Customer Reviews


794 Reviews
5 star:
 (475)
4 star:
 (171)
3 star:
 (56)
2 star:
 (33)
1 star:
 (59)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


155 of 180 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The audience howled with laughter and recognition!
I thought this movie was fabulously funny and warm-hearted, poignant and tender, bitter and sweet. In other words, just like our real relationship(s) in life. Steve Carell was brilliant as the cuckolded husband who had to find his groove (again) after slipping into the humdrum of benign neglect, Ryan Gosling couldn't have been better in the role of the dazzling womanizer...
Published on August 5, 2011 by Meredith Jordan

versus
28 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, should have been rated "R" though.
***SPOILERS*** PLEASE DO NOT READ IF YOU WANT TO BE TOTALLY SURPRISED WHEN YOU WATCH THE MOVIE YOURSELF

The casting for this movie is superb. The plot is realistic. The screenplay is smart. I laughed a lot. I cried a little. I loved all the characters. My problem was that this movie got a PG-13 rating even though it involved a 17-year-old taking nude photos of...
Published on December 21, 2011 by happymama


‹ Previous | 1 280 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

155 of 180 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The audience howled with laughter and recognition!, August 5, 2011
This review is from: Crazy, Stupid, Love (DVD)
I thought this movie was fabulously funny and warm-hearted, poignant and tender, bitter and sweet. In other words, just like our real relationship(s) in life. Steve Carell was brilliant as the cuckolded husband who had to find his groove (again) after slipping into the humdrum of benign neglect, Ryan Gosling couldn't have been better in the role of the dazzling womanizer who surprised himself by falling in love, Julianne Moore nailed it as the wife who couldn't quite figure out what she wanted now that she'd up-ended everything and everyone. Every one of the youngsters in the film had such sweetness to them, and yet were so real, just like any kid of their various ages. Emma Stone was just the right balance of vulnerable woman and strong.

When we finally see how all the pieces of this seemingly random puzzle come together, it's brilliant. Couldn't be better, or more touching-while-funny. In fact, I was in a full theater of mostly 50's and 60's age adults, and the place rocked with laughter from the start of the film to the finish.

This is a movie NOT to be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 90 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A swing and a miss. A swing and a hit., August 17, 2011
This review is from: Crazy, Stupid, Love (DVD)
As comedies go, I think this is probably one of the better ones you will see this year.

Steve Carell plays Cal, a husband who splits from his high school sweetheart, played by Julianne Moore, after she cheats. Hanging out in single bars every nights he sees this ladies man played by Ryan Gosling successfully pick up numerous women, while he says out loud to anyone who will listen, 'my wife cheated on me with xxxx.'

Meanwhile his teenage son has the hots for his babysitter, while the babysitter crushes on Cal. We have 4 romantic triangles between the main characters, that are developed to great comic effect.

So, Ryan Gosling's character takes him under his wing, as his wing man, and shows him how to score with the ladies, which leads to many interesting twists and turns.

There were several parts of this movie that made me cringe, one was the patheticness of the character played by Steve Carell. The teenage crush made me cringe a little, especially with the absurd things this kid did to get her attention.

In fairness this was more than balanced with some high quality scenes and interactions, particularly the scenes with Marisa Tomei, who I thought was absolutely brilliant, especially when her simmering emotions boil over at the parent teacher meeting.

The Dirty Dancing routine between Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone was simply movie magic, and one of the best scenes I have seen all year, two quality actors, chemistry, everything, perfect.

I have a sneaking suspicion that Ryan Gosling may be one the best actors on the planet. You probably know him from The Notebook, a perennial top 100 rental on leading dvd rental sites. He has studously avoided the mainstream doing indie and art house movies. Watching his performance in Blue Valentine with Michelle Williams convinced me of his greatness, with some reminders of a young DeNiro, without the psychotic overtones, or even perhaps Sean Penn, the most respected actor among his peers.

The proof may not be out there yet, and I am so glad to see him to see him in a mainstream movie. I hope that he will continue to make critically acclaimed movies and also more widely seen movies, and that he will get both the recognition, and ultimately the accolades he deserves.

Emma Stone, what can you say, she is the best of the young actresses who has emerged over the last two years, outstanding in Easy A, and now the lead in The Help, for which she may get an Oscar nom.

I hope this was helpful, and I think the movie is worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Romantic Comedy For Actual Adults? A Great Cast And A Smart Screenplay Make The Most Of The Genre, November 2, 2011
In theory and on paper, "Crazy, Stupid, Love" had the potential to be a disaster. It seems sometimes that studios have lost the ability to replicate anything resembling real life in the big budget fiascos that stand for romantic comedy these days. Do people really have to act like complete morons to find true love? How many uptight career women do we need to watch being tamed by adolescent and boorish men? While Dan Fogelman's screenplay certainly plays to the expected conventions, it is distinguished by a smart and genuine sense of humor that is grounded in identifiable and likable character types. It has a surprisingly hard edge which is quite refreshing. Incorporating adult themes, "Crazy, Stupid, Love" is a romantic comedy that you don't have to be embarrassed to like for it doesn't pander or insult your intelligence. Yes, it goes a little soft in the final act for my taste--but up to that point, the experience is rich, thoughtful and filled with laughs. And there are some super actors at the top of their game--which certainly doesn't hurt.

The movie begins with the dissolution of a marriage. Steve Carell and Julianne Moore, as Cal and Emily Weaver, face the unpleasant truth about Moore's infidelity as she pushes for a separation. The resultant scenes have a bitter truthfulness which plays out in the most awkwardly humorous (and slightly disturbing)way. Much of the movie has Carell reeling and trying to make sense of his life. Ryan Gosling, as the neighborhood lothario, takes the unrepentant sadsack under his wing for some tutelage about making time with the ladies. Yes, it is formulaic in an only-in-the-movies kind of way--but both actors are so engaging, it's quite easy to overlook the convenience of plotting. Gosling, meanwhile, may have met his match with the spirited Emma Stone. These two share real sparks that intensify and deepen as the movie delves further into their bond. Not to be left out, there are several others involved in the romantic merry-go-round including Carell's son who is in love with the babysitter who in turn is in love with Carell. The movie twists around on itself, serving up surprises and sweetness. It all may be a bit gooey by the end, but the performers will keep you on your toes.

Despite being a romantic comedy for grown-ups, perhaps the film's biggest (and most valuable couple) are Carell and Gosling. When these two are together, the picture soars. It is easily one of Carell's best roles and Gosling can do no apparent wrong (is he in every 2011 release?). Stone is quite winning. I also enjoyed brief but pivotal roles by Marisa Tomei and Kevin Bacon who cross paths with the central married couple. Even with the many subplots and peripheral characters, the film is focused and confidant. What is so amazing is that the picture feels fresh and new despite working squarely in familiar territory. Relatable and more real than it has any right to be, "Crazy, Stupid, Love" makes me yearn for other studio comedies to risk engaging both a viewer's heart and his brain. Give it a shot if you're looking for an adult film filled with big laughs, much heart, and one of the year's most adept ensemble casts. About 4 1/2 stars, I'll round up for the central bromance! KGHarris, 11/11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another five star review for this romantic hit, August 13, 2011
By 
Bill Garrison (Oklahoma City, OK USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Crazy, Stupid, Love (DVD)
Looks like I'm just another of several to give this romantic comedy 5-stars. Crazy, Stupid, Love isn't your traditional romantic comedy. You can tell this when Julianne Moore tells Steve Carrell, her husband of almost 25 years, that she wants a divorce. From there, the movie breaks off into parts, following Carrell as he hits the singles scene and fails miserably until being aided by hilarious ladies man Ryan Gosling. This movie is more about finding lost love again after losing it.

Gosling spends weeks tutoring Carrell on how to pick up women, while his ex-wife is struggling with her own choice to break up her marriage by having an affair with a coworker played by Kevin Bacon. Meanwhile, Carrell and Moore's 13 year old son has a crush on his cute 17-year old baby sitter. She however, isn't returning his love, because she has a crush on an older man. Emma Stone plays a young law student about to pass the bar exam, and being wooed by a nerdy boyfriend (Josh Groban) and ignoring the advances of Gosling. Sounds complicated? Well its really quite simple as the movie follows how crazy and stupid love can be as the characters try and find their one true soul mate.

The movie is really good because of the strong cast. Each plays their part perfectly and there are lot of laughs, especially at the few twists at the end. The climax at the 8th grade graduation could have been handled better, but overall I really liked this movie. The triangle between the babysitter, the older man and the kid had a few moments that I believed cross the line (issues involving sexting) but this is a movie for adults, so kids shouldn't be seeing it anyway.

As Steve Carrell moves past his successful stint on THE OFFICE, I hope he will make more movies like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth the watch, even if it's not entirely believable., October 4, 2011
This review is from: Crazy, Stupid, Love (DVD)
This movie was a slow start, and I found myself wondering, "Oh, God, what if all the best parts were in the previews?" I hate it when that happens. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the twist at the end. There was more than enough comedy (after the first 30 minutes) to get me through the film. Will I watch this again? Definitely. Favorite movie of all time? Not necessarily. There were some "really?" moments, and you'll know them when you see them. A good laugh out loud movie. Very nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Romantic Comedy For Actual Adults? A Great Cast And A Smart Screenplay Make The Most Of The Genre, November 2, 2011
In theory and on paper, "Crazy, Stupid, Love" had the potential to be a disaster. It seems sometimes that studios have lost the ability to replicate anything resembling real life in the big budget fiascos that stand for romantic comedy these days. Do people really have to act like complete morons to find true love? How many uptight career women do we need to watch being tamed by adolescent and boorish men? While Dan Fogelman's screenplay certainly plays to the expected conventions, it is distinguished by a smart and genuine sense of humor that is grounded in identifiable and likable character types. It has a surprisingly hard edge which is quite refreshing. Incorporating adult themes, "Crazy, Stupid, Love" is a romantic comedy that you don't have to be embarrassed to like for it doesn't pander or insult your intelligence. Yes, it goes a little soft in the final act for my taste--but up to that point, the experience is rich, thoughtful and filled with laughs. And there are some super actors at the top of their game--which certainly doesn't hurt.

The movie begins with the dissolution of a marriage. Steve Carell and Julianne Moore, as Cal and Emily Weaver, face the unpleasant truth about Moore's infidelity as she pushes for a separation. The resultant scenes have a bitter truthfulness which plays out in the most awkwardly humorous (and slightly disturbing)way. Much of the movie has Carell reeling and trying to make sense of his life. Ryan Gosling, as the neighborhood lothario, takes the unrepentant sadsack under his wing for some tutelage about making time with the ladies. Yes, it is formulaic in an only-in-the-movies kind of way--but both actors are so engaging, it's quite easy to overlook the convenience of plotting. Gosling, meanwhile, may have met his match with the spirited Emma Stone. These two share real sparks that intensify and deepen as the movie delves further into their bond. Not to be left out, there are several others involved in the romantic merry-go-round including Carell's son who is in love with the babysitter who in turn is in love with Carell. The movie twists around on itself, serving up surprises and sweetness. It all may be a bit gooey by the end, but the performers will keep you on your toes.

Despite being a romantic comedy for grown-ups, perhaps the film's biggest (and most valuable couple) are Carell and Gosling. When these two are together, the picture soars. It is easily one of Carell's best roles and Gosling can do no apparent wrong (is he in every 2011 release?). Stone is quite winning. I also enjoyed brief but pivotal roles by Marisa Tomei and Kevin Bacon who cross paths with the central married couple. Even with the many subplots and peripheral characters, the film is focused and confidant. What is so amazing is that the picture feels fresh and new despite working squarely in familiar territory. Relatable and more real than it has any right to be, "Crazy, Stupid, Love" makes me yearn for other studio comedies to risk engaging both a viewer's heart and his brain. Give it a shot if you're looking for an adult film filled with big laughs, much heart, and one of the year's most adept ensemble casts. About 4 1/2 stars, I'll round up for the central bromance! KGHarris, 11/11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, should have been rated "R" though., December 21, 2011
This review is from: Crazy, Stupid, Love (DVD)
***SPOILERS*** PLEASE DO NOT READ IF YOU WANT TO BE TOTALLY SURPRISED WHEN YOU WATCH THE MOVIE YOURSELF

The casting for this movie is superb. The plot is realistic. The screenplay is smart. I laughed a lot. I cried a little. I loved all the characters. My problem was that this movie got a PG-13 rating even though it involved a 17-year-old taking nude photos of herself with the intent of giving them to a 40-year-old man (don't worry, she gives them to the 13-year-old she babysits instead), and a bit of "sexting" involving the 13-year-old. Not to mention the whole story is laced with careless sex. I would NOT want my teenager to watch this movie at all, but if they did I would want to have watched it myself and be able to talk about these things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny the way it should be, January 14, 2012
This review is from: Crazy, Stupid, Love (DVD)
Cal Weaver (Steve Carrell) is happy in his marriage and dotes on his two children. Jacob Palmer (Ryan Gosling) is dedicated to the pursuit of one-night stands with beautiful women. And Hannah (Emma Stone) is a soon-to-be lawyer in love with a man who her best friend believes is beneath her but who Hannah (Stone) is genuinely hoping will propose. But Weaver (Carrell) is blindsided when his wife of more than 20 years, (played by Julianne Moore) confesses she's been unfaithful and wants a divorce.

We soon find Cal Weaver living in an apartment spending an inordinate amount of time at a local pickup joint drinking heavily and repeatedly stating the particulars of his wife's infidelity to the establishment's clientele. This puts a serious crimp in Jacob's evening and so he offers his advice and services as a life coach, of sorts. Meanwhile, he's made several overtures to Hannah only to be rejected every time.

I'll admit, there are few moments where the characters find themselves in situations so embarrassing, that I can't bear to watch. That said, this is easily the best comedy I've seen this summer, and perhaps this year. Good premise, great characters, and amazing twists you do not see coming. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant (at times), Vulgar & Stupid (at others), March 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crazy, Stupid, Love (DVD)
As some here have noted, this is almost a great movie. But it's marred by far too much in the way of crude or simply stupid dialog or events. The good: most of the interaction between the adults. Cal (Steve Carell) has had only one girlfriend ever (now his wife), whom he met early in high school. When his marriage hits the skids, Cal has no idea what to do; so he basically hangs out at a bar to drink and complain about his life. Enter Jacob (Ryan Gosling), a successful bar-scene "player" who tells Cal that he wants to help him "reclaim his manhood". Most of the interaction between Cal and Jacob, as well as their interaction with other adults, is very well done, and if the movie centered exclusively on this it would be worthy of a 5 star rating. Now there are some parts of the movie where Jacob takes the "manhood" thing too far; this straddles the line between humor and poor taste but it doesn't badly harm the movie. For the most part, the principal actors (Carell, Gosling, Moore, Stone) do an outstanding job; I mainly was interested in this because I enjoy Steve Carell's comic acting, but I must say that Ryan Gosling gives the standout performance here. The one disappointment among the adults are some of the scenes with Marisa Tomei. Not her fault, she's great, and still looks fantastic (she's in her late 40's). But a lot of the lines she's given to say, too vulgar and juvenile for what many would view as a romantic comedy. It's a shame that her talents are somewhat wasted here. Kevin Bacon does a decent job, but it's a very small role.

Unfortunately, the film tries to cover more bases than adult bar/dating-scene interaction, and a subplot involving Cal's son and babysitter is almost entirely creepy, vulgar, unrealistic, and is not what I would consider to be humorous. So when the action moves away from the adults to the teenagers, this becomes a far lesser movie than it could have been. Which is too bad, because the young actors playing those roles seem very talented, they just have bad material to work with. There's one scene that Cal's son has with his mother's "boyfriend" (Kevin Bacon) that was well done, and a little of his dialog with Cal is fine too. But other than that, pretty much every time the son does anything it's a cringe-inducing, vulgar embarrassment. And not at all realistic; the son is supposed to be one of the smartest in his class, yet he's got a creepy, stalkerish obsession with his babysitter, and he freely and proudly states and/or implies all sorts of vulgarities to various authority figures, who do very little to discipline him. It doesn't help that Cal's son is short and young-looking even for 13, and the object of his affection is quite a tall (17 year old) girl; this only heightens the creepiness quotient, as it looks more like a young boy relentlessly pursuing an adult woman than one teen being interested in another. And as the movie continues, the babysitter even seems to be caught up in some unrealistic, misguided actions herself (mainly involving nude photos, which are not actually seen by the viewer). So if you have kids, better make sure they either don't watch the movie or else explain to them that these actions are not only unacceptable, but could make them a major embarrassment to their family and community, and in any event would not succeed as intended.

The movie also breaks down toward the end, as perhaps the writer decided to throw in several silly, semi-slapstick, stock plot devices - in order to make this fit the Hollywood "comedy forumula". [MINOR SPOILERS AHEAD]. Toward the end we have, in rapid succession: several misunderstandings, a big chase related to the misunderstandings, a bunch of people wanting to do violence to each other (because of the misunderstandings), punches being thrown around, the police arriving on the scene, etc. Somehow, someone in Hollywood got the idea that violence is funny; it never is, nor should it be. Then there's the Hollywood cliche' of things going terribly wrong, only to be redeemed by a "great speech" that makes everyone stand up and cheer. Yet it's not a great speech here, not a great message or a great ending. The speech and ending does not ring true to me (yes I realize it's a movie, but still, there has to be some believability), and only compounds the unrealistic vision of "romance" held by Cal's son.

So why four stars? This is a movie with generous 5 star portions marred by seriously bad/disturbing 1 star elements. Average those out, and it's a solid 3 star movie. However, because the good parts here are so strong, I'll assume that the viewer can do their best to ignore the bad parts. The good parts are definitely worth seeing, so I'm adding a star to the average - to make it 4 stars. Definitely see this if the main plot interests you, and try to delete the bad parts from your brain as you watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of the blu ray, January 3, 2012
By 
barry (Boston, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crazy, Stupid, Love [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
CRAZY STUPID LOVE is a truly heartwarming superb film. It brings the romantic comedy to a mature and modern age with wit, heartfelt humor and characters that are believable and superbly cast. Steve Carell and Julianne Moore are excellent as a married couple on the rocks. Marisa Tomei pops in with a role that makes one remember how talented she really is. But for me the true strength and heart of the film comes from Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone. Ryan Gosling gives a highly entertaining comedic performance that is so multi-dimensional it will certainly take viewers by surprise as his character goes through many changes. And Emma Stone is also hilarious. She is proving herself to be an added asset to any film and here her humor is performed with a new intelligence and maturity. The film is 2 hours and the beauty and heart of the film unfolds slowly from the rather abrupt beginning to the poignant and superb ending. This is a film for true romantics. The laughs here come from identifying with the characters and their lives. Many subplots blend together in perfect harmony.

The blu ray presentation is quite remarkable. The video is spot on with a clarity that truly pops. Colors are vibrant and bright with flesh tones realistic and true. The black/white ratio is excellent and the overall crispness of the picture is that one may not expect from a romantic comedy. And the audio matches it. Dialogue is strong and present with the surround speakers used perfectly for ambience and club scenes. The overall presentation is a perfect example of blu ray at its best.

I honestly loved this film. I did not see it in the theater and after purchasing it here at Amazon have watched it 3 times already and each time it makes me laugh more while also touching me more with its heartfelt and realistic message. And with each viewing I am struck again by how great Ryan Gosling is here. Who knew he had such great comedic chops. Add to that his always superb character development and it becomes one of his best roles so far. Highly recommend this film. This is a film that will have you in stitches laughing while also shedding some tears for these characters you will truly fall in love with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 280 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Crazy, Stupid, Love [Blu-ray]
Crazy, Stupid, Love [Blu-ray] by John Requa (Blu-ray - 2011)
$14.98 $9.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.