Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Deal
Andrea Phillips' A CREATOR'S GUIDE TO TRANSMEDIA STORYTELLING is a must-read for active and aspiring creative professionals. There are few titles that provide true insight into the evolution of storytelling. Most contain overviews of press-friendly campaigns--peppered with specious or anecdotal evidence--and come across like "gee whiz" fanboy fodder.

This IS...
Published on June 9, 2012 by Braccia

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Best suited for those in the television and film industry exclusively
While it has a comprehensive overview of the concept and evolution of the transmedia concept, it lacks sufficient detail to apply in any other format.

Too little detail on the practical aspects of the creation process.

Not recommended for general media creation or online marketing audiences.
Published 24 months ago by Tony J. Ridley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Deal, June 9, 2012
This review is from: A Creator's Guide to Transmedia Storytelling: How to Captivate and Engage Audiences Across Multiple Platforms (Hardcover)
Andrea Phillips' A CREATOR'S GUIDE TO TRANSMEDIA STORYTELLING is a must-read for active and aspiring creative professionals. There are few titles that provide true insight into the evolution of storytelling. Most contain overviews of press-friendly campaigns--peppered with specious or anecdotal evidence--and come across like "gee whiz" fanboy fodder.

This IS NOT that book. Phillips is a practitioner who has been in the trenches for years. Drawing from the sum of her experience, she's generated a practical, realistic and relatable guide for designing stories that engage and excite audiences. The best part is, the book isn't alienating to newcomers. By using either classic or easily searchable examples and interviewing successful fellow practitioners, she keeps her evidence concrete and insights out of the clouds. Transmedia storytelling isn't rocket science, but it is very easy to jump in and feel overwhelmed, confused and lost. Pick up this guide, get grounded and get to work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exploring the Practice of Commercial Transmedia Storytelling, October 21, 2012
By 
David H. Deans (Austin, Texas | London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Creator's Guide to Transmedia Storytelling: How to Captivate and Engage Audiences Across Multiple Platforms (Hardcover)
This is the second "how-to" book that I've reviewed on the topic of Transmedia Storytelling. The Guide by Andrea Phillips is a pragmatic journal of all the creative possibilities -- and a welcomed addition to the body of practitioner knowledge and associated lessons learned.

Ms. Phillips describes her own experiences as a game designer and includes numerous insightful Q&A sidebars with contributions from her accomplished peer group -- they're primarily transmedia practitioners within the American entertainment industry.

The book is divided into five sections -- each one offering practical ideas and suggestions for transmedia storytelling novices, plus some creative examples of techniques that an experienced practitioner would appreciate.

She describes some of the lasting wisdom of early transmedia storytelling projects by the pioneers -- such as The Blair Witch Project. She also features the key take-away points from more recent examples of commercial transmedia case studies -- again, primarily from within the entertainment industry.

Ms. Phillips says that "...the long-term benefits of transmedia marketing are not in drawing in a completely new audience, but in hooking a peripheral audience more deeply and keeping it around longer. It's [about] the magic word: engagement." Indeed, the ongoing quest for capturing audience attention is a theme that she revisits throughout the book.

One of her very interesting revelations was a reference to the apparent geographic preferences. Such as "...South American audiences seem very enthusiastic about engaging in role-playing; [North] American audiences enjoy competitive elements and puzzle solving; and European audiences tend to be the most enthusiastic about attending live events."

Perhaps Ms. Phillips most helpful advice to beginners is this -- "If you have no applicable background, then your first step has to be making something - a series of websites, some light video, a puzzle trail, an interactive toy; the concept doesn't matter so much as the tangible proof that you can come up with a concept and see it through to execution."

In summary, I'll gladly recommend this useful body of work to anyone who would like to explore the possibilities of transmedia storytelling -- kudos to Andrea Phillips for bringing us one step closer to reaching the mainstream tipping point.

That being said, I'm waiting for an author to address the uncharted territory of non-fiction related commercial transmedia content development. Documentaries are a genre worthy of further exploration. To date, it remains the key area of our craft that would benefit from some equally instructive guidance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
nice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Guide for Everyone, June 22, 2012
This review is from: A Creator's Guide to Transmedia Storytelling: How to Captivate and Engage Audiences Across Multiple Platforms (Hardcover)
Andrea Phillips gets to the heart of 'what is this Transmedia thing?' and 'why should I care?' These are helpful if you're a new creator to the scene or a more experienced hand searching for language to describe or justify your project in the eyes of potential funders, collaborators, or partners. Beyond these questions, Phillips dives into the nuts and bolts of ACTUALLY MAKING SOMETHING. This is an especially impressive feat considering that she's talking about transmedia storytelling projects that can spill between so many different platforms and formats.

This book give an thorough treatment of a topic that so rarely goes beyond the most glossy of buzzwords. For a book that fits so much material and insights between its covers, A Creator's Guide' is delightfully readable. Phillips manages to transfer a textbook's worth of knowledge in a delicious and decidedly un-text-book like manner. Highly recommended for storytellers of any stripe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Changing the way I Speak to Other Creators, June 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There's nothing more exciting than discovering yourself talking about a topic you love in a new and invigorating way. A Creators Guide to Transmedia Storytelling changed the way I talk about my work to other creators. It takes the focus off all the bells and whistles of transmedia and offers a solid game plan on story architecture over multiple media platforms. By overlaying storytelling basics onto complex media tools, Andrea Phillips brings a sprawling, potentially unwieldy narrative form back to brass tacks. It's a refreshing and innovative look at the importance of character and engaging with one's audience.

Even authors who aren't transmedia creators will love this book about writing. It should be required reading for new media and traditional dramatists. Not only does it cover the history of dramatic narrative, but it examines recent transmedia case studies and looks to a future with limitless possibilities. Extremely inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good resource, January 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Creator's Guide to Transmedia Storytelling: How to Captivate and Engage Audiences Across Multiple Platforms (Hardcover)
Very good resource for creators of all types, leans a little bit towards a particular type of transmedia that the writer is likely more familiar with however explains methodically the do's and dont's of any style. Most importantly covers logistical, organizational and budgetary considerations in creating transmedia narrative whilst always relating back to the story and the impact on audience, pointing out a huge lot of things that someone coming from story telling in just the one medium would never have even considered. Only criticism would be that there are a few contradictions/statements that make you wonder why that section was in there anyway. e.g. explains over the course of a page the narrative principle of 'chekov's gun' and how it's useful, however finishes saying it doesn't as much apply to transmedia as it does traditional narrative "And once you move into transmedia, you might be better off forgetting you ever heard Chekov's name at all"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Blueprint There Is, July 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Creator's Guide to Transmedia Storytelling: How to Captivate and Engage Audiences Across Multiple Platforms (Hardcover)
After following Andrea on Twitter for quite some time, I bit the bullet and purchased her book for my Kindle. My mind was blown. I'm an independent filmmaker who works full time in the game space, and this fresh new approach to both my work and my play opened up avenues of creativity I'd longed for. The best part? It's not just all philosophy; there's nitty gritty how-to's, and how-did's (interviews with successful transmedia creators). Above all it gives you a road map for how to bring transmedia elements into your existing projects, or create new ones, in a compelling way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Useful Practical Guide to Transmedia Production, July 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Creator's Guide to Transmedia Storytelling: How to Captivate and Engage Audiences Across Multiple Platforms (Hardcover)
Andrea Phillips has written a terrifically usable and accessible book - I highly recommend this to content creators who want to dive into the digital and transmedia landscape. There are numerous detailed examples, and the Q & A with top international practitioners provide a variety of perspectives on key practices, challenges and future trends.

Absolutely worth the buy.

Thank you Andrea!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read if you're into (or want to get into) transmedia, June 30, 2012
This review is from: A Creator's Guide to Transmedia Storytelling: How to Captivate and Engage Audiences Across Multiple Platforms (Hardcover)
If you have 3-4 hours to spare and you want to spend them introducing yourself into the topic of transmedia storytelling, this is the book to buy. If, like me, you're already familiar with the field, you'll find it to be a great summary of all the aspects to consider (and probably will pick up a few practical tricks you hadn't considered yourself). In short, Andrea Phillips nailed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Comprhensive Book on TransMedia that broke new ground, July 3, 2012
By 
This review is from: A Creator's Guide to Transmedia Storytelling: How to Captivate and Engage Audiences Across Multiple Platforms (Hardcover)
I really liked this book (it took me about a week to read) and I'm a pretty picky reader and reviewer, particularly in the Analytics space, but also in the Arts. I am also partial reviewer, in that my book, and this one, share the same editor and publisher; though I came across this book by accident, last week (a few days after the book appeared on bookshelves) looking for something new to add for my Social Media & The Arts course at Rutgers University that I taught this winter, and am revamping for the fall semester 2012. I'll get to that, later. Sadly, I came across this book, but 2 days after a NY book signing, that, had I known (what I could not have known) would have tried to attend.

The book was written, in my mind, as a practitioners guide, and so, to capture the information you had to do a bit of in depth reading of the material. Sure, if your already into transmedia, you could skim this book, but as it is pointed out, this is a fairly new field, perhaps 5 or 6 years old, and not that many people are going to be familiar with it, yet. Therefore, it's not an "easy read", as there is a lot of information to cover, some of it being hard to fully describe. On the other hand, since I'm adding this book to my course, I saw the value, particularly for students of the Arts trying to use social media to amplify their own artistic or nonprofit efforts. Typical marketing books on Social are simply uninteresting, fundamentally, for artists, the approach being 2 dimensional and lifeless, and that was our experiences with the syndicated materials and videos we used in the past.

Phillips book, in contrast, isn't really about Social Media, exactly, yet it fits in modality of a TransSocial communications framework and methodology, based around Storytelling, which is much closer to what Arts are all about.

In addition, Transmedia Storytelling, while probably not the best title that could be chosen for this book (not sure what a better one would have been, though) fits into my unified framework as a way to communicate and engage audiences that have been bombarded with messaging and have filtered most of it out. Creative Storytelling (perhaps advancing the story via fragmented messaging across several channels within a certain timeframe) with perhaps 5 to 7 touch points, can often cut through the obstacles to communication and engagement, and present the creator of the transmedia, an opportunity present a compelling argument for the brand, product, story or game.

So my interest in the book wasn't from the target audience, at all, didn't look at or know anything much about the transmedia work that had taken place up till now, or attended any meetups, or, for that fact, consumed any of the transmedia stories mentioned in the book. And yet, by the time I finished reading, I had a pretty good idea of all of it.

I will also write a longer review of this book at my WebMetricsGuru.com blog once I get a chance. Defiantly, this wasn't a book for everyone, but well worth the read. And, I suspect, based on my own experience with Social Media Analytics, the editor, Donya Dickerson, tends to work with interesting, and at times, somewhat off the beaten track subjects and authors who have a story to tell, that people really should know about, but too often, don't. Also, the book is wonderfully designed, so it is worth having a printed copy, even of you buy the Kindle or Nook version.

Will the book sell a zillion copies? Probably not, it's not that kind of book. If you want to sell a zillion copies you write about Steve Jobs, or some big business problem, like how to deal with difficult people, and get invited over to the Daily Show or Colbert.

No, this book is really more a labor of love of storytelling, which I think, has a perfect home in Social Media (or whatever it's called in 5 years from now). So, but the book and read it. I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.