Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real subject-matter expert - don't miss it!, October 13, 2013
By 
Mike Rogers (Hollis, NH, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Credentialed to Destroy: How and Why Education Became a Weapon (Paperback)
Robin Eubanks, as a mother, was alarmed by developments in the Atlanta school systems, and she started investigating the background to the claimed "improvements".
As an attorney dealing with technical details of businesses, especially healthcare, Robin has an extremely analytical approach, follows the evidence to its source, and always provides references for the reader to check.
As some of have begun to worry about Common Core, and it being, perhaps, not the gateway to a utopia of higher achievement that we were told, Robin Eubanks was already hot on the trail of the socialist underpinnings of the international movement to drive social evolution by creating a new class of malleable serfs.
As some of us began to worry that one-world government advocates using Agenda 21 were subverting the institutions which are supposed to guarantee our liberties, Robin was ahead of the curve in linking the goals of Agenda 21 with the changes in the education systems.
This book has been a while in the making because the author has been writing in parallel on her excellent blog, "InvisibleSerfsCollar.com", in an attempt to warn the nation of the perils contained in Common Core. However, do not think that the blog is all you need - Here, Eubanks lays out the whole case for you to judge in one tidy package. Buy the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read, October 18, 2013
By 
April S. Fields (Buford, GA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Credentialed to Destroy: How and Why Education Became a Weapon (Paperback)
In her new book, Credentialed To Destroy - How and Why Education Became A Weapon, Robin Eubanks, an attorney experienced in due diligence research, stumbled on information that set her on a journey that would help her understand what was occurring in American education. Dumbing down, teaching to the test, teaching to the lowest common denominator, how do you feel not what do you think, the answer is not important, all of these concepts have been duly expressed by many and denounced with little if any progress in reversing. However, Eubanks gets to the root of the problem, not just moan about the symptoms of the disease, wherein are the dynamics of fundamentally changing American children from informed, individual thinkers, to “useful idiots” as Stalin referred to the masses he intended to enslave.

Although the book started as a blog, the documented research recorded goes far beyond what one could post in a blog. No one who is still able to think independently can read this intense and irrefutable collection of facts, links and data and still remain supportive of what is happening in the institutions that are redefining and irreversibly reshaping our children and, ultimately, our civilization.

Common Core Curriculum has been called other things, in other decades, the last was called Goal 2000. But it’s the same song, one hundredth verse. However this time it has advanced much further than in the thirties, sixties and nineties. The question is begged, is it too late? Are the majority of Americans already so dumbed down this book might as well be written in Greek? Or is this book a life raft for those few remaining thinkers to grab onto and float to safety?

Though this book tells the tale, lays out the dark plan from its inception, it does not presume to present the solution. That must come from those who are willing to open their eyes and choose to speak out. Many are already doing so and experiencing push back because this time, the Agenda is more deeply in place than ever before.

Sometimes we have to stand up and fight evil by calling it what it is and just saying no. Robin Eubanks should be lauded for her bravery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If You REALLY Want to Know..., November 7, 2013
By 
ReCynd (Orange County, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Credentialed to Destroy: How and Why Education Became a Weapon (Paperback)
I found Robin's blog, Invisible Serf's Collar, one day while researching Common Core. If her blog is like a daily journal, the book is like a biography of the fundamental transformation of our educational system, including the who, what, where, why, and how, all meticulously sourced and cited.

Anyone with an interest in how education has gotten to the place where it's at, who's behind it all, where it's going and how it will get there needs to start with this book.

"Credentialed to Destroy" is not an easy read, nor is it an uplifting one, but it is essential if one wishes to fully understand what, exactly, is happening in education today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Parents, grandparents, teachers and students need to know the truth now., November 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Credentialed to Destroy: How and Why Education Became a Weapon (Paperback)
As a newly retired public school math teacher who had smelled Common Core coming down the pike, I began to spend my time web surfing for details on the background and foundation of the new so-called reforms in Education. I happened on Robin Eubanks' fairly new website: Invisibleserfscollar.com and I was hooked. I read every post from its inception and have not stopped reading every post and every response.

Her book, this book, is the culmination of Robin's lawyer/historian/bear cub mama attempt to stop the coming educational tsunami which is undermining the hearts, minds and apparently souls of America's children. I have learned so much from the blog and the book that I could never assimilate myself. I have also followed many of her links to the history of the writers/manipulators of our children's futures.

My Polish Papa taught me from his experience with big C Communism and I had recognised long ago that much of what is now taught is the revisionist history Robin speaks about. But after reading Eubanks' writings I see that the plan is not failing, as I used to believe education reforms continue to do, but rather succeeding beyond the "planners" wildest dreams. Obama's Race To The Top money brought it all to fruit. W started the final act with his capitulation and NCLB. The issue is not a party issue, both parties have Common Core true believers ready to sell our kids down the river. And both parties have a few who see the 100 plus year old plot for what it really is. Read Robin Eubanks' new book and you will see it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most important books published on education, January 31, 2014
By 
This review is from: Credentialed to Destroy: How and Why Education Became a Weapon (Paperback)
Ideally, everyone would read it, especially those hoping to stop the continued degradation of the public school system.

I think it's fair to call Robin Eubanks the nation's foremost education intellectual. She explains the decline of the public schools thoroughly and at deeper levels than you will typically find. She is an attorney and her book can be regarded as a lawsuit brought by The People against a reckless and destructive Education Establishment. In short, she takes on the extremists plotting to make the country dumb and dumber.

"Credentialed to Destroy" is not light reading. It is a serious book about the serious parasitic infestation we now live with. I found something on almost every page worth marking for future use. The rest of this review consists of a few dozen typical quotes, so everyone can quickly have a sense of this important book:

---

"When you pay your property taxes to finance the local schools or when you write that large college tuition check, do you ever imagine you are sending your kids away so someone can limit their ability to think? Restrict what they can do? Fundamentally alter their beliefs and values and attitudes and dispositions? All intended to make them malleable in the hands of those with either political power or connections to it?"

"We just did not know that the destruction to the ability to think well or read or know much was intentional. If not by the actual teacher or principal, then by the education professors who taught and credentialed them to push destructive theories in the classroom actually designed to prevent fluent reading. To impair logical thought. To reach inside the student's psychological makeup to alter the values and beliefs and attitudes. Even feelings. If you think that sounds dramatic, it is. It's why I wrote this book."

"All these plans to imagine new societies have a terrible track record in history. With a high body count. Incentives matter to everyone and at all times. When the public sector dominates the economy and calls the shots instead of just enforcing the rules, the results have always been misery for the masses. And legalized theft for the politically influential."

"I have often wondered if colleges of education taught their students that it was possible for people to fly and laid out the steps, how many children would have to hit the pavement before the `professionals' would reconsider what they were told."

"You can see now why we are getting increasingly poor results from our schools while spending more money. It is no accident. It is the planned result of the nature of the current college of education degree programs and the standards for accreditation of anything connected to education."

"What is being marketed as the Common Core national standards and accompanying ed reforms is actually a planned, centrally coordinated, interrelated, complete reorganization of American education. Designed to change students from the inside-out so they will lobby for social change now. And vote for it later. These so-called `reforms' eliminate practices, like the transmission curriculum, that evolved because they worked and created prosperous practices and useful, marketable knowledge and skills. And a spirit of individualism that has created great innovations."

"Reengineering complex social systems, like education or an economy with lots of people and parts, from the top down has a known, consistently disastrous, history. Common Core would be a bad idea if the intentions of its planners were for the best. But they are not."

"[Consider] Linda Darling-Hammond's oft-expressed view of the role of schools as creating citizens capable of accessing government agencies and their programs."

"For now though we should best view education as a re-imagined means for an international political class and their business cronies to obtain the same type of riches and control as what the nomenklatura sought globally under Communism."

"Now you understand the need to both nationalize Radical Ed Reform and internationalize it. No more outlaw schools, public or private, districts, states, or countries determined to still create well-informed fluent readers with solid math and science knowledge and skills...The idea is for there to be no way out, even in private schools."

"Plus, it is important to appreciate that most academic Marxists are not running around in a Che Guevara t-shirt carrying a `Viva la Revolution!' sign. They are receiving great salaries from our tax money while they invent various schemes to obscure their insistence on moving our schools away from academic knowledge and skills..."

"There is a belief among Educrats that if the course names sound academic and the grades are fine, no one will ever notice what is really going on. Another planned `hide in plain sight' strategy is to make high school courses largely vocational while keeping academic sounding course names."

"You will find few people less interested in free markets than a businessman or woman running an established large business. They want to preserve their current market share and revenue. Innovation with its potential for a better competing product or a lower price or both is the enemy of their current business."

"{Higher education's] primary function in the last 25 years seems to have been sculpting a mindset or worldview to see the government as a dispenser of all that is good in society. Too many colleges and universities no longer make any attempt to make sure graduates appreciate the importance of the individual to Western thought and the unprecedented economic prosperity of the West."

"[L]et's pause for a moment to think of the absurdity of using Karl Marx's thoughts for an education model....Marxian political ideology has proven to be positively murderous with the body count in the tens of millions if not more. His economic ideology results in stagnation at a minimum and frequently declines in overall economic activity. Basically a permanent state of recession or depression. Sound familiar? Pushing his education idea simply means a loss of collective knowledge and innovation."

"In a state meeting I attended a few years ago, I listened while a high school math director of one of the largest school districts in the state told his audience that the district would be disciplining any principal or teacher caught offering `sequential methods for solving math problems.'"

"When you really learn Marxist political ideology and how his education theories are designed to obtain that political and economic control and desired social transformation, it is striking just how similar they are to the reimagined progressive society and new type of human being John Dewey believed were desirable. And how both men saw educational practices that minimized the intellect and cultivated the emotional aspects of personality as critical to their social vision....Linda Darling-Hammond, a primary architect of Radical education reform here and internationally, was quoted as saying basically that with the Common Core national standards we will finally be achieving John Dewey's vision for education."

"In tracking both the reading wars and the math wars, it became undeniably clear that there was a consistent conscious pattern to reject what had been proven to work well for most students."

"[T]he invention of print and symbol systems to store information ranks right up there with agriculture in literally changing what people can become. So, yes, for 100 years many parts of education have been formally dedicated to mind arson. Because the mind is the private domain that fuels individualism and creative innovations.... As the 20th century dawned, just like the 21st now, there was an organized, coordinated move afoot to prevent more surprises without permission...Think of it as the people currently at the table of economic and political power deciding in unison: `That will be enough now. Future changes might not benefit us.'"

"I am telling you that the research lays out an organized desire to limit access to print. Why? Because of the known intrinsic boost to personal reasoning and analytical power that flows automatically from the ability to decipher print fluently. The so-called reading wars and attempts to make dyslexia a widespread physiological problem came from the need to cover the tracks that there was intentional psychological manipulation going on in classrooms...Sight-reading keeps that toolbox both relatively empty and filled only with the word tools someone has deliberately placed there...What the printing press and newspapers and Bibles in English instead of Latin gave the masses is now essentially being taken deliberately away."

"We either have to confront what is really going on in American and global education directly and stop this nonsense once and for all, or it will destroy us."

"Think of the most annoying loud sound that will always get your attention - gong, buzzer, screech from someone annoying. Every time the IRA or NCTM or NCTE or National Commission for the Social Studies (NCSS), etc. advocates for something, hear that sound in your head. And remember that it will really be about diminishing academic knowledge and skills."

"[Louise Rosenblatt] did not want a reading technique or practice that would reinforce self-sufficiency. And now you know another unacceptable reason why the phonetic nature of English or any other language must not be expressly inefficiently taught. Teaching the phonetic basis of English language might foster or reinforce a sense of individuality."

"The damage done to our economy from poor reading practices is multiplied in the case of math and science which are much more critical to the cutting edge of what is possible and lucrative in technology and the discovery of new, beneficial knowledge."

"So, between the political and social usefulness and the entrenched current big business titans wanting to hold onto their turf, we now get a lot of demand for learning theories that actually torpedo genuine learning in the sense of knowledge acquisition. And these mind arson theories are precisely what the ed schools teach and the accreditors require in the classroom."

"So at the height of the Cold War numerous people all over the West went to great trouble to import and translate Soviet psychological methods and research. That was expressly created and conducted to develop the perfect socialist citizen with the appropriate mindset desired by state officials. Totalitarian state officials. Just what you and I would believe neither American or global education needed at that time. Or in our time."

"I mean how much history, British murder mysteries, and Shakespeare has to be ignored or unknown not to appreciate that people who want to get or keep something like economic or political power, or achieve social change with themselves in charge, will lie about what they are really doing? If it is illegal, or would be politically unpopular, or honesty would make success unlikely, you lie. [QED: of course there's a conspiracy.]"

"[Vladimir] Turchenko also repeatedly stated that education was seen by the Soviets as their primary means of prevailing over the US in the Cold War. Let me repeat that one more time. The Soviet Union explicitly saw education, both K-12 and higher ed, `as the most powerful political and ideological weapon.' Instead of education in the traditional sense of acquiring knowledge, the Turchenko / Soviet model by the mid-1970s was `functionally geared to shaping personality.' This Turchenko model for socialist education that was to be the model for other countries to emulate in the future was designed explicitly to assure `mastery of values, skills, and norms of behavior.'"

"The Soviets did know by the mid-1980s they could not continue with the existing form of communism. They, with help from sympathizers in the social and economic planning set in the West who were never going to learn to love free markets and individual choices, came up with a different international template for social, political, and economic control."

"Talented commentators like Lynne Munson, Ed Hirsch, Dan Willingham, and others wrote detailed, persuasive articles on how skills cannot be mastered without a fact rich diet. `Teaching content is teaching reading' is a good summary of this point."

"We have been unknowingly granting and funding a level of intrusion in education now that is greater than any tyrannical aspiration we went to war against in the 20th century....Genuine evil is afoot now all over the world and it is gaining hold through our schools and colleges and universities. And the only way to stop it is widespread understanding of why and how."

"The important thing from now on for every parent, taxpayer, and politician, from local, state or Congress to recognize is that educational practices and all educational spending are not necessarily a public good. As Stalin said: `Education is a weapon whose effects depend on who holds it in his hand and at whom it is aimed.' It is aimed at us, dear reader. Our children. Our economy. Our society. Our political system, values, and future genuine independence and autonomy."

"The schemes all had a common feature - the best minds are prevented from becoming what they were capable of."

"In the American Common Core classroom any skill, concept, or activity must be accessible to all or most, including the disabled, disinterested, and those with poor English language skills. Or it is not permissible for anyone. Abstract thought is not an ability that has been fairly distributed so it is off limits for everyone in the Common Core classroom of the future. How convenient for anyone with aspirations toward gaining quiet control over masses of people..."

-------

This is, all in all, a dreadful sad story, a slow-motion reprise of what the Communists did to the Russian people, and now the same sort of fanatics would like to do to the American people. it's a major theme in this book that the Russians did not lose when the Berlin Wall came down. They shifted to Plan B. That's the one where they infect our public schools with all kinds of ruinous ideas, and thus achieve culturally what they could not achieve militarily. The Evil Empire lives on, in PS 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great information, December 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The INFORMATION in this book is excellent. The writing style, however, makes it difficult to not have to reread passages - sometimes several times. I find it distracting, and thus very time-consuming. If one can get beyond the style to get to the point, it really is very informative and well-documented -- and certainly timely, given the education reform nightmare we are currently living through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great content! Thoughtful! But not mechanically well written., February 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Credentialed to Destroy: How and Why Education Became a Weapon (Paperback)
I think this is an excellent book to read. I agree strongly with the content. My biggest problem with the book was the writer's general incapacity to construct a proper sentence. That's the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars. The innumerable run-ons, etc. greatly detract from the writer's credibility as an educated person. I'm sorry about that because think Mrs.Eubanks is on to something and that her ideas should be communicated. I'd like to refer it, at least, to my two educator sons (one son is a dean at a seminary, the other is a college-level English teacher) ; however, I'm afraid they'd have a hard getting around her writing.

With respect to sentence construction, this book was possibly one of the worst books I've read. I have to admit that it was hard for me to accept the authority of the author because of that. And it's doubly that for me to refer her as an authority when I have to admit that caveat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Equipped to Disarm, Refute and Unplug from Serfdom, January 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Credentialed to Destroy: How and Why Education Became a Weapon (Paperback)
Robin Eubanks' book Credentialed To Destroy, as well as her invisible serfs collar blog, provide irrefutable evidence to connect the dots to a reality we had suspected but for loyalties, trust, image presentation, and for many, "inconvenience" have failed to act upon; as we now acknowledge this late hour in our nation's sovereignty.
As the daughter of an immigrant from the Balkans, who lived under Communism, Socialism and Hitler's Third Reich, and the mother of an immigrant as well; for me- Robin's well documented truths and constant commentaries echo my own musings and flashbacks of conversations of my family and travels in Eastern Europe. And compel us to act.

There is no longer time for niceties and PC conversations. The Eleventh hour has passed.

Americans that truly love their heirs, honor the foundations of our nation, and the Grantor of its Liberties, have only one choice: that is to prepare yourself by reading Robin's book, and others of this nature such as Dr. Terrence Moore's excellent expose' The Story-Killers, A Common-Sense Case Against Common Core; our book, Time To Choose, Growing Up Under Hitler and Watching History Repeat Itself and applying what has been clearly revealed.

Make explicit for your associates, your peers, your community, your representatives, your family that which has been implied, omitted or intentionally falsified, as to the intentions, contents and systematically constructed in the minds, emotions and souls of children via public education these last decades. It is past Time to disarm the Social Emotional Learning Labs of Public "Education", digital formatting of youth to love their servitude, and restore the values upon which our families and nation have prospered as One under God.
No this is not an easy read. In itself it precipitates the truth that most Americans can no longer think abstractly, nor read at a level that once was the hall mark of our nation. Most Americans can no longer read Charles Dickens, or Shakespeare either. So grab your pen, and get to work with Robin's outstanding classic, and you will be credentialed to disarm the destruction taking place in America's social psychology labs. ie. public education.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, April 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Credentialed to Destroy: How and Why Education Became a Weapon (Paperback)
This book shows why and how Education has failed to meet the needs of Education in the free enterprise system and why
the dumbing down of students at the K-12 level as well as the University level toward a Marxist-Socialist system is occuring. I have spent two recent years in two Universities and I have proof this process is happening as described in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loaded with info, March 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Credentialed to Destroy: How and Why Education Became a Weapon (Paperback)
As a concerned parent of 3 young children and unhappy with the elementary education my two oldest were receiving I started to investigate Common (rotten to the) Core and came across Robin Eubanks blog. I quickly realized how bad education in this country had become. As informative as the blog is it was hard for me to keep track of it all...and then I found her book. This book does a great job of pulling all the important facts together and laying them out in a comprehensive and logical order. Although I'm not a fan of Robins writing style (just personal preference) the book is able to keep me engaged with the unbelievable level of investigation she has done on the subject. Robin is the only one going to these lengths to uncover exactly what is going on in education. Many thanks to you Robin, keep up the good work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Credentialed to Destroy: How and Why Education Became a Weapon
Credentialed to Destroy: How and Why Education Became a Weapon by Robin S Eubanks (Paperback - October 12, 2013)
$16.95 $14.29
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.