Customer Reviews


727 Reviews
5 star:
 (433)
4 star:
 (157)
3 star:
 (51)
2 star:
 (31)
1 star:
 (55)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


152 of 174 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The audience howled with laughter and recognition!
I thought this movie was fabulously funny and warm-hearted, poignant and tender, bitter and sweet. In other words, just like our real relationship(s) in life. Steve Carell was brilliant as the cuckolded husband who had to find his groove (again) after slipping into the humdrum of benign neglect, Ryan Gosling couldn't have been better in the role of the dazzling womanizer...
Published on August 5, 2011 by Meredith Jordan

versus
27 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, should have been rated "R" though.
***SPOILERS*** PLEASE DO NOT READ IF YOU WANT TO BE TOTALLY SURPRISED WHEN YOU WATCH THE MOVIE YOURSELF

The casting for this movie is superb. The plot is realistic. The screenplay is smart. I laughed a lot. I cried a little. I loved all the characters. My problem was that this movie got a PG-13 rating even though it involved a 17-year-old taking nude photos of...
Published on December 21, 2011 by happymama


‹ Previous | 1 2 373 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice timepass, November 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Even though it kind of starts in a depressing note, it gets better with unexpected twists which makes it a worth watch. Ryan Gosling reaching to the next level of actors so quickly delivers a stylish and mature performance. The lead actors both complement each other with their standard style of acting. Overall you would feel its a good time spent watching this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best romantic comedy of this year, November 20, 2011
By 
Alan Ramirez (Monterrey, Mexico) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crazy, Stupid, Love (DVD)
I gotta admit that the main reason I wanted to see this movie is because I love Steve Carell, Emma Stone and even Ryan Gosling. But I got a different view of love, not as your typical romantic comedy style one, it is very well-written, the actors are really good, and even the end with a twist keeps being great.
The plot works great, the jokes are funny, and it feels like the film found its way to be charming, and very rememberable. I think I could watch it everyday and never get bored.

If you're looking for a romantic comedy, pick "Crazy, Stupid Love.", you won't regret. You'll have a good time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, November 6, 2011
This is a wonderful movie. I laughed and cried and then laughed some more. Having gone through similar circumstances in my life made it all the better. One thing you get by the end is that all love makes you both crazy and stupid. You won't be disappointed seeing this one. Maybe considered a bit of a chick flick but believe it or not my husband loved it every bit as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hysterical!, September 15, 2011
By 
LA Betty (Torrance, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crazy, Stupid, Love (DVD)
This is the best comedy I have seen in quite a while, it's definitely a Laugh Out Loud movie which usually isn't the case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crazy,Stupid,Love, November 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Movie lives up to the name, little cheesy, but it made it that much more funny. Twist and turns and ends up a big ball of mushiness. That is somehow enjoyable. I had fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will laugh your butt off..., August 6, 2011
By 
This review is from: Crazy, Stupid, Love [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I was totally expecting to be bored watching this movie and that it would be a waste of money. Boy was I wrong. I never laughed so much at a movie in a long long time. Steve Carell is absolutely awesome. Ryan Gosling is more than just a pretty face in this, but it's a plus. So can't wait to get it on DVD so I can laugh some more. LOVE IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Total Surprise - Sweet and Funny, With a Great Cast, July 31, 2011
This review is from: Crazy, Stupid, Love (DVD)
Crazy, Stupid, Love. is a sweet romantic-comedy about sweet people from Glenn Ficarra and John Requa, the duo behind last year's overlooked I Love You Phillip Morris. This is a film with genuine characters that follows the conventions of a Hollywood romantic-comedy but succeeds on the strengths of the well-written script by Dan Fogelman. Maturely written, it handles the romantic exploits of adults and children and puts equal emphasis on both. This is one of the few films of late that has a sub-plot about adolescent love that takes the character seriously rather than needlessly padding out the story. Emotions are allowed to naturally unfold instead of being dictated by what is required of the plot. This is written by someone who knows what he's doing and directed by two men who know how to lead their actors through the story to maximum effect.

Cal Weaver (Steve Carell) is having dinner with his wife Emily (Julianne Moore) when she abruptly announces that she wants a divorce. Cal is stunned, especially by her admission that she has slept with her co-worker David Lindhagen (Kevin Bacon). Almost overnight, Cal moves into his own apartment and spends his nights moping at a local bar. Jacob Palmer (Ryan Gosling), a smooth-talking womanizer with a remarkable gift of getting beautiful women to accompany him home every night, sees Cal and offers to help him become irresistible to women. This comes after Jacob has just met Hannah (Emma Stone), whom he can't seem to shake from his mind. Meanwhile, Cal's 13-year-old son Robbie (Jonah Bobo) has fallen for his 17-year-old babysitter Jessica (Analeigh Tipton), who happens to harbor a crush on Cal. Parallel plot threads like this tend to bring trouble for writers, who tend to push one thread to the side in favor of another. Not here. Everyone is given equal attention and is fleshed-out appropriately. The way the plot threads eventually come together in a surprising and hilarious confrontation is easily one of the film's highlights.

The characters are very believable and extremely likable. Crazy, Stupid, Love. is a comedy, but the humor comes from the way characters handle their emotions. The characters never seem to be consciously attempting humor and the film only rarely does. Directors Ficarra and Requa know comedy and actors, which is likely why both are so well utilized. There are some great actors, some well-known and some not, who appear to be enjoying themselves while perfectly capturing the essence of their characters.

This is a film that gets far with a talented screenwriter and some talented directors, but the overall quality rests on the shoulders of the ensemble that bring the story to life and, for this film, they can't be overlooked or ignored. Carell is the everyman, cynical and hurt over his divorce. Gosling, who after massive success with The Notebook seemed to retreat from the mainstream for more personal roles, is so suave and electrifyingly charming, it's easy to accept some of the dialogue he gets away with. Stone, who seems to get better with every new film, has an uncanny ability to light up the screen and the chemistry she and Gosling share is absolutely smoldering. Marisa Tomei also has this light up the screen ability and still does even with a small role. Moore makes the adulterous Emily such a sympathetic character that it's impossible to harbor any ill-will towards her. Finally, for the third time in 2011, Kevin Bacon appears as the "bad guy," David Lindhagen, a sweet man who feels guilt about his role in the dissolution of a marriage but also feels strongly about Emily. I question whether Bacon is intent on playing every variation of a villain he can. Even the younger actors do good work and the sub-plot about Robbie trying to woo Jessica is convincingly written and poignantly acted.

Crazy, Stupid, Love. does not alter the foundation of Hollywood romantic-comedies, but even at its most formulaic, it's done right. It maintains such a positive tone that even Robbie's graduation, the film's most generic scene, is warm and adorable. The film is equal amounts comedy and drama, but the genre elements blend splendidly to create a surprisingly wonderful movie. It's not a great film, but it works so well that there's very little to criticize. It's just so...sweet.

GRADE: A-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crazy, Stupid, Love - A Message to Married Couples to Keep their Marriage Exciting, September 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
An extraordinary, funny, somewhat tragic account of what can go wrong in a marriage when a couple allows it to be routine and dull. The interaction of the various characters is somewhat unusual, but the maturation of the leads and supporting actors is worthy of note. The teenage characters add spice and direction to two parents lost in their own disappointments with the reality of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars as a male, August 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
its pains me to admit it, but i loved this movie and I am a guy, good all the way through, good amount of serious/silly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars chick flick + dash of bro bonding = perfect date movie, August 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
steve carell is great yet again: funny, real, touching, vulnerable, moving, convincing. solid cast. great moments. watched it with my boyfriend and it was like a chick flick for me and a truly smart movie for him, too. it said so much about lovers, family, and just life in general. it was just so funny and smart. honestly, it was just such a solid film. i'm so glad i rented it for $1.99. i just regret not seeing in when it was in the theatres. i recommend this movie. excellent acting by everyone. SOLID.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 373 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xd9de3c14)

This product

Crazy, Stupid, Love [Blu-ray]
Crazy, Stupid, Love [Blu-ray] by John Requa (Blu-ray - 2011)
$14.98 $9.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.