Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Creating Animated Cartoons with Character: A Guide to Developing and Producing Your Own Series for TV, the Web, and Short Film Paperback – August 24, 2010


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from Collectible from
Paperback, August 24, 2010
$4.96 $5.11

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Big Spring Books
Editors' Picks in Spring Releases
Ready for some fresh reads? Browse our picks for Big Spring Books to please all kinds of readers.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Watson-Guptill (August 24, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0823033074
  • ISBN-13: 978-0823033072
  • Product Dimensions: 10.1 x 7.5 x 0.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.8 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (19 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #131,488 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

JOE MURRAY is an author, illustrator, animator, and filmmaker most widely known for his two hit animated shows, Rocko’s Modern Life and Camp Lazlo, both Emmy winners and with global fan bases in the millions of viewers. He has written and illustrated three children’s books, including Who Asked the Moon to Dinner? His production studio in Southern California has been in business for over 25 years. Visit Joe online at www.joemurraystudio.com.

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 19 customer reviews
It's much more dense and thorough than I expected.
Casey A Lowe
I am interested in animation myself, but I would highly recommend Creating Animated Cartoons with Character to anyone that is interested in cartoons or art in general.
Traci Baldwin
Luckily, the creator of Rocko's Modern Life and Camp Lazlo wrote a book that can help.
MikeL

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful By MikeL on August 24, 2010
Format: Paperback
Of course most of you reading this are interested in animation, and some of you may even dream of making your own animated television show someday. I know I do. I've had that dream since I was seven, and I've been working toward my goal by animating since I was ten. Unfortunately, even if you think you have a good concept for a show, you have no idea how to get it made, so your idea will probably just sit in your brain and you'll eventually take it with you to the grave.

Or at least, that's how it used to be. Luckily, the creator of Rocko's Modern Life and Camp Lazlo wrote a book that can help. Now you can know everything you ever wanted to, thanks to Joe Murray's Creating Animated Cartoons with Character: A Guide to Developing and Producing Your Own Series for TV, the Web and Short Film. (Goodness me, that's a long name for a book).

Creating Animated Cartoons with Character give readers the insight into what goes into creating an animated series from concept to bible to pitch to production, all using examples from Murray's own career as well as those of his friends, such as Stephen Hillenberg, the creator of SpongeBob SquarePants. Will you need an agent? Will they steal your ideas? The answers to questions every aspiring creator has are answered here. This book will force the reader to examine his or her motivation for attempting to make an animated series, as well as giving the reader a realistic idea of what to expect, or rather, what not to expect. Murray brilliantly explains how to create likeable characters and how to prepare a pitch. He also offers practical advice that can be used in just about any job, like not being a jerk and keeping your ego in check.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By kjohnson1585 on September 16, 2010
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Animation is a woefully little-examined field, and while nowadays several animators often write or blog about their experiences and techniques, it's much more difficult to find a streamlined, straight-forward examination of the entire process. Joe Murray, creator of hit shows Rocko's Modern Life and Camp Lazlo, does exactly that.

With a clear, comprehensive style, visual record, and insightful Q&As with other big-name animation experts, Murray pretty much answers every possible question one may have along the lines of developing a cartoon from the ground up. Pitching, design, character, scheduling, working with networks - everything is explained in as much detail as possible. There are some moments early on where the details are skipped, like how he moved on from local comic-newspaper artist to a full-fledged studio, but the details are about the network cartoon business, not so much his life before then.

I would say that the only issue I have is that there's a heavy use of metaphors, and while I understand it has such a writing trope to help the younger or the unfamiliar understand the business better, Murray is clear and concise enough with his initial explanations of events that it makes such analogies moot.

If you are curious about the business, eager to pitch your own cartoon, or looking to work in animation in any format, I would highly recommend this. Very down-to-earth and approachable, informative without being condescending, and - well, let's be frank: it's the entire approach by the guy who created one of the best animated shows in mid-90s. That alone makes it a must read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Traci Baldwin on September 12, 2010
Format: Paperback
I LOVE this book! Almost every page is filled with illustrations and original artwork by Joe Murray. I am interested in animation myself, but I would highly recommend Creating Animated Cartoons with Character to anyone that is interested in cartoons or art in general. Fans of Rocko's Modern Life and Camp Lazlo will greatly enjoy this book because it includes neat things about the making of those shows. If you're interested in Joe himself, this is a great read as well. He does a wonderful job of making the book easy to follow while keeping it interesting. You can tell that Joe really put his whole heart into this book. The book even includes an interview with Stephen Hillenburg- the creator of SpongeBob SquarePants. I received this book as a gift, and I am very happy with it. It's definitely worth the price. The detail put into the book alone is worth the price. You will not be disappointed!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Casey A Lowe on September 3, 2010
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
For those who haven't caught on yet, this book was written (brilliantly, I feel) by the great Joe Murray, creator of the hit shows "Rocko's Modern Life" and "Camp Lazlo". I got my copy of this book the other day and was shocked at how thick it actually was! My immediate thought was that it would be filled with big pictures and sparse text; a pleasant surprise awaited me as I flipped through it. It's much more dense and thorough than I expected. The book is actually very well thought-out, entertaining, and informative. The pictures that are included (which are sized just right, not just filler) pertain to the text and are really quite inspiring.

A bit on the content: Mr. Murray starts with a brief Bio that includes some great illustrations from earlier in his career, followed by a very brief animation history lesson. This is a great way to start the book, since you can't know where you're going if you don't know where you've been. He commences to plow forward by picking his brain about his own process in creating characters and stories, following them from initial kernel of an idea in your head to getting them on paper to creating personalities to pitching your idea, preparing a mini-bible for the pilot, producing the pilot, taking it to series, maintaining your sanity when this is your life day in and day out for years, etc. He does a fantastic job of illustrating the realities of the business while still infusing plenty of his creativity. His thorough commentary provides a step-by-step insight into what to expect (and prepare yourself for) in the creation of a television animation series. The icing on the cake? Mr. Murray also includes several interviews with other series creators and talents, picking their brains about their own process and insights on the industry.

I cannot recommend this book enough for both creatives and fans of cartoons! :^)
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Product Images from Customers

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search
ARRAY(0xa588a774)