Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
9
5 star
89%
4 star
11%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 28, 2014
My 2 year old LOVES LOVES LOVES this book! It could be the boom went the thunder, or that the mom kept opening 1 eye when the door opened, but she won't go anywhere without this book. We had checked this out from the library so many times, I had no choice but to buy it for her.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2016
I teach Kindergarten and used this book to teach author's voice in writing. The kids LOVED it and began using more dialogue and action in their own writing. Awesome Book! You could use it to teach sequencing, dialogue, action, author's voice, etc...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2010
This book, like Root's "One Duck Stuck," plays with language and sounds to engage and involve young children. "Squeak" says the door, as each new person (or animal) wants to join the parents during a scary thunderstorm, and "Creak!" says the bed as each one plops in! Preschoolers can relate to the frightening storm, and will enjoy sharing their experiences with storms after reading the book. And they love making the squeaking and creaking sounds!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2010
The writing is witty and the illustarations are fun...a winning combination. I went into the bookstore to buy another book, but fell in love with this one. Maybe I'll go back and purchase my original intent next time I visit the bookseller.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
What a great book! Everyone piles in the bed, and you know that funny stuff is going to happen. Each child comes in from their room (too cold, too spooky) to get in bed with mom and dad, and when thunder booms outside, even the dog gets in the act. Every time the bedroom door opens, you get a resounding Squeak and every time a new family member jumps in bed, you get a big Creak. With the thunder that booms, and the dad that snores, it all adds up to lots of fun story time sounds that your audience is more than happy to help you with!

The illustrations really add to the humour in this story; from the expressive characters to the little girl sleeping on mom's head. Everyone will appreciate the ending when the floor has the final word. This gives lots of opportunity for the reader and the audience to have fun, and is one of those story time reads thats a sure fire winner!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2013
Wonderful illustrations and the story is really about the way real families live. There's nothing safer or cozier than your parents' bed and nothing funnier to a kid than the bed falling apart.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2014
Our nearly-4 yr. old reads and re-reads it, enjoying its predictive nature. We're wondering if it addresses an unstated concern, too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2013
Used it for read-aloud for writer's workshop as an example of small moments, personal narratives. First grade children loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2016
My kindergarteners loved this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse