Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 18, 2010
This book was OK, it starts with the basic creation of a little "house" made out of foam core. The rest of the projects are just variations of the original shrine - some of them have drawers, some of them have little shelves, others have doors. Everything, pretty much, follows the same formula.

The author takes herself way too seriously, but some of her musings are interesting. She talks about memory inhabiting her creations and about different layers of meaning. Overall, I find her aesthetic a bit "safe" and dull.

Personally, I won't use the tutorials. I think using a cigar box and balsa wood may prove more sturdy than foam core. In my humble opinion, the most inspiring part of the book was the gallery of shrines NOT created by the author. A savvy person can probably find the same inspiration on-line.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2008
This is a nice book to have. Even if you are not making the shrines yourself, it's still very useful for getting pointers on decorating premade ones. I once bought 90% off aroma therapy sets that came in wood cases with glass doors that are just perfect. Really stunning projects! By the way, one of the tag suggestion for this book is occult. What???
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2015
Very promising. If you like the idea of making your own shrines, this is definitely the book to get.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2015
This is an amazing book with excellent instructions, plenty of pictures and full of inspiration!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2007
This book is an introduction to making personal shrines. I would have liked to see more examples from working artists who create shrines for their work versus craft-type examples. Overall, I am still happy with this purchase.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2014
Terrific book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2007
Shall we accept a faddish definition of the word *shrine*? Author Carol Owen presents the concept of *shrining* in her book (now in paperback) - - as an extension of the popular hobbies of scrapbooking and collage. The book is a glossy compilation of many crafters who use 'found' articles & paints, photographs & aging techniques, and many quirky embellishments to suggest what is primarily fiction. The "stories" exist for the most part "in the eyes of the beholder."

The preference of Reviewer mcHAIKU happens to follow more closely dictionary definition #3: an object or site hallowed for its associations. As such, a shrine might clearly show its roots in the work of Joseph Cornell, and in this time of many yearnings *real* themes could be chosen with shrines built to celebrate them, and/or the people/icons associated with them. For example: Women's Rights; Heroines of Unpopular Causes; Global Warming; History of Minimum Wage; Water Rights.

Each would be deserving of the considerable time & talent demanded of the craftspeople. Nineteen share in Owen's book what they consider to be an artform. Many details are given, tips and sources for materials: and by going to carolowenart.com more colorful examples are found. Many readers will be inspired to try out their talents & discover great satisfaction in the results.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2007
The book gave beautiful pictures and detailed instructions, a bit complex though...good thing im a shrine artist already, I have my own techniques with the same materials which is MUCH Simpler..

I learned a few new tricks I may use sometime!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2015
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2004
This is simply one of the most inspiring books i've got!!!! Such beautiful pictures,how-to-s projects...SIMPLY AMAZING!
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse