Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars America the time is now..., March 29, 2008
By 
T. Hurley (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Credible Witness: Reflections on Power, Evangelism and Race (Paperback)
In our present times the need for cultural competency and hope in reaching a place of unity could not be more necessary. Brenda Salter McNeil hits you in the deepest depths of your heart with this profound and captivating message of "her friend Sam". McNeil connects the dots of the Great Commission (for all Christians to share the Gospel of Jesus Christ) and the command to be Amabassadors of Reconciliation.

She allows the reader to walk with her on this journey of evangelism and reconciliation by providing sound biblical text, guiding principles and powerful testominals of real encounters in her life. She even leaves you with a charge to not just put the book on the shelf when completed but to reach out into your church, community and even the unfamiliar places to experience and share this message of hope and understanding.

Once you pick up "A Credible Witness", I promise you will not be able to put it down until you have completed this leg of the journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reflections on a Credible Witness, May 19, 2008
This review is from: A Credible Witness: Reflections on Power, Evangelism and Race (Paperback)
Brenda points out that as we become a more multiethnic nation we must more than ever take Jesus seriously and revisit the way we do evangelism. She uses the familiar story of the Samaritan woman ("her friend Sam") to help us to take a closer look at ourselves and how we approach those not like us. She points out "that if we are to be credible witnesses of the gospel, we must understand that it's not just nice for us to engage people across racial, ethnic, gender, sociopolitical and cultural lines, it's necessary!" I agree with Brenda that we are all looking for an authentic experience of God in the context of community. I plan to use this book for a small group study for a leadership team that is planting a new church, in hopes we can create the community that Jesus desired for us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars crucial topic, June 16, 2008
This review is from: A Credible Witness: Reflections on Power, Evangelism and Race (Paperback)
What an insightful book on the extremely important topics of evangelism and racial reconciliation. In this day and age of political correctness, often issues addressing diversity aren't adequately addressed and many people are unaware that people develop relationships and communicate in various styles. Because of this, it's helpful to read "A Credible Witness" and read helpful reflections on ways God would have us to spread his word -- showing reliance on others, going outside our comfort zone, building bridges, and more. Dr. Salter McNeil shares that all barriers that have divided us from God and from each other have been destroyed, and we are representatives of the kingdom, composed of people from every tribe, language and nation. I'd encourage you to read "A Credible Witness" since these issues are more important than ever today in our global society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delving into a Deep Well of Reconciliation, September 5, 2008
By 
Diane S. Murphy (Whidbey Island, Washington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Credible Witness: Reflections on Power, Evangelism and Race (Paperback)
What a wonderful resource for those of us who long to learn more about racial reconciliation rooted and reflected in the ministry of Jesus. With experiential wisdom, Dr. Salter McNeil interprets Jesus' encounter with the woman at the well in Samaria and relates that significant story to her personal journey as an African American woman committed to the ministry of reconciliation. Readers will greatly value the appendix which offers discussion questions to promote depth of analysis and suggested applications to help us live out some of these ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't be Avoided, January 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Credible Witness: Reflections on Power, Evangelism and Race (Paperback)
For anyone who seeks to live life on purpose, living out faith in Christ, this book deals with ideas that cannot be ignored. For those who are close to race and class issues, much of this will resonate strongly. For those who live apart from these issues and are not regularly contemplating them, this book may be either challenging or encouraging. Best read with others, for the sake of discussion and reflection. And don't miss the questions at the back of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, September 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very insightful about a very true and difficult problem that really is taking place all over our troubled world. Read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read!, March 23, 2008
By 
This review is from: A Credible Witness: Reflections on Power, Evangelism and Race (Paperback)
This is a fabulous resource for understanding God's heart for reconciliation, whether it be racial, socioeconomic or gender. The material is provoking yet accessible. A Can't Miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Credible Witness: Reflections on Power, Evangelism and Race
A Credible Witness: Reflections on Power, Evangelism and Race by Brenda Salter McNeil (Paperback - January 30, 2008)
$16.00 $10.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.