Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rob Thomas Explores a Fresh New Sound with "cradlesong"
After reuniting with matchbox twenty for 2007's "Exile on Mainstream," Rob Thomas returns to his solo work with his new offering "cradlesong," and the result is a fresh mix of tunes that blends 80's synth-pop with today's current pop sound. The album plays out as such.

1. Her Diamonds- 8/10
The first single off the album, "Diamonds" is a feel-good...
Published on June 30, 2009 by Michael Yovkovich

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Slump...
First, I adore Rob Thomas. He's one of my favorite song writers and certainly an amazing singer. I've seen Matchbox five times and I saw his solo show three times--I even paid for a VIP package so I could meet him. So yes, I am a major fan. But, to me, this second album of solo material just lacks the punch and depth from his first work.

"Her Diamonds" is...
Published on July 16, 2009 by J. Jenkins


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rob Thomas Explores a Fresh New Sound with "cradlesong", June 30, 2009
This review is from: Cradlesong (Audio CD)
After reuniting with matchbox twenty for 2007's "Exile on Mainstream," Rob Thomas returns to his solo work with his new offering "cradlesong," and the result is a fresh mix of tunes that blends 80's synth-pop with today's current pop sound. The album plays out as such.

1. Her Diamonds- 8/10
The first single off the album, "Diamonds" is a feel-good midtempo number that builds to a rousing chorus. A great summer song that is sure to continue growing at radio.

2. Gasoline- 10/10
Starts off with a digitized drum beat before breaking into an all out 80's power pop ballad that is brought up nicely to today's modern pop standards. The chorus is very simple, yet extremely catchy.

3. Give Me The Meltdown- 9/10
The jangling guitar riffs during the verses of this song remind me very much so of David Bowie's "Let's Dance." This is an uptempo number with solid backing vocals and an extremely catchy chorus. Once again, the 80's synth-pop influence is present in this one. This is sure to be a favorite at Thomas' live shows.

4. Someday- 9/10
A beautifully arranged song with heartfelt lyrics, "Someday" represents what Rob Thomas does best as an artist. An emotional mid-tempo ballad with a memorable piano riff echoing throughout and a solid sing-a-long portion at the end, this is a sure-fire single.

5. Mockingbird- 10/10
Plain and simple, one of the best uptempo songs Rob Thomas has put out to date. The verses build up amazingly well to an undeniably catchy chorus filled with solid backing vocals and the on-point emotional delivery of Thomas' phrasing. The lyrics in this song are extremely easy to relate to and the 80's synth-pop is once again present throughout.

6. Real World 09'- 7/10
For those like me expecting this to be a new interpretation of the hit Thomas had with matchbox twenty in 1997, you will probably be a bit disappointed to hear that it is not. "Real World 09'" is an uptempo synth-pop song that is pleasant enough, but suffers from having so many catchy songs surrounding it.

7. Fire On The Mountain- 9/10
This song starts off with an almost tribal drumbeat that keeps the pace slow through the verses before building up to a soaring chorus. The guitar riffs during the chorus give this song an almost epic feel to it.

8. Hard On You- 7/10
A pleasant midtempo number that maintains a very relaxing sound throughout.

9. Still Ain't Over You- 8/10
This is a completely new type of sound for Rob Thomas. An uptempo number that builds well to a chorus that is chalk full of searing guitar riffs and emotional phrasing.

10. Natural- 8/10
A haunting midtempo tune that's tone can be best described as raw emotion.

11. Snowblind- 8/10
A beautifully written midtempo song with solid backing vocals.

12. Wonderful- 9/10
This song melds together big band instruments, searing guitar riffs, and well crafted melodies seamlessly. The result is one of the most unique and fresh songs on the album.

13. Cradlesong- 9/10
A song that begins with nothing more than an acoustic guitar, Rob Thomas tugs at the heartstrings with this emotional tearjerker. Throw in some beautiful backing vocals and amazing lyrics and you have a truly exceptional song.

14. Getting Late- 7/10
This slow tempo folksy ballad is a nice reflective tune to end the album with.

BONUS TRACKS

15. Years From Now- 8/10
Another solid midtempo number that Thomas fans will definitely want in their collection.

16. Remembered Well- 8/10
Similar to the big band sound of "Wonderful" but slowed down to an almost 50's style sound, this is another solid midtempo tune.

After the success of 2005's "Something to Be..." you have to give Rob Thomas credit for not sticking to the same formula with "cradlesong." Rob takes a creative leap of faith with his latest release, and the result is a fresh batch of songs that are sure to get tons of airplay over the next couple of years. "cradlesong" serves as another entertaining chapter in the story of one of the best songwriters in the business today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed!, July 3, 2009
By 
This review is from: Cradlesong (Audio CD)
I disagree that he's breaking any new ground on this one (he's not) but I don't WANT any new ground broken! I am LOVING this CD - a few tracks caught me making an audible approving comment - on the first listen!

If you are a RT (or MB20) fan, you cannot go wrong with this one - it's a great listen.

It seems that there is so little going on right now to make people happy - this CD makes me happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Winner from Rob Thomas!, July 1, 2009
By 
This review is from: Cradlesong (Audio CD)
With Cradlesong, Rob Thomas once again demonstrates that he is among the top songwriters and musicians of a generation. This album will appeal to a vast audience with its vintage pop inspired sound and lyrics that are widely relevant to everyday issues that people face in this world, like crazy politics and faltering relationships. Don't expect a Matchbox Twenty or Something to Be sound from this album; Rob is expanding his talents and walking a bit of new ground here, but his deftness with melody and lyrics provide the quality and depth that one would expect. In my opinion, every track is a winner, but I personally can't stop playing "Give Me the Meltdown." Rob's vocals on Cradlesong are excellent and he displays some range not seen before, like the high notes in "Snowblind," proving that he has as much talent with performing his songs as he does with writing them. In short, Rob Thomas/Matchbox Twenty fans will love this album, and so will anyone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Slump..., July 16, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cradlesong (Audio CD)
First, I adore Rob Thomas. He's one of my favorite song writers and certainly an amazing singer. I've seen Matchbox five times and I saw his solo show three times--I even paid for a VIP package so I could meet him. So yes, I am a major fan. But, to me, this second album of solo material just lacks the punch and depth from his first work.

"Her Diamonds" is brilliant--a great pop song that shows how much he loves his wife. When he's writing about painful points in his life, the man evokes a compassion and artistry that truly hook you in. If you know the story behind "3 AM," you cannot help but feel empathy for Rob and his family.

But beyond the first song, the rest of the album just doesn't portray the creativity we all know Thomas can exude. The songs are forgettable and he makes far too much use of backing vocalists that sometimes overpower the song. The writing on this set pales. "Real World 09" sounds like the theme song to a television show on the Disney channel, "Mockingbird" sounds like a song meant for an American Idol runner-up. Only on "Still Ain't Over You" and "Natural" does Thomas capture an edge--even though if it never measures up to something like "I Am An Illusion."

The album isn't a total bust. After all, it is HIM singing and his voice remains amazing. As he gets older, he's sounding a lot more sultry and willing to try different vocal techniques. It's just that Thomas can certainly do better and my hope is that next time he will. I know he has his fans and can do no wrong to them most of the time. But I think that kind of blind devotion is a bit much and every artist is known to make a wrong turn.

If you're a fan of his, you'll at least like the album. If you've never liked Thomas, you'll swear he's fallen! However, he's still capable of being mighty...let's hope that happens the next time he records!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Triumph, August 7, 2009
By 
This review is from: Cradlesong (Audio CD)
I have never sung a song with Robert Kelly Thomas on stage, been a member of one of his bands, nor was present when won his Grammys, but we are however old friends of some twenty years and in that time I have seen him progress from playing his little Casio keyboard (writing brilliantly even then) to being a bright, shining star. Cradlesong is just another step in what will be a long and successful career. This is not a CD for just his or Matchbox Twenty fans, it is one for anyone who loves well crafted music. One of the songs may be titled "Her Diamonds," but this is one of his. I will not go into a song by song review. I will say however that once you add this CD to your collection, it will be one that you will play often and for many years to come. Songwriters like Kelly come along rarely and he very well may be the best of his generation, do not miss this CD. Being someone who has known him for many years, you might think I am biased, but he would be the first to tell you that if I thought something he produced was crap, I would say say so. I am happy to say that I cannot say that about this CD or indeed any of the songs thereon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i love this singer, November 28, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cradlesong (Audio CD)
this singer is someone who i love lisening to and he is awesome live as well and you do not always find that combp
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album!, October 25, 2009
This review is from: Cradlesong (Audio CD)
In an era of terribly crappy pop music and brainless hip hop garbage littering the airwaves, it is especially refreshing to get an album like this that reminds you that good music did used to happen and still can even now. Rob Thomas' new CD is one that you can just pop in and listen to all the way through. All of the tracks are solid enough. Track # 3(Give Me the Meltdown) and track # 13(Cradlesong) were my favorites, although tracks 1,4 and 5 are very good as well. This, along with Daughtry's new CD, is my favorite thing to listen to right now. It doesn't differ much from his last offering, but I liked that one so that's not a problem for me. Great album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, October 9, 2009
By 
This review is from: Cradlesong (Audio CD)
Rob Thomas delivers once again. His song writing in this album is full of soul and each song carries a different tune and creates a wonderful mood. I was lucky enough to see him in concert and that every song he wrote on this album is about some period or situation in his life.

There is not one bad song on this CD. Each song is catchy and so enjoyable to listen to and sign along to as well. Hard on you, Mockingbird, Snowblind are my favorites!

A must buy if you are a Rob Thomas or Matchbox 20 fan... or if you're not, you'll definitely will become one after listening to this cd. Absolute masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a new style, and that is fine by me, August 2, 2009
This review is from: Cradlesong (Audio CD)
When I heard Rob Thomas was working on a new project I was skeptical as it seems artists have this need to "rediscover their sound" when the release a new album, but I was thrilled to see he didn't. Rob basically wrote more music that is lyrically sound, well produced and sure to climb the charts. The title track Her Diamonds is going to please any MB20 or Rob Thomas fan, in fact the CD overall will have this affect on you.

Some of the other tracks that stood out for me were: "Gasoline", "Give Me The Meltdown", "Still Ain't Over You" and "Hard On You". The last pick was especially enjoyable to me as it has that no so standard sound in the background throughout the song. Maybe it won't be a #1 hit, but that doesn't always mean a great song. Just look at the Billboard Top #10 right now.

I highly recommend you give this album a listen and even pick up a copy of your own. If you are a Rob Thomas or MB20 fan you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Is A CRADLE Worth Rocking!, July 31, 2009
By 
Jef Fazekas (Newport Beach, California United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cradlesong (Audio CD)
While I enjoyed Rob Thomas' debut effort, 2005's SOMETHING TO BE..., I couldn't help but feel that something was missing...a bit of an edge, more variety....something! It was all too neat, all too smooth (no pun intended!). It needed...more.
Well, with his second solo release, CRADLESONG, that's just what Thomas delivers. One of the most varied, energetic albums so far this year, CRADLESONG showcases a number of sides to the Matchbox Twenty frontman, and they all (pretty much!) work!
Things kick off with the disc's first single, the lilting "Her Diamonds." A heartfelt lead vocal and a shimmering arrangement cushion pained lyrics about being unable to help a loved one when they're hurting: "By the light of the moon/She rubs her eyes/Says it's funny how the night/Can make you blind/I can just imagine." Nice.
"Gasoline" is one of my two favorite tracks off of CRADLESONG....from the '80's intro to the soaring guitars, this is just a cool cut! Toss in a killer lead vocal and powerful lyrics ("It never took a lot to make this hard/'Cuz you were so off balance/And I knew all the words to set you off"), and you have a hit single, just waiting to happen!
"Give Me The Meltdown" has a nice INXS vibe to it, with Thomas delivering the song in a sly, slinky manner. The arrangement is fresh and energetic, but it never overpowers, allowing Thomas' vocals to weave in and out, curling around the lyrics, all highs and lows. Another gem!
"Someday" is a gorgeous cross between power ballad and mid-tempo rocker. Thomas' lead vocal is strong and assured, floating along, buoyed by Matt Serletic's lovely piano riffs. The rest of the track is just as solid, allowing the some what dark lyrics to sparkle.
There's something about "Mockingbird" that just seems a tad bit....dated. Don't get me wrong...the track's graced with a nice lead vocal and crisp instrumentation, and I love the lines "Take my hand/I will lead you through the broken promise land", but, overall, there's a "been-there-done-that" feel here.
The same can't be said about "Real World '09", my favorite track on CRADLESONG. There's such an energy to this cut...it's absolutely infectious! Thomas' voice swoops and soars, while Serletic's programming is brilliant; you get the feeling you're listening to a major drum brigade here, and you can just picture the dance remix! But...and this is a big "but!"...it never seems forced or calculated. Thomas isn't goig for the latest "hip" sound here....this is something organic, something from the gut, something REAL! In other words, a track that just came about in the most honest, truthful, FUN way....I LOVE this song!
"Fire On The Mountain" is a really unique number....it's a pinch U2, a dose of Simple Minds, a sample of Midnight Oil....yet, it's 100% Rob Thomas. Anchored by Michael Bland's blistering drumming and a smoldering lead vocal, this cautionary tale ("There's evil in the garden/But you don't see it/I can tell") draws from many sources, but never seems like a copy...Thomas acknowledges his inperations, then makes it all his own. Another one of CRADLESONG's high points!
"Hard On You" has a nice island groove that brilliantly offsets the heavier vibe of "Fire..." Thomas' lead vocal almost bounces along, perfectly backed by Sherree Brown and Robyn Troup. Add some atmospheric African drums and tasty percussion courtesy of Lenny Castro, and you have a very nice little number indeed!
I love the blast of gut-wrenching rock that opens "Still Ain't Over You"....I just wish the rest of the song continued to rock as hard! Yes, it still rocks, and it's a nice enough arrangement, but the album could've used a real ROCKER right about now, and those opening chords just hint at what could have been. And that's too bad.
There's a dark, other-worldly quality to "Natural." Thomas delivers a haunting lead vocal, while special mention has to be made of Sean Hurley's awesome bass playing. Thoughtful lyrics ("Are we just sitting here/Waiting on the end/Like it's only natural") just add to an already powerful cut.
"Snowblind" is a nice mid-tempo rocker, full of smart, insightful lyrics ("This is our life/It's all that we get/The days are all numbered/And the nights are all spent").
"Wonderful" is a horns-drenched rave-up that sports a rockin' lead vocal that's practically spit out, and edgy lyrics ("No I can't be myself/And I can't be nobody else/But if I could/Would you love me then").
There's a delicate beauty to the disc's title track that's simply enchanting. The arrangement just dances along ~ special shout out for Bryan Sutton's mandolin playing! ~ while Thomas' vocal is equal parts sweet, soothing and sentimental. Yet another hit single waiting to happen!
Things end on an upbeat note with the back porch jam that is "Getting Late." The relaxed toe-tapper has a nice shuffle to it, with an easy-going lead vocal steering it along. Toss in some smart lyrics and you have a nice wrap-up to an already good disc.
And this IS a good album. With CRADLESONG ~ one of 2009's strongest, most consistent, albums so far this year ~ Rob Thomas proves he's a major contender. (As with all my reviews, I'm giving the disc an extra half a star for including the lyrics, something that seems to be grossly out of fashion this year!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cradlesong (Deluxe Edition CD/DVD)
Cradlesong (Deluxe Edition CD/DVD) by Rob Thomas (Audio CD)
Click for more info
Currently unavailable
Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.