Customer Reviews


142 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Raft
The raft story with the teenagers was so scary it stayed in my mind for years after. I don't know what it was about this one short segment of Creepshow 2, but let me say, it was quick, it was brutal, and it was clever. I feel bad saying it, after all, people work hard and spend a lot of budget money to bring us all these modern scares, but this one simple, frightening,...
Published on January 1, 2006 by Emily R. Jarrell

versus
16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as much 'Creep', and a lot less 'Show' than the first...
I was a little disappointed in this sequel to the first Creepshow movie. In the first movie, there was around five segments, while here we only get three. If it were three really great stories, I could let it slide, but that's not the case. The first story, titled Old Chief Woodenhead, stars George Kennedy as an owner of a general store in a town that has seen better...
Published on July 29, 2003 by cookieman108


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Raft, January 1, 2006
By 
Emily R. Jarrell "emma34" (Newport News, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The raft story with the teenagers was so scary it stayed in my mind for years after. I don't know what it was about this one short segment of Creepshow 2, but let me say, it was quick, it was brutal, and it was clever. I feel bad saying it, after all, people work hard and spend a lot of budget money to bring us all these modern scares, but this one simple, frightening, story sticks to your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As good as the first one in a bad way, July 11, 2001
By 
Wes Saylors Jr. (Boone, North Carolina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Creepshow 2 [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Creepshow 2 isn't so glamorous as its predecessor, but in many ways that works in its favor. Gone is the lightshow and comics-inspired camera work. All that is left are 3 nifty Stephen King stories and some serviceable actors to bring them to life (with the exception of George Kennedy who does a wonderful job as a storekeep who is murdered by thugs and avenged by a wooden Indian). The wooden Indian tale that starts this movie comic book probably sums up all the themes that EC comics tried to beat us over the head with: If you are bad, bad things will happen to you. Hence, thugs kill sweet storekeep, wooden Indian gores thugs. They only got what was coming to them. Story Two, "The Raft" is all-out cool. Kids smoke pot and swim to a raft (in an off-limits lake), and blob of gook on lake eats kids one by one until all that is left is the Camaro the kids drove up in. "The Raft" is giddy fun. Genuinely creepy. But wait, there's "The Hitchhiker." Lois Chiles plays an adulteress driving home from a fling when she kills a hitch hiker and then drives off. Of course, hitch hiker won't let her get away with that and so what follows is the scariest and most off beat segment in the movie. I mean, this guy can't be killed, but Lois Chiles certainly gives it all she's got. In the end, though - good triumphs and Lois gets hers. And it's all great fun. Not so flashy as Creepshow one, but this sequel is worthy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three Effective and Scary Horror Tales, October 3, 2000
By 
This review is from: Creepshow 2 [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The team of Stephen King and George Romero are back with three more hair raising tales. And all three are scary in their own right, more so than the five tales in this movie's predecessor.
"Ol' Chief Woodenhead is about a wooden indian that comes to life in order to exact vengeance for the murders of his kindly shopkeeper owners.
"The Raft" is the best story of the lot. A gelatinous "thing" attacks four helpless teenagers stranded on a raft anchored in a lake in the middle of nowhere. Kind of "Jaws" meets "The Blob" this is insanely creepy and alone makes the video purchase worthwhile. The special effects are great and the fear factor high as you watch the teens gradually realize there is no escape.
"The Hitchhiker" has two things going for it, lots of blood and Stephen King as a potty mouthed truck driver. The constant reappearance of the dead hitchhiker was somewhat confusing and not properly explained, but it's a movie so I'll let it slide. There's a good helping of car-on-pedestrian carnage that's a great way to gross out a squeamish friend.
As in the first movie there are little snippets of animation throughout that are an added treat, this time a venus fly trap gets a tasty and nutritious meal (just ask Jonathan Swift, oh wait, he's dead). Bottom line, if you own the first movie you have to have the sequel, which in my opinion is far scarier than the first movie. So all you little Creeps out there get your copy now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as much 'Creep', and a lot less 'Show' than the first..., July 29, 2003
This review is from: Creepshow 2 (DVD)
I was a little disappointed in this sequel to the first Creepshow movie. In the first movie, there was around five segments, while here we only get three. If it were three really great stories, I could let it slide, but that's not the case. The first story, titled Old Chief Woodenhead, stars George Kennedy as an owner of a general store in a town that has seen better days. His wife thinks it's time to close the store and retire, but George feels a sort of obligation to the town that's supported him and his family over the years, and feels he needs to give a little back. The title of the story refers to a wooden Indian in front of the store, which comes to life and exacts revenge on the gang of punks after they rob and kill George and his wife. Pretty standard stuff, not really scary, and no real surprises.

The next story is called The Raft and is easily the best of the three. It's about four high school kids that go swimming in a lake with a raft. The swimming season is over, but the raft hasn't been removed from the lake, so they are getting in one last swim. While on the raft, they encounter a strange, gooey blob like mass floating in the water. They also discover the hard way that it has an appetite. There are some fairly gory scenes in this short, along with some nudity. The ending is quite good, and almost make up for the lameness of the other two stories.

The third story is the weakest of the bunch. The HitchHiker involves a woman driving home from an extramarital affair, and she accidentally hits and kills a hitchhiker. She has a moment of indecision, but then flees the scene. Along the way home, she does wrestle with what happened, try to justify to herself leaving the scene of the accident, when the hitch-hiker starts appearing on the road even though she knows that couldn't be possible. She starts to lose it, and begins to attack the man with her car. This goes on for awhile, and the shocking ending isn't really all that shocking. I just thought this was a really poor story to end the movie on. One thing I found kind of funny was no matter how mess up the hitchhiker got, he would always repeat the same line, "Thanks for the ride, lady." I found myself saying that to friends for awhile. Also, watch for Stephen King with a small role as a truck driver in this segment.

There is a story interspersed between three stories, like in the first movie. It involves a boy, some bullies, and a man eating Venus flytrap. The segments are mostly animated, and it's sort of fun.

As I stated in the beginning, I think we were a little short changed on this movie. Two lame segments and one good one do not make a great movie. The first Creepshow was much more fun, and had a much more comic book feel, which reminded me of the great EC comics of the past. There was a little of that here, but not enough. And something else I noticed was there were a lot more recognizable actors in the first movie than in this movie. I bought this DVD as I am sort of a completist, and I really like the second story, but interested viewers would probably be better served purchasing the first and renting this one.

Cookieman108
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CREEPSHOW 2 IS GGGGGRRRRRRRREEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAATTTTT, July 14, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Creepshow 2 [VHS] (VHS Tape)
CREEPSHOW 2 IS AN EXCELLENT MOVIE. THE FURIOUS INDIAN WAS GREAT. THE HITCHHIKER WITH MADD BLOOD WAS GREAT. THE RAFT WAS THE BEST. THE INDIAN HAD MANY LINES THAT YO CAN QUOTE LIKE "MOVE IT LADY OR I'LL BLOW OFF YOUR OLD MAN'S OKOBUSHEES"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Creepshow 3", anyone?, July 19, 2003
By 
Cryptic Critic "Kevin" (Central Florida, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Creepshow 2 (DVD)
I liked this movie for many reasons. One, the first one was terrifyingly scary (I was 8 when I first saw it). Two, it was written by horror master Stephen King. The first story, "Old Chief Woodenhead," about a cigar store Indian who avenges the murders of his kindly shop owners, was creepy enough. Only really scary if you are easily creeped out or if you watch it at night with the lights off. The second story, "The Raft," about four college students who go to a secluded lake and unwittingly become sitting ducks to a carnivorous oil slick-like blob was particularly scary. My second favorite out of the three stories in the movie. The last of the three and by far the simplist and most scariest was "The Hitchkiker." About a cheating wife driving home from a rendevous with her lover and runs down some poor guy. She flees the scene only to be haunted by his undead spirit. Makeup effects by master Tom Savini were awesome. The complaints I have about the movie are minor ones. Why were there only three stories instead of five like in the first one? Also, what was up with the animated wraparound story? Yes, the first
"Creepshow" featured animated in-betweens before and after each story, but it did not have any cartoonish interaction between characters in its prologue or epilogue. Also the score wasn't nearly as scary as it was in the first movie. The fillmmakers should have tried to get the same composer to return as well as director George A. Romero. The DVD doesn't have that many special features on it. The trailer and a behind-the-scenes photo gallery montage are about it. I would have liked to at least have a commentary by the director if not a couple of the cast members. Last but not least, when will there be a "Creepshow 3"? It's never too late for another sequel. Hello, Hollywood is sequel-crazy these days. Now is the time to strike. Overall, a decent pick if you're looking for a fright ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Decent movie, awful DVD quality, August 3, 2004
By 
This review is from: Creepshow 2 (DVD)
Please note: the 1-star rating I gave to this film is based on the actual DVD product, not the movie itself.

Released by Top Ten New Media Production Limited, this DVD is your typical cheapo bargain bin atrocity. Do NOT confuse this with the Anchor Bay release, which I haven't yet watched but is most definitely of better quality. And as I'm writing this review, AB is planning a special edition release to come out in the Fall (along with CHILDREN OF THE CORN).

The image quality of this DVD is God-awful; even worse than the VHS or TV prints I've seen. Everything looks foggy, blurry or scratchy, and to make matters even worse, it's PAN and SCANNED. There are 4 chapter stops and no extras. Face it, you KNOW a DVD is of poor quality when it spells "Start Movie" "Strat Movie" on the menu screen. Skip this and wait for the special edition release.

As for the film itself, it's OK. It's a really uneven film and doesn't feel anything like the original. It's not funny, not scary and, frankly, kind of boring. That said and done, I think it's better to grade each segment seperately.

"Old Chief Wood'n Head"

This is the middling segment of the 3. The first half is really boring, but once the Indian statue starts stalking, it picks up a bit.

"The Raft"

Easily the best of the stories. It's quite gory and nasty and is the only tale that comes close to capturing the essence of the EC comic books it's based on.

"The Hitchhiker"

Maybe it was because it was late at night but this segment almost put me to sleep. Lois Chiles was fun but it had no meat whatsoever, just her being terrorized over and over again.

All in all, skip this trashy release and go for the Anchor Bay DVD. It's a decent movie that I recommend only to those who like B horror flicks from the 80's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first, but it does shine in parts, April 4, 2001
By 
Tony R. Tucker (Crewe, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Creepshow 2 (DVD)
I was a big fan of the first Creepshow, so I went to Creepshow 2 the weekend it hit theaters. My reactions are mixed.
I am a big Tom Savini fan. He is actually a pretty good actor, especially considering he gained fame as a makeup artist. Tom appears as "The Creep" in the wrap-around story. Unfortunately it doesn't carry any chills and they should have kept the Creep from the first movie. Also the animation is pretty bad.
"Old Chief Wooden Head" is the first story presented and despite another great George Kennedy performance, this episode just doesn't deliver. You know what is going to happen from the first time you see Kennedy talking to the wooden indian.
"The Raft" is the reason this gets 4 stars. Despite my opinion that Creepshow was better as a whole than Creepshow 2, "The Raft" is by far the scariest story in EITHER movie. I read the story this was based upon before I saw the movie and thought it would make a great story for "Tales from the Darkside" or another TV horror anthology. I'm glad they waited and put it in a film. Four teens are stuck out on a raft in a lake in early Autumn. Along comes a floating black glob of gunk that can dissolve flesh and seems to be guided by an intellegence. Where did it come from? Who knows? Who cares?? It's extremely creepy!
"The Hitchhiker" is a little better than "Chief Wooden Head", but not by much. A lady accidently hits a hitchhiker, killing him. She drives off frantically and you can kind of guess what happens from there. The ending was especially poor. It's like they didn't know how to end it, so they just gave up.
So, watch this for "The Raft", but get Creepshow if you want a more rounded out movie. If this movie was called "The Raft" and only contained that story, it'd get 5 stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WOODEN INDIANS, SLUDGE AND HITCHHIKER, July 19, 2005
By 
This review is from: Creepshow 2 (DVD)
Although CREEPSHOW 2 has the Stephen King/George Romero connection, it doesn't quite have the flair and fun of its predecessor, nor as talented a cast. King's stories are adapted by Romero, but Romero didn't direct, so these three tales don't have the finesse one would have expected.

The first one revolves around a bunch of nasty youths who rob a kindly storekeeper and his wife, and then kill them. The storefront wooden indian takes revenge, but it's all pretty lame and George Kennedy and Dorothy Lamour are virtually wasted.

The second story, "The Raft" has some moments of suspense and tension, but the cast are virtual unknowns and can't carry it as well as more seasoned actors.

The final segment features Lois Chiles as a lawyer's wife who on the way home from a dalliance with a male prostitute hits and kills a hitchhiker and tries to get away before she's caught. Of course, the hitchhiker keeps popping up, and she keeps killing him, and you know where it will all end.

Although mildly entertaining, CREEPSHOW 2 pales in comparison to its progenitor and one wonders how it would have turned out if Romero had directed and a more potent cast in place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Creepshow 2 review, July 21, 2003
By 
Crazy Jim (Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Creepshow 2 [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Not nearly as good as its chilling precursor, a collection of short horror films based on the works of Stephen King, this sequel contains about half as many "terror tales" as the original and as a result, seems to come up short.
CREEPSHOW 2 is not an awful movie by any means as it tells three stories (and also features a short cartoon) presented as a take on the old EC comic series.
The first story is a simple revenge tale featuring a Native American statue that exacts vengeance on a group of hoodlums who murder an antique store owner and his wife. The story is by-the-numbers but is presented pretty well. Our second tale finds a group of oversexed pot-smoking teen swimmers trying to get away from some type of man-eating human waste in the pond. This one is pretty creepy with some "stay out of the water" horror mixed with some humor. The last one plays on that classic concept of the sinner trying to cover up their mistakes but not being able to bury them properly as a cheating housewife runs down a hitchiker who just won't stay dead.
If you enjoyed the first film, this is pretty much more of the same. Unfortunately, where the first film was a gripping collaboration between horror masters, Stephen King and George Romero that had fun playing with the many common phobias in American culture, this sequel just feels like a bunch of old Tales From The Crypt re-runs played one after another. Not a bad movie if you're looking for a few good scares.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Creepshow 2 (Midnight Madness Series)
Creepshow 2 (Midnight Madness Series) by Michael Gomick (DVD - 2011)
$9.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.