Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crafty Screenwriting takes you farther
I've been writing screenplays for three years now and do I wish I had this book when I started! I've read Trottier, Field and Walter-all of whom are very informative. This book goes farther than any of them. Epstein delivers more current and common sense application of the art form than I was able to see from the afore-mentioned authors. The emphasis on "The...
Published on September 22, 2003 by joseph borri

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Pro and the Con
I'm a beginner who hasn't gotten much past a basic idea, a couple of characters, and a very rough plot.

Pro: The advice of just writing an interesting script without getting all bogged down in traditional structure. I also like his approach that you're telling a story, so it's not necessarily a good thing to start writing until one can actually tell it aloud...
Published on March 14, 2006 by John S.


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Hands down one of the best and most practical books on screenwriting and producing, October 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crafty Screenwriting: Writing Movies That Get Made (Paperback)
Hands down one of the best and most practical books on screenwriting and producing. Will save you a lot of time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cocky Screenwriting, October 4, 2004
By 
Real Screenwriter (Little Rock, AR USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crafty Screenwriting: Writing Movies That Get Made (Paperback)
Mr. Epstein comes across as extremely arrogant from his first word, and it's hard to figure out why. He's had exactly one movie produced, ten years ago. He's primarily a development executive and TV writer.

I've read twelve other screenwriting books in the last month, and Mr. Epstein quite often contradicts what these other books, written by very successful film writers and teachers, say about screenwriting. His way is better, he promises.

On Mr. Epstein's web site he offers to critique scripts for nearly $500 each, saying "That's what it costs me not to write." This is an outrageous and doubtful claim.

This book is the worst of a large crop of screenwriting books. Mr. Epstein can't even get the names of the movies and their characters right--it was THREE DAYS of the Condor, and Louise was played by Susan Sarandon, not Geena Davis.

Spend your money on Syd Field, Lew Hunter, Linda Seger--or anyone else. Not on this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The helping hand to concentrate on script writing., January 18, 2007
This review is from: Crafty Screenwriting: Writing Movies That Get Made (Paperback)
This is the started you need to boost your confidence. Lots of tips and websites too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical magic!, December 17, 2002
By 
This review is from: Crafty Screenwriting: Writing Movies That Get Made (Paperback)
Rubby ducky, pat the dog, and why don't they just call the cops!
A pragmatic approach to screenwriting in commonsense language from a long-time development exec and scripter.
I read an early version of this book when it was still a webpage and found it filled with both practical advice - the Apple Mac's Courier New is 10% smaller than the PC which means 12 extra pages - to the inspirational magic of the old Celtic myths.
A great new addition to the literature of the well-made script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolute Must Have!, December 7, 2002
By 
Wendy Whitbeck (Devon, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crafty Screenwriting: Writing Movies That Get Made (Paperback)
This is truly the best book on screenwriting that I have read. Very good information and very well written. Anyone serious about screenwriting needs to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have Book for Seroius Screenwriters!, October 26, 2002
By 
Ace DeSone "Ace" (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crafty Screenwriting: Writing Movies That Get Made (Paperback)
When it comes to books on screenwriting, I make it my habit to read them all, as you never know when something will hit home.
I opened this book, and almost devoured it in one sitting, it's that compelling. Every level of professional and wanna-be screenwriters will find something useful here, although I think that people with one or more screenplays under their belts will find more of what they NEED to know.
The author lays it out in no-nonsense style, which is great, 'cause I hate for someone to waste my time. This book isn't so much about theory, or art, it's about what has to be done to write a screenplay that will be SOLD. Epstein doesn't ask screenwriters to abandon their art, just to adapt it in subtle little ways to make it suit the marketplace.
I, myself, found the sections on "genre" especially helpful, as it cleared up the problems I was having with a particular script, one that had been close to a deal several times.
And now, I have to go back and fix those problems, but now I know what exactly what they are. I've been working on this script for almost six years now, and for ten bucks and change, Alex Epstein got right to the root of my problem!
Thanks, Alex!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE VOICE THAT REJECTED A THOUSAND WORKS, September 3, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crafty Screenwriting: Writing Movies That Get Made (Paperback)
No nonsense book, sly, satirical and funny, destructive or realest viewpoint of the profession. This is the rage in showbiz. I enjoyed it and like his approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WORTH THE PRICE OF ADMISSION, February 17, 2005
This review is from: Crafty Screenwriting: Writing Movies That Get Made (Paperback)
INT. MONTANA'S OFFICE - NIGHT

Montana closes CRAFTY SCREENWRITING. A light bulb BURSTS.

MONTANA

Hook? You need a hook? Why

didn't anyone tell me that before?

Her mouth opens to speak. Nothing comes out. She sighs. Gives herself a pep talk.

MONTANA

Pay attention. Come on, you can do

it. Alex says the best way to tell

your story is by --

BACK TO REVIEW:

I highly recommend this book. It's clear. Funny. Extremely helpful. The End.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars? Epstien's got a lot of friends voting for him., May 9, 2004
This review is from: Crafty Screenwriting: Writing Movies That Get Made (Paperback)
The book is waste of time. It dwells on the type of screenplay you should be writing which if it was left of to this book we would all be watching movies-of-the-week and Lifetime originals. Buy the Writers Journey by Vogler or McKees Story. At least in those books they break down the craft so you understand it and can appopriate the information into the way you write. Saving your money would be the craftiest thing you could do with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crafty Screenwriting, June 23, 2003
By 
Anonymous (Anonymous, CA (USA)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crafty Screenwriting: Writing Movies That Get Made (Paperback)
While Epstein's book is better than most on this subject -- most consisting of books that suggest a total outsider can write a screenplay this year and pick up his or her Oscar next year --'Crafty Screenwriting' still suffers from the fact that it's pretty close to impossible to break into the entertainment industry without knowing someone in it, and generally someone high up in it, who will sponsor you.
If you want to know how competetive the movie industry truly is, stay in your seat and watch the end credits of the next film you see.
Guess what? All those people have screenplays or outlines of or ideas for screenplays, and they're already in the business!
Nonetheless, if you're crazy enough to want to try anyway, this book is worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Crafty Screenwriting: Writing Movies That Get Made
Crafty Screenwriting: Writing Movies That Get Made by Alex Epstein (Paperback - October 8, 2002)
$18.99 $15.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.