Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Crash Into Me: A Survivor's Search for Justice
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Look Park Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
57
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 5, 2011
Liz Seccuro was a 17-year-old freshman in college when she was drugged and raped at a fraternity rush party. Many years later, her rapist reached out to her to apologize. This is her personal account of her ordeal - mainly of her dealings with the justice system. We get a glimpse of the horrors of rape and its aftermath - Ms Seccuro was still dealing with panic attacks years later. But the real horrors in this tale are of her search for some justice. The dean and others in charge at the college wanted to sweep it under the rug and managed to do just that. When she decided to bring charges against the man who raped her, she was criticized in the press because, after all, he was only trying to apologize and in the years since the rape, he had become a model citizen. Others who were involved in the crime got off without any charges. I have had friends who were raped as teenagers (and virgins) and they were damaged for the rest of their lives. Ms Seccuro was very courageous to be willing to testify and face the criticism that, unfortunately, most rape victims face. Hats off to her for not only surviving, but overcoming her fears.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2015
Brave woman, courageous story of being raped as a young student at UVA and her rapist contacting her 20 years later to make amends and her retraumatization and panic attacks and holding him accountable for the crime against her....an accurate description of the effects of a one night only rather violent rape on a young woman....think of what the effects are of many rapes over many years! Her description of the legal process is interesting and disturbing...how the law does not serve truth and justice and exactly how that happens and why....BRAVO LIZ!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2015
This book was informative and very sad. It was very eye opening to how naive teenage girls can be in an established setting that is supposed to protect them. The lack of assistance and ethics in this story is very disturbing. I would recommend this book to parents with kids heading off to college in hopes they would have teaching moments with their children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2015
This book will make you angry. Rape is a unique crime, in that the victims are held responsible, and it's wrong. The author's experiences as she dealt with not only the mental and physical trauma that resulted from being raped but also the reemergence of her rapist into her life when he sent her a letter are poignant and at times unbearable. I admire her for standing up and for speaking out. I admire those who worked with her to bring her rapists to justice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2011
Liz put into words what so many rape survivors can't - the initial shocking pain, the ever-lingering trauma, the small victories, and the resulting sense of purpose to move forward. It's written so candidly and so factually with all the resulting emotions pouring through. But it wasn't just a devastating tale of survival, it was one of years of courage, progress, and promise. She's turned her inner struggles into such public ones with a lot of grace. She's proven to be a terrific author, along with all the other successes in her life. Any reader of her book can use it to find their own strength to fight their own battles, no matter what they are.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2015
This is a very well written book, extremely detailed. My heart goes out to all rape survivors - I cannot imagine what they go through on a daily basis, having to fight so hard to receive any sense of justice, and having to settle for not much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I can't remember where exactly I heard or read about this book, but I picked it up recently with time on my hands while being on vacation.

In "Crash Into Me: A Survivor's Search for Justice" (255 pages), author Liz Seccuro retells the tale of being contacted by a guy who had raped her more than 20 years ago while she was a freshman at the University of Virginia. Why did he contact her at this late stage? Because he was fulfilling Step 8 or 9 of the AA program which requires one to "make amends" with those one has hurt in the past. From there, the book takes a number of very surprising twists and turns, which I will not spoil but I would strongly encourage you to read the book instead. Beware, this book is not the the faint of heart, and the author shares a lot of graphic details of the events.

Two final comments: where was UVA in all of this? The university did absolutely nothing when the young woman reported the rape back in 1984, and in fact lied to the young woman and covered this up in more ways than one. It is simply outrageous and sickening. Where is the accountability, let alone liability? (Apparently there were (still are?) a number of other cases like this st UVA, as the author points out in the book.) Last but not least: my thanks and appreciation to the author for corageously coming forward with her story and sharing it with the public at large. Only by speaking out can anything be changed hopefully in the future.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2014
Everyone should read this book to understand the physical and emotional effects of sexual violence occurring on college campuses at an alarming rate. As a mother, teacher, and college counselor, I take seriously the responsibility to educate students about the destructive forces that await them so that they can be prepared, make healthy choices, and step in to change the rape culture on college campuses. Liz Seccuro provides a clear example of the nightmare that rape survivors face, written like an urgent call for readers to join the fight against this ultimate degradation of women's bodies and spirits. By exposing incidents of rape to the light of day, continuing the conversation about ways to prevent this violence, and holding college administrators accountable for valuing the welfare of students above their school's reputation, we may move closer to a society that demands respect for women. READ THIS BOOK!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2014
I had seen Ms. Seccuro on Dateline a few years ago, but this book was absolutely gut wrenching. It read like a novel, and I couldn't put it down...but then you realize that these events actually happened. I just cried and cried.
CLAS '99
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2011
Having been educated outside of the U.S., my impressions of fraternities and sororities came from books and news articles, and they haven't been positive. Stories like these do not help to redeem them in my eyes. I agree that Liz Seccuro is a terrific writer who makes the reader empathetic, not just sympathetic, to her trauma and the enormous courage she displayed to confront and overcome it. Some reviewers said that justice has been served, but I don't know. I got the impression that her two other attackers got away scot-free and probably are now smirking in the shadows, confident in the silence of the university and their fraternity brothers. We need to teach these young people the real definition of honor. Staying silent and/or hiding horrible crimes such as rape is NOT honor. It's called abetting crime. And very disappointing about the University of Virginia administration who only seemed to focus on perpetrator protection at the cost of the victims' mental and physical well-being. I wish we can say that it was in the 1980s and things have improved at the school, but, from the slew of recent articles, it doesn't seem to be the case.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.