Cracked Up to Be and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $19.99
  • Save: $11.52 (58%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 14 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: This item has been gently used.
Add to Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Cracked Up to Be Paperback – Bargain Price, July 20, 2011


See all 11 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Library Binding
"Please retry"
Paperback, Bargain Price
"Please retry"
$8.47
$2.99 $1.45

This is a bargain book and quantities are limited. Bargain books are new but could include a small mark from the publisher and an Amazon.com price sticker identifying them as such. Details


Special Offers and Product Promotions


Frequently Bought Together

Cracked Up to Be + Some Girls Are + Fall for Anything
Price for all three: $16.47

Some of these items ship sooner than the others.

Buy the selected items together
  • Some Girls Are $4.00
  • Fall for Anything $4.00

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Product Details

  • Paperback: 224 pages
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin; First Edition edition (July 20, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B002MAQT4W
  • Product Dimensions: 8.2 x 5.4 x 0.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 8 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (111 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #992,718 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Grade 10 Up—Parker Fadley has it all-head cheerleader, honor roll student, Winter Ball Queen, perfect boyfriend, Chris. Then at a wild "school's out" party, she catches her friend Jessica's boyfriend kissing another girl and tells Jessica, who retaliates by hooking up with an older guy who crashed the party. The next day Jessica is missing, and Parker, suspecting that she could have done something to help her, nosedives into a downward spiral, drinking heavily, and attempting suicide in a motel room. All of this is revealed in flashback as Parker begins her senior year at her Catholic high school. She cuts class, goes to school drunk, ignores assignments, and goes out of her way to make everyone leave her alone. New guy Jake, intrigued by her self-destructive determination to be ostracized, persists in trying to get inside her head. The problem is that what's inside Parker's head is a fear she can't even admit to herself—that she knows what happened to Jessica and could have stopped it. Summers creates a gritty world of teenagers living on the edge, complete with explosive interactions and rocky relationships without getting mired in angst. Parker narrates the story, darkly fascinating in her turmoil as she slowly lets herself remember details from the drunken night of Jessica's disappearance. In her relationships with Jake, Chris, archrival Becky, her parents, and even her dog, Parker struggles with self-revulsion and a desperate need for love and acceptance. Marked by explicit language and frank sexuality, this compelling read is taut with tension.—Joyce Adams Burner, formerly at Hillcrest Library, Prairie Village, KS
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

Review

"Courtney Summers is a writer who pulls no punches and Parker Fadley is a character you won't forget.  Together, they create a novel that will keep you on edge, turning pages long into the night."
--K.L Going, author of Saint Iggy
 
"Told in beautifully rendered, spare, haunting prose...Courtney Summers has written a remarkable debut.  I thought about this one long after I'd reached the end,"
--Alyson Noël, author of Saving Zoë
 
"Summers expertly navigates the dangerous waters of high school, leading her readers on until she reveals the grim secret that led her troubled heroine to the brink of suicide. Fans of Lois Duncan and Chrisotpher Pike will appreciate this dark tale."
--Martha O'Connor, author of Bitch Posse
 
"Cracked Up To Be gives you Parker, her world, her friends, straight up, no chaser.  You won't forget her."
--Kathe Koja author of Kissing The Bee

More About the Author

Courtney Summers lives and writes in Canada. She is the author of CRACKED UP TO BE, SOME GIRLS ARE, FALL FOR ANYTHING and THIS IS NOT A TEST.

Customer Reviews

It's rare when I read a book that I cannot put down.
CB
Her writing style is brilliant and addicting, especially her talent to create realistic dialog and characterization.
Casey "A Passion for Books"
Cracked Up To Be is one of those stories that makes you want to keep reading, even after the story has ended.
Miss Victoria Ramage

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

45 of 47 people found the following review helpful By Mint910 VINE VOICE on December 23, 2008
Format: Paperback
I have no idea how to express my feelings about this book. It's powerful, emotional, important, and really spoke to me.

The book takes place a good time after some sort of upsetting event has occurred. Everyone has gotten over it to the best they could except for Parker and that's because she finds herself guilty for some reason and no one else knows about it.

When reading this book you literally see Parker fighting with her memories. Everyday things bring up the memories of that night and we only get a little taste before they are pushed back out of her mind. Because of the way this is written you can't put the book down and also can't pinpoint what this upsetting event is. You can guess, but you are probably wrong.

I was so wrapped up in this book that in the end when that night is fully explained and I found out just what has happened, I sat up and said out loud, "Oh My God" for me that moment of understanding Parker was very powerful. Everything came full circle and I found myself identifying (to a less severe degree) with her feelings of guilt and loss of control.

This book is amazing. Just read it, immediately. I could talk about the tons of other things I liked, like Parker's sassy Veronica Mars-like attitude, the great secondary characters etc. but I rather you read the book and fall in love with it just the way I did!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful By Rachel Kramer Bussel VINE VOICE on January 5, 2009
Format: Paperback
Parker Fadley is brash, rude, and intent on alienating everyone around her, from her parents to her friend and ex-boyfriend, to the new kid, Jake, and her former cheerleading squad members. Yet the ruder she is, the more people take a liking to her, and even her teachers and guidance counselor give her many second chances. Why she acts the way she does is revealed in flashbacks in this excellent novel, and even as we find out what has made Parker the way she is, we still cheer for her.

The slowly unraveling mystery/crime story is shown as Parker starts to collapse, her carefully crafted world falling apart. It's often hard to tell what she really feels because she's so busy trying to keep those who care about her at bay, with plans to escape. She hates herself so much, yet doesn't do much to make herself likable.

Courtney Summers has written an outstanding first novel with an unusual, guilt-ridden heroine who is dealing with issues far beyond her years. She's tender and tough and when she is forced to confront her feelings, whether for Jake, Chris, or her dog Bailey, she starts to slowly crumble. As she owns up to her feelings, as dark and ugly as they are, she starts to see that there is life beyond that one fateful night. I don't want to give too much away, but this book is definitely worth reading, but be prepared to read straight through.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful By Libro Joven - (Blogspot) on March 8, 2010
Format: Paperback
I now remember why I was reluctant to read this book. Anyway, it's time to talk a little about it: this book made me think a lot about Sarah Dessen. Especially Just Listen. You get the mysteriously depressed (and self-destructive, in this case) girl, the alienated friends and family, the sensitive New Boy... and a Mystery. You don't know what happened to Parker to make her life so miserable, and that will be revealed in bits and pieces.

I was interested in the story, I thought Parker was deep enough a character, I loved the dog (obviously), but I couldn't find it in myself to really care about other characters, specifically Jake (aka, the sensitive New Boy).

And I found this book too depressing for confort. Nothing good happens to Parker ever. It just doesn't. Bad things happen all the time, her life is sheer crap, and all that. But nice things help lightening the mood a bit in this kind of hard-core dramas, and they are totally MIA in this book.

So I would reccommend this book to someone who is in deep need of drama and is not severely depressed (it definitely wouldn't help them at all).

And, by the way: regarding as all the Awful Stuff in books always happens in allegedly Great Parties... Well, who would ever want to go to one of those? XD
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Lori VINE VOICE on January 16, 2010
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I don't know if this would have been a book that I would have picked up on my own. I bought it because of all the great ratings and reviews. I wanted to love it I really did but...it just didn't work out that way.

The writing was superb. I had no problems with that. Courtney Summers is very talented. To enjoy this book fully you had to sympathize with the main character, Parker. I found it very hard to sympathize with her. Almost impossible. She pushes everyone away and then gets upset that she has no one. She is mean to everyone and she acts pretty disturbed throughout the entire book. Which I understand is the point but I just could not like her. I tried! And I kept asking myself through the book, "Why is no one sending this girl to a shrink?!"

The plot moves along swiftly. You get Parker's back story in small snippets and flashbacks. The whole story doesn't come out until the very end of the book and then every positive feeling I had about Parker went out the window. I'm not going to spoil anything. Just read the book.

Overall, I really didn't know how I felt about this book. Like I said Summers is a very talented author but I could not rate the book too high because I didn't like Parker. I think everyone should still give this book a chance. Don't let my review change your mind. Most people love it. I just have mixed feelings.

[...]
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?