Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for math subject test
I have to say this is really a wonderful book for GRE math subject test. Based on my experiences, I think it covers nearly all the topics in the real test. I cannot find anything better than this book in my preparation. Of course you need the office sample from ETS but we all know it's far from enough. This book provides a quite detailed overview of all the topics you...
Published on November 12, 2011 by alazanensis

versus
32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Really the Only Guide Available
The 4th edition adds about 50 or so more problems in the Additional Topics section. There are a brief couple pages added regarding Graph Theory and Algorithms but nothing substantial. However, there are a few typos in the newly added material. One notable example is that Contraposition is mislabled as Contradiction. The 4th edition is not significantly different from...
Published on April 11, 2010 by William R. Chen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Really the Only Guide Available, April 11, 2010
This review is from: Cracking the GRE Mathematics Subject Test, 4th Edition (Paperback)
The 4th edition adds about 50 or so more problems in the Additional Topics section. There are a brief couple pages added regarding Graph Theory and Algorithms but nothing substantial. However, there are a few typos in the newly added material. One notable example is that Contraposition is mislabled as Contradiction. The 4th edition is not significantly different from the 3rd edition other than the aforementioned changes.

The main complaint regarding Leduc's guide is a lack of exercises. Having taken the Mathematics Subject GRE just yesterday as of the writing of this review, I can honestly say that the major pitful encountered by most, including me, on the exam was the time constraint - an absurd 2 hours 50 minutes for 66 somewhat tricky to somewhat impossible to solve in 2.5 minutes mathematics questions.

The best use of this guide is to serve as a nexus for your studies, and augment your studies with a lot of other books and exercises. Nonetheless , since this guide is not terribly expensive, I recommend the purchase if you don't already have the 3rd edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for math subject test, November 12, 2011
This review is from: Cracking the GRE Mathematics Subject Test, 4th Edition (Paperback)
I have to say this is really a wonderful book for GRE math subject test. Based on my experiences, I think it covers nearly all the topics in the real test. I cannot find anything better than this book in my preparation. Of course you need the office sample from ETS but we all know it's far from enough. This book provides a quite detailed overview of all the topics you need to know.

I didn't give this book 5 star because there is a serious problem of this book you must be cautious of. It is that the problems in the actual test are far more difficult than the problems in this book. It indeed covers all the topics but not deep enough for the real test.
For the calculus, probability, complex analysis, number theory part, it probably provides all you need but you still need to do more difficult exercises besides this book.
For the linear algebra part, I think it should emphasize more on the theories of linear transformation and vector space. There wouldn't be any calculation problems of linear algebra in the test: nearly all the problems in this part are theoretical.
For topics like abstract algebra, topology, real analysis, if you want to have a good score, say over 80%, you definitely need to read Rudin' "Principles of mathematical analysis"(chapter 1-8), Munkres' "Topology"(first 3 or 4 chapters) and an abstract algebra text book (I would recommend "Abstract Algebra: A First Course" by Dan Saracino ). There are more problems in these 3 branches in the real test than in the sample posted by ETS. (But I don't think you need to know much about Lebesgue's theory although this book discussed about it).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Essential, but very short on problems, November 16, 2011
This review is from: Cracking the GRE Mathematics Subject Test, 4th Edition (Paperback)
I took the GRE subject test twice. The first time I studied using this book alone, and that was just not enough. There simply aren't enough problems in the book. The second time I took the test, I did much better -- make no mistake, the Princeton Review book helped, but what really made the difference was digging up my old calculus textbook and just doing large quantities of problems as quickly as possible. Without more problems, you really just don't acquire the kind of pacing necessary to succeed on the actual subject exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Extremely simplified but perhaps better than nothing, May 23, 2011
This review is from: Cracking the GRE Mathematics Subject Test, 4th Edition (Paperback)
If you are thinking about buying this book , then most likely you are about to take the GRE SUBJECT TEST IN MATH.The high ranked and better graduate programs in the U.S require it, with a lot of low ranked and intermediate graduate programs not requiring it.The main problem with this book is that the actual problems that are solved and discussed are much simpler than than actual GRE SUBJECT TEST IN MATH.This is a major flaw that cannot be overlooked.
On the ETS website there is an actual test that was administered in 2005.A comparison of this test and a practise test at the end of this book shows great differences in the actual difficulty level.Needless to say the real ETS test is much harder.Another problem with this book is that many advanced topics do not get realistic treatment.Most notable are Real Analysis,Topology,Number Theory, and Abstract Algebra .Therefore it would be naive on the part of prospective test takers to think that this book represents an actual MATH SUBJECT TEST.The only worth this book has is that it makes the reader get used to multiple choice Math questions, and this is why it is perhaps better than nothing.As far as the actual MATH SUBJECT TEST is concerened,the people who score high on this test are mainly foreigners who are graduates of overseas Universities. In the United States in the great majority of undergraduate math programs it is a known fact that the stress is not on the most difficult problems.Ironically the GRE SUBJECT TEST IN MATH does stress the most difficult problems.As just one example supporting this fact look at question #51 on test available on the ETS website where it has the integral of the greatest integer function multiplied by the exponential function.Now realistically when was the last time you saw the integral of the greatest integer function on a calculus test?? Likewise the Actual MATH GRE SUBJECT TEST is full of very tricky questions.If you are about to graduate (or have graduated) from a U.S mathematics undergraduate program , you will need a major attitude adjustment to score high on this test.My advice to you would be to seek out the more difficult problems in undergraduate mathematics and solve as many of them as you can.It is perhaps after that stage that you could think about buying this book in order to get used to the multiple choice format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, but..., October 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cracking the GRE Mathematics Subject Test, 4th Edition (Paperback)
This book is overall helpful, thoough it does not explain everything in great details.
By the way, there are too many errors in the Review problems for chapter 7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, you should get it...IF you are taking the mathematics subject test, January 29, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cracking the GRE Mathematics Subject Test, 4th Edition (Paperback)
First of all, let's establish what this book is. It is a guide for someone preparing for the GRE mathematics subject test. This is NOT a guide for someone preparing for the math portion of the general GRE exam. Therefore, if you...

1. Do not know the difference between GRE subject exams and the general GRE exam
2. Plan to go to grad school for something that does not require complex math
3. Don't really like math
4. Have never been been called a math nerd
5. Have never taken delight in being called a math nerd
6. Were popular in high school

...then this is probably not the book you are looking for. In that case, you probably should be looking for one of the many available guides to the math portion of the general GRE exam. If that is you, do not buy this book, but if you do happen to accidentally buy this book, PLEASE do not rate this book on Amazon or elsewhere. I'm not going to bash prep books for the general GRE exam for not adequately preparing me for the GRE mathematics subject exam, so please do not bash this book for not properly preparing you for the general GRE exam. Not only is it unfair to the Princeton Review and people considering this book, you'll make yourself look really dumb. To echo Michael Scott's advice to Dwight Schrute, don't be an idiot.

If, however, the six things I mentioned above do not apply to you (as they do not to me), then this probably is the book you want.

There are criticisms one could make of this book. However, because this seems to be the only book of its kind and because it is relatively cheap, there really is no reason not to buy this book if you are preparing for the GRE mathematics subject test. If you are someone who didn't major in math like me---I majored in engineering, I think this book is especially helpful since it exposes you to areas of math that you might have missed as a non-math major. The book isn't as comprehensive as it could be, but I do think it is a fairly effective while managing to be succinct. It should at least alert you to what particular math skills you need to improve on before taking the test. From there, you can find resources on the web or buy inexpensive math books that expand on the particular skill. But this book itself is a dense source of examples of how to answer questions like those that appear on the GRE subject test. (I've taken the test once already when I was considering grad school but ending up not applying. I was fairly happy with my score, but I hope to do better this time as I am again intending to apply to grad school. I didn't have this book the first time I took it.)

In short, if you are going to take the mathematics subject test, this book is something you should buy as part of your preparation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of the same + Mistakes, Mistakes, Mistakes, April 24, 2010
By 
S. Mirkin "Mir-king" (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cracking the GRE Mathematics Subject Test, 4th Edition (Paperback)
Same as the old copy - even includes some of the old errors. That said, great concise preparation material. This+official tests and you are ready to go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great review, June 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cracking the GRE Mathematics Subject Test, 4th Edition (Paperback)
Great review for the math GRE subject test. You can't really learn well enough from it, though, if you don't already know the material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The only one there is, December 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cracking the GRE Mathematics Subject Test, 4th Edition (Paperback)
Good summary of a four year math degree. I tested myself before and after using this book and saw an improvement of 15 percentile points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book of its kind on the marker., November 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cracking the GRE Mathematics Subject Test, 4th Edition (Paperback)
I have been using this book since it was first published to help others prepare for the GRE Math Subject Test. The author not only knows mathematics, but he also understands the big ideas underlying mathematics. His crystal clear topical reviews and challenging problems are just what a student or instructor needs to stay on track or the exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cracking the GRE Mathematics Subject Test, 4th Edition
Cracking the GRE Mathematics Subject Test, 4th Edition by Steven A. Leduc (Paperback - February 23, 2010)
$18.99 $11.86
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.