Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book showed me how!!! Now I have A1 credit!!!!
I was in the middle of a credit disaster. I was in serious debt, and my credit was a mess. I had at least five R9 credit write-offs with all the major credit bureaus. This book empowered me to save my credit, and get out of debt. It even has pre-typed letters to send to creditors and credit bureaus. Which I used a lot.
You will find concrete advice, that really...
Published on September 11, 1999

versus
69 of 75 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Credit takes a back seat to budgeting...
Here's a fact: If you keep sending a letter every month disputing something on your credit report that is TRUE you will eventually get it taken off. Eventually you will get that slacker who just wants to go to lunch early, and just hits the okay button.

Here is another fact: There are tips and tricks you can use to remove anything, and this book doesn't contain...
Published on August 26, 2009 by M. Stone


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 75 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Credit takes a back seat to budgeting..., August 26, 2009
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Here's a fact: If you keep sending a letter every month disputing something on your credit report that is TRUE you will eventually get it taken off. Eventually you will get that slacker who just wants to go to lunch early, and just hits the okay button.

Here is another fact: There are tips and tricks you can use to remove anything, and this book doesn't contain any of them. For example, if you have a bankruptcy, send to the court that currently holds the paperwork and ask them for a copy of anything they have provided Experian, Transunion or Equifax. They will reply with a letter stating that they do not provide information to credit reporting agencies. Now dispute your bankruptcy with all three bureaus. They will all claim to have verified it, and list the court as the source. Reply with a copy of the letter, showing them you caught them in a lie, and demanding they remove the mark, which they FAILED to verify inside of 30 days.

Having been in the business, I know hundreds of these proven strategies, and none of them are listed in this next-to-useless book and CD on "Credit Repair".

You will do far better getting on a credit repair message board than shelling out your hard earned money on this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book showed me how!!! Now I have A1 credit!!!!, September 11, 1999
By A Customer
I was in the middle of a credit disaster. I was in serious debt, and my credit was a mess. I had at least five R9 credit write-offs with all the major credit bureaus. This book empowered me to save my credit, and get out of debt. It even has pre-typed letters to send to creditors and credit bureaus. Which I used a lot.
You will find concrete advice, that really works, in this book. It tells you how, and how not to go about fixing your credit. It will show you how and why the quick-fix-it books don't work. How "File Segregation" is a border-line illegal tactic, that is unsafe and doesn't work. It simply and clearly teaches you what does work, and how to put your new found knowledge of the credit laws, and your rights as a consumer to work for you.
You will not be disapointed with this book. The only people that will not like this book are the people that are looking for quick-fix tactics that are illegal or questionable at best, and I am not one. I overcome my credit and debt problems the right way, thanks to the "Credit Repair " book, and you will too!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is not getting enough Credit!!!, May 18, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Credit Repair (Paperback)
This book was so helpful, I just can't uderstand the bad reviews! Thanks to Credit Repair I've gone from being up to my ears in debt to having near perfect credit! Of course this kind of result isn't going to happen over night, any one who tells you otherwise is lying or doing something illegal. THERE ARE NO LEGAL QUICK FIXES!!! I've tried many different methods to improve my credit but following the advice in this book is the only one that worked for me. It even contains a CD-ROM with pre-made forms and letters that help to make the process as easy and painless as possible. Credit Repair was worth every cent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, June 11, 2009
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Ok, by now you should know that most of the credit repair books all say basically the same thing: Contact all three credit-reporting agencies, get copies of your credit report and challenge everything that is not 100% accurate until it gets removed. After correcting your reports, then you begin to repair your credit by paying all your bills on time, open a checking account, and do not bounce any checks.
You might even open up a savings account and then take out a loan just to pay it back, thus improving your "credit worthiness" (First, ask the bank if the loan will be reported to a credit agency in order to make sure it's worth your while)
Another great thing about this book, which makes it different from most other credit repair books is that it contains PLENTY of tear-out pre-written letters in the back of the book. Just pull-out and mail, very simple.
The other book I recommend is: "BestCredit: How to Win the Credit Game" , written by Dana Neal.

It takes some work but Oh what a relief it is when you are finally out from under. In this modern world, if you are living on "the Grid" then you are going to have to have a good credit score to get by in life.

Best of Luck !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great NOLO publication, June 30, 2009
By 
Ardeal "Emi" (Atlanta, GA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
As someone who worked in the finance arena for years, including direct work for one of the major credit agencies, I was a little skeptical about getting this book. Things change so fast from one year to another and I figured that I'm not at the stage in life to make drastic changes on my spending. Plus I was happy with my budgeting. Was I in for a surprise! The book is indeed very up to date for this year, but what stood out for me are the ideas on how to handle budgets and existing debts - with specific options listed. The book has an array of forms you may need to repair your credit, and you can get free updates to keep up with current trends in the field. And in addition to that, you may find simple ways to improve your credit rating for the next time you need to make a major purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Credit Repair 7th edition, April 9, 2006
I found this book to be very informative and helpfull. I have used it has a guide in helping repair my own credit. I recommend it to many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for any Consumer, October 11, 2009
By 
Admiralu "admiralu" (Camarillo, California United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is the second Nolo book that I have reviewed. The Credit Repair 9th Edition is the most current for 2009. As usual in the Nolo series, the authors provide a wealth of information about the credit repair process. Everything is explained in clear, easy to understand terms and each chapter is filled with extra information. The book is divided into six major sections. 1. Assessing Your Debt Situation, gives realistic options for dealing with debts including reducing spending, saving and legal options. 2. Avoid Overspending helps you with keeping track of expenditures, budgeting and spending plans. 3. Handle Existing Debts helps to break down debts into categories, deal with creditors and collection agencies including what collection practices are legal and illegal. 4. Clean Up Your Credit Report gives information on what is in your credit report, how to get a copy, review it, dispute inaccurate information found in your report, add information to it and avoid identity theft. Did you know that health and life insurance companies request information on your medical history from the Medical Information Bureau? This is one of the many gems found in this book. 5. How Creditors and Employers Use Your Credit Report tells you who can legally look at your report and how credit apps are evaluated. 6. Building and Maintaining Good Credit gives tips for how to build credit in your name, use credit cards wisely, avoiding credit repair clinics and credit discrimination. The appendix includes contact information on Credit and Debt Counseling agencies and services, online resources and state consumer protection agencies. All of the forms found in the book are available on the included CD. Make sure that you use the Save As drop down list to save them as Word files on your PC. There are also Mac versions available. The Nolo website is also a wonderful resource for clear, helpful information. I highly recommend this book as something every consumer should have. Free updates are available at the [...] website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD INFORMATION, May 25, 2008
By 
I was a little disappointed since most of it was information I already new, but it may not be the case with everyone. Needless to say there is still some good information in the book and the CD has some great letter assists that are worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable!, June 25, 2009
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is one of the bibles on credit repair, published by NOLO PRESS, which offers authoritative information on how to repair damaged credit. These days, companies are quick to report you as a late payer or file erroneous or outdated information that will have a significant, negative impact on your credit score. Perversely, a negative hit, created by one late payment, has more of an effect than, say, a current payment; in other words, you can do almost everything right, but one wrong mistake, one late payment, can decrease your score quickly and immediately. Your only recourse is to know exactly what to do, step by step, to (a) assess your situation, (b) determine what is correctable and what is not, and (c) correct what you can. Over time, your credit score will improve, but it will take months in most cases; there are NO quick fixes, as this book points out. (Also, as this book points out, some credit repair companies use questionable tactics that simply aren't effective.)

If you have damaged credit, this authoritative book is well worth its cover price. Its basic message is that you can and should correct WHAT YOU CAN, and then let time run its course. Over time, if you are current, don't overload and max out your credit lines, and make sure any erroneous information is corrected, you'll find the advice in this book to be timely and accurate and well worth implementing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good book... mostly obvious information, but helpful for noobs., June 20, 2009
By 
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Most of the information contained in this book is easily accessible online for free by using Google to search for credit repair, but many noobs will find it more convenient to have all the information in one easy to navigate book. Overall, the book is really well written and information flows in the logical order. I also like how the book has many quotes from experts in the field so you know the information they are giving is accurate. The biggest reason for ordering this book is the included CD which includes all the forms, and letters that you would need for repairing your credit. Again, much of this is available free online but many will find this much easier.

Overall, I'd recommend this book if you aren't comfortable using Google and browsing the internet for answers. It's well written and will actually help you repair damaged credit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Credit Repair
Credit Repair by Shae Irving (Paperback - June 6, 2011)
Used & New from: $2.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.