Customer Reviews


308 Reviews
5 star:
 (221)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


331 of 349 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shock and Awe: How little has changed in 37 years
I bought this DVD with some degree of trepidation given that most of these reunion gigs/albums whatever seldom live up to the hype Rumours have abounded about Jack Bruce's poor health and finances as well as personal emnities between the various band members but in the end I could not pass it up.

From the moment that the band walked on the stage I had a lump in...
Published on October 5, 2005 by Junglies

versus
12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well done boys!!!!!!
I was crossing my fingers about this one and was not dissappointed. Should be 5 stars (the Amazon rating system somehow fouled up on me). This DVD captures Cream like we had dreamed of seeing them. Although some of the youthful energy is gone (NSU, for instance), it is more than made up by experience, the result being that they have become the seasoned blues/jazzmen they...
Published on October 4, 2005 by Samuel B. King


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

331 of 349 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shock and Awe: How little has changed in 37 years, October 5, 2005
By 
Junglies (Morrisville, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I bought this DVD with some degree of trepidation given that most of these reunion gigs/albums whatever seldom live up to the hype Rumours have abounded about Jack Bruce's poor health and finances as well as personal emnities between the various band members but in the end I could not pass it up.

From the moment that the band walked on the stage I had a lump in my throat and from the very fist note it was clear that in the intervening years since Goodbye Cream the only thing that had changed was the degree of skill and virtuosity that each possessed had increased.

I am not churlish about the song selection given the stated number of songs that the trio had played together summed to only 35 as per Bruce including the ones that had never been played. I am sure that each of us has our own favourites that we wanted them to play and we were disappointed by their exclusion but ce la vie. I do agree with others that a gesture to the diehard fans about making available the totality of the concerts available on CD would be a good one. Especially since Eric has done it before regarding his solo performances in the same venue.

Before foccussing on the songs I must say that for me the most poignant moment can when they were performing Badge and Clapton left the section attributed to his friend George on the album silent before resuming his blistering, very heartfelt playing. If these shows are about anything it is about learning that life is too short for holding grudges and we should all be thankful of each opportunity to share our wonderful gifts with others.

Aside from the music the highlights of this two disc set lie in the camera shot of Brian May in the audience during the performance, another friend who has been a good asscoiate of Eric's in recent years and the brief interviews, alas each done separately giving us insight into the shows.

AS for the music, it is a shock to the system to see what these three old men can put out on stage just in terms of the sheer power of the trio. The band rehearsed a lot we know but the blistering improvisations remain outstanding and the Grateful Dead would be proud. The interplay between Bruce and Clapton was a joy to behold and Bruce's bass almost seemed to be alive. Ginger Baker may be getting on a bit but he can still pound the life out of the drum kit.

For me Crossroads brought tears to my eyes as did Badge, The initial chords of the blues song seemed an anachronism in an odd sort of way but Clapton has a way of giving each song another idiosyncratic feel at the heart of the blues tradition but at the same time in a very contemporary manner. His seemingly endless capacity to express his emotions in a different way in each song in such an easy manner is incredible and that was no more so in evidence in We're Going Wrong.

To me none of the songs were a disappointment even Pressed Rat and Wharthog which even seemed to belong. You almost wanted the discs to go on forever and the surprising thing is that by the end they do not seem to have been on long at all.

I thought that I had seen the pinnacle of Clapton playing at the Concert for George in the loving yet mournful rendition of While My Guitar Gently Weeps yet in these shows you found the full gamut of hurt and anguish, joy and pain, being delivered almost offhandedly by a Clapton whose own life experiences have earned him the term blues player. These three guys on the stage infront of such a mixed age audience drew us all in the to excellent playing and in effect into their own intimate relationship. The DVD selection in the fantastic sound derserves to be in every home.

Cream we salute thee. The Cream is dead. Long live the Cream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Circle is Finally Complete, February 6, 2006
First of all, I would advise level-headed readers to ignore the one-star extremists. These people are so cynical that if Jesus Christ Himself were to make a comeback in their living rooms, they would scorn Him as a sellout because He wasn't still wearing the original crown of thorns.

Frankly, I don't care why Cream decided to make this concert happen - I'm just overwhelmed with gratitude that they did it before one of them left us. Let's get real. These three men are closing in on 70, and they have absolutely no right to play as well, sing as beautifully or sound as incredible as they do on this DVD. Basically, what you have here are three grandfathers playing a young man's hard driving blues, and doing a d**n fine job. In the music business, perhaps only B.B. King, Ray Charles, Willie Nelson and Johnny Cash have worn their years as magnificently as Eric, Jack and Ginger do here.

This isn't a "comeback" or a "reunion," despite what the DVD credits would have us believe. Musically, this is a continuation, a new chapter in the annals of Cream. Yes, they play most of their original hits, and yes there are (many) moments when you'll hear the young men they once were coming out in their voices and in their playing. But a perfect recreation of their 1968 sound is not what this concert is about.

Instead, this is like classical pianist Glen Gould's "Book End" recordings of the Goldberg Variations. He recorded them first in his 20's and then again in his 70's. The songs are the same, the brilliance is the same; the interpretations are subtly but powerfully different, as one would expect from a man who has gathered fifty years of life experience between them.

Any attempt by Cream to exactly reproduce their sound from 1968 for the May 2005 R.A.H. concert would have turned this into a sad caricature, in the same way that it would have been pathetic for them to have grown out their hair and squeezed into polyester bell bottoms. As Jack says in one of the interviews, "We didn't want to become a tribute band to ourselves; that would have been awful." I couldn't agree more, and if we want to experience Cream circa 1968, that's what "Fresh Live Cream," "Cream Farewell Concert" and "Cream Live Vols 1 & 2" are for.

Instead, what this DVD gives us is a miraculous concert by three of the greatest musicians ever to pick up the fundamental classic rock instruments. The songs are familiar, and so is the general sound, but the music itself is new in a way that is magnificent.

As for the production: The sound quality is flawless, the video is perfect, the camera angles are occasionally irritating but often quite good, and the band is tastefully presented alone on stage with no backup musicians or overdubbing. While I would have enjoyed seeing more extra materials on the 2nd DVD, such as an interview with all three at the same time and some vintage film footage, what we get in the whole set is still worth several times the selling price.

Real fans of this trio will be overwhelmed and overjoyed to experience what they have given us on this DVD. They were purists then, and they are purists now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Rate, November 11, 2011
By 
This review is from: Cream: Live at the Royal Albert Hall 2005 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Thank God they did this (and I DON'T mean Eric Clapton!). Cream was captured live on audio very well in 60's but the only live video is the execrable "Farewell Concert" (which you can totally forget about). This video captures the band in fine form...they are as good as they were in the 60's which is astonishing when you consider the passage of years. Jack Bruce drives Eric Clapton to levels we haven't seen since 1969 and it reminds us why he was referred to as God in his heydey. Cream plays virtually every song in their catalogue (even "Pressed Rat and Warthog"!) and, if that wasn't enough, they add a NEW Cream song to the canon, a superb "Stormy Monday" sung by Eric Claption. This is one of the best videos in my collection and I treasure owning it. I wish something more had come out of this one-off reunion but I'm very happy that they got this right!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A former Clapton basher comes clean, December 12, 2005
By 
I see myself as one of those Clapton "purists" who thought 1)his move to Fender Stratocasters and 2)his solo material after Derek and the Dominoes, did not compare to Cream, and his brief stint in John Mayall's band. I felt cheated buying his pop albums of the mid to late 80's (remember "Forever Man"?), as well as his synthetic/plastic blues albums of the early to mid 90's. From this period, I thought "Unplugged" was the exception. Aside from the death of his son, with the song that he wrote in tribute, Clapton was to me a souless, clinical guitar player.

Then I received the "Concert for George" DVD for X-mas two years ago. When I saw Clapton pour his heart into that tribute concert for his friend (George Harrison), I knew there was still some life left in him. Especially the solo for "My Guitar Gently Weeps", which brings back the old Clapton solo phrasing, something I had not heard in years.

Because of that concert/DVD, I was optimistic about how Clapton would play for a Cream reunion that came to reality 5/05. I must say I'm not in the least disappointed with this performance. While many think a 60 year old Clapton, a 66 year old Baker, and a 62 year old Bruce are going to play with the same energy 36 years later is dreaming. Clapton's Leslie/Fender tube amp setup with his custom Strat is a beefy combination that fits well with Bruce's new Hartke bass amps.

When I watch this DVD I realize Bruce needed Clapton, and vice versa. They feed off each other and compete to improve through every jam/solo. Clapton plays with an inspiration I haven't heard in years (if not ever), while Bruce is always trying to edge ahead of Eric on the shorter but not weaker jams of the 2005 edition. "Sweet Wine" is the one song/jam that reminds me of Cream of the past. That song is worth the price of this DVD alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 1/2 stars for a great DVD of a great band, September 28, 2005
Of course Cream isn't playing with the same ferociousness they did when they were in their 20s back in the 1960s, but name one band from that era that still does. The Who's Pete Townshend still has his manic-style of guitar thrashing, but that's about it. The Stones are still good, but not as intense as they once were.

On to the Cream DVD. Great picture, great audio. It's widescreen, with a lot of detail and depth to the visuals. The colors are lively and the vibe of the show is caught well on this video. Sound is very, very good, with lots of Jack Bruce's bass (taking a less "dirty" tone here than in the 1960s) and full, well-rounded drum sound from Ginger Baker. His toms and bass drums boom, and his high-hat, which he miraculously works with his foot through the entire DVD, helps add mid- and high-range sounds in the absence of a second guitar or keyboards. Here's Cream, the original three - Bruce, Baker and Eric Clapton, playing together again. And it sounds great. Yes, there not as firey as they once were, bu they still jam. Baker's "Toad" is a treat, and his drum solo, with its swing-style and floating vibe, is very impressive. Bruce and Clapton trade off verses on "White Room," which is a nice change from the original recording, although not necessarily better. The new DVD shows Cream to have much more of a sense of humor on-stage than some might think. Clapton, Baker and Bruce are seen smiling at each other constantly, showing that they've kissed and made up, so to speak. As a musician, it's fun to watch their eye-contact with each other, wondering if some of those smiles are from possible mistakes they're making on their instruments. Regardless, they're amazing musicians, and no flubbed notes are evident (except on the alternate extra of "Sunshine of Your Love," where Clapton misses his first vocal cue and then laughs). Clapton also seems more relaxed on-stage than in other vidoes of his solo concerts. It's remarkable, considering that he was stressed a bit from not being able to rely on a second guitar and keyboard. But that's the charm of this video. Three instruments (four, if you count Bruce's harmonica, and he works gloriously into overtime here) and three voices, and that's all. The video was taken from four nights at the Royal Albert Hall, and although it could have felt like a chop job, rocketing back and forth between nights, it doesn't. The date is subtly put in the corner of the screen whenever the concert changes, and it feels like a smoothly-edited documentary movie. It's very, very good, with the camera and editing personnel not afraid to hold a shot for longer than 7 or 8 seconds. The audience shots mostly are held to a minimum. There are some cool shots of the Hall's lobby during the concert, and some outdoor shots. Surprisngly, they work.

The extra interviews are brief, but all right. It's interesting that Clapton says he kind of initiated the reunion after Jack fell ill a year or two ago. Jack does look awfully thin in the video, but his bass skills and his vocals are still there. We only hope he's not sick. Watching Baker don Cream 2005 tour shirts throughout the video, the viewer wishes they'd do a full-scale reunion of America, instead of just a few nights in NY in October.

A very good DVD to own.

Peace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three True Rock Icons Together Again!, December 18, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
In 1966, Cream spearheaded the first wave of the British rock invasion and revolutionized the concept of the power trio. Their brief career, lasting only three years, left a musical legacy that exists to this day. Cream standards such as: "Sunshine of Your Love" (track 19, encore), "Crossroads" (track 15), "White Room" (track 17), and "Badge" (track 8) grace the classic rock airwaves from coast to coast daily. Their live show set the standard for rock concerts for decades to follow. Ginger Baker was one of the first to incorporate double bass drums, extra toms and cymbals into a now familiar kit that would be imitated by a generation of rock drummers. Jack Bruce, schooled as a classical cellist, showed that a Marshall stack was not only for guitarists, and changed the role of the electric bass forever. Eric Clapton went on to become the preeminent blues-rock guitarist of our times.

For those of us who remember Cream, their 2005 reunion, culminating in a four night engagement at London's Royal Albert Hall stirred anticipation from bar room to board room. For others too young to remember, this reunion is a heart warming lesson in the bonds of friendship, and musical mastery. Producers John Beug and James Pluta captured the best of Cream's set in a two-disc DVD package that no fan, young or old can afford to miss. The package and accompanying song list resembles a flower-powered, psychedelic painted Volkswagen bus. Yet this cosmetic debauchery cannot mask the sound and visual artistry within.

The 19-song set, consisting of mostly Cream hits, and a few blues covers (with three alternate takes) highlights the second, third and final nights' performances. Brief, interviews of all three band members, round out the package. Although oscillating from show to show disrupts the continuity of watching one performance from beginning to end, this tactic is not too annoying. The producers wisely chose to utilize the three-way split screen effect sparingly. Audience shots and brief views of the inner bowls of the historic Royal Albert Hall are weaved together, and inserted tastefully. Yet it is the honesty and integrity of the musicians on stage that leave the viewer spellbound and breathless.

The band opens with an awkward rendition of their hit "I'm So Glad." Bruce, shorter than we remember, dons a beautiful red mahogany vintage Gibson EB-1, the violin-shaped bass popularized by the late Felix Pappalardi of Mountain. Bruce will play this instrument for half the DVD, before switching to a fretless Warwick, his axe of choice in recent years. Clapton, wearing brand new, off the rack denims and "Wallabies(?)" looks scruffy in a four-day growth of beard. Baker, the oldest of the three at 66, wears jeans (rolled up to the knee, an old trademark) Cream tee-shirt, and a pair of Oxfords in dyer need of a shine. He looks more like one's grandfather, than a rock legend. Beautiful A cappella vocal harmonies by Clapton and Bruce in the bridge, soon remind the audience, that despite outward appearances, the old Cream magic is still there.

Bruce's crisp vocal range, responsible for Cream's distinct sound, is quite evident in Willie Dixon's "Spoonful" (track 2). Originally running over six minutes, this piece exhibits the band's standard formula built upon a riff, and basic blues progression. Clapton's long, soul searching guitar solo, backed by improvisational jamming and thunderous rhythms by Bruce and Baker, provide the template for "Politician" (track 8), "Born Under a Bad Sign" (track 13), and "Sitting on Top of the World" (track 16).

Clapton's slow hand is surely felt on Arthur Baker's "Outside Woman's Blues" (track 3), and T-Bone Walker's immortal "Stormy Monday" (track 11). Bruce blows a mean blues harp, and gets the normally subdued London audience dancing in the aisles with Muddy Water's "Rollin' and Tumblin'" (track 10). Nicely arranged vocal harmonies between Bruce and Clapton on Bruce's own "Sleepy Time Time" (track 5) provide one of the show's highlights.

Bruce's unique song writing, arrangement, and singing styles are further evident in "We're Going Wrong" (track 14), "N.S.U." (track 6), and "Deserted Cities of the Heart" (track 12). Baker's less known writing contributions are displayed in "Sweet Wine" (track 9), while "Pressed Rat and Warthog" (track 4) is resurrected in Baker's gruff deep baritone speaking voice. It is on "Toad" (track 18), the compulsory drum solo, where Baker confirms he is still the founding father of rock/jazz drummers. This solo is breath-taking, meticulous, and never is a misjudged rim shot or stick clashing in mid-air to be heard. At 66, Baker unequivocally reaffirmed his place at the pinnacle of his profession.

There are several moments of pure fun, on stage. "You're just trying to make me nervous," declares Baker, after Clapton introduced Peter Edward Baker, before "Pressed Rat and Warthog." Bruce smiles broadly at Baker, for following his up-scale bass line with machine-gun tom-toms, and both miraculously came back in time. Then, Bruce and Clapton acknowledge a smile and a nod after a satisfying performance.

There are slight imperfections as well. In "Sunshine of Your Love" (alternate take), Clapton starts to sing a verse too early, as Bruce glances over and smiles forgivingly. Bruce, likewise misses a bass cue in "N.S.U.", and more than once, Baker finishes a drum roll two early, and waits motionless for his band mates to catch up. One critique is the slower tempo of "Crossroads." Bruce just did not attack those now classic bass runs, as he did in the original version. Though professing that "we wanted to play as we do now, not as we did then," I wanted Bruce to set his fret board on fire. Yet Clapton, Bruce and Baker are only human; three musical icons together again after thirty-seven years. If you remember the early days of British rock, ever jammed a blues into the early morning hours, or are a classic rock fan, you need this DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cream is back.. almost, November 17, 2005
Well with great anticipation, I bought the DVD. Then I got out my video tape of the Farewell concert of 1969 and compared song for song. I wanted to share my observations. Of course the new concert you hear the drums much better and everything is clearer.

In both concerts they did not move around much, and really just played. The 2005 concern we see Jack sitting at times, however.

It was interesting to watch the crowds in both concerts. In the 60's, people moved to the music a lot more. In 2005, people didn't want to make any noise so they can could soak up everything. I had the feeling that wanted to be quiet so they would not miss anything that happened on stage. It was more like going to a jazz concert today.

1960's Cream

1. Thick guitar tone that was killer. Even when Eric did not play many notes, it just sounded so bloody good.

2. Drums were a little busier, with more energy.

3. There is more excitment in the playing.

4. On White room, Eric used a wa wa pedal which took the sound to a new level.

5. Bass guitar had some distortion to it. This helped the music to sound fuller when Eric was doing a solo. Almost like playing Rh guitar with Eric' lead.

6. The music flowed more, though they may of lost their place here and there, they were always able to find their way back.

7. Jack screamed lyrics more often and with energy.

8. Video is poor with the panning in and out while they are playing

2005 Cream

1. Eric Clapton's guitar playing has more deversity with note selections and fills. He has better chops now compared to back then. However since he has more of a modern EC guitar sound, it lacks that magic of the old tone that everyone loved; "the woman tone". Back then his fills were more limited.

2. Ginger now plays matched grip. A lot of drummers have switched including one of my favorites, Dave Weckel.

3. No wa wa pedal on White room, which was disapointing. We can hear him on "Just one Night album" playing a wa pedal on different songs and it was cool, even with a Strat. Having no wa was little disapointing.

4. Ginger's chops are just as good, and more refined than back in the 60's. Love the double kick doing a pattern and his hands doing another, though this appeared to be a lot more limited.

5. You can tell they rehearsed a lot for the concert. They were more aware of what each other was doing and was careful to stay together. Not as free flowing as in the old days.

6. Jack sang instead of screaming the vocal parts.

7. Bass playing just as good if not better than the old days.

8. Clapton's tone is ok, he never got a great sound on the guitar until he did some blues records a couple years ago. (Thats when he used a 335 and Les Paul again.)

I would of loved to see Eric with a 335 or SG and the Marshal. But I think they all felt, they have to play who they are now, and not try to be the player they were back then. There is some logic to this however to of heard him playing at least one or two songs with the old tone would of been amazing. I still love the John Mayers Blues Breakers tone he got as well.

Both have their pros and cons, with the old Cream edging out the new with more excitement in their playing and the tone of Eric's guitar. However Ginger's drums sound much better in 2005, and Eric has better leads in the new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


101 of 126 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cream live...amazing concert and performances...Clapton shines, September 29, 2005
By 
Just watching Eric Clapton play guitar again, just to jam on stage with himself, a drummer and bass player has been a rare sight to see over the last 35 years. This is why the man was declared GOD back in the 60's during his stint with the Bluesbreakers, cause he could play. He played like a GOD with Cream from 1966 - 1968 and in 2005 he proves he still has the chops! No 2nd or 3rd guitarist, piano and keys to flesh out the sound, just bass, drums and Claptons guitar. Easily the best Clapton related release in many many years! The rest is just gravy, Jack Bruce, I mean come on...Everyone from Lemmy to Les Claypool idolize this guy, and he he still terrific after all these years. Ginger, rocks first powerhouse drummer, what a great solo during Toad, very defined.

If you close your eyes you'd think these guys have been playing together for the last 35 years. Amazing stuff! Great DVD to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Original Power Trio Reunion, October 15, 2005
By 
Perry Celestino (Tahmoor, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This DVD has to get 5 Stars because of its historical importance. The Beatles can't do this. The Rolling Stones have no Brian Jones. The Beach Boys, enough said. I have read all the previous reviews and would like to make a comment.

I saw Cream live in 1966 and 1968 and I also played in bands doing their stuff around New York in the 1960s. I met Jimi Hendrix in 1967 in the Village and he loved Cream. When I saw them in 1966 they did "I'm So Glad" and Clapton's solo included the 1812 Overture, but my ears hurt for a week! When I saw them in Phoenix in 1968, they opened with their biggest song "Sunshine of Your Love" first-it just wasn't done! I thought it was great-the unexpected.

This Concert IS the unexpected. These guys play an "New" version of themselves. I find it entertaining, enlightening and exactly what they should have done. The set includes some of everyone's favourites. You can't please everyone. Bruce explains that they couldn't do "I Feel Free" because it was a studio recording and so was "Strange Brew"-It had several guitar parts with the Albert King solo from "Oh, Pretty Woman"! However, doing "Pressed Rat" for the first time live was a good idea. It think it is very telling that during "Crossroads" you see a very happy Brian May. So much for the critics! The new version is clean and cool. Also the wah-wah pedal is an effect that can disguise an average player. I think it was a good idea for Clapton not to use it and play clean on "White Room".

The whole concert and outtakes are well presented. I don't look too much at the overall camera work, the sound is good. Many reviewers wanted Clapton and Bruce to go back in time with Marshall Stacks and so on, well you can't can you? They themselves said that. Why would you want to replicate the 1960's stuff anyway-do you need to? We have the CDs and the Farewell Concert! What another version? And Ginger's laid back drumming-I prefer it!!! He is a jazz drummer and he sounds better now. When I bought the Cream's records in the 1960's I always skipped "Toad" who wants to hear a 15 minute drum solo-On this DVD it's shorter, but it is too long for me!!! That is the only negative thing I have to say.

Eric Clapton has done so much to promote the guitar and especially Blues guitar for 40 years I don't know why people are so keen to knock him. He moved on from the big sound of Gibsons after he heard the Band and Bob Dylan. He plays a replica of "Blackie" his most famous Strat. It was done by the Fender custom shop and is great to see after his last two flashy "Avant Garde" models. Perhaps his contract with Fender made him choose not to go back to Gibsons. However, it's a different sound and this is a different concert. He also uses a Fender'57 Twin re-issue tube amp with a Leslie speaker cabinet, very cool. Jack Bruce shows a lot of skill on his fretless bass. He could could have used a 5 or 6 string bass.

Clapton's playing is his usual melodic style. Comments have been made about he's old, bad tone, always plays the same old thing- well there is the pentatonic scale and it's how you use it. Albert King always got knocked about his same old riffs-but were they really the same? Buddy Guy always plays those "overbends" and decending pentatonic runs on the 5th and 4th chords, B.B. King plays that Major Pentatonic scale and so it goes. You like it or you don't.

As far as the set list. "Badge" is great. Clapton did a great version of this on his Hyde Park Concert and this is a highlight and a tribute to George Harrison. "I'm So Glad" is a great beginning. It kicks the Blues end off. This song had it's royalties go to help keep Skip James (who had cancer) alive long enough to rerecord his original recordings! "Outside Women Blues" maybe should have had a little Albert King tribute solo from "Strange Brew", but it's great. "Stormy Monday" gives these guys a jam together with a classic number and, very interestingly, as a tribute to British Blues, they do the Chris Farlow (with Albert Lee) version, the UK's first Blues hit. "We're Going Wrong" probably the best performance on the DVD-probably because like "Double Crossing Time " (about Jack Bruce) on the Bluesbreakers LP it has been a forgotten classic! "Sitting On Top Of The World" is cool with Bruce playing harp (Dylan-style) and bass not like the record and on White Room they start by reversing the vocal parts. This is why this concert is so good.

If you are into 1960s music, blues, are a current or ex-Cream fan, a fan of Clapton in general, you will like this DVD. I think it's great that one 1960s band reunited before I retire. Mayall sort of did this with Clapton and his 70th Birthday Concert, but it wasn't the original Bluesbreakers (and Clapton didn't use a Gibson there either). In an age when guitar playing has become judged like an Olympic event-fastest, loudest, most rigorous technique and so on-with multiple effects I would say to the critics: Let Eddie Van Halen, Steve Vai, and others sit in with Eric Clapton on his next Unplugged Acoustic session. He still sounds good without an amp!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There are no coincidences in life....., October 30, 2005
By 
everything has a reason. The other day I was talking to a co-worker and he asked me, knowing that I was 60's hippy and big Jack Bruce fan, if all the guys in Cream were still alive and if I heard about a new cd. I had not and told him that Clapton, Bruce and Baker were alive but I doubted if they would play together again. The break-up wasn't friendly and Clapton would never play that type of blues again.

That same night I was in the local Price Club looking at big-screen tellies and lo and behold there was Cream, on the large 52" screen playing White Room. It sounded and looked great. I hustled down to the CD/dvd section and there it was....Cream at Royal Albert Hall. But, it was $18 and damn I had to get my year supply of toilet paper and stuff.

When I got home I put it on and by the second song, Spoonful, I knew I had my money's worth and more. After a shaky start on I'm So Glad it all fell together again and I was back to 1966, only I was in front of my computer. The pot was replaced by a beer but I was and still am in hog heaven.

Out of the 81 reviews I read today there were five that were negative and I have got to say that I am finally sick and tired of this and these guys need to get their heads out of their butts. No matter where you go on the net, Amazon, IMDB or whatever there are the few that just don't seem to get it or just want to write crap.

Grumbling about no Strange Brew? Please...it was silly in 1967 and as close to pop-40 as they could come.

No I Feel Free. I was disappointed with this also but give them a break. That song is hard to do with the layered vocals. No Swlabr, no Tales....so what. Personally I am tired of hearing White Room on every "classic" rock radio channel I turn to.

Sleepy Time indeed?

Buckle up the recliner? What did you think you were buying? These guys are in their 50's and 60's and still playing better than anyone out there. Have you watched VH1 or MTV lately, pure garbage and nothing can be done onstage even if you wanted to see it. How can you be a Cream fan?

One guy wrote...Oh my God, this is awful? Well, turn it off, bring the dvd back and buy the newest Green Day cd. That would satisfy any 14 year old. A money thing? damn, I sure hope so. These guys are getting long in the tooth and need the bucks. At least they deserve every penny or does the word "bling" mean more to your hip-hop taste? Clapton' playing was tired? You've got to be kidding me. Did you actual watch and listen? Can you pay attention that long? Did you check off that you were over 13 years old.

Forget the few negative reviews. I have been mesmerized all day. Two versions of We're Going Wrong, one of my favorite blues songs, was the icing on the cake. Jack's voice is as strong and soulful as ever.To top it all off, they're smiling and enjoying themselves....something that they weren't doing in the 60's. The price of the dvd is a bargain and the 60's never sounded so good.

For a little while today I forgot about work and bills and I was back there. Listen to Sweet Wine and see if it doesn't happen to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cream: Live at the Royal Albert Hall 2005 [Blu-ray]
$19.98 $16.18
Usually ships in 9 to 12 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.