Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only Newbies Need Apply
Another Rory Gallagher collection and four stars simply because the material is so good and is a fair representation of his solo career covering both the acoustic and heavy blues/rock side of Rory.

Long-time fans will not need this collection which will appeal to completists and those curious or unfamiliar with Gallagher's body of work.

All the...
Published on August 31, 2009 by Colin Logue

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Rory from Past
Loved this guy when I was in my twenties and thirties. Found this all inclusive album. I had to have it. I had so many memories of this long, lean, redheaded, Irish guitar slinger! Being an OLD guitar player, I had to have his complete works! After listening to it once, it grew repetitious. Still great Rock and Roll - I seemed to have grown out of it. I listen to it...
Published 11 months ago by John K.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only Newbies Need Apply, August 31, 2009
This review is from: Crest of a Wave: The Best of Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
Another Rory Gallagher collection and four stars simply because the material is so good and is a fair representation of his solo career covering both the acoustic and heavy blues/rock side of Rory.

Long-time fans will not need this collection which will appeal to completists and those curious or unfamiliar with Gallagher's body of work.

All the tracks are staples but the stand-outs include; A Million Miles Away, Crest of a Wave, Moonchild, Tattoo'd Lady, Walk On Hot Coals and They Don't Make Them Like You Anymore.

This is a good collection but there are others out there which best this one. Check out BIG GUNS - THE VERY BEST OF RORY GALLAGHER which IS career spanning as it takes in TASTE and his solo career and packs more punch than this latest offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I agree with Colin., September 5, 2009
By 
Steve (Soulard, Mo.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crest of a Wave: The Best of Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
I personally own every Rory Gallagher album he ever issued so there's no point in me buying a greatest hits cd. Nevertheless for someone interested in sampling the man and his music I agree with Colin that Big Guns is a better representation of Rory and his genuis. The man was a paradox extraordinaire but he was also one helluva musician. Rock on Rory. We're still listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RORY'S GREATEST BEST OF CD, November 23, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crest of a Wave: The Best of Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
There are many best of cd's of Rory Gallagher,and they are all very good.
But for me this double cd is the best.
And it was a very nice surprise that there is a other version of Overnight bag on this cd.
Different than the original song on the photo finish cd.
This version have's a longer solo on the end.
For people that want to learn to know Rory's music,this cd will be a very good start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great guitarist---shy down to earth human being, February 7, 2010
This review is from: Crest of a Wave: The Best of Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
Like alot here, have been a fan since Taste, & collected almost all of his releases as well. I suppose there are compilations & reissued Cd's I dont have. And yes there are other releases that also span his career. If I put my "Greatest Hits" together it would vary from everyone elses. I like Secret Agent alot for one. Only saw him twice in 1979 & 1990 when he was sick, but both shows were killer. There was never an hour & a half show by this man, he loved to play that guitar. I enjoy his rockier music over the bluesy stuff, just the music I like more. Pick up the book by his bassist Gerry McAvoy, he gives an inside journey of touring with Rory. I dont even have this Cd yet, thank god for the internet, it sure makes keeping up with releases alot easier these days. None of us OLD rockers are getting any younger. You cant go wrong by owning this cd though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great History of a Blues Wizard, March 25, 2010
By 
Richard J. Walt (Milwaukee, WI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crest of a Wave: The Best of Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
Rory Gallagher is a relatively unknown blues guitarist whom I treasure in my collection.
I especilaly enjoy the way he goes all the way back to the 1920's in his choices of cover songs. He always credits the original songwriters because it seems he realizes the doors they opened for all blues musicians. By knowing the history of the blues, and playing it to near perfection, his music actually enshrines him as one of the legends. I also really enjoy listening to his up-tempo original cuts. I have other RG albums but this is a great retrospective compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Guitar God, March 30, 2014
By 
This review is from: Crest of a Wave: The Best of Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
that is for sure. Up, Up there with Clapton, Lee, Page, Fripp, Knopfler, Taylor, Moore, Trower, Green, Blackmore, Ronson, Richards...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rory from Past, January 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crest of a Wave: The Best of Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
Loved this guy when I was in my twenties and thirties. Found this all inclusive album. I had to have it. I had so many memories of this long, lean, redheaded, Irish guitar slinger! Being an OLD guitar player, I had to have his complete works! After listening to it once, it grew repetitious. Still great Rock and Roll - I seemed to have grown out of it. I listen to it again, soon, and it may bring back the old brilliance it once had for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Collection, get Rory's live work first, June 19, 2011
By 
monte (Huber Heights, OH United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crest of a Wave: The Best of Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
A good cross section of Rory's studio work. Unfortunately, I received a bad pressing with a distortion on many of the tracks and seller refunded my money. In MHO Rory shined in a live setting. Get all of the live albums first then explore the studio work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, seller and price. I recommend this seller., January 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crest of a Wave: The Best of Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
Great CD, seller and price. I recommend this seller. I am glad to see that Rory is not forgotten. He influenced so many players and he like Mick Ronson, will live forever because of the music they made and the influence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, October 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crest of a Wave: The Best of Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
Absolutely great!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Crest of a Wave: The Best of Rory Gallagher
Crest of a Wave: The Best of Rory Gallagher by Rory Gallagher (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.