Automotive Deals HPCC Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it Crown the Empire Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 15, 2012
I bought this book and it's great - the videos are fantastic and you'll find yourself learning very quickly. The entire production is very professionally done and the quality is outstanding.

However, the book is somewhat disingenuous, and here's why.

The book advertises itself as being a "complete training package", but that's not entirely true. If you compare their standalone Photoshop book "Adobe Photoshop CS6 Digital Classroom", you'll discover that the first 5 Lessons of the Creative Suite book are repeated, but with different Lesson numbers.

The standalone book then continues with additional chapters, such as layers, that aren't covered except in passing in the Creative Suite book. What could be more important than layers when using Photoshop? Leaving this chapter out of the Creative Suite book is a major sin of omission.

So in this regard, the "complete training package" claim is disingenuous.

I gave the book 3 stars because of this, but I also want to point out that the book is really very good as it is.
55 comments| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
We own a boutique graphic art and publishing studio. A little more than 6 years ago, we upgraded our system and went to a total Apple platform and we invested in Adobe CS3. We also invested several hundred dollars in printed 3rd party publications from reference books, step-by-step technique and classroom-in-a-book. We made the decision to upgrade from CS3 to CS6, in part, because there wasn't enough advancement in the subsequent Adobe releases to justify the cost. It was not until, strangely enough, CS5.5 and the vast improvement with Adobe InDesign and the streamlined ebook and e-zine integration. At this point, we just decided that waiting for CS6 would be prudent for our needs and our budget.

*** ***
One of the books we bought was the Dummies All In One Reference by Jennifer Smith, the same author of this new Digital Classroom for CS6. But, of all of the different kinds of books we bought, without question, the MOST useful was the classroom-in-a-book.

DC-CS6 combines all of the strengths of the different kinds of instructions books.

DC-CS6 is a massive 800-page softcover book, divided by colored tabs. Like all of the better books, each chapter has bullet points at the start of each page is fully illustrated and, in most cases, multiple screenshot accompany very clear and precise instructions.

Each chapter is separated by subject and makes it easy to thumb through. Classroom lessons aka, "Follow along" are on the accompanying DVD that's in the back of the book. (We've, traditionally, replaced the original DVD once we've copied the contents because if the disc gets damaged the lessons begin to lose some appeal.)

*** ***

Book Breakdown:

Starting Up: pp's 1-10
[Adobe] Bridge Lesson 1: pp's11-40
Photoshop Lesson 1: pp's 41-62
Photoshop Lesson 2: pp's 63-90
Photoshop Lesson 3: pp's 91-110
Photoshop Lesson 4: pp's 11-146
Photoshop Lesson 5: pp's 147-186
Photoshop Lesson 6: pp's 187-220
Dreamweaver Lesson 1: pp's 221-250
Dreamweaver Lesson 2: pp's 251-274
Dreamweaver Lesson 3: pp's 275-304
Dreamweaver Lesson 4: pp's 305-338
Dreamweaver Lesson 5: pp's 339-370
Flash Lesson 1: pp's 371-406
Flash Lesson 2: pp's 407-454
Flash Lesson 3: pp's 455-492
Flash Lesson 4: pp's 493-518
Fireworks Lesson 1: pp's 519-556
Illustrator Lesson 1: pp's 557-586
Illustrator Lesson 2: pp's 587-609
Illustrator Lesson 3: pp's 611-640
InDesign Lesson 1: pp's 641-678
InDesign Lesson 2: pp's 679-708
InDesign Lesson 3: pp's 709-768
InDesign Lesson 4: pp's 769-792
InDesign Lesson 5: pp's 793-832

All in all, I'd recommend this book for beginners through intermediate Adobe Suite professionals. You'll definitely NEED this book if you have new graphic designers who have never used all of the app's together in a suite. And, those of us who have previous versions, in particular, would greatly benefit from the improvements that Adobe has finally made to upgrade from the earlier versions of the CS suite.

DC-CS6--- 5 stars all the way.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 23, 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I have never encountered a "how to" book for computer software that even touches this.

Full color illustrations on every single page, excellent tutorials on the included CD-ROM and really clear and useful step-by-step instructions to learn how to do things that you've been trying to do but you're not sure which button or menu or command to use.

Spanning nearly 900 pages, it's chock full of information, but it's pretty easy to find just what you want, and the pages aren't so dense with information that you get lost.

It's pricey, at 59.99, but it is so worth it.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 26, 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Adobe Creative Suite 6 Design Premium, a fat and colorful manual-video combo, contains instructions for Adobe's complete suite of art packages but you do not have to have Adobe's full CS6 Suite which contains nine different and separate programs. If you have the whole enchilada, the CS6 Suite, great, but if you have only one or two of the offerings, such as Photoshop, or Dreamweaver, you will find lessons just for those. The 800 page book is printed in full color on high quality paper.

The complete Creative Suite 6 software is composed of the following packages, all included in the "Design Premium" tutorials:
InDesign, Illustrator, Photoshop, Acrobat, Dreamweaver, Flash, Fireworks, Adobe Bridge, and Device Central.

Most of the art programs included in CS6 are available for downloading separately as trials. However it would be wise to run Adobe Creative Suite 6 through search and download the fully functional trial package to test the waters before you purchase that particular expensive program. The software is some 4,565 MB and may take literally hours to completely download on your set. The trial period is 30 days. Any Adobe files that you download from the internet require you to download Adobe Download Assistant first, but you only have to download it once and it remains on your hard drive. You can also buy each of the nine programs tutorials separately by running digital classroom through Google.(I can't give you the URL in an Amazon review).The lessons are available as ebooks or in print.

When you put the CD in your set you need to access whatever Adobe programs you have from Program Files. You can't click on the computer DVD icon like you would a DVD movie because the lessons will not be in focus. The instructions tell you how to set the defaults for each separate software program- Photoshop, Illustrator, etc and you're ready to go.The instructions in the huge book are precise and clear.

The training starts with the basics. Each lesson covers a certain aspect such as layout, vector graphics, photo manipulation, web design and more. There are twenty five lessons in all and you can work along at your own pace. The 800 page book that comes with the package provides exercises as part of the learning process. This is a hands-on visual experience. The book alone is very helpful just as an inspiration, as you will see what exciting visuals are possible with a pro at the helm. But you'll be moving back and forth from the book to the tutorial videos and the variations are eye-popping. The Illustrator software will enable you to create neon effects, smoky effects, lightning and much more.

Many of the tools provided are for you to play within your designer sandbox. Once your drawing is up you can smear, twirl, and attract or repel by pushing in or out. CS6 has a very large stable of tools and of course the possibilities are endless. Adobe Certified Experts will hold your hand all the way as you progress from one level to the next. Learning the the functions of the tools available in the CS6 software is a big task but this a training program- you work out until you're competent, following the crystal clear instructions, and likely drooling at what the pros can do, and what you will do in time.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 2, 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
For an all-round package, I feel this book does it. If you specialize in a specific CS product, then I would recommend getting a work book for that item, something like one of the Revealed Series. If on the other hand you need to use all the products or more than one of them at a time, then this Digital Classroom is the book. The lay out is suitable for both advanced users and beginners.

It is as it claims, a complete training package. The DVD is wonderful!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2013
This is the only complete training book for Adobe CS6 I have found to date. I have been searching for months, and Amazon was kind enough to email me. It is better than buying all the yet to be published CS6 books for all the programs in the Creative Suite 6. I have all the Adobe CS5 books already. This book will update you on all the new features for CS6 Photoshop, Illustrator, Dreamweaver, Etc. A complete training package with DVD.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I always love learning new programs so I'm always looking for guides on how to use said new programs, I ordered this book as I wanted to learn how to do Flash animation, try out dreamweaver and sharpen my photoshop skills for a bit since I've already used it a bit.

First off the book is huge, compared to some of my other tutorial books, the tutorials are neatly separated, and makes finding the correct class easy to find.

The book will not make you a pro at any of the Adobe suite programs it teaches, however for beginners this book is great, the classes are really really easy to understand, the book does easy step by step projects along with colored pictures that makes reading it quite pleasant, on top of the book being very comprehensive and easy to read, the included DVD, also have videos of said classes, and just as the book, the classes are really easy to follow. of course practice makes perfect so the DVD also includes projects with resources that you will use when following the tutorials on the book to get things done faster.

I would really recommend this book for people who are looking into getting to know, photoshop, flash animation, making websites using dreamweaver. my only drawback for me would be that it does not teach you how to program in flash. however programing is a whole other beast so I guess the author of the book would have to make the already big book a lot bigger if he went ahead and tried to explain how to program on Flash, also I did have a few issues when trying to navigate the flash player while watching the video tutorials, nothing to note worthy (I think my dvd drive is also dying so I think that may have been the cause)

I gave it 5 stars as its a great book to have to quickly learn the basics and to have in case you need a quick refresher.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2015
So far, I like what I see. However what I don't see is proper treatment of Illustrator and Dreamweaver's interfaces. Flash, InDesign, Fireworks, and Photoshop all got the "learn the Interface/tools" lesson. But not Illustrator and Dreamweaver. Why? Especially illustrator. They assumed you would what? Already know? Sigh oh well. I'll update the review later when I complete all the lessons. 07/25/2015
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2012
While I'm still working my way through it, I find this book to be extremely well written, easy to follow, and yet in depth enough to give the reader more than just a casual understanding of Adobe's entire suite of software contained in CS 6.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Adobe offers its Creative Suite 6 package in four variants, each with a different constellation of products This book covers the basics of Adobe Bridge, Photoshop, Dreamweaver, Flash, Fireworks, Illustrator and InDesign. Each of these products is complex and, truth be told, have steep learning curves.

Laid out in the form of short lessons, many of which are accompanied with CD-based files and lectures, this book is an effective teaching tool for the absolute beginner through early intermediate user. It should be noted that many creative Suite users focus their efforts on one or two products and only rarely use the others. Such people will find this book very useful.

I, for example, use Photoshop. But sometimes I need to use Illustrator - and this book lets me do a quick study on the particular aspects of Illustrator I need to use at the moment.

Despite the very broad coverage, the authors, editors and publisher have done an excellent job of keeping the text clear and concise. I spent the most time reviewing the sections on Photoshop - six of them - and not a single major feature is omitted. I was surprised to find a reasonably thorough treatment of the Pen Tool which many Photoshop books omit because of its initial complexity and seeming difficult use. They devote ten well written, amply illustrated pages to the use of the Pen Tool.

Overall, for any beginner with Creative Suite, this book and the patience and willingness to read and do the examples will give you basic competency in all the programs it covers. More advanced users, who work mostly with one or two programs, will find this a useful reference when they need to quickly learn specific aspects of the other programs.

My only criticisms are that the binding doesn't seem to be up to the task and the voices of some of the instructors in some of the demonstration videos strike me as grating.

Jerry
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse