Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Having trouble sustaining lean improvements?
How many times have you found yourself holding repeat kaizen activity for the same problems? Are you losing ground on excellent work that everyone was excited about two months ago, but now that it has become old news, you find people slipping back into their old ways of doing things? This book addresses the issue of Leader Standard Work and how it is the key to sustaining...
Published on July 8, 2011 by Jim Nasium

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars great ideas
the book had some very good ideas and repeated them many times. this book could have been greatly condensed and still have gotten the points across. but i suppose repetition is a great way to learn
Published 6 months ago by Marc Burrington


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Having trouble sustaining lean improvements?, July 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Creating a Lean Culture: Tools to Sustain Lean Conversions, Second Edition (Paperback)
How many times have you found yourself holding repeat kaizen activity for the same problems? Are you losing ground on excellent work that everyone was excited about two months ago, but now that it has become old news, you find people slipping back into their old ways of doing things? This book addresses the issue of Leader Standard Work and how it is the key to sustaining the lean work. This is the book all of your leadership team must read together and discuss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Toyota Kata, June 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Creating a Lean Culture: Tools to Sustain Lean Conversions, Second Edition (Paperback)
I receivede this in time without any follow up , meaning u'r website is reliable to even tell others to use it as they wioll never be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The simple facts, April 21, 2014
I really enjoyed the simplicity of this book as a guideline to the implementation of lean. It beings home the reality that it is not the tools that matter, but how you change the culture that enables the tools that will deliver business results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars great ideas, December 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
the book had some very good ideas and repeated them many times. this book could have been greatly condensed and still have gotten the points across. but i suppose repetition is a great way to learn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, December 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Creating a Lean Culture: Tools to Sustain Lean Conversions, Second Edition (Paperback)
I used this book for a class and I must say it's a Great book... Helps you prepare to have a successful lean culture
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Practical ideas to use immediately, December 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Creating a Lean Culture: Tools to Sustain Lean Conversions, Second Edition (Paperback)
A comprehensive volume on engaging management in the Lean journey. Plenty of good examples of Lean tools put use to go nicely with the rest of great ideas found in this book for expanding Lean in your organization. I pulled several ideas to implement immediately and there is more longer term ideas in the hopper for the future. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have guidance book for any serious Toyota Production System type implementation, November 4, 2013
By 
Brent S. Bowler (Saint George, Utah) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent book for the person beginning the journey or for the seasoned professional as a reference book. It is required reading for the leadership teams at each of our plants
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good reading, September 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Creating a Lean Culture: Tools to Sustain Lean Conversions, Second Edition (Paperback)
This is like all the rest of the books that you are going to read for a class, nothing is as special as reading a book like this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well done, July 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Creating a Lean Culture: Tools to Sustain Lean Conversions, Second Edition (Paperback)
Creating a Lean Culture is one of the most crucial elements of becoming a Lean Company, David did a good job explaining, giving examples and the suggestions are well taken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great overview, and great drive for the experienced, February 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Creating a Lean Culture: Tools to Sustain Lean Conversions, Second Edition (Paperback)
As an experienced lean practitioner, I recently stumbled across this at the recommendation of a new colleague. It's one of the best, most practical, most executable lean books I've ever read. While other books spend most of their time talking about how Toyota, or Wiremold, or some other company have executed lean, this book focuses entirely on the practical side of creating a lean culture at YOUR organization, from a very basic level.

Pros:
- Practical approaches outlined that won't cost huge investments in money or IT - but getting people to change the way things are done
- Relies heavily on several keys: visual management, daily accountability, standard work, and leader standard work. These are easy to say, but very difficult to drive
- Prefers the low-tech way of driving the lean culture - which seems to improve sustainability
- Focuses on both the leader of the plant AND the kaizen office/engagement office. Seems most books are written toward one or the other

Cons:
- It's a bit short. I would have loved more, but I'm not sure if there would have been much value in adding more. It's a lean book - but I liked it that much that I wanted to see more.
- Not for the beginner - if you need 6S or flow explained to you, find another book. This is about taking those discrete tools and forming them into a culture of lean improvement - not a con, so much, as a heads up for people just getting started.

Overall, I can't say enough good things about this book. It has been eye-opening in some ways, and heavily reinforced some of my previous thoughts in others. I look forward to implementing its recommendations going forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Creating a Lean Culture: Tools to Sustain Lean Conversions, Second Edition
$45.95 $39.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.