Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book For Understanding How Your Body Functions
I originally bought this book because of the title thinking that it would help with my metabolism and give me answers to how to speed it up. In that regard the title was misleading but as I later learned while reading this book that metabolism refers to much more than how fast your body burns calories. Anyone serious about making their body the #1 priority and giving it...
Published on December 2, 2007 by Joan Hooyman

versus
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cracking through the Code
Overall the books reads like a comprehensive health book with Metabolism discussion points. I liked the way the supplements were recommended ie doses and impact on the body. There is a good summary box on p 45-47 that discusses metabolism and enzymes. This section promised additional information later in the book. Well Chapter 12 picked up that discussion and I thought...
Published on September 23, 2006 by lean_bot


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book For Understanding How Your Body Functions, December 2, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cracking the Metabolic Code (Paperback)
I originally bought this book because of the title thinking that it would help with my metabolism and give me answers to how to speed it up. In that regard the title was misleading but as I later learned while reading this book that metabolism refers to much more than how fast your body burns calories. Anyone serious about making their body the #1 priority and giving it what it needs to function properly and increase health longevity should read this book. Excellent, excellent, excellent. I could never be in the medical field but I understood enough to learn about the interactions of the body system as it refers to your health. The supplement list is great (I would love to know if there is an updated version in case new products are available). Also the test guide to learn where your problem areas are is very useful.

All in all 5 star, I only wish there were more doctors like Dr. LaValle to assist people in there quest for optimal health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor recommended if you want to know it all., December 20, 2006
This review is from: Cracking the Metabolic Code (Paperback)
This book is clear and complete overview of all aspects of how your body interacts with the environment--food, toxins, allergies. It would be overwhelming except for his style to go over the same issues from different angles so you get a clear picture. Though not for everyone, it is clear and easy to access. I have learned a lot from reading it--many gaps in my knowledge base filled in even though I have been using nutritional approaches to medicine for over 25 years. Savor it slowly and the reward to finding the "Keys" to good health will be many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favorite Book, September 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cracking the Metabolic Code (Paperback)
This book is at the top of my favorites. I have extensively researched health and alternatives for more than a decade and this book ties all of the missing information of the "why's" in a neat bundle. It is excellent and fairly easily understood. I now carry it with me everywhere, open it every chance I have to reread a short passage... to have it really sink in...It has that "Ahha! I really get it now!" factor in almost every sub-chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is great - helps across the board, January 23, 2004
By 
Chookie (Asheville, NC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cracking the Metabolic Code (Paperback)
Somebody finally put it all together. I've been looking for a book that explains all the systems and components of a healthy lifestyle and metabolism. It's worth the work! I feel much more confident about choosing what I eat and how I live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, December 21, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cracking the Metabolic Code (Paperback)
Dr. LaValle book is a great resourse. As a fellow chiropractor and Certified Clinical Nutritionist (CCN), I have had the privledge of listening to Dr. LaValle speak in person. He's one of the best. This book follows suit and is very detailed and thorough. It would be an excellent reference for a doctor and yet has enough details for a "non doctor" to follow and implement a plan towards better health and know the reasons why! The book has all kinds of information to help people get the background they need to understand and beceome healthy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cracking through the Code, September 23, 2006
By 
lean_bot (Orange County, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cracking the Metabolic Code (Paperback)
Overall the books reads like a comprehensive health book with Metabolism discussion points. I liked the way the supplements were recommended ie doses and impact on the body. There is a good summary box on p 45-47 that discusses metabolism and enzymes. This section promised additional information later in the book. Well Chapter 12 picked up that discussion and I thought there would be more beneficial information but it was not that great like the summary. Chapter 4 presented a simple method for detecting subclinical hyper/hypo thyroidism. Its noninvasive and you can do this at home.

Chapter 5: Balancing your Adrenals

Discusses stress on the adrenal gland. There is a life event stress scale (based upon a 1967 info) that let you measure the amount of stress in your life and provides an indicator on becoming ill within a 2 year time frame. This scale is a great start to measure stress but clearly it should be updated to include the newer type stess that we encounter during the modern years. ie What is the stress level when you lose your blackberry?

Chapter 8 Detoxifying Your Liver

On page 192 there is a great discussion points on appetite and food allergies. Another book is referenced for further research which currently has a 5 star Amazon rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not formatted well for Kindle, October 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Several of the tables are missing data - cut off to the right and several of the pages are truncated. Searching the index doesn't work and neither does the glossary at the end of the book. Because this book is full of valuable information it would be most helpful if the table of contents and the index worked correctly. Also if the tables could be read correctly. It is slightly better if it is read on my netbook, but still cuts off the bottom of pages etc. Until these issues are resolved - get the book in paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, March 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cracking the Metabolic Code (Paperback)
I thought this book was very informative, although author relies heavily on supplements. Also, there are a lot of scientific terms in the book (which contains a glossary), so it might not be for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skip The Prescriptions, Try Livin' La Vida Low-Carb Instead!, June 29, 2008
This review is from: Cracking the Metabolic Code (Paperback)
When I interviewed the author of this book for my podcast show recently, I was pleased to hear that he understands the critical importance of implementing a low-carb strategy for people who are dealing with obesity, metabolic syndrome, diabetes and the like because it is the only way to "crack the code" to restore your body to maximum health. Far too often the medical community would rather choose to put someone with these conditions on a risky and oftentimes dangerous prescription pill rather than implementing a natural dietary routine to bring the condition under control. Thankfully, Dr. LaValle is NOT the kind of physician who thinks this way and instead uses specific supplements and low-carb foods to produce the necessary changes in health that patients are desperately seeking. There's no more fighting with your body to get it well when you unlock these keys to optimal health that Dr. LaValle shares.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting information about the endocrine system, December 8, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cracking the Metabolic Code (Paperback)
If you have a thyroid, diabetes, hormone issue (who doesn't!), then get this book. This book will always be near me for reference. The author has provided great information in a reader-friendly manner regarding your metabolism and what makes it work. A very nice reference for minerals and vitamins and what conditions that they help humans toward wellness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cracking the Metabolic Code
Cracking the Metabolic Code by James B. LaValle (Paperback - December 24, 2003)
$19.95 $15.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.