Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best. Game. Ever.
Childbirth? Flash dance? Nope--volcano. This particular Cranium moment has become immortalised in our family's Hilarity Hall of Fame, thanks to the wonderful, charades performance of my brother-in-law... Kudos to Cranium for creating this game--and a whole family of other great games (many of which we also own).

While Cranium is easy to learn and easy to...
Published on February 6, 2010 by R. Holt

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun for the right crowd
I think cranium is a very well made game, but it might not be for everyone.

CONS:
-sometimes the material is not well known enough for the general public (e.g., songs from the 60's will be lost on the 20 and under crowd)
-sometimes it feels like the game can drag on for too long
-not as easy to get into as some other fast paced party games...
Published on April 25, 2011 by to0pink


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best. Game. Ever., February 6, 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Cranium (Toy)
Childbirth? Flash dance? Nope--volcano. This particular Cranium moment has become immortalised in our family's Hilarity Hall of Fame, thanks to the wonderful, charades performance of my brother-in-law... Kudos to Cranium for creating this game--and a whole family of other great games (many of which we also own).

While Cranium is easy to learn and easy to play, it is also provides a variety of tasks that should prove challenging to the average game team. What is your strength? Spelling? What is your weakness? Trivia? And your teammates? What about the other team(s)? Where one team looses ground, they are sure to pick it up when the tasks turn in their favour.

Although the game can be played with several smaller teams, our experience has been that having only two groups with larger team sizes often produces some of the most enjoyable rounds. Cranium has been a hit at small family gatherings, large family reunions, and at parties full of relative (and total) strangers. I highly recommend this game to anyone who likes to express themselves and just have fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting game!, November 2, 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Cranium (Toy)
This game is hysterical! Our family has so much fun playing this game, from tweens through grandma. The younger kids love to play too, if you explain some of the older references.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun for the right crowd, April 25, 2011
By 
to0pink (Newport Beach, CA) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Cranium (Toy)
I think cranium is a very well made game, but it might not be for everyone.

CONS:
-sometimes the material is not well known enough for the general public (e.g., songs from the 60's will be lost on the 20 and under crowd)
-sometimes it feels like the game can drag on for too long
-not as easy to get into as some other fast paced party games (taboo, pictionary, etc.)

PROS:
-Highly polished game. It does not feel cheap at all.
-Great for BIG groups. It increases the chance of people knowing the material.
-High hilarity value if you have the right mix

If you know this game will suit the party you will bring it to, then buy it. Great for church events, lockins, retreats, and any audience where you have a large pool of people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So much fun at parties - if at least one person already knows the rules, January 21, 2010
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cranium (Toy)
My bf and I had so much fun playing this game over the holidays. We had fun playing it with his 16 yr old daughter and her friend, we had fun playing it with a big group of people at a New Year's party. Mostly I think we had SO MUCH fun because we are very good at it and are the undefeated champions, but even people we played with who never got past the first 1/4 of the board had a lot of fun playing it.

On the plus side, this game is a lot of fun and a lot of laughs.

On the minus side, the rules of the game are a bit complicated. In some ways they seem quite counterintuitive. Like, people assume that you roll the die, move, and then read a card. But noooo, another team reads a card for you, then you try to complete a task or answer a question or guess a charade or whatever and IF you get it right, THEN you roll the die. But, a lot of the cards are for ALL teams to play, and then you have to keep track of which team got that card and who gets to do what when that card is played out and whether a team gets onto the inside track or not when they landed on "cranium" and...well really I think the rules are complex, especially with a room full of 12 people playing the game, and you may find people get confused about whether it's a card everyone plays so they should be trying to guess the answer or whether it is only another team playing and they should be quiet. You may also find that it is very hard to play charades or something similar when there are four people trying to act out the same character or thing.

Oh, and another thing to note, you probably want to set aside the cards you've already used. If the cards you've already used get mixed in to the boxes it can be a pain to have someone start reading a card and then "oh, we already had that one!", although with the more artistic ones it could be fun to have someone get the same one again and actually use it. Also, you need to be careful when reading a card for another team because the answer is on the back and if you don't have your hand over it, they may see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun with friends, December 27, 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cranium (Toy)
This is much better than regular trivia games. It is a combination of charades, trivial pursuit, and pictionary. Some questions are quite difficult for non-Americans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the game pictured! Got the small version!, March 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cranium (Toy)
I bought this expecting the full cranium game pictured, but instead was sent the less expensive "party" version, which is much smaller and usually only about $14. Paying almost $50 for this, I expected to get the large, full version that is shown. Buyer beware.

Good thing amazon and phenomenal customer service and issued me a return shipping label right away. Would not buy from this seller again though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT THE COLLECTIBLE TIN EDITION AS PICTURED, December 20, 2010
By 
Peter Soloway (Portland, OR USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cranium (Toy)
I ordered the game before the seller had posted images of it in the cardboard packaging, and assumed it would come in the attractive and durable tin that's still visible on the product page. What arrived was an ordinary cardboard package, which was scuffed at the corners because the original shrink wrap had been removed. As I write this, Amazon currently sells a newer edition of the same game directly for just $19.99 -- and I suspect it will arrive in better condition.

Seller: please contact me once you've removed the image depicting a tin, and I'll revoke that part of my review and increase my rating of the product. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME GAME, March 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is my favorite game! Came quickly and exactly as described! Perfect for family game night or a night with friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun game, February 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
THis is a really fun game. Lots to do and many levels for many ages.
Lots of fun for the whole family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You can only play it so many times, March 20, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Cranium (Toy)
Whenever you have a limited amount of cards in a game, there will come a day when you know all the answers. The first time I played this game, i was addicted to it. I didn't play it for the longest time, so when I got it for a chirstmas gift, i went on a Cranium frenzy. However, after playing it maybe 4 more times, I began getting all of the answers quite quickly and it wasn't that fun since I was playing with same group of people.

It's an awesome game, don't get me wrong, you just can only play it so many times (with the same people) until it gets kind of boring...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cranium
Cranium by Cranium
$25.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.