Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely effective training guide
I've been using Adobe products for many years. No matter what anybody tells you to the contrary, they have a steep learning curve and you have to invest some serious time and effort to master these tools. So when CS6 rolled out earlier this year, I resigned myself to spending a lot of free time learning the new (and often amazing) features of the updated programs...
Published 22 months ago by The Bee Bee

versus
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Book but there's a catch
I bought this book and it's great - the videos are fantastic and you'll find yourself learning very quickly. The entire production is very professionally done and the quality is outstanding.

However, the book is somewhat disingenuous, and here's why.

The book advertises itself as being a "complete training package", but that's not entirely true. If...
Published 21 months ago by Pete E. Poston


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely effective training guide, August 21, 2012
This review is from: Adobe Creative Suite 6 Design and Web Premium Digital Classroom (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I've been using Adobe products for many years. No matter what anybody tells you to the contrary, they have a steep learning curve and you have to invest some serious time and effort to master these tools. So when CS6 rolled out earlier this year, I resigned myself to spending a lot of free time learning the new (and often amazing) features of the updated programs. Typically this involves me sitting down with my laptop and a "how-to" book at the kitchen table and digging in for a few hours. The results are usually disappointing, and I think it has to do with the sameness and blandness of these books.

Imagine my delight, then, when I got my hands on a copy of Jennifer Smith and Jeremy Osborne's new book, "Adobe Creative Suite 6 Design and Web Premium Digital Classroom." This is, hands down, the best training guide I've used to learn Adobe software. They cover a lot of ground here, but the authors seem to have a sixth sense about what real-world users want (and need) to know about each of the products that make up CS6 Design and Web Premium. So rather than intimidate learners with instructions for every possible action and tool, they covered the ones that matter most in a real production environment.

The instructions are clear, concise, and follow a logical flow. There's just enough information to help learners master the skill or tool, but not so much as to drift off topic or generate confusion - as is the case with so many of these books. I thought the accompanying tutorials on DVD were particularly good - well thought out and executed.

Use this book and watch the tutorials and you are going to learn Adobe CS6 Design and Web Premium. If that's not a terrific ROI, then what is?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Book but there's a catch, October 15, 2012
This review is from: Adobe Creative Suite 6 Design and Web Premium Digital Classroom (Paperback)
I bought this book and it's great - the videos are fantastic and you'll find yourself learning very quickly. The entire production is very professionally done and the quality is outstanding.

However, the book is somewhat disingenuous, and here's why.

The book advertises itself as being a "complete training package", but that's not entirely true. If you compare their standalone Photoshop book "Adobe Photoshop CS6 Digital Classroom", you'll discover that the first 5 Lessons of the Creative Suite book are repeated, but with different Lesson numbers.

The standalone book then continues with additional chapters, such as layers, that aren't covered except in passing in the Creative Suite book. What could be more important than layers when using Photoshop? Leaving this chapter out of the Creative Suite book is a major sin of omission.

So in this regard, the "complete training package" claim is disingenuous.

I gave the book 3 stars because of this, but I also want to point out that the book is really very good as it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXTRAORDINARY!, July 23, 2012
This review is from: Adobe Creative Suite 6 Design and Web Premium Digital Classroom (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I have never encountered a "how to" book for computer software that even touches this.

Full color illustrations on every single page, excellent tutorials on the included CD-ROM and really clear and useful step-by-step instructions to learn how to do things that you've been trying to do but you're not sure which button or menu or command to use.

Spanning nearly 900 pages, it's chock full of information, but it's pretty easy to find just what you want, and the pages aren't so dense with information that you get lost.

It's pricey, at 59.99, but it is so worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll be inspired!, July 26, 2012
This review is from: Adobe Creative Suite 6 Design and Web Premium Digital Classroom (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Adobe Creative Suite 6 Design Premium, a fat and colorful manual-video combo, contains instructions for Adobe's complete suite of art packages but you do not have to have Adobe's full CS6 Suite which contains nine different and separate programs. If you have the whole enchilada, the CS6 Suite, great, but if you have only one or two of the offerings, such as Photoshop, or Dreamweaver, you will find lessons just for those. The 800 page book is printed in full color on high quality paper.

The complete Creative Suite 6 software is composed of the following packages, all included in the "Design Premium" tutorials:
InDesign, Illustrator, Photoshop, Acrobat, Dreamweaver, Flash, Fireworks, Adobe Bridge, and Device Central.

Most of the art programs included in CS6 are available for downloading separately as trials. However it would be wise to run Adobe Creative Suite 6 through search and download the fully functional trial package to test the waters before you purchase that particular expensive program. The software is some 4,565 MB and may take literally hours to completely download on your set. The trial period is 30 days. Any Adobe files that you download from the internet require you to download Adobe Download Assistant first, but you only have to download it once and it remains on your hard drive. You can also buy each of the nine programs tutorials separately by running digital classroom through Google.(I can't give you the URL in an Amazon review).The lessons are available as ebooks or in print.

When you put the CD in your set you need to access whatever Adobe programs you have from Program Files. You can't click on the computer DVD icon like you would a DVD movie because the lessons will not be in focus. The instructions tell you how to set the defaults for each separate software program- Photoshop, Illustrator, etc and you're ready to go.The instructions in the huge book are precise and clear.

The training starts with the basics. Each lesson covers a certain aspect such as layout, vector graphics, photo manipulation, web design and more. There are twenty five lessons in all and you can work along at your own pace. The 800 page book that comes with the package provides exercises as part of the learning process. This is a hands-on visual experience. The book alone is very helpful just as an inspiration, as you will see what exciting visuals are possible with a pro at the helm. But you'll be moving back and forth from the book to the tutorial videos and the variations are eye-popping. The Illustrator software will enable you to create neon effects, smoky effects, lightning and much more.

Many of the tools provided are for you to play within your designer sandbox. Once your drawing is up you can smear, twirl, and attract or repel by pushing in or out. CS6 has a very large stable of tools and of course the possibilities are endless. Adobe Certified Experts will hold your hand all the way as you progress from one level to the next. Learning the the functions of the tools available in the CS6 software is a big task but this a training program- you work out until you're competent, following the crystal clear instructions, and likely drooling at what the pros can do, and what you will do in time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're on the fence about upgrading...here's your answer. CREATIVE SUITE 6 DIGITAL CLASSROOM: A Critical Review., August 3, 2012
This review is from: Adobe Creative Suite 6 Design and Web Premium Digital Classroom (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
We own a boutique graphic art and publishing studio. A little more than 6 years ago, we upgraded our system and went to a total Apple platform and we invested in Adobe CS3. We also invested several hundred dollars in printed 3rd party publications from reference books, step-by-step technique and classroom-in-a-book. We made the decision to upgrade from CS3 to CS6, in part, because there wasn't enough advancement in the subsequent Adobe releases to justify the cost. It was not until, strangely enough, CS5.5 and the vast improvement with Adobe InDesign and the streamlined ebook and e-zine integration. At this point, we just decided that waiting for CS6 would be prudent for our needs and our budget.

*** ***
One of the books we bought was the Dummies All In One Reference by Jennifer Smith, the same author of this new Digital Classroom for CS6. But, of all of the different kinds of books we bought, without question, the MOST useful was the classroom-in-a-book.

DC-CS6 combines all of the strengths of the different kinds of instructions books.

DC-CS6 is a massive 800-page softcover book, divided by colored tabs. Like all of the better books, each chapter has bullet points at the start of each page is fully illustrated and, in most cases, multiple screenshot accompany very clear and precise instructions.

Each chapter is separated by subject and makes it easy to thumb through. Classroom lessons aka, "Follow along" are on the accompanying DVD that's in the back of the book. (We've, traditionally, replaced the original DVD once we've copied the contents because if the disc gets damaged the lessons begin to lose some appeal.)

*** ***

Book Breakdown:

Starting Up: pp's 1-10
[Adobe] Bridge Lesson 1: pp's11-40
Photoshop Lesson 1: pp's 41-62
Photoshop Lesson 2: pp's 63-90
Photoshop Lesson 3: pp's 91-110
Photoshop Lesson 4: pp's 11-146
Photoshop Lesson 5: pp's 147-186
Photoshop Lesson 6: pp's 187-220
Dreamweaver Lesson 1: pp's 221-250
Dreamweaver Lesson 2: pp's 251-274
Dreamweaver Lesson 3: pp's 275-304
Dreamweaver Lesson 4: pp's 305-338
Dreamweaver Lesson 5: pp's 339-370
Flash Lesson 1: pp's 371-406
Flash Lesson 2: pp's 407-454
Flash Lesson 3: pp's 455-492
Flash Lesson 4: pp's 493-518
Fireworks Lesson 1: pp's 519-556
Illustrator Lesson 1: pp's 557-586
Illustrator Lesson 2: pp's 587-609
Illustrator Lesson 3: pp's 611-640
InDesign Lesson 1: pp's 641-678
InDesign Lesson 2: pp's 679-708
InDesign Lesson 3: pp's 709-768
InDesign Lesson 4: pp's 769-792
InDesign Lesson 5: pp's 793-832

All in all, I'd recommend this book for beginners through intermediate Adobe Suite professionals. You'll definitely NEED this book if you have new graphic designers who have never used all of the app's together in a suite. And, those of us who have previous versions, in particular, would greatly benefit from the improvements that Adobe has finally made to upgrade from the earlier versions of the CS suite.

DC-CS6--- 5 stars all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enough Is Enough, August 2, 2012
This review is from: Adobe Creative Suite 6 Design and Web Premium Digital Classroom (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
For an all-round package, I feel this book does it. If you specialize in a specific CS product, then I would recommend getting a work book for that item, something like one of the Revealed Series. If on the other hand you need to use all the products or more than one of them at a time, then this Digital Classroom is the book. The lay out is suitable for both advanced users and beginners.

It is as it claims, a complete training package. The DVD is wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK general over-view...., August 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adobe Creative Suite 6 Design and Web Premium Digital Classroom (Paperback)
I have carefully read the first chapter on the Bridge, and am in the middle of Photoshop. For an overview, this book is OK, but I think it would be a better move to buy individual books that focus on the actual parts of CS6 that I will use. I have all kinds of questions on Photoshop CS6 extended, and this book does not touch any of them, hence my recommendation to buy individual detailed books for each product in the Suite that I will actually use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good overview, January 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book gives a super fast overview of a number of tools within CS6 and a lot of it is but giving you "do this" without explaining all available options and why do that as opposed to smith else. Fireworks got only 1 chapter - I don't think you can learn much from that. But you can learn the basics on the tools that have 3 or more chapter coverage. You won't become an expert on any of them by using this book but that was not the intent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great all-in-one, September 26, 2012
This review is from: Adobe Creative Suite 6 Design and Web Premium Digital Classroom (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Let me start off by saying that this is a huge book! Roughly 850 pages! It comes with a DVD which contains tutorials and the lesson files. The book is divided into 7 sections and a nice thing is that each section is color-coded in the top corner of the book. The seven sections are: Bridge, Photoshop, Dreamweaver, Flash, Fireworks, Illustrator, and InDesign. The book is packed with good quality, full color photos, illustrations and screen shots. The step by step instructions are very detailed and well written and it's nice having access to the actual files used in the lessons so that you can easily apply what you are learning. There are 25 lessons in all. The accompanying DVD contains all 25 lesson files and 25 video tutorials. This is a great all-around book for getting started and developing a good understanding with all the great software included in the Adobe Creative Suites. I like having it all in one book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adobe CS 6 Digital Classroom in a Book, September 11, 2012
By 
Hugh Rafferty (Santa Maria, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adobe Creative Suite 6 Design and Web Premium Digital Classroom (Paperback)
While I'm still working my way through it, I find this book to be extremely well written, easy to follow, and yet in depth enough to give the reader more than just a casual understanding of Adobe's entire suite of software contained in CS 6.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Adobe Creative Suite 6 Design and Web Premium Digital Classroom
Adobe Creative Suite 6 Design and Web Premium Digital Classroom by writer on digital design. Jennifer Smith (Paperback - July 3, 2012)
$59.99 $36.39
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.