Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IF YOU LOVE ART AND NATURE, THIS BOOK IS FOR YOU!!, December 4, 2007
By 
Louise Christian (Grand Rapids, MI. United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Creating Nature in Watercolor: An Artist's Guide (Hardcover)
I have just recieved Cathy Johnson's new book, "Creating Nature in Watercolor, an Artists Guide." I sat down and read it through, and found it felt like an beautifully illustrated letter from a good friend, who is encouraging me to join her in her love of nature and creating. The art work is superb of course, as I expected, since I already own several of her books, and recently took one of her wonderful Online Classes...and she has been drawing and painting for her whole life...but I also found much more in it than artwork. She not only shares many, many, many valuable techniques and tips...but they seem unique to her charming way of helping us out with some of the little things that become big things when you dont know how to deal with them. And she adds so many details and makes them all so interesting!
Her 'personal relationship' with nature pulls the reader and artist into a close connection with creation and creating.
It is a book for everyone...beginning and professional artists as well as all who appreciate nature.
For me this is her best book....so far...:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful & inspiring, December 5, 2007
This review is from: Creating Nature in Watercolor: An Artist's Guide (Hardcover)
Cathy Johnson's newest book is a work of art in itself. The inside page design is simply beautiful. The illustrations by Ms. Johnson are very inspiring. And her tone is one of gentle encouragement ("yes, you can do this too"). I just received my copy recently and have already spent hours savoring it. Many of Ms. Johnson's books seem deceptively simple. One could quickly glance over her notes and paintings and then set the book on the shelf. The real value comes from taking her books, page by page, and actually DOING the exercises she provides. Pay attention to her teaching, follow her examples, and wonderful things will happen with your artwork. Creating Nature in Watercolor is a wonderful book and I am thankful that the artist took the time to create it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well written and beautifully illustrated book..., December 4, 2007
By 
Jan Zeller (Central Illinois) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Creating Nature in Watercolor: An Artist's Guide (Hardcover)
I became interested in Watercolor through and online class given by Cathy Johnson almost one year ago. Now I am hooked! I purchased this book as well as several other of Cathy's books to learn more of what she has to teach. This book,(like all of Cathy Johnson's books) is easy to undersatnd and very well illlustrated. She keeps it simple yet her instruction is very through. Cathy is a very talented, patient and generous artist. She doesn't hesitate sharing her knowledge with others. Her books have helped me to learn many new techniques and have given me the inspiration keep on painting. Thanks Kate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Guidance, December 7, 2007
This review is from: Creating Nature in Watercolor: An Artist's Guide (Hardcover)
Having used 2 of Ms. Johnson's books before ("Creating
Textures in Watercolor" and "Watercolor Pencil Magic-sadly
out of print") I had great hopes for this new volume, and it
does not disappoint. More than a collection of pretty
watercolor studies to be admired -though it is full of
them! - this book breaks down the process and tells you
how to get the result you're looking for. Ms. Johnson even
gives tips on the practicalities of capturing the
uncooperative moving creatures of nature on paper! I have found something valuable on every page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Appreciating and Capturing Nature, December 5, 2007
This review is from: Creating Nature in Watercolor: An Artist's Guide (Hardcover)
Cathy Johnson's newest book, Creating Nature in Watercolor, is a most delightful read and it's filled with tips and techniques on appreciating nature and capturing your interpretation of that observation in watercolor. Whether you want to learn how to document botanical samples in a journal or compose an extensive landscape on a full sheet of watercolor paper, this book is a must have! Cathy has a teaching style that encourages everyone to jump right in and have fun learning. This book contains short exercises as well as step-by-step lessons for painting landscapes. A beginner will find this book to be a tremendous start off point and a professional will find many useful tips and notes to help them progress in their treatment of nature and landscapes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treasure!, February 19, 2008
By 
This review is from: Creating Nature in Watercolor: An Artist's Guide (Hardcover)
I found this newest Cathy Johnson book to be every bit as informative and entertaining as her many previous books. The artist's love of nature shines gloriously within these pages. Not only does she give clear and easily understood instructions to 'capture nature', she also inspires you! This book is both working text and entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Guide with Practical Tips, October 24, 2008
By 
Susan E. Haney (Thurmont, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Creating Nature in Watercolor: An Artist's Guide (Hardcover)
In this hardcover artist's guide, "Creating Nature in Watercolor," author and artist Cathy Johnson provides a stunning, illustrated overview about enjoying and translating the beauty of the natural world through watercolor. From the basics of keeping a sketch journal and a full list of materials and supplies to a run down on natural habitats and useful ways to capture the essence of each with various colors and techniques, this guide proves useful to beginner and advanced artist alike. Ms. Johnson inspires her readers to enjoy nature from the standpoint of keen observer and translator through art. Her book is as lovely to look at and page through as it is full of invaluable tips. A treasure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best!, December 20, 2008
This review is from: Creating Nature in Watercolor: An Artist's Guide (Hardcover)
I purchased this book last year, and find myself returning to it time and again. Not only are the illustrations beautiful, but the author shares her lifetime experiences of drawing and painting the natural world around us. It's well organized and well written for in-depth reading, but also a pleasure just to leaf through when you only have a few minutes. I highly recommend this book to both beginning watercolorists and experienced artists - or anyone starting a nature journal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but there's another version, June 8, 2014
By 
B. Pickett (Austin, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Creating Nature in Watercolor: An Artist's Guide (Hardcover)
This is the lovely, helpful book that everyone has said it is, but I think people should know that North Light recently published Cathy's book "Painting Nature in Watercolor," which is this same book with added content about watercolor pencils. I bought both books without know that much of the content is identical. The only other significant difference is that "Creating" is hardcover and printed with texture to mimic watercolor paper--a little more nicely done. "Painting" is softcover and printed in the usual white paper way. Cathy's usual superb work, but I'm docking it a star for being a duplicate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the book is bigger than expected 9"x12", August 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Creating Nature in Watercolor: An Artist's Guide (Hardcover)
About 124 pages of color (water color) reproduction pictures, beautifully done.
The font used is nice however, it is about a 9 or 10 and it should be larger, so that you can glance back at the page for instructions or comments to read quickly and not have to focus in and interfere with your project.
Looks like this book is about in its 12th printing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Creating Nature in Watercolor: An Artist's Guide
Creating Nature in Watercolor: An Artist's Guide by Cathy Johnson (Hardcover - November 28, 2007)
Used & New from: $6.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.