Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Crazy Quilter's Stitch Resource!
Crazy Quilt Stitches" is a comprehensive survey of stitch combinations for crazy quilt embellishment. The easy-to-lay-flat spiral binding is a plus for convenience. A beginner might need to supplement their knowledge on how to execute the basic stitches, but from there you have an excellent inspiration for the variations in stitches so prized by the Victorian...
Published on December 28, 1998

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pocket Guide better [...]
It had very stitch you could think off but the instructions were not good you had to do to much guessing on you won. I have found more convenient instructions on a laminated folded pocket guide copyright by Leisure Arts, Inc. [...] $4.95.
Published 11 months ago by Cindy Mitchell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Crazy Quilter's Stitch Resource!, December 28, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Crazy Quilt Stitches (Plastic Comb)
Crazy Quilt Stitches" is a comprehensive survey of stitch combinations for crazy quilt embellishment. The easy-to-lay-flat spiral binding is a plus for convenience. A beginner might need to supplement their knowledge on how to execute the basic stitches, but from there you have an excellent inspiration for the variations in stitches so prized by the Victorian crazy quilters. This is a no-nonsense book that is a must for your needlework library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book for great ideas!, February 17, 2000
By 
M. Treiber (Ketchikan, AK USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crazy Quilt Stitches (Plastic Comb)
Dorthy Bond has compiled a huge collection of embroidery stitches she's seen used in crazy quilts. She assumes you can learn how to do the stitches from other sources, although she provides a simple drawing of the steps for each basic stitch. The joy of this book is the wealth of combinations of those basic stitches. No other book on crazy quilt embroidery has offered me the same trigger to creativity that this book provides. It is spiral bound, ensuring that it will lie flat while you work from it. A great collection at a truly bargain price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most excellent, Dorothy!, February 6, 2008
By 
Sherrill Lewis (Stillwater, OK United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crazy Quilt Stitches (Plastic Comb)
Ten stars!! This little brown book is a staple in my personal library and often travels with me as my first choice for design inspiration. It is a sad day to learn that it has gone out of print. May it only be temporary -- unless a second edition is on its way! Dreaming...
Yes, this and Carole Samples' Treasury of Crazy Quilt Stitches are the best books ever printed on the subject. No fluff, all substance. Each book is a wonderful complement to the other.
Thank you, Dorothy and Carole, for your contributions to the world of CQ embroidery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I absolutely NEED this book!!!, November 9, 2001
By 
Ramonaleona (Madison, Wisconsin) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crazy Quilt Stitches (Plastic Comb)
Yes!!! I MUST have it!!! I checked it out from the library years ago and I LOVED it!!! Thank goodness it's still available!!! I will buy it SOON!!!
Thank you Dorothy for such a GREAT book!!!
Can you tell that I am CRAZY (!!!) about this book?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crazy Quilt Embroidery Stitches, July 9, 2010
By 
EKS (Spokane, WA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crazy Quilt Stitches (Plastic Comb)
This the one book that everyone else refers to. It was the first book to document more than 1000 crazy quilt stitch patterns on antique quilts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adorable book, April 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crazy Quilt Stitches (Plastic Comb)
This little book of embroidery stitches is so worth its price. I got it to make varied stitches for a faux crazy quilt that I made out of cotton (versus velvets etc). It has my favorite (which is why I bought the book) of a line with little birds sitting on it. Just too cute...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crazy Quilt Stitch MUST-HAVE, November 20, 2009
By 
Felice A. Gokey (Port St Lucie, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crazy Quilt Stitches (Plastic Comb)
This book is a fabulous source of stitches and stitch combinations. The pictures are clear and precise, the ideas numerous. No hand decorative stitcher should be without this book in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pocket Guide better [...], August 14, 2013
This review is from: Crazy Quilt Stitches (Plastic Comb)
It had very stitch you could think off but the instructions were not good you had to do to much guessing on you won. I have found more convenient instructions on a laminated folded pocket guide copyright by Leisure Arts, Inc. [...] $4.95.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring!, March 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crazy Quilt Stitches (Plastic Comb)
This is a great collection of stitches and the illustrations are crisp. It is NOT a book that teaches you HOW to make the stitches however. It does show great combinations and will expand my "toolbox" noticably
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Old Book, January 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crazy Quilt Stitches (Plastic Comb)
A huge collection of stitches and variations, simple pictures and lots of ideas. This book is a great addition to a crafter's bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Crazy Quilt Stitches
Crazy Quilt Stitches by Dorothy Bond (Plastic Comb - June 1981)
Used & New from: $41.66
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.