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great little strobe
This is a fun little strobe. I initially planned on using it strictly as a background light in addition to my main studio strobes but I have found it also serves well as a no frills, cheap, lightweight key/main light. It would make a cheap entry for someone getting into off camera lighting. It just plugs into the wall so you don't have to worry about charging/changing...
Published on January 10, 2012 by Mark A. Foster

versus
22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars easy to use - not all that bright
If you are going to use this a supplemental flash it is great. If you are using as a addition to a strobe setup it just isn't bright enough to wash out a white background - or to color a dark one with the color filters (that do fit).

It is good enough to knock down shadows - but not to wipe them.
Published on December 30, 2011 by Michael Sandler


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great little strobe, January 10, 2012
By 
Mark A. Foster (Rochester, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cowboystudio Backlight Strobe Flash Studio Photography Kit (Camera)
This is a fun little strobe. I initially planned on using it strictly as a background light in addition to my main studio strobes but I have found it also serves well as a no frills, cheap, lightweight key/main light. It would make a cheap entry for someone getting into off camera lighting. It just plugs into the wall so you don't have to worry about charging/changing any batteries.

To use this effectively you will need a camera with a manual mode that allows you to set aperture and shutter speed. To trigger the flash you can either use your camera's flash or the included sync cord assuming your camera will accept a standard flash sync plug. I took some test shots with a Canon 5D mkII using the included 10 foot sync cord. I found that a shutter speed of 1/200th worked well. Any higher than that and you will start to see part of the picture fade to black because the shutter and flash become out of sync. There is no power adjustment so if you do use this as a main light you will need to control the exposure by changing your aperture, ISO, or distance between the strobe and your subject. I have a light meter but I have found it is just as quick to guess the exposure and take some test shots. There is a hole/screw to insert and secure an umbrella but the stand base is too small to support an umbrella without tipping over. You can fix this by either weighing down the legs or using a larger stand. The adapter/socket can be attached to any light stand with a standard mount.

I have only done a few test shots so I can't comment yet on the strobe's longevity/output power with continued use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I used 2 this product at a wedding, March 8, 2011
By 
A. Turner (NYC, New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cowboystudio Backlight Strobe Flash Studio Photography Kit (Camera)
WOW what a powerful little light. no longer do you need a $1000 package to fill a volume of space. This little inconspicuous light was perfect for stashing into a dark corner of a big beautiful church to help fill my frames with light. I was amazed at how well it worked. Just keep it away from the wall to avoid the "ICE CREAM CONE" effect of the light registering on the nearby walls... lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This thing is awesome, September 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cowboystudio Backlight Strobe Flash Studio Photography Kit (Camera)
Dont just think about this as a background light
I recently used this at a big wedding for a fill light on large groups shots .
I've also been using this as a second light in the studio for portraits
You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lot of light, a lot of nicely diffused light, good quality components, and a bonus use, August 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cowboystudio Backlight Strobe Flash Studio Photography Kit (Camera)
Let's start with what you get (and what each piece is worth):

- A mini light stand, $12

- An AC socket and cord, $6

- A bright strobe, with diffuser, that can be triggered using either light from another flash or the included sync cord, like the Studiohut 45W Master Slave Strobe flash with sync cord , $20

So, the individual pieces are worht $38 and you get them for $10 off.

Is it worth it, you ask? Absolutely, I respond. The light produced is bright and even. The AC cord is long enough that you can get the light well away from a wall. The stand is quite sturdy, well up to the task of holding the light and maybe a small umbrella.

As a rough guide, using this light with the green filter from the Adorama Color Filter Set illuminating a dark beige wall resulted in a correct exposure of f/13 at 1/100 (not that shutter speed matters in this case) for ISO 200 with my camera 12' from the wall. If I want to add extra diffusion (really no need) or possibly drop the light output a stop or two then this set works very nicely with my 25-Inch Umbrella.

And the bonus use... You've probably already guessed. I've found this light, along with either a blue or green filter, when shined on a smooth wall, gives you a "green screen" without the green screen. Using the setup described above with a subject standing six feet from the wall, a NEEWER® 24" 60*60cm Portable Professional Softbox Kit slightly to the front of them and to the side, and my camera six feet further away, results in great chromakey images. I can drag them into FXhome Ltd PhotoKey 5 Pro and get the background removed perfectly in well under a minute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cowboy Backlight, December 29, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cowboystudio Backlight Strobe Flash Studio Photography Kit (Camera)
Nice, does what is should to illuminate the background. You definitely should get the gels to go with it to add color.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worked great for me...., April 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cowboystudio Backlight Strobe Flash Studio Photography Kit (Camera)
Worked great for me....with a bit of effort....
I wanted a strobe to do some home smoke and macro photos.
Worked great and for the money you cannot beat this. Yes, there are no advanced settings. Yes, there are no instructions. I did take some rather spectacular smoke photos using this though. I googled and youtubed until I found the info that I needed. Took about an hour or two as I'm kind of a photography newb and didn't exactly know what I was looking for but I eventually figured it out.

Here are some tips for Pentax K200 users.

1) You will need to get a hot shoe adapter to connect to the strobe.
Pentax Hot Shoe Adapter 2P - for PC Connection with SF, PZ & ZX Series Cameras worked for me. Amazon sells this for about $45. I got mine at bhphotovideo for $30.

2) Assemble the strobe unit. This part is self-explanatory. No more
difficult than setting up a tripod, really. There are some instructions at
the cowboy studio web page for this part.

3) Once assembled take a look at the head of the unit. I'm calling it the head but there may be another name that I'm unaware of. I'm referring to the part that holds the flash bulb. On the side of the head there is a red button. About an inch to the side above the red button is a hole for inserting the cord that connects the strobe to your K200.

4) This head unit is, roughly, a cylinder. On one end is the flash bulb itself. At the other end is the screw in socket part that
connects the head to the tripod stand thing. On this screw in socket part there is a switch that turns the unit on and off. It looks kind of like
a light switch that could be used on a kitchen stove light. Looks exactly like the button for my stove light, in fact.

5) Take the hot shoe from 1) and attach it to the top of your K200.
It may not be immediately evident how to do this but play around with it.
There is really only one way that it slides in and works. Google dslr hot shoe and look at the pictures if you need to.

6) Plug in your strobe unit to your home electrical socket. Turn it on using the oven light switch described above. Look at the bulb. When turned off but plugged in there is an orange light showing. When turned on and plugged in
there is an orange light and a green light showing. We want it to be turned on so we should have the orange and green light showing at this point.

7) Okay, now for the first test. Turn the bulb away from your eyes/face towards the wall, maybe. The unit is now plugged into your wall electricity and the bulb is showing both the orange and green lights. Press the red button mentioned in 3). The strobe should flash. Horrah.

8) Turn on your K200. Switch the dial to manual mode and make sure that flash mode is on. This is done from the fn menu.

9) Connect your camera to the strobe as follows. Using the cable included
with the unit, plug one end into the hole on the head of the unit that is about one inch away from the red button. Take the other end of the cable and plug it into the hot shoe that is now attached to your K200. There is only one way this works as the plugs on the cord ends are of totally different types.

10) Now you're ready to go. Take a picture. The strobe should flash. Horrah horrah.

Hope this helps. For non pentax K200 users the setup should be similar but
not sure about the hot shoe part.

Peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars easy to use - not all that bright, December 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cowboystudio Backlight Strobe Flash Studio Photography Kit (Camera)
If you are going to use this a supplemental flash it is great. If you are using as a addition to a strobe setup it just isn't bright enough to wash out a white background - or to color a dark one with the color filters (that do fit).

It is good enough to knock down shadows - but not to wipe them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great LIght, September 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cowboystudio Backlight Strobe Flash Studio Photography Kit (Camera)
This is just what I was looking for. An easily portable light for backgrounds with a stand. It goes together and comes apart easily and is just what i needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They work good to light backgrounds, December 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cowboystudio Backlight Strobe Flash Studio Photography Kit (Camera)
This review is one of those "for the money" types... these are really good "for the money".

No, they are not Alien Bees or Einstiens or higher end lights, but they do work. They recharge very slowly so you need to not blow through them or over heat them.

Other than that, they are fine.

Just buy it, you know you want it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Little Strobe, December 29, 2011
This review is from: Cowboystudio Backlight Strobe Flash Studio Photography Kit (Camera)
This little setup is a fantastic performer. I've used it to create rim lighting on my subjects and to fill the background. For the price, you can't go wrong. The stand is solid for the full extension of the height and packs up compact for travel. The socket is plastic, but with care, you've got a product that will last you a long time and at a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cowboystudio Backlight Strobe Flash Studio Photography Kit
$35.99 $28.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.