Prime Music

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player


Creation [Hybrid SACD - DSD]

Franz Joseph Haydn , Andreas Spering , Capella Augustina , Sunhae Im , Jan Kobow Audio CD
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)

Available from these sellers.

Product Details

  • Performer: Sunhae Im, Jan Kobow
  • Orchestra: Capella Augustina
  • Conductor: Andreas Spering
  • Composer: Franz Joseph Haydn
  • Audio CD (April 19, 2005)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Hybrid SACD - DSD
  • Label: Alliance
  • ASIN: B0007XHKU8
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #281,194 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Die Schöpfung (The Creation), oratorio, H. 21/2: Part 1. No. 5. Recitative. Und Gott sprach: Es sammle sich das Wasser
2. Die Schöpfung (The Creation), oratorio, H. 21/2: Part 1. No. 6. Aria. Rollend in schäumenden Wellen
3. Die Schöpfung (The Creation), oratorio, H. 21/2: Part 1. No. 7. Recitative. Und Gott sprach: Es bringe die Erde Gras hervor
4. Die Schöpfung (The Creation), oratorio, H. 21/2: Part 1. No. 8. Aria. Nun beut die Flur das frische Grün

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
Don't hesitate, this SACD multichannel recording is a keeper. Go ahead. Just put the familiar disc in the player. You will soon be feeling like you walk amid the freshest, evergreen-scented woods, saturated in bright early morning light as if you had simply sprung newly whole into sudden being on the very first, pristine original day of creation. No doubt, this effect is exactly what Papa Haydn had in mind, apt to the mythic subject matter at hand, as he composed it. The forces applied here are not gargantuan, but the musical effect is all out of proportion to their accounting. Consider the orchestra, at 12 violins, 4 violas, 4 cellos, 2 double basses, and 1-2 in the other woodwind and brass, except for 3 trombones. A small chamber orchestra, yes, but playing with great ebullience, gifted with high technical command of their period instruments, and involved so totally - identified so totally - with their musical call that they seem to have become one with all the roles they play in this oratorio.

Expertly led by Andreas Spering (who himself was keyboardist for none other than Musica Antiqua Koln), this band simply stands tall as a vivid, full partner with the soloists and the chorus. Their Haydnesque picture-painting is charming, yet ever wise and ever delighted to be part of a whole whose rainbow colors allow nuance as well as a true, saturated tonal palette. Their sheer genius reaches for alchemical mystery. Some of this genius is due to the highly apt tempos that Spering and the band have found. Be warned, the faster sections will catch you up in a whirlwind and put you down again quickly, in new places with new views of the music that came before - and the music that will soon arrive, later.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category